130x130_sq_1264624150430-diningroom

Walden on Lake Houston Country Club

Humble , TX

LOCATION

18100 Walden Forest Drive
Humble, TX US 77346 (map)

PHONE

832-445-2104

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Your wedding and wedding reception is likely to be one of the most important days of your love life, full of family, friends and a celebration of love. It is the beginning of your new... Read more
Your wedding and wedding reception is likely to be one of the most important days of your love life, full of family, friends and a celebration of love. It is the beginning of your new life together, when only the most romantic surroundings will do.

Elegance and charm are apparent to anyone who visits Walden. Serenity and grace surround our Club; we are a place where memories are made. For beautiful outdoor ceremonies, our private gazebo is nestled among soaring pine trees and on the shores of Lake Houston. Our reception facility features floor-to-ceiling windows with views of beautiful Lake Houston and the Walden on Lake Houston Golf Course.

We invite you to consider Walden on Lake Houston Golf & Country Club for your special day! Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1238688258828-diningroom
130x130_sq_1238688194781-lorysdiningroom2
130x130_sq_1238688385500-1021271
130x130_sq_1264623780758-gazebowflowers
130x130_sq_1276788697069-gazebo
130x130_sq_1276788904210-sparklers2
130x130_sq_1328050888071-928200615
130x130_sq_1328050963865-frontofwaldened
130x130_sq_1328050976740-headtablegreendc
130x130_sq_1328051044113-plainwhitelinensed
130x130_sq_1328051056581-yellowreceptioned

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1984
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Country / Golf Club
Describe the style of your venue
Waterfront
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
240
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
3
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
0
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
30
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes

REVIEWS

3.8
out of 5.0
3.9/5.0
3.5/5.0
3.7/5.0
4.0/5.0
4.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I'll admit Walden was a bit of a drive for us, but for the view and the price I decided to give it a shot. I am so thankful I did. Everything was wonderful. We received more for our money then we could have hoped for.
Everyone we met at the venue was friendly and helpful (it is an active country club, you have to keep in mind weddings are extra activities).
We started with Fallon as a coordinator, but later the role was taken over by Stella who didn't miss a beat.
Stella was helpful and patient as well as excited for us. She is a very pleasant person.
We went with recommended vendors, which were exactly what was promised. They were also tried and true by the venue, so it was easier to trust them.
The food was great. The bar service and staff were a lot of fun and our guest had a great time with them.
Everyone was just blown away.
So happy with my experience. I really can't say more just so happy with Walden on Lake Houston.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Our wedding ceremony and reception at Walden went flawlessly! The
Coordinator, Fallon Laughlin, went out of her regular routine to help make our day truly special! Many thanks to the staff for being very attentive. It was a wonderful experience for those who attended.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tiffany
Wedding:
1/26/2013
5.0/5.0
I planned our wedding in less than 20 days and I was very please to have selected the Walden on Lake Houston. I searched high & low for a venue that would allow me to have a fabulous wedding on a last minute budget and Fallon made that happen! The outlook room and view is amazing! The director, Fallon went over & beyond the call of duty to accomodate our wedding needs. Our guest & bridal party truly enjoyed the venue. We selected the pasta bar and our guest are still calling us to compliment how good the food was at the reception. Her years of experience & confidence made me at ease during the short planning phase & on our wedding day. If you are looking for a venue that will allow you to have a fabulous & beautiful wedding that's accomodating to your needs & budget without going bankrupt then look no further because the Walden on Lake Houston is the place for you! Thank me later!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Matt
Wedding:
6/5/2010
5.0/5.0
Mary Rowan handles the catering and special events services. She was always available, knowledgable, and wealth of information which made the wedding planning so much easier. The staff on the wedding day was very attentive and helpful. The food and decor at the reception was fantastic. Overall the cost was very reasonable and made this special day at the Walden CC very memorable and beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Crysmer
Wedding:
3/17/2007
4.9/5.0
I was very pleased with Walden! I had to find a new Ceremony Venue fast and they worked around my schedule and made everything easy!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Oscar
Wedding:
1/12/2013
4.8/5.0
I have nothing but good things to say about Fallon and the rest of the staff at Walden. They were extremely professional, flexible and made our wedding look beautiful and stress-free.

The only issue we had was the temperature in the room - it was very warm. Other than that, everything was amazing!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1280998810695-10939110449290738516786371972217591206595n
Crystal
Wedding:
4/16/2011
4.8/5.0
The club was beautiful and Stella, the coordinator, did an excellent job and made everything flow smoothly.
The only thing we would change was the cake serving. They took the cake in the back after the cutting and served everyone a small plate. We had three different flavors to choose from, plus the groom's cake and no one got to choose their flavor.
When I asked for a piece of the chocolate layer, I was told it was gone. The wedding cake, alone, was designed to feed 100 and we had less than 70 there.

However, I cannot praise Stella enough for how she handled the families, cake and flower deliveries, and helped us every step of the way. I would definitely recommend this venue to future brides.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aimee
Wedding:
3/10/2007
4.8/5.0
Walden was amazing. We had so many people tell us that it was one of the nicest weddings they have been to. Mary and Chef Dan did everything that I asked for. We were married on the water and the reception was inside. It was perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.6/5.0
We felt lucky to get such a beautiful location for such a great cost. The food is great!

Fallon, the director, is moody, so hope you catch her on a good day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kwright28
Wedding:
9/10/2011
3.4/5.0
For the most part I was very pleased with the way my wedding was conducted. I did have a few things I would change. One, the wedding coordinator was very hard to get in touch with. I would send an e-mail and wouldn't get a response for days. Two: When I was scheduled for appointment times the coordinator was ALWAYS late. A week before the wedding I went in to finalize plans and make sure everything was in order. I had made one change to the head table. I was told all was finalized and not to worry. But, when we walked into the reception after all the guests were already seated, there were not enough seats at the table. SO some of my wedding party had to search for seats. It was a complete mess. The coordinator left in the middle of the event, so I was not even able to ask her if there was things she could do for me. Such as turn the air down cause it was HOT in the room. The whole night I was sweating like a pig. The place was gorgeous and the wait staff was excellent. They attended to me the whole night and was always out and about to attened to the guests. Just had a problem with the coordinator.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1294037322411-kfp92332
Shree
Wedding:
7/16/2011
3.4/5.0
I placed the down payment 15 months before the wedding and many things changed, on there end, before the ceremony date. The open bar was supposed to be top shelf, it was mid shelf. The appetizers were supposed to be chicken strips, it ended up being cheese and crackers. At an extra cost we ordered a dessert bar that was supposed to be set up an hour before we left the venue, 2 weeks later I am still waiting on my dessert.

On the bright side, I did not have to do anything but hand them my items for decorations. They handled the decor and set up perfectly. Over all I had a wonderful time and so did my guests! They had no idea there was going to be an open bar and that really excited them! I would reccomend this facility to someone else although, I would make sure they keep in contact with the cook as well as the wedding planner.
Services Used: Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
RollS
Wedding:
3/26/2011
3.4/5.0
Although the wedding and reception turned out beautiful, it took several in-person visits with the event director to straighten out the details. (More time than I anticipated). Throughout the process I didn't have a high level of confidence that the wedding and reception were going to be executed as planned. I was nervous for about 6 months. Details seemed to be missed and communication wasn't as timely or accurate as I would have liked. And, we ended up having a problem with the bar service at the reception. Although the issue was rectified on-site after we noticed, it took another in-person visit after the wedding to address it. I was very happy with the wedding and reception overall, but had to invest a lot of time into managing this vendor. And, I didn't feel like we were on the same page until I showed up on-site to discuss.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
trashall
Wedding:
3/13/2010
3.4/5.0
The club is a beautiful place to have your reception. The waitstaff was not completely professional but overall good. The food was not consistently good for everyone and the cake was not served in the proper manner.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.1/5.0
My wedding was for about 200 guests. When i first booked the Walden (13 months before the date) I was very comfortable with the venue. Once closer to the date about 3 months before the date I went back to finalize details. They had changed coordinators and I noticed some cosmetic issues with the building, but the gorgeous view takes your eyes pass the imperfections. That meeting didn't go perfect since she didn't really know why we were there. She was able to put something together for us to taste and we set a 2nd meeting to come back for 1 item that they were not able to make for us. So i go back the second time at the arranged date and time and once again they were not ready. So after a 3rd attempt they got it together. When it came down to talk $$ They had some confusion with the paper work, but they always made it right for my inconvenience. The day of the wedding there are always complications with any event, but the coordinator went above and beyond to make things the best she could. All my guests said that the food was great and the place looked amazing. I did have lots of flowers and details that made the event very special. My advice for a bride to be is be patient, keep all your receipts, email or write all your expectations and remember everything is negotiable. Best of luck!!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
0.3/5.0
My fiance and I booked Walden CC to host our reception because of the beautiful room and based on previous experiences with the club. It is apparent that the new management and wedding/catering director, Fallon, are the primary problems. Fallon, the catering director, provides misinformation consistently, does not keep accurate records and provides very little assistance. Prices change at the drop of the hat. We met with her to make food selections, plan the timeline of our event and discuss the set up of the room. The room was not set up the way it had been discussed (via telephone, email and in person). The specified number of tables and decorations that were to be provided by the club were incorrect. My family had to reconfigure the seating to assure that there would be space for everyone coming. What little food was actually served at our event was not what had been selected and the quality was very poor. Foods that were suppose to be the vegetarian options ended up breaded, fried and soggy. Guests were not served and the food could not be found during a majority of the event. Fallon was virtually invisible and certainly not helpful. If it had not been for family members assisting, the schedule of events would not have occurred. The waitstaff was too busy dancing to provide customer service to my guests. The room is looking worn and definitely needs to be freshened up. I have tried on numerous occasions to speak with the Regional and General Managers regarding my complaints, but neither has responded. Unless management and the catering director/wedding coordinator change, I would avoid this venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
motherofthebride
Wedding:
4/14/2012
0.2/5.0
I am the mother of the bride. In the end my daughter had a very beautiful wedding. But we had a lot of problems with the management. The staff that does the room setup save our day. They were great. Fallon was horrible to work with. She has no idea on how to be a wedding planner. She would never return a phone call. Mary, her assistant, was a little better and appeared to do most of the work. Mary gave us a time we could come up decorate the morning of the wedding. The room was to be set up and ready to decorate, but when we arrived the room was trashed from the last event. No one was there. We searched and found some management but they could have cared less. We were then told that there was another event in the reception room that afternoon just hours before our wedding. We came back just a couple of hours before the wedding and found the event still going on. Finally, they started cleaning and setting up for our wedding an hour and a half before the start. We still had to put out decorations and set up the cake tables. The staff was great, they got everything beautifully set up. But it was too close for me. The wedding and reception was beautiful and the food was great. On the ratings, I'm rating Fallon and her boss. If I were rating the staff that actually did the work I give them a 5.0 on everything!
Services Used: Wedding Venue

DEALS

2013 - $1500 savings!
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $1,500 Value
Book any wedding in 2013 and get $1500 off!
Deal #WW7bb7161e138fde4f
220x220_1264624150430-diningroom

MAP

 
18100 Walden Forest Drive, Humble, TX 77346 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Walden on Lake Houston Country Club
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1264624150430-diningroom