130x130_sq_1351008154972-normanvoss

Voss DJ Service

Woodbridge , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Woodbridge, VA US 22193 (map)

PHONE

703-878-1320

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Nominated in "WUSA TV Channel 9's A-LIST" as one of the best wedding DJ services in the Washington area!!! In addition Voss DJ also won 2010, 2011 and 2012 Brides Choice Awards on... Read more
Nominated in "WUSA TV Channel 9's A-LIST" as one of the best wedding DJ services in the Washington area!!! In addition Voss DJ also won 2010, 2011 and 2012 Brides Choice Awards on WeddingWire!

Welcome to Voss DJ Service! I provide the area's absolute best all inclusive DJ service/reception coordination. I have over a decade of experience and have performed at countless wedding receptions. As sole DJ* you will receive personalized service from me and I will give you the peace of mind that you are looking for.

Always included are superb sound, professional lighting, and an extensive music selection. But I exceed all other DJ's in four separate areas:

First, if you wish, for your cocktail hour/dinner, I will sing the most romantic songs in the style of Frank Sinatra/ Michael Buble, adding a classy, elegant touch to your reception, giving you live entertainment without the cost.

Second, I can play classical guitar for your wedding ceremony or dinner, also giving the day a truly elegant feel. If you'd like to see me performing at previous weddings, please search youtube.com for "Voss DJ Service".

Third, if your wedding ceremony, cocktail hour, reception room are in different locations, as many are, I will bring separate sound systems to cover all areas.

Finally, I will help you coordinate your reception timeline (sequence of events) and song selection to ensure that all will go as planned and you will have confidence about your special day.

This is why I believe I provide the most unique DJ service in the Washington D.C. area.

*although I am the sole DJ/proprietor I do have 2 backup DJ's, just in case anything ever happend to me (although I have never missed a wedding).

Please call or email anytime,

Norman Voss
703-878-1320
info@vossdj.com Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1282440334719-100529potomacpointshoot
130x130_sq_1344957166261-normcrowd
130x130_sq_1344957188613-normsing

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
80s, Country, Dance, Funk, Hip Hop, Motown, Oldies, Pop, Swing
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
6/28/2014
4.9/5.0
WE LOVED NORM. He was willing to work with our very specific musical requests and less traditional wedding reception approach. As musicians ourselves, the music was an incredibly important aspect of our day. We were so scared to turn this responsibility over to someone else, but felt VERY confident in Norm after just one phone call.

As the bride, I did not get much time to interact with him during the wedding. (Would have loved to have heard his pre-ceremony music where he played classical guitar as our guests entered.) He was professional, handsomely dressed, and even helped me plan a surprise musical number for my now husband that a group of my friends and I performed during the reception.

Thank you, Norm. You are wonderful. We will be "singing" your praises all over! - Jen & Will
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
6/8/2014
5.0/5.0
Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. Norman was so easy to work with. Dubbed "the singing DJ" he made both the ceremony and reception personal for us. My guests absolutely loved him and it takes a lot to impress my father and Norman passed with flying colors!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elisha
Wedding:
5/25/2014
5.0/5.0
Norman Voss was such an amazing DJ!

I had Norman DJ my wedding reception and not only did he have the perfect selection of music (which I mostly left up to his discretion), he also had the most unbelievable singing voice. I had so many compliments from my guests about him. A comment that came up frequently was that my guests would think a Michael Buble song was being played from his system only to look over and see that it was Norman singing himself!

He also acted as our MC and made a great effort to communicate with all those involved with the wedding in order for it to run smoothly. I have only good things to say about him and his services and would recommend him to anyone.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dan & Caitlin
Wedding:
4/12/2014
5.0/5.0
We booked Norman Voss right away for our wedding based on word of mouth and customer reviews. We had heard such wonderful things and knew that having a great DJ was very important. Everything we had heard/read about Norman was 100% true! We had the perfect wedding reception thanks to Norman Voss and his DJ services. All of our guests couldn't believe he was actually singing some of the songs and how great he was. There was never a moment where there weren't people dancing due to his high energy and enthusiasm. Even the people who said they didn't like to dance were on the dance floor having a great time. You could tell Norman really enjoys and has a passion for what he does. He was organized, flexible and very professional. We highly recommend him!!!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Patrice
Wedding:
4/6/2014
5.0/5.0
Norman was spectacular -- He sang beautifully during the cocktail hour. He also was the master of ceremonies during the reception and provided a lot of energy to the event and of course he was a wonderful DJ too. It was all done with elegance and spirit.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ,
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
After researching several local DJ's last summer we were drawn to Norm's website and the versatility he offered his clients at a similar price to DJ's that did not have his range. He was very personable and accommodating when we met him. The groom is a music buff and coordinated all the song choices with Norm. We had Norm play classical guitar before the ceremony, he played music for the cocktail hour, he sang a few Frank Sinatra songs during the meal and coordinated the reception music and events while keeping things fun and the guests engaged. He even said the meal blessing when the pastor had left. He has a wonderful DJ and singing voice and has the experience to handle anything you may want for your wedding/reception. Many guests commented on his versatility and his talented guitar playing and singing. Norm was quite a find for our first family wedding!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
freema08
Wedding:
1/4/2014
5.0/5.0
Norman Voss did an amazing job at my wedding reception. Not only was his live singing during cocktail hour awesome, but he also played the perfect mix of appropriate and fun music during the dinner and rest of the reception. I would highly recommend Voss DJ Service!
Services Used: DJ, , Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
Great variety--singing, guitar playing and awesome DJ! Great master of ceremonies to keep things on time. Would recommend him to everyone looking for an incredibly fun and unique reception!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cheryl
Wedding:
11/2/2013
4.4/5.0
We used Voss DJ for our wedding in November 2013. We found Norman to be very responsive to email, and helpful in the planning process. After finding out how reasonable his rates were and watching some Youtube videos of his performances, we booked him. He provided us with a standard script for the evening and allowed us to edit it to our liking. Norman did a great job during the cocktail/dinner hours singing classic love songs, and after dinner was good at playing a variety of music to keep guests of all ages on the dance floor.

The one downfall of the services provided related to our timeline for the evening. About two weeks before the wedding, we had a call with Norman to walk him through the script and he gave us some of his thoughts on what we had drafted. After the call, we sent him our updated and final timeline and he acknowledged receipt via email.
However, on the evening of the wedding, we unfortunately realized too late that he was using the old timeline.

Originally, we had planned to have a memorial dance instead of the father-daughter dance, where the groom and I would dance on the dance floor with my late father's family members. However, in the new timeline, we decided that only the groom and I would dance, and then my younger brother would step in half way through. Because Norman was using the draft timeline, he kept insisting for family members to join on the dance floor during the entire first verse of the song, despite the groom and I shaking our heads, and never announced my brother to step in.

Our guests never knew the difference, but it was frustrating since it was a very difficult part of the night for me as a bride. For it to not go as planned was disappointing, especially because we had sent the revised timeline 10 days before the wedding and Norman had acknowledged receipt. The updated timeline had a few other changes that also were not incorporated into the night, but those were less of a big deal to us.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
10/12/2013
4.6/5.0
Norman Voss was amazing. He was so easy to work with leading up to the wedding. Everyone loved his singing during the cocktail hour, and then couldn't leave the dance floor at the reception. People of all ages told me how good the DJ was, including my 85 year-old aunt and 30 year-old cousins. Norman did a great job!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
C
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Norman served as the DJ and MC for our wedding reception in September. He was responsive to all of our emails in the months leading up to the wedding, often responding within less than 24 hours to a request. During the wedding reception he entertained the guests during the cocktail hour with Frank Sinatra style singing and light guitar music. We received several compliments from our guests on his singing. During the reception, he was extremely fun and was able to keep people on the dance floor for the entire night. He played a wide variety of music and made sure everyone had fun. He also was able to accommodate some last minute changes to the schedule and be mindful of the timing of reception activities. We would recommend Norman for any wedding reception!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
2.6/5.0
The Venue was beautiful. But the personal was a touch and go. There were days when there wouldn't be a response from my event coordinator and there are days it's seems like we needed to response to her within mins.

When you get all inclusive package find out the break down on what things cost. We found out at the last min that our plates was around $170 per person!

Norman Voss was great! I would recommend him to anyone! A very talent DJ!
Services Used: Catering, DJ, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Voss DJ Service responded with the following comments:

It is unfortunate that the reviewer lowered my ratings because of the venue please note that it was not because of my services in any way and they said that I "was great!".
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Norm did a great job! He got the crowd dancing and played the songs we asked him to play.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
My (now) husband and I chose to use Norman as our DJ after a coworker of mine insisted that of all the vendors she used in her wedding, he was the one she would recommend over and over.

He was extremely helpful. About a week before the wedding, when I was beginning to freak out, he walked me through the ceremony and reception step by step and went over what would be played when and when announcements would be made. We had him play music for our ceremony, sing and play guitar during cocktail hour, and then DJ the reception. He added awesome touches, like putting a silly hat and sunglasses on my husband and having him lead a love train. He had a good sense of the crowd and kept the dance floor full the whole night. I happen to have a lot of theatre friends, which I did not tell him. Apparently, he caught on. He played a Grease medley which was a huge hit.

Post wedding, numerous guests have expressed how awesome our DJ was. Everyone loved him and had a great time.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Catherine
Wedding:
7/27/2013
5.0/5.0
DJ Voss was an excellent DJ and MC at our wedding at Chestnut Hill B&B in Orange, Virginia! We were so impressed with how seamless all the transitions in the night were, how he covered up "hiccups" so that no one noticed, and he had everyone out on the dance floor all night. It couldn't have gone better! Plus, his teenage son did an excellent video for a nominal fee. :)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tammy
Wedding:
7/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Norm went above and beyond the duties of a wedding DJ. He was very easy to work with and super accommodating as well as we discussed details via Skype (my husband and I live in different states and the wedding took place in a third!). His classical guitar was beautiful as I walked down the aisle and he emceed the entire reception smoothly. Norm is extremely prepared with all the necessary equipment and worked very well with the venue to coordinate his needs with their capabilities. His combination of classical guitar, singing, and contemporary DJ stylings made for an eclectic and entertaining event. We loved him!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
j
Wedding:
7/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Norm wws great to work with. Fabulous voice and plays beautiful classical guitar. He worked seamlessly around the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception at the Airlie. He interacted with our guests and everyone raved
Norm helped make our daughters wedding day beautiful.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rob
Wedding:
6/30/2013
5.0/5.0
Norman was great! Wendy and I were thrilled with his professionalism, enthusiasm and passion. It's important to have someone who genuinely cares about the bride and groom having a great experience, and thus, great memories to look back upon. Norman is a class act. He is a great voice and knows how to keep the focus on the bride and groom. Surround yourself with the best cast of supporting actors and the chances are you will have a great wedding celebration! Wendy and I highly recommend Norman.

The Groom
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Doris
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Oh my God, this man is amazing! Where else do you find the combo of live music and awesome DJ??!! My guests did not realize that Norman was actually playing the guitar and singing the classic Frank Sinatra/ Dean Martin favorites. He was a fantastic emcee and kept the party moving. He knew exactly how to get the party started and folks on the dance floor. We asked for an additional hour at the last minute and no problem! He was elegantly attired, and he was there ready to go when we arrived. He even had magic tricks up his sleeve to engage the little ones. Who is this guy, Superman?? Honestly, HIRE HIM!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
5/26/2013
4.8/5.0
Norman and his son did an amazing job with our wedding! We received many compliments from our guests on how much they enjoyed him. One of our guests even asked asked if he is able to come to Ohio whenever she gets married to do her wedding.
Services Used: DJ, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough about DJ Voss and the services he provided for my wedding. He was the DJ at my sister's wedding 1.5 years ago, and when I got engaged he was the first vendor I contacted.

Our wedding was at the Lorien Hotel & Spa on May 11, 2013. We requested DJ Voss play music in 3 separate locations during the day, and the transitions from each location were seamless. The ceremony was on the rooftop of the hotel, and DJ Voss provided instrumental music in addition to guitar accompaniment for 2 family members that were singing. He arrived at the site early to practice the piece with them. DJ Voss sang during dinner - and if you didn't see him singing, you'd think it was the original recording. It was a really lovely touch! After dinner the party moved into another location for dancing and drinks. DJ Voss was able to move everyone and keep the music playing without any interruption. He kept the party going until the night was over... we had an absolute blast!

DJ Voss is exceptional - I'd recommended him to any bride!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
DJ Norm was a GREAT vendor choice for us. Not only is he a DJ but he sings (beautifully) and plays the guitar! He is full entertainment for a wedding at such a great price. He also only charged a small fee for travel to Richmond (two hours from DC) to be at our reception.

Norman was professional and a great listener. He really grasped what we wanted and what we liked and didn't like (without much guidance from us!). He kept the party going which really MADE the wedding. We received so many compliments on him after the wedding and were even asked if he had a vocal CD to buy.

He was able to accommodate last minute changes (I had a bridesmaid that went into labor the day before the wedding changing all of the line ups) with tact and politeness.

He is a MUST for your wedding- I would recommend him over and over again!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jack
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
We chose Voss after we saw his performance at our friend's wedding. He was just amazing! He ran sound for the ceremony, played instrumental guitar, sang during cocktails, played dj music, performed live, and assisted us in our live performance, all while setting up and maintaining three separate audio setups. We had a wonderful meeting months in advance and all of our preparation and hard work paid off! Highly recommended!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aycie
Wedding:
3/10/2013
5.0/5.0
Dj Voss is an exceptional singer. He did everything that we asked him to do on our wedding and more! I received a lot of compliments from our guests and they even asked us how did we find him. If you want something different and not just a "regular" DJ, I highly recommend DJ Voss. He sings, play instrument, and he can be master of ceremony too.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ryan and Jamie
Wedding:
2/23/2013
5.0/5.0
DJ Norman Voss was excellent!! Outstanding professionalism and a great job in directing the events of the wedding throughout the entire evening. His ability to not only play all your favorite songs but to be able to sing and play guitar adds a special touch to your wedding reception.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
Norman Voss was a fabulous DJ. He took exactly what my husband and I wanted and made it even better. He provides great live entertainment and kept our reception upbeat and fun.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
A. R.
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Norman Voss was our DJ of choice for my daughter's wedding reception on Saturday, October 27, 2012. The reception was held in
the atrium of the Old Ebbit Grill and included an hour cocktail
reception on the roof top of the OEG where Mr. Voss played guitar and sang. He was amazing!!! All the guests loved hs singing and choice of music. I am not exaggerating when I say he sounded just like Harry
Connick, Jr. He was just that good. It was a beautiful fall afternoon, the view of Washington, DC was amazing for our out of town guests and Norman Voss, of Voss DJ Service, provided the entertainment that our guests will remember for a lifetime.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
After first seeing DJ Voss in action at a friends wedding, my husband and I knew right away that we needed to follow suit and book him for our own wedding the following year. From playing classical guitar as guest trickled in for the ceremony, to performing easy listening jazz classics, and finally kicking off the dance party from the DJ booth—we were confident that he would create the perfect soundtrack for every minute of the most important day of our lives.

What we didn’t know—was that behind the elegant tux, silky smooth voice, and effortless authentic charm we would also find someone that would help keep our wedding day on track. See, unbeknownst to my husband and I, our onsite venue coordinator jumped ship mid evening, but thanks to DJ Voss the show went on. Swimmingly might I add. He kept the program moving facilitating all the transitions between dinner, speeches, dancing, cake cutting etc. without skipping a beat.

Oh and did I mention we got married in a mansion turned art gallery? While the multiple rooms could have been a logistical and technical nightmare for some, DJ Voss was not fazed in the least. He even brought equipment to help my sister with a slide show. (This request was not within the scope of our contract, but he was happy to go above and beyond.)

Long story short—if you are looking for someone super talented, flexible & easy to work with, who will immerse themselves in your day & be a hit with all your guests—DJ Voss is your guy and hands down the best party trick in town. We can’t thank and recommend him highly enough!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bobbie
Wedding:
10/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Guest after guest have contacted me about Norman – in shock and praise at how fantastic he sounded, and how fun we was in keeping the party lively, from the conga line to the "longest married couple" dance.

He also took really good care of us when dealing with a certain family member that was ... unpredictable. When that person didn't get up for their dance, Norman made sure it moved along flawlessly. To the point where I (!!) didn’t even realize there was an issue! That’s talent, and it's nice to know the day will be remembered as perfect because of his quick thinking.

There's NO ONE that I imagine could do a better job than Norman. Hands down.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
DJ Voss did an amazing job as the DJ for our Oct. 6th, 2012 wedding at Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast! First, his overall talent is sensational! All of our guests commented that they did not realize the DJ was singing and they thought it was a CD. Not to mention the fact that he plays the guitar as well! His charismatic personality got our guests active and dancing which took our wedding to a higher level- but he in no way stole the show. He was incredibly flexible. He adapted to the few changes we made on the spot flawlessly. This type of flexibility I thought was key because you never know how an event will go and being rigid about the preplanned schedule could ruin a special moment. However, Norman was very organized and appropriately reminded us of the schedule allowing us to guide the event. I can’t say enough positive things!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Monica
Wedding:
9/21/2012
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough about Norman Voss! Absolutely awesome. He kept the dance floor packed the entire night. The singing and guitar playing was flawless, I had so many people come up to me and my husband and were in shock that it was him singing and not a cd. AND when my two nieces went up to him he starts doing a magic trick for them WHILE he was singing and he didn't skip a beat!! Who does that?!?! Incredible! Couldn't be happier with our choice. Norman, Thank you so much!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
He was fantastic and the party never stopped! Do yourself a favor and hire Norman Voss :) Reception at Airlie Center Warrenton, VA
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
My daughter's wedding was at Potomac Point Winery and Norm Voss provided the DJ services....and we couldn't have asked for anything better. He was very good, very fun, and very professional...and he provided everything we asked for and more.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
8/17/2012
5.0/5.0
Norman Voss was great. He is very personable and helpful threw the planning process. He helped us pick out songs and played the right kind of music for the reception. He got all our guests out on the dance floor. He was perfect as the MC as well. He played and sang during the cocktail hour and dinner. We got so many compliments on his performance. I highly recommend Voss DJ.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Norman provided DJ services for my sister's birthday and he was AMAZING! He went above and beyond "typical" DJ services. A real special treat was his live singing and guitar playing. He was so good that often times, guests thought he was playing music from a soundtrack only to look up and realize that he was singing/playing live. The birthday had both adults and children and he made a concerted effort to entertain everyone. Everyone had a great time at the party and he was very responsive and professional. I would definitely recommend him for your wedding or other special event.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cindy Yanky
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Mr. Voss was hired for our 80th Anniversary Celebration of our company and his professionalism and song selection catered to all our guest entertainment needs. His singing and song choice for dinner was just the right touch for our event. Getting the party started for the dance portion of our evening was so much fun and his dancing and singing with us our group had everyone on the dance floor.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vanessa
Wedding:
5/28/2012
5.0/5.0
I had the reception at the Top of the Town. Norman is very good and all my guests like his singing, guita playing and the DJ as well. He is nice and professional. Also, he perfectly executed what we have planned. We love his service!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leah
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Norman was an amazing dj and master of ceromonies!!!! His voice is amazing as he sung Frank Sinatra and Michael Buble type songs during cocktail hour. His dj skills were fantastic and he was so helpful in helping us make music decisions with all of his experience. We loved Norman and so did our guests! We would definitely recommend his services, he was fantastic! :)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachael
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Norman was one of the BEST DJs I have ever met. He made my wedding day the most perfect day it could possibly be. The music was perfect his timing was perfect and I would HIGHLY recommend him to anyone!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lasimms
Wedding:
4/28/2012
4.8/5.0
Excellent DJ! Norm did everything from start to finish and was Great!! He even had a schedule of the ceremony and reception which was so helpful because it was one less thing we had to do. I would highly recommend him. He makes the process go so smoothly!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrew
Wedding:
4/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Norman was a consumate professional that provided the exact service that we discussed beforehand. Even with a few last minute tweaks to the scheudle, he handled it perfectly and gave us a night that we will never forget. I would highly recommend Norman Voss DJ.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
DJ Voss was an excellent DJ for our recent wedding. He played classical guitar, sang songs akin to Frank Sinatra and Michael Buble, and played recorded songs that we were able to choose according to our taste. He was on time and very professional and his rates are incredibly reasonable. We would highly recommend hiring him to work any event. Thanks for making our wedding so special!

Leah & Joe
March 25, 2012
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1326158362388-2533101010035611623768268107023488484713182339n
Kristen
Wedding:
3/23/2012
5.0/5.0
What can i say, his music was amazing, he sang our first dance and my husband bursts out "hes really good" people LOVED the big band music during dinner, and got everyone dancing, even played some of my insane disco requests.

He also played guitar for our ceremony and learned a new song just for us. the day went by so fast but i will remember his music.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jayne
Wedding:
3/10/2012
5.0/5.0
This was the 2nd time that Norman Voss provided DJ services for our annual Gala . . . excellent entertainment!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kperri
Wedding:
1/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Norman Voss was wonderful. My daughter found him easy to deal with and willing to help with the timeline and kept to her music style requests. As the mother of the bride, I found him very responsive to e-mails and any changes to the timeline, etc. On the night of the reception he played and sang wonderful music. I heard nothing but positive comments all evening. During dinner, Mr. Voss, played classical guitar which enhanced the evening. He acted as our MC for the evening and kept things moving along. Dancing was wonderful and fun for everyone. We were very pleased, especially the bride and groom!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lordgeon
Wedding:
12/18/2011
5.0/5.0
Norman was extremely knowledgable and helpful and always responded promptly to our e-mails. On the day itself, Norman brings an energy and bravada that is phenomenal. He is always charming and handles the occasional wandering child with ease and magic tricks! He also will listen to your guests conversation, pick up on signals and has songs ready for your guests before they ask or in recognition of where they're from. We would highly recommend him for your big day if you want your guests to enjoy themselves!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Avery
Wedding:
11/5/2011
5.0/5.0
Norman nailed it! I was beyond impressed with his talent and the services he provided - he delivers a truly unique package as a wedding DJ. First, he played classical guitar during our ceremony and learned all the songs we wanted him to play. He also crooned "Frank Sinatra-style" during cocktail hour and dinner, which all the guests loved. For the dancing portion of our reception, we wanted more of a Motown and Oldies vibe, so I gave Norman a couple must-have songs and let him be creative for the rest - he did an awesome job! Every song was one I would have picked myself, and they were all crowd favorites. So many guests came up to me throughout the night asking, "Where did you find this guy? He's amazing!" (including our photographer). I also have a friend who got engaged recently and after seeing Norman perform at our wedding, she is dead-set on hiring him. I recommend him most highly.
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1288273404556-cimg1374
Jessica
Wedding:
10/9/2011
5.0/5.0
Simply said- AMAZING! I would recommend Voss DJ to anyone!!! He ended our ceremony with a bang! He was amazing during cocktail hour. Accommodated all our wants and needs during the reception. He has an awesome personality which will get the party going. We had more of an older crowd and couples with newborns at our wedding who did not dance much..I was a little stressed out but Norman Voss always had a plan. He would go out to the dance floor and dance himself which just drew a crowd. The conga line at the end was a HIT!!! He made our wedding a memorable one. I would definitely recommend him to anyone and everyone. He is very professional, accommodating and you will not be disappointed.

THANK YOU AGAIN =]
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nathan N
Wedding:
10/7/2011
5.0/5.0
Hire Voss DJ Service for your wedding and you have guaranteed a good time will be had by all!

Norm works with you to make sure you get exactly what you want out of him for the day. He is a great DJ, excellent MC, and a fantastic musician and performer. All of our guests were impressed with his versatility and charisma. He kept the schedule on track, but kept the party flowing too.

We could not have been happier with his work on our wedding day. We count ourselves lucky to have found him.

Highly recommended. Enlist this vendor with complete confidence.

Thanks, Norm!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
joelletb
Wedding:
9/18/2011
5.0/5.0
Norman was absolutely wonderful. So many women came up to me during my wedding and asked me where I found a DJ that looks like Harry Conick, Jr. and sounds like Frank Sinatra. Norman offers so many services and he does them impeccably. He compiled my list of quirky songs for my husband and I to dance to, let me send mp3 tracks of custom music for our ceremony processional, he played guitar during cocktail hour, and mixed singing with DJing during the reception. Everyone was on the dance floor all night and everyone had a blast. I highly recommend Norman and if I may also suggest that you request his "Sweet Caroline" when you're ready to get even the wallflowers onto the dance floor!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ward091011
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Norman Voss was the DJ at my wedding on 9/10/11. He was so amazing! Everyone has so many good things to say about him throughout the night! His singing, live classical guitar playing, and song choices definitely set the mood for the cocktail hour and dinner. When it came time to dance he was good at getting everyone involved and excited which made it such a fun night for everyone. While planning the wedding and picking out the music he was very helpful and listened to any requests and concerns that we had. He is very talented and professional. I would recommend him completely.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
W
Wedding:
9/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Voss was extraordinary! He followed every small note in my instructions, and followed every revision. The amount of involvement he had in the wedding was perfect; he injected himself just enough to make the wedding festive, but witheld enough to not be intrusive. Due to this, it really felt like Voss knew the wedding party personally. He adapted to anything the wedding threw at him.

Example: My father heard a slow song, so he asked my new wife to dance. By the time they got up to the dance floor, the song ended and naturally changed to a fast song. Voss spotted them a second later, and smoothly segued back to a slow song to make sure the moment wasn't ruined. It seems minor from an outsider, but this attention to detail makes a world of difference in a wedding, as anyone who's been in a wedding can attest to.

Quick note to anyone hiring him: as you should with all vendors, make sure you spell out any hard names phonetically

I absolutely recommended him
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1281577361252-3244181063531329412328254451206104749890n
Katie
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
Norman was AMAZING!!!

A few times I looked to the table were he was set up to give him a good sign for the song he was playing...not only was he playing but he was also singing! he has a true gift and truly enjoys what he does. Helped to give our special day such a positive vibe which radiated throughout the whole event.

So glad we found him!!!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Valerie
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
Norman was incredible, absolutely amazing. I thought I had done a pretty good job putting together all the touches that would make the day special, but I had an extra special trick up my sleeve - Norman! Not only did he play fun music that made everyone want to be up and dancing, he also sang during dinner, serenaded my grandmother with her favorite song (Louis Armstrong's "What a Wonderful World"), and even closed out the night by singing the song of our last dance (Michael Buble's "Home"). Many of my guests stopped and asked me, "Where did you find him?" They were thrilled, and he seemed to be having just as much fun as everyone else, too. Best of all, at one point on the dance floor, I looked back towards the tables, saw absolutely no one sitting down, and thought to myself, "This is the mark of a good party." I had found Norman through the recommendation of a friend. I am soooo glad we took her advice!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1313866250093-wedding14
Katebonnykate
Wedding:
8/6/2011
5.0/5.0
Norman was amazing! Kept the dance floor packed (despite the fact that it was an early evening reception), played beautiful classical guitar during cocktail hour, and I got a ton of compliments from my guests.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Klara
Wedding:
7/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Norman Voss was wonderful and so very versatile. He has a great singing voice, played classical guitar and did a fabulous job as DJ and master of ceremonies. A lot of my wedding guests kept telling me how great they thought he was.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mudd
Wedding:
7/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Norman was absolutely awesome...and what all the other folks have said is true, he's such a good singer people can't believe he's actually doing the singing! I had numerous compliments, from my young cousins to older aunties, they all loved him. I owe my friends a big one for recommending him!
Services Used: DJ
Bg5
Patrisha
Wedding:
6/18/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I would HIGHLY recommend Norman! For our wedding, he played guitar before our ceremony began while guests were arriving, did the sound for the ceremony, and did the music for our cocktail hour and reception, including some live sung/played music which was great. His music transitions and great song choices helped keep our dance floor packed the entire night. PICK NORMAN!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
emily
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
Norman was a fabulous dj. Everyone just praised his work. He was professional_talented and very fun. He was great to work with and I would recommend him to anyone.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
julong
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
Norman was excellent at our wedding. All of our guests kept asking where we found him cause they thought he was awesome.
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1262542841926-a
Courtney
Wedding:
4/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Norman Voss is the only DJ that I would recommend you talk to, because once you do you will be SOLD! He is highly professional, knows so much about music and songs and will help you figure out all of your big day music. If he does not have a song, he will get it with no issues.
He is so talented and very personable. Everyone at my wedding had such a great time and thought the music was great and the DJ was amazing. Voss DJ will play the guitar or sing and he does with so much grace and class.
Voss DJ serenaded my husband and I while we were taking pictures, it was the coolest thing, and he sang New York New York by F. Sinatra... (I almost thought it was Sinatra, he is THAT GOOD!!!) while my guests set up the cancan dance, that was pretty cool to see and my guests had a blast.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
C
Wedding:
4/17/2011
5.0/5.0
I love working with Norman Voss. I had seen him at a friend's wedding and was very impressed with his work. He is professional and responsive and very easy to get along with. He definitely tries hard to fulfill every request. Because I was working with him, that gave me one less thing to worry about. You will never be disappointed when you have him at the helm.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenn/John
Wedding:
3/26/2011
5.0/5.0
DJ Norman Voss is phenomenal. We provided a playlist and an agenda and he took charge. He was the perfect Master of Ceremonies. He filled in with the appropriate music where we were short on choices.
He sings and plays the guitar beautifully - the guests, for the most part, were not even aware that live sound was blending in with digital.
All of the children were entranced by his "magic lighting/dancing fingers".
Everyone had a great time. We have highly recommended him to our friends for their future needs.
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1301278374118-fbavatar16808340
John
Wedding:
3/26/2011
5.0/5.0
Let me start by saying my wife and i planned our wedding from Savannah, GA. We were only able to communicate with DJ Voss through email prior to the wedding. We were married on March 26th, 2011 in Washington, D.C. at Top of the Town. We could not have asked for better service and a better wedding. We sent DJ Voss our initial playlist 2 months out and finalized everything about a week out. He came prepared to the wedding with all our songs and an extensive playlist which our guests were able to request. NUMEROUS guests approached us following the ceremony to comment on how good our DJ was and that his singing abilities definitely added to the experience. They did not realize he was singing until they looked at the DJ stand and saw it. He was that good. Whether it be our 10-12 year old nieces and nephews, our 23-27 year old peers, or our 70 year old family guests people went out of their way to comment about how good the DJ was. He ensured that the bride and groom were the highlights of the event and stayed in the background as the master of ceremonies, directing everything with outstanding professionalism. We highly recommend DJ Voss to all considering DJ Services in the Washington, D.C. area. He truly made our event great! Thank you and we will definitely recommend to anyone getting married in D.C.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrsrueda2you
Wedding:
3/18/2011
5.0/5.0
Norman was there for my husband's Air Force retirement party. He took our suggestions for songs, integrated all kinds of things into the show that night, got everyone dancing and a great time was had by all. We'd seen him at a friends wedding last year and when we needed DJ services, we gave him a call. He is a great part of any type of get together.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
brideybridebride
Wedding:
3/12/2011
4.8/5.0
I would recommend Norman Voss to anyone looking for an affordable, talented DJ! He played guitar, sang beautifully, and had our guests dancing the entire night. Several guests complimented us on our choice of DJ! Truly the most fun! You won't be disappointed!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1289528513859-dsc00470
Joani
Wedding:
1/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Norman Voss was awesome! He provided the music for our ceremony as well as entertainment at the reception. He sings, plays guitar, and facilitates the event - all with style and professionalism. He knew what needed to be done and took the ball and ran with it. All of our guests (ages 21-60) loved him. I could not imagine finding anyone better!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brina
Wedding:
10/30/2010
5.0/5.0
If you want a DJ to play a playlist and make scripted announcements, then Norman Voss is not the DJ for you. A trained monkey could do that. If you want a talented singer, classical guitarist, personalized DJ and all around entertainer, then you definitely want Norman Voss! He is a wealth of knowledge when it comes to music and will help tailor his services to meet your wedding needs. His rendention of "here comes the bride" on classical guitar is wonderful! His renditions of "crooner" classics, like Frank Sinatra, are spot on! He's fun and gets your guests on their feet. We had so many compliments after the reception on how entertaining he was. Our dance floor was never empty. I really cannot say enough about how much Norman helped to make our special day, well, even more special. I've already recommended him to an engaged friend and will continue to do so. If you want someone who will respect the traditions of a classic wedding, but bring in touches of fun where you want it, then you've gone to the right DJ. And his services are definitely provided at what I consider to be a respectful and resonanable price.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pierowman
Wedding:
10/16/2010
5.0/5.0
Everyone says the DJ makes the party. Norman made my party and everyone loved him. We have gotten nothing but rave reviews about how great our wedding was. I recommend him a 120%!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
HappyBride
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
Norman Voss did an amazing job! He was a pleasure to work with and helped make the reception spectacular. He added a personal touch of class and elegance by singing and playing the guitar and kept the dance floor full after dinner with a great music selection.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pamela
Wedding:
10/3/2010
5.0/5.0
The talents of this DJ is totally off the chart!!!! I have worked with many DJ's in the D.C. area for more than 20 years. Norman Voss and his wife are in a category that is separate from the rest! They absolutely made my daughter's wedding a fairy tale come true!!!!! Thanks for the incredible memories!!!!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1285241937896-img2286
Amber
Wedding:
9/12/2010
5.0/5.0
We absolutely loved working with Norman Voss for our DJ. He has so much to offer as a DJ and went above and beyond for my husband and I for our wedding. He plays the guitar if you want, he can sing. At our wedding he sang some, played his classical guitar some, and did an awesome job as a DJ. He is precise in going over the wedding schedule and he knew when to play what at the time that we asked. I would definitely recommend Voss DJ to anyone looking for a DJ with great customer service.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ml07
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Norman was awesome. He was a fabulous singer during the cocktail hour (sings Frank Sinatra and Michael Buble) and he picked perfect songs for everyone to dance to. Everything was fabulous.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
weddingsmc
Wedding:
4/17/2010
5.0/5.0
I coordinated a wedding that Norman Voss was DJing for at Top of the Town. He is very easy to work with, went with the timeline exactly, quick to respond to emails/voicemails. Not to mention, he is an awesome Jazz singer, like Frank Sinatra. He sang during the cocktail and dinner hour and it went perfect with the theme of the wedding. Then, when it was time to party, he picked out the best songs to dance to, to slow dance to, etc. He was awesome, highly recommend!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lilmiss80
Wedding:
8/8/2009
5.0/5.0
Norman Voss is an amazing DJ! We originally hired him to take care of both the ceremony music as well as the reception music however closer to the wedding date, we decided to get a bag piper to handle the ceremony music as my husband really wanted one. Norman Voss still came early and let us use his equipment. We used his wireless mic for the officiant, another mic for the reader and musician who performed at the ceremony, and his sound system so all of our guests could hear him as our wedding took place outdoors. Then he sang classical songs during cocktail hour and dinner. He sang so well that my guests were asking me if he was lip syncing! Then he got the party started with current dance songs at the reception. He was so professional, very affordable and very flexible. He listened to everything that we wanted and followed through with everything. He was fun but wasn't "cheesy" and didn't hog the mic which was important to us. I HIGHLY recommend Norman Voss for any event needing a DJ. He was awesome! Thanks again Norm!
Melissa and Bruce Gordon
August 8, 2009 (wedding day)
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
casey
Wedding:
6/14/2009
4.9/5.0
Norman Voss provided live music at the ceremony then dashed across town to DJ our reception. We loved him. Everyone enjoyed the music, despite having a wide range of ages and tastes attending our wedding. Norman was very flexible with us, and his prices were very reasonable, especially compared to other live ceremony music. He kept everything moving at the reception, and everyone had a good time. He followed our requests and "do not play" list. Would definetely recommend for weddings or other events.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DCTexan
Wedding:
9/7/2008
5.0/5.0
Norman was fantastic! Not only is he a wonderful DJ, but he also sings! I wanted to dance to a Frank Sinatra song with my dad for our father/daughter dance. Norman learned the song I wanted and even wrote some new lyrics to make it more appropriate for the wedding. He was great. I would highly recommed him!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ARD
Wedding:
9/15/2007
5.0/5.0
He has a great voice and great music selection.
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
Woodbridge, VA 22193 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Voss DJ Service
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1351008154972-normanvoss