130x130_sq_1305311829345-eh

Waiting To Be Told

Clinton , IN
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1057 S. 6th Street
Clinton, IN US 47842 (map)

PHONE

765-828-0983

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

How would you like a ceremony that feels like it's been written by your best friend? That's what you get when you work with me!

Together we will create the ceremony of your... Read more
How would you like a ceremony that feels like it's been written by your best friend? That's what you get when you work with me!

Together we will create the ceremony of your dreams. Recently I worked with a couple who had the following words to say, "Before we met you, we were looking forward to the reception, now we are looking forward to the ceremony!" Contrary to popular belief, the ceremony is NOT the boring part before the party. It is the centerpiece of your day!

As a Life Cycle Celebrant, I am trained to think outside of the box, there are no cookie cutter ceremonies with me. My goals is for your guests to say at the end of the ceremony "Wow, that was the best wedding ceremony I've ever been too, it was so you!"

I have tons of ideas on different wedding rituals like wine blending, hand-fasting, jumping the broom, eternity circles, blessing stones, rose ceremonies, inclusion of children, etc. Also, I will write your love story and weave it throughout the ceremony which makes the event even more personal.

You have final say on your ceremony, there will be no surprises. What I like doesn't matter, as this is YOUR wedding - your ceremony.

I work with all couples, but am best suited for those who may not have an affiliation with a church or a parish or who wish to have an inter-faith ceremony. If you want a religious ceremony, I can do that too! I do not require pre-marital counseling - as a Life Cycle Celebrant, it is not my job to judge. I do weddings, vow renewals and commitment ceremonies.

My background includes training, public speaking and human resources. People and telling their stories are my passion. You will find that I am professional, fun and creative. I also have a great voice, at a recent ceremony someone one told me that they "wished I would read them bed time stories as my voice was so soothing!" No one will sleep during the ceremony I promise - they will hang onto every word!

Call me for a free consultation and check out my deals, I've usually got one running!

I can't wait to talk to you about your AMAZING day! Read less
Officiant

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1275845755862-004

INFO FOR OFFICIANT

What officiant services do you provide?
Civil Union, Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious Ceremony, Single Religion Ceremony
What religious affiliations do you serve?
Agnostic, Christian (no denomination), Christian - Anglican, Christian - Baptist, Christian - Catholic, Christian - Episcopalian, Christian - Lutheran, Christian - Methodist, Christian - Presbyterian, Evangelical
Can you accommodate the hearing impaired?
No
Are you willing to perform a ceremony at a non-religious site?
Absolutely
What is your attire for the ceremony?
I generally wear something black as to not detract from the couple. I do not wear a robe.
Are you flexible in the wording used throughout the ceremony, including the vows?
I INSIST that the wording reflect the couple and work with them to do just that.
Do you allow the couple to write their own vows, if desired?
Yes, yes and yes!
Do you have a list of readings pre-selected, from which the couple must choose?
I offer suggestions, but if the couple has a reading they wish to use, we will use that.
How long are your ceremonies?
Typically from 20 to 30 minutes.
Do you require that premarital counseling be done?
No, I do not.
Are you willing to perform pre-ceremony rehearsals?
Yes - for smaller weddings, a day of run-through works beautifully.
Do you supply a sound system?
I can.

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melanie
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Marta was so great. She made the process so easy and was so flexible. She give you a questionnaire so she is able to write your love story into the ceremony which my guest especially enjoyed hearing. She also was able to keep it nice and short per our request but not so short that our guest were disappointed. I would recommend having Marta as your officiant to anyone.
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1342898810531-8
Rebecca
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Marta is amazing!! We have gotten so many compliments on how refreshing and personal our ceremony was! She really captured our personalities, and her writing is fantastic. She is very professional, and so much fun to work with. You can tell she really loves her job. We'll cherish the script from our ceremony forever. I can't recommend her highly enough! I wish I could giver her 10 stars. Or 10,000!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adrienne
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
Wow! Marta is amazing!

We hired Marta based on the recommendation of our DJ and I am so happy that we did. All communication was done via email but she was still able to get a feel for who we are. Our ceremony was perfect. Modern, funny, laid-back and personal. Everything that we wanted it to be. She is a very sweet lady and you can tell that she really loves what she does. All evening, we received so many compliments from our guests about the ceremony. When we would tell them that we had not even met her until the rehearsal, the shock on their faces was priceless.
Please, do yourselves a favor and hire Marta. In return you will get a ceremony that will be remembered by you and your guests for a lifetime!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
5/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Marta was wonderful! She listened to what we wanted and was able to make it into an unforgettable beautiful ceremony. I had several friends state that her voice was just loud enough for those in the back to hear but she wasn't so loud to us standing two feet away. She was quick responding to emails and cost was very reasonable.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ken
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
If I could give more stars to Marta for her work, I would in a minute. She was exactly what we wanted and needed to make our wedding perfect. Her attention to detail, responsiveness and all of the wonderful ideas she has made our day one that we will never forget. Marta customized our ceremony into a very meaningful experience for us and our family. She is absolutely recommended for anyone who wants a special, customized and memorable ceremony that you will always remember as being perfect for YOU.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Natalie
Wedding:
3/9/2013
5.0/5.0
Marta is a lifesaver! I photographed a wedding she officiated a few years ago and fell in love with her style! Immediately, I got her contact information, even though I wasn't engaged yet! She was the first vendor we called when we set our date for September 2012. We had some problems and were getting stressed with this wedding as it was going to be the second wedding for both of us, so we just cancelled everything and let everything get back to normal for a while.

We decided to apply for our marriage license last month and make it easier and less stressful by not telling anyone, so opinions on the ceremony and reception wouldn't cause more stress. We contacted Marta looking for some help and she was such a lifesaver! We wanted a private ceremony (Me, My Husband and My Stepson only) and she let us know the next available date she had available and was perfect! She let us customize our wedding day just like she would for larger ceremonies, and she was energetic as always!

She definitely connected with us as a couple, and I'm sure if we would have done a huge ceremony, everyone else would have loved her, too! We just feel bad we didn't give her that opportunity to show how amazing she is and to get future business, so now we tell everyone about her! I run my own photography business, so I get wedding inquiries a lot, and I will make it a point to give them her information and an incredible, 5 star review with my wedding packets!

On the other side of things, working next to her at a wedding was so much fun! She's so courteous and friendly with other vendors and I'll never forget the excitement I captured in the photograph of the couples first kiss with her in the background throwing her hands up with joy!

Marta is the best of the best! Do NOT use anyone else! I'd even go as far to say if she doesn't have your wedding day available, MOVE IT! ;-)
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
8/31/2012
5.0/5.0
Marta is phenomenal. She got to know us and put together a beautiful ceremony. Our guests enjoyed the ceremony & agreed it was tailored to fit our personalities. I was so relaxed during the ceremony that I could take in what Marta was saying and really absorb our vows.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
To go with Marta, from Waiting to be Told, was the best decision we could have made for our wedding! She is very kind and really gets to know you prior to writing your ceremony. After many weddings, the reception is what people can't stop talking about, but at ours it was the ceremony! The next day everyone kept asking where we found such an amazing celebrant, the said the ceremony was romantic, funny, personal and very "us" (something which Marta strives for)! She gave us some great ideas and let us change, adapt and personalize the entire ceremony to suit us, she even added in our love story which included how we met and things we love and admire about each other. I would very highly recommend Marta's services to anyone looking to have an amazing ceremony!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jacqueline
Wedding:
6/3/2012
5.0/5.0
We only interviewed one officiant, and that was Marta. From the first moment, my husband and I absolutely adored her. She is so warm and genuine - exactly the kind of person you would want to help you celebrate such an important day.

Even though we met in person a total of three times (we emailed a lot!), she really "got" us and our story and created the most original and beautiful ceremony. Friends and family were constantly asking us how many years we had known her, since she obviously knew us so well!

Having Marta construct our wedding ceremony was the best decision we have ever made. Nobody else could have possibly given us such a personal, unique, and memorable time and I will be forever grateful to her for helping our marriage start off so perfectly!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tschroer
Wedding:
10/21/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I had to change our venue on short notice due to a cancer diagnosis in our family. We were so worried about finding a place to get married and worried about the logistics of getting married somewhere far from home where the area is not known for "destination" weddings that we were just hoping we could find someone to marry us. I found Marta online and we feel so fortunate that the internet led us to Marta. She asked many questions on the phone to get a feel for where we wanted to head with our ceremony then sent us a questionnaire that felt like homework but was so worth the time. Our ceremony had our personalities all over it! Not surprisingly both myself and my husband shed some tears during our ceremony but we had many of our guests tell us they shed tears as well. Numerous guests told me that it was the nicest most personalized ceremony they have ever seen. In addition to the ceremony being wonderful Marta was great before the ceremony pointing us all in the right direction and helping us through the process since we did not have a rehearsal (our logistics did not allow for it). I was never nervous because she was so helpful and calm throughout the ceremony.
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1326830378930-3948292734819693673551000011666313247488021105864307n
The Mrs. B
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
I cannot begin to thank Marta enough for the wonderfully amazing job she did on October 1st. I knew our ceremony would be special, but she went above and beyond and made it truly magical. It was so beautiful and very much "us." Everyone commented on how it was the best ceremony that they had ever been to and how absolutely wonderful she was. I would definitely recommend Marta to any and every bride.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
5/22/2011
5.0/5.0
Let me just say that there was not a dry eye in the house. Not that I wanted to cry off my makeup during my wedding but the ceremony that she presented was so personal and told some many of our stories that those that were closest to us, considering we only had 35 guests that means everyone, knew just how special everything was. She gave us the chance to tell her exactly what we wanted and also coached us along the way. It couldn't have been more perfect!
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1305569265945-2290981015020349674866616048578366569698591369553n
mandy
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
I contacted Marta the week before our wedding because I decided I wanted someone to marry us that is a professional instead of having a friend be ordained and marry us. That was probably one of the best decisions I ever made! I never knew there were so many options on how our ceremony would take place! She was AMAZING to work with! great personality! She was so flexible! and in return she gave us an amazing ceremony to always remember and cherish and it fit us PERFECTLY! I will highly recommend Marta to marry anyone and everyone! She made our Ceremony so special! thank you so much Marta!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shirley
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Marta was an absolute answer to our prayers! She was just so wonderful, she took the time to figure out what we wanted. We had nothing but wonderful things said about our ceremony! We would recommend her to all of our friends!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
EricHendi
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
Marta was suggested to us by another officiant vendor and we were really glad we were able to find her. We first talked by phone to get to know each other and her passion and energy really came through even though we weren't with her. Marta was willing to travel all the way to Chicago for our wedding and rehearsal dinner. Because of the long travel we actually didn't get a chance to meet face to face before the rehearsal but had plenty of contact via the phone and e-mail. She was always very quick to respond and was helpful. We went through 4-5 revisions on the ceremony that she wrote herself and was always willing to make further changes until it was perfect. She helped us get started on our vows that we wanted to write ourselves, and she gave us plenty of guidance along the way. The day of the ceremony she was early and very prepared. Her warm smile was always there and gave us the assurance that things would go as smoothly as planned. She was very subtle with the ques and hints during the ceremony as we went through rituals and personal readings. It couldn't have gone better. She also took care of the wedding license for us. Now 2 months later, we are still getting people talking about how unique and different the ceremony was and also how personal it really felt. That is exactly what we were going for and couldn't have done it without Marta. She was truly great to work with and I would highly recommend her.
Services Used: Officiant
Bg5
Jamie and Roy
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Finding Marta from www.waitingtobetold.net was one of the greatest things that happened in our wedding planning process. Our ceremony was very important to me, and I wanted it to be performed by someone who was as excited about our marriage as I was. Marta was just the woman for the job! With my input and suggestions, she wrote our ceremony from top-to-bottom. She sent me multiple drafts with LOTS of suggestions and options, and when there wasn't an option I liked, she found something else. She was always so open to changes, ideas, and never burdened by wavering decisions:) When I got busy with life & wedding planning, she was patient, but encouraging, and always in touch. Just days before the wedding we finalized the ceremony, and it was perfect. I loved every bit of it, and it was so "us." Guests continue to approach us and tell us how wonderful our ceremony was, and how impressed they were with Marta. Her appearance and presentation of the ceremony was paramount. She smiled, laughed, and interacted with us and our guests through the whole ceremony. Her voice radiated with happiness and excitement, the exact mood I wanted our guests to feel from our ceremony. Marta drove nearly 4 hours to be part of our ceremony AND rehearsal. Her fee was extremely reasonable, and our wedding venue coordinator was beyond impressed with her. After the wedding was over, she sent us a beautiful keepsake copy of our ceremony which we have placed in our memory box and will surely enjoy reading again and again on anniversaries. I hope that other couples are able to include Marta in their ceremonies and have as wonderful an experience as we did!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anne
Wedding:
5/17/2014
4.8/5.0
Marta did a wonderful job with our marriage ceremony. Since we live out of state, we worked with her via phone and email to craft a completely personalized and very special ceremony.

After an initial conversation by phone, we completed detailed questionnaires about us and our relationship, then emailed back and forth with Marta to fine tune the ceremony script she developed for us based on our responses. The resulting ceremony was so touching and really reflected our history and values. We had so many guests tell us how much they loved it, and there wasn't a dry eye in the house! Marta is so warm, kind and professional - I can't thank her enough for the fantastic job she did.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
troy2000me
Wedding:
5/9/2011
4.3/5.0
Marta was very good and we were very satisfied with the ceremony that she put together for us. It fit us just perfectly! We are both atheists and did not want any religious portions or mentions of God. Marta is perfect for those that do not belong to a church or even a religion; or for those that don't quite for the traditional mold.

She was very flexible and her price cannot be beaten. She took care of mailing in the marriage license application for us and the keepsake ceremony mailed to us is very nice.

We would recommend her to anyone!
Services Used: Officiant

MAP

 
1057 S. 6th Street, Clinton, IN 47842 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Waiting To Be Told
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo