130x130_sq_1262121295707-hctgwg001

Walnut Grove At Tierra Rejada Ranch

Moorpark , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

3370 Sunset Valley Road
Moorpark, CA US 93021 (map)

PHONE

805-558-8279

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Tierra Rejada Ranch was founded in 1935 by Monroe Everett.
His grandfather, Aratus Everett was one of the earliest ranchers in the Moorpark area arriving in 1889. In the early... Read more
Tierra Rejada Ranch was founded in 1935 by Monroe Everett.
His grandfather, Aratus Everett was one of the earliest ranchers in the Moorpark area arriving in 1889. In the early years the farm produced many different “dry land” crops such as barley, blackeye peas, and lima beans. After Monroe discovered water, he started growing tomatoes and developing walnut, valencia orange and avocado orchards.

Tierra Rejada Ranch’s Walnut Grove is snuggled in a pristine valley between the cities of Thousand Oaks and Moorpark. The property covers over 120 acres of prime Southern California land. Typical hot summer daytime temperatures are mild because of gentle ocean breezes from the west. Activities may be located in full sun, in the shade of tall 100’ eucalyptus or under 50 year-old walnut trees planted by Monroe himself.

In 1991 the Walnut Grove area was constructed and opened by hosting fund-raisers for the Moorpark Rotary Club. Since that time there have been hundreds of events ranging from weddings to corporate picnics and family reunions. The guests enjoy the chance to be out in the country on a real working farm. The peaceful atmosphere, the towering eucalyptus trees, and the adjacent creek all combine to provide a unique and private location for special occasions. Every effort has been made to accommodate the needs of guests and clients and yet still retain the character and feel of a genuine southern California ranch. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1262121549082-hctgwg001
130x130_sq_1262121549770-hctgwg004
130x130_sq_1262121550098-hctgwg005
130x130_sq_1262121551832-hctgwg007
130x130_sq_1262121551848-hctgwg006
130x130_sq_1262121553191-hctgwg008
130x130_sq_1262121583910-img1030
130x130_sq_1262121583957-img1052
130x130_sq_1262121587191-img1198
130x130_sq_1262121588879-img1441
130x130_sq_1262121589051-img1232
130x130_sq_1262121591348-img1549x
130x130_sq_1262121591613-img1454x
130x130_sq_1262121593926-img1576
130x130_sq_1262121593973-img1580
130x130_sq_1262121595566-img1609
130x130_sq_1262121595785-img1742
130x130_sq_1262121597660-img1766
130x130_sq_1262121597973-img1824
130x130_sq_1262121599582-img1951
130x130_sq_1262121600098-img1952
130x130_sq_1262121601707-img2036
130x130_sq_1262121601801-img2007
130x130_sq_1262121603488-img2041
130x130_sq_1262121604176-img2056
130x130_sq_1262121605191-img2069

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1990
When was your venue last renovated?
2009
Describe your venue:
Farm / Barn
Describe the style of your venue
Country, Rustic, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
300
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
2
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
No
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
3750
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
69
Event Coordination
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Offered in-house
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
7/18/2014
4.4/5.0
Such an amazing venue. Everyone at the wedding said it was perfect and couldn't believe most of it was included in the venue cost. Everyone was super professional and helpful. Although we did ask for 60 and 30 day check off lists and only got the 30 day one which was not so helpful since we had missed all the 60 timelines. However that was the only issue had with them.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rose
Wedding:
5/25/2014
5.0/5.0
Our wedding turned out wonderful! The site is beautiful and always improving. The manager and owner were both extremely helpful when it came to planning and executing all the DIY aspects we had. I'm so happy I picked Walnut Grove for a venue and would definitely recommend it!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.0/5.0
Out of all the venues we visited and wedding photography blogs we searched, Walnut Grove is by far the most beautiful wedding venue you can pick if you're interested in a 100% outdoor wedding. We chose to go with a more rustic theme and it perfectly fit the bill.

As many other reviews have noted, they deal exclusively with Command Performance Catering. Prices are reasonable if you pick the right package and they do offer discounted pricing for weddings earlier in the season. However be aware that many things such as decorative barrels where people enjoy appetizers, heating lamps, and even an awning to get married under will cost you quite a bit in add-on fees.

A few stars were taken off due to responsiveness with the site via email early on. Sometimes we would go a week without hearing back. Once we got within a few days of the wedding this improved, but it did cause some problems when it came to scheduling our rehearsal and it added some stress early on during our planning stages when we had questions that needed to be answered for another vendor.

That being said, on the day of things seemed to go off without a hitch and we're still hearing from our guests about how much they loved the venue. Overall it is a beautiful site that doesn't require a lot in terms of decorations because it is just amazing in and of itself.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Walnut Grove At Tierra Rejada Ranch responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review. We apologize that your experience was less than expected. We take great care in providing a comprehensive information packet which clearly explains what is included in our packages for both the venue and catering. With regards to your rehearsal we do wish you would have consulted and confirmed with us prior to making your reservations with your wedding party as we do host events every Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Despite these few concerns, we hope you will look back on your wedding day with fond memories. We wish you all the best.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
If you want the perfect outdoor wedding and you're looking for the venue, look no further. This place is gorgeous, and I'm so HAPPY I got married here... There is so much sunlight and so much greenery for just the right amount of shade. I loved everything about my venue. It also had the intimate, natural feel I was going for for 200 people. A million thumbs up. Oh and a ton of my family and friends were quite impressed and loved this place as much as I did. :) THE BEST VENUE EVER.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg6
Private User
Wedding:
8/2/2013
4.8/5.0
Walnut Grove is truly beautiful and magical. Something about this place puts everyone at ease and ready to celebrate. We fell in love with the venue instantly and were so happy with the experience. It is clear that the staff truly take pride in the venue and making each couple feel that they matter.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Claudia
Wedding:
7/28/2013
4.7/5.0
I LOVE this place. It's beautiful especially if you're the outdoor type. Just beware because it's 100% outdoors. We were fortunate because the weather was in the low 70s /high 60s but even knowing we would be vulnerable to mother nature we still picked this spot because of its beauty...highly memorable venue. Also, Command Perfomance, the venue's caterer is AWESOME!!!! Great service & food.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Corinne
Wedding:
7/21/2013
5.0/5.0
I got married at Walnut Grove - Tierra Rejada Ranch in July 2013 and I couldn't have asked for a more beautiful, more magical and more perfect wedding. The gorgeous, ethereal woodland setting, the romantic lighting, the gentle breeze, the breathtaking views.. Our friends and family also agreed - it was like a scene from a classic film.

The catering (company provided everything we needed as then some. The staff was spectacular and kudos to Joe for being so cool with our constant menu changes and requests). Our guests told us our food was the most delicious wedding food they ever had (we all agree with the existing consensus - the jalapeño mac and cheese was out of this world.

Michele, our wedding coordinator, was a lifesaver and the best we could hope and ask for. She helped us every step of the way, answered all our questions and provided great advice and suggestions when it came to picking vendors. We were in constant communication during our eight months of planning and we received reminders about important deadlines as our wedding date drew nearer. Michele saved us so much time and stress!

We had a tight budget and we stuck to it. Our wedding was perfect. I would not change a single thing about our wedding and cannot recommend Walnut Grove enough.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jillian
Wedding:
5/18/2013
4.9/5.0
The Walnut Grove is a beautiful outdoor venue that was perfect for our May wedding. Michele was so helpful with getting everything arranged for us. They work with Command Catering, and between the 2 of them, our day went off without a hitch. It was also a very good value for the LA area. I'm very happy with our choice!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1355785385996-ry402
Gretchen
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
An absolutely gorgeous venue! All of our guests raved about how beautiful the ceremony was in Walnut Grove itself and the charm of the reception/dining area. We can also understand why Command Performance is their exclusive caterer. They understood exactly how set up and decorate to get the maximum effect from Walnut Grove. The food was outstanding, many of our guest commented that they had had few restaurant meals that even came close.
Everyone was so easy to work with and made the day itself exceptional. If you are looking for a wedding site, there is none better than Walnut Grove.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marie
Wedding:
9/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Walnut Grove was the first potential venue my husband and I looked at when we got engaged and it was love at first sight! It was the most perfectly romantic venue for our Fall Wedding and a terrific value! Our guests are still raving about how beautiful it was and the great atmosphere. The staff was so helpful and coordinator Michele Spring was always there to talk with me, let me stop by any time, or calm my nerves! Now I just want a friend to get married there so I can go back!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeran
Wedding:
9/7/2012
5.0/5.0
The first and only venue we looked at. We fell in love with this magical place! People keep telling us how wonderful our wedding was and how incredibly beautiful Walnut Grove is. All I wanted is twinkly lights and I sure got them. Brings tears to my eyes just thinking how incredible everything turned out. Amazing!!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1318051098742-fbavatar2022548
Marissa
Wedding:
8/24/2012
5.0/5.0
I knew the moment I saw the Walnut grove that this was the place I wanted to be married at. Not only are the grounds gorgeous, but the service was exceptional! Michele was an absolute godsend not only was she responsive but beyond helpful and flexible when I arrived more than an hour late due to hair and makeup. She was able to reevaluate our timeline and move everything around so things ran so smoothly. Eveyrone complimented us on how helpful she was! The food was excellent!!! We had the basic BBQ package and so many people told us it was the best wedding food they had every had! Get the jalapeno mac n' cheese its extra but it's soooo worth it. The servers were all so sweet too they even called me by my new last name which felt extra special. Don't hesitate in booking the Walnut Grove there is not one bad thing I can think of.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg5
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.3/5.0
There was no where else I wanted to get married besides Walnut Grove. We looked at not a single other location and booked WG 4 days after we were engaged (and waited 18 months for our wedding!). It is absolutely gorgeous there! The setting (people are still complimenting us on how gorgeous it was), the set up, just everything is perfect. The "add on" prices were ridiculous though. You're paying out the nose for the venue but they want to charge you for an alter (or anything to be married under), extra wine barrels spread around for appetizer time (come on) and heat lamps. $50 per heat lamp is insane and in my opinion should be included for night receptions. Hearing back from Michele in a timely order was also an issue, sometimes it would take over a week to get an email back which is kind of frustrating when trying to plan a wedding and coordinate with other venues. Besides all that, we loved WG and would get married there again!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Walnut Grove At Tierra Rejada Ranch responded with the following comments:

We extend our sincere apologies for any negative feelings you may have about our venue's customer service and/or additional offerings. We are happy to know however that despite a few issues, you had a wonderful day.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Charla
Wedding:
7/20/2012
5.0/5.0
As Wedding Director for this wedding, I was so amazed by everything that I experienced at Walnut Grove. I do a lot of weddings at all different venues all around Southern California. I have never had such an easy time from start to finish as I had with Walnut Grove. Their entire team of people - from the venue owner and coordinator to the caterers to all support staff - were extremely nice, professional, and helpful. It was doubly nice to have everything right there - ceremony and reception.
The site itself is truly beautiful - a combination of natural beauty with good craftsmanship. The food provided by the caterer was outstanding. As this was a destination wedding for this couple (and myself!), the recommended vendor list was so very helpful and all were terrific.
I truly can not say enough good about Walnut Grove. If you are thinking of having an outdoor wedding/reception, you should seriously consider Walnut Grove.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
scott
Wedding:
6/2/2012
4.7/5.0
Venue was gorgeous and everything turned out beautiful the day of the wedding. At times it took almost a week for a response from the venue but by the time i got a response my request had already been completed. We did not use michele as our wedding coordinator the day of the wedding but she still was professional and helped to make sure everything was completed
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lisakinney9
Wedding:
5/27/2012
4.7/5.0
Our wedding on May 27th was everything we had dreamed it would be! The venue was perfect for our romantic country wedding. It was quiet and secluded. We had a nice breeze blowing through the trees & beautiful market lights twinkling over the reception area...it was magical! Thanks so much Walnut Grove and Michele Spring for making it all happen!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ladyluck
Wedding:
5/18/2012
5.0/5.0
I must say, every girl dreams of her Fairytale Wedding....I was lucky enough that mine came true!! I can honostly say that our evening was PERFECT:) I look back at that memorable evening and can not find one single thing that went wrong or that I wasn't happy with. With the AMAZING talent of Michele Spring and the UNBELIEVABLY ROMANTIC grounds of Walnut Grove, my husband and I got more than we had hoped for. We are so ecstatic that we chose Walnut Grove!! If you honostly want to be swept away with a night of love and romance, chose Walnut Grove......it truly is the BEST venue I have ever been too!!!! We had 200 guests and I'm not kidding you, all of them came up to us and told us they had never been to a more beautiful wedding! Thank you for going beyond our expectations and giving us the best night of our lives!!!!



Chantel & Ryan Engelker
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenna
Wedding:
5/11/2012
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding at Walnut Grove and couldn't have found a more perfect place! When we first drove into Walnut Grove, my husband and I knew right away it was the perfect space for us. The area is so beautiful and romantic. We met with Michele Spring, who we also ended up hiring as our day of coordinator, and she was so helpful in making our day so perfect at Walnut Grove. Our family and friends absolutely loved everything about Walnut Grove. It's beautiful during the day and stunning at night with all the market lighting! Perfect for pictures and just a beautiful wedding back drop! We were so happy that we were able to have our wedding there, especially when there were only a few days open when we booked it! It is the most popular venue because it is so picturesque!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
piggylicious
Wedding:
10/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Our wedding day could not have been better. The whole experience was amazing. The staff truly make you feel like a celebrity, catering to your every need. Michele was an amazing coordinator! From the moment we met her, she was welcoming and warm and always responded quickly to any questions we had. She was the reason our day was that much more special. Command performance catering was the best! From the service, the food, the staff. I cant say enough great things about Walnut Grove. I have family and friends still telling me that it was the best wedding they have ever been too. Thank you to all who made it the most special day ever!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BlushingBride
Wedding:
9/17/2011
4.6/5.0
My wedding was absolutely perfect. Everyone had an amazing time. The food was delicious and the staff at Walnut Grove was on top of every detail. I was constantly making changes before the wedding day and everyone was very accommodating. Michele is incredibly sweet and great on the day of. I'd highly recommend this venue to anyone who wants a romantic outdoor wedding. It was everything I had hoped for and more!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
The Heims
Wedding:
9/9/2011
4.8/5.0
Having our wedding at Walnut Grove was a dream come true! Michele and Command Performance Catering are incredible and took such great care of us on our wedding day. Michele was so organized and professional and we would definitely recommend hiring her to coordinate the day of- we didn't have to worry about a thing and she catered to all of our requests and desires. Walnut Grove was the most beautiful venue and our guests are still talking about how amazing it was!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenniferewaski
Wedding:
8/26/2011
5.0/5.0
We had an amazing time on our wedding day at the Walnut Grove in Moorpark. It was a great venue that hosted our friends and family that traveled near and far to take part in our special day. Amongst the walnut trees, it provided a unique outdoor environment that is breathtaking to view, yet was intimate, and created a warm setting for us to share with our guests. Our ceremony and reception came together perfectly thanks to our wedding planner, Michele, and all our vendors. They were all very professional and took a vested interest in producing the wedding we envisioned. Joe and his staff at Command Performance Catering provided service with a smile and made sure that we were having fun and always taken care of. And the food was fantastic! All of our guests raved at the variety of dishes that were included in our event. It took place on an evening in late August when the weather was fantastic, creating a true "California experience" for our visitors from other corners of the country. We had great time and thank the Walnut Grove for providing the location for the best day of our lives.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jazmina
Wedding:
7/15/2011
5.0/5.0
We absolutely loved this site the moment we pulled up. It just has such a great feel. And when we were greeted by Michele S. of Mia Bella weddings, we knew we had found the right place!!! She was so helpful, knowledgeable, and professional. We hired Michele as our coordinator, She was by far the best investment we made throughout the entire wedding process! I highly recommend working with her! Walnut Grove is such a beautiful site! We had so many complements from our guests on how beautiful the site was. And our pictures are awesome, the trees make for a great photo opp!!! We are so happy we chose to have our special day there!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1232219099406-n1047480026_30098746_7400
bethy
Wedding:
7/10/2011
4.9/5.0
My husband is in the Army, so we got married in a smaller ceremony (July 2009) before he was deployed. Since then, we've always known that we wanted a bigger wedding in which all of our family and friends could attend. While searching the greater LA area for wedding venues, I stumbled across Walnut Grove. At first I just passed on it, but when I stumbled upon it again, I figured why not call and make an appointment to visit. The only thing that confused me was the fact that it said use the Underwood Farms entrance. What? It's part of the farm? No, it's hidden through the trees...literally a grove. haha.
I finally visited the location with my mother-in-law and we both fell in love. The price was right, the location was beautiful and Michele Spring (the contact for Walnut Grove and part of Mia Bella Weddings) was amazing. Unfortunately, she was not available to be my day of coordinator, but her acciociate, Monique Prieto was availble.
I love planning weddings and events, but it's always harder to plan it yourself when it's your own event. Monique was absolutely wonderful! Even though we only hired her as a day of coordinator, she answered questions and helped me along the way. Oh yeah, I forgot to say, I was in Germany for the majority of the time I was planning this. We only ever talked about two times in person.
The "wedding" day turned out to be a dream come true. There are really no words. It was so much fun and we were so happy. Now, we all know nothing ever goes 100% according to plan (i.e. I forgot the hanger for my wedding dress pictures), but Monique dealt with everything in an incredibly professional manner. I really could not have done it without her and her partner Erin.
After the wedding ceremony was over, Command Performance Catering (CPC) made sure our entire wedding party was presented with appetizers and drinks while the rest of our guests attended the cocktail hour. After a drink and some snacking, we took the rest of our family pictures. Once they were dismissed, my husband and I went to take our pictures. After the grand entrance and first dance, CPC made sure my husband and I were served dinner while our guests got up and served themselves at the buffet. The dinner was amazing. I heard nothing but good things. It was a modern California take on BBQ. So delicious. CPC also cut and served our wedding pie (yes we had pie :)) at no additional cost. The employees of CPC were all dressed appropriately and behaved in a very professional manner. Joe was amazing and so easy to work with. I have nothing but good things to say about them.
Something that was also great about CPC and Walnut Grove, you're allowed to bring your own alcohol, and let me tell you, that can be a HUGE money saver. Our only complaint is that the wedding had to end at 10:00 p.m. due to Ventura County noise restrictions. Everyone was having such a good time, I was sad to have to turn off the music.
My husband and I highly recommend Walnut Grove at Tierra Rejada Ranch as a wedding venue, Command Performance as a caterer and Monique Prieto as a day of coordinator. We heard nothing but good things from our guests about the venue, food and the wedding itself. I am so happy we finally got to have our bigger wedding :).
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dpaine
Wedding:
6/10/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I walked on the property (in OFF season) and absolutely feel in love with The Walnut Grove. We knew that it was "the place" and we had to book it. From the moment we did, Monique and Michele, the wedding coordinators and event coordinator were SO helpful. They made the planning a piece of cake!! June 10, 2011 was the very best day of my life. I would do it all over again in a heart beat, with NO changes. The location was fabulous, SO green with God's creation, the food was outstanding. Joe, who heads the catering was super helpful in making choices with the menus and tweaking it to our taste buds. Finally, Monique was our wedding coordinator who made the day go off without a hitch! She was so sweet and SO helpful that every thing that came up that day and with her help the day was BLISS!!! I highly recommend the Walnut Grove and Tierra Rejada Ranch, Command performance, and Michele and Monique to help guide you to your big day! :) Sending Love, Danielle (the happily married bride!)
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aimee
Wedding:
5/28/2011
4.2/5.0
This was a wonderful venue. The spot is absolutely beautiful and everything went very smoothly.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan
Wedding:
5/22/2011
4.6/5.0
the site is beautiful, clean and well maintained, they do a great job with maintaining its beauty. my wedding came together exactly how i imagined it would be. the catering company was very good and their food and services was amazing. all my vendors were familiar with the location so it all came together smoothly. i would highly recommed this location. the trees, grass and farm make a great back drop for pictures. the trees provide nice shade. they have many options to choose from in combination with the catering company they use.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colette
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
AMAZING site! Perfect for a summer wedding. Perfect backdrop for a perfect day! Breezy and shaded but not TOO cool. Site requires you to use Command Performance Catering - INCREDIBLE food! Site coordinator Michele Spring is amazing to work with. Worth every penny spent!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg2
Amy
Wedding:
5/7/2011
4.9/5.0
We had an absolutely perfect, peaceful, beautiful rustic styled wedding (I attribute most of it to the venue itself). The wedding was in early May, so it was a little cold since everything is outdoors. However, all my guests absolutely loved the environment and the venue. The venue also comes with beautiful strung up lights and flowers in the reception area that was one of the things my guests liked the most. The lights and flowers from the site saved me money from having to get my own. I just decorated minimally. The site coordinator and the owner of the site were wonderful to work with and very flexible and helpful. I absolutely loved the catering company (Command Performance) that Walnut Grove works with. The food was so delicious and the catering manager is absolutely awesome, helpful, and flexible.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
goldenxmas
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
We had the most WONDERFUL experience on our wedding day.

Michele was always very responsive to us! I know we had tons of questions beforehand, and she always were so quick to answer us! I loved that! The grounds at the Walnut Grove were absolutely beautiful, since our wedding was in October, we were scared that it might not be the best weather... but was perfect! All our friends and family keep asking us how we found this place! It really is Ventura County's best keep secret for Weddings! Between the lights, the cute Brides house, the trees gave just enough shade, that people were comfortable during the day.. not too hot.

And literally EVERYONE at our wedding was raving about how DELICIOUS the food was from Command Performance. The staff was wonderful, and made the whole day run smoothly. They even served Michael and I, and my Grandparents.... since they cannot get up for the buffet. I thought that was a very nice touch. Joe was also very responsive.. and always answered questions in a timely matter.. and we really appreciate that!

Thank you again for making our special day PERFECT! it was wonderful! and what a great place to get married!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hannahz27
Wedding:
9/26/2010
5.0/5.0
I am so glad I stumbled upon this site for my wedding. The evening turned out to be magical and stunning. The weather in late September was PERFECT and the asite couldnt have looked better. Having our ceremony under the walnut trees was beautiful and natural and the reception was gorgeous with the strings of lights hanging above. The wedding turned out to be everything I hoped for and more and I couldnt imagine having had it anywhere else but at Walnut Grove.
- Hannah and Wiley
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1284488800377-dsc7362av8x10
Rebecca
Wedding:
9/5/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I fell in love with Walnut Grove when we attended their showcase in April of 2009. Given the property had just undergone renovations, they were offering the venue at a promotional rate we could not turn down. We booked the site that day! We enjoyed our interactions with Michele Spring from Mia Bella Weddings so much at the showcase that we also decided to book her as our day-of wedding coordinator. Throughout the wedding planning process, Michele Spring made herself available to us whenever we had questions. Although she was hired only as our day-of wedding coordinator, she went above and beyond to ensure we were as stress free as possible from the moment we booked her services. We found it beneficial to meet with Command Performance Catering before the wedding to clarify everything we were getting in the promotional package we chose, and it was helpful that CPC was available via e-mail to address any questions or concerns after the meeting.

The wedding day turned out to be everything we dreamed it would be! Nothing ever goes 100% according to plan, but Michele Spring dealt with everything in an incredibly professional manner. After the wedding ceremony was over, CPC made sure our entire bridal party was presented with appetizers and drinks while our guests attended the cocktail hour. CPC made sure my husband and I were served dinner while our guests got up and served themselves at the buffet. Although we only got to sample the dinner (because we went off to take more pictures), it tasted absolutely delicious. CPC also cut and served our wedding cake at no additional cost. The employees of CPC were all dressed appropriately and behaved in a very professional manner. Lastly, it is imperative to note that Walnut Grove allowed us to bring our own alcohol which was a huge money saver. We paid for the majority of our wedding expenses and were concerned about being able to host a beautiful event on a budget. However, now that the wedding is over, we can say with 100% certainty that we have no regrets about choosing Walnut Grove for our wedding venue. Our only complaint is that the wedding had to end at 10:00 p.m. due to Ventura County noise restrictions. Everyone was having such a good time that we could have partied until midnight! We continue to receive compliments from our guests about their experience at our wedding. Walnut Grove and CPC, their exclusive caterer, are highly recommended! If one wants to ensure a well-coordinated event, book Michele Spring from Mia Bella Weddings!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara
Wedding:
8/14/2010
4.8/5.0
I absolutely fell in love with this location when I first saw it and knew I had to get married here. The walnut grove and the farm surrounding the area make it the perfect rustic wedding location. It was everything I had in mind and more. They work exclusively with Command Performance Caterers and both were extremely helpful in helping me realize my vision for the wedding. I did a lot of looking around and could not find anything like this place in southern california, especially not for this price. I had a ton of compliments from guests on the location and how much they loved it and how beautiful it was. I highly recommend Walnut Grove!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nick & Beck's
Wedding:
7/30/2010
5.0/5.0
Walnut Grove is absolutely beautiful. The location is tucked away so your entire event is private and you can't hear any noise from the surrounding area's.

The scenery is breathtaking, especially at sunset, and our wedding photo's prove it. Michelle was amazing to work with! Very helpful and responsive during our entire planning process. The owner, Rick went above and beyond and helped us clean up after the reception was over.

Command Performance did an excellent job! The food was great (especially their mini chimichangas), the service was awesome and their bartender makes fantastic drinks! Thanks for the suprise kamakazi shots when the wedding party was announceed. Whoo Hoo!!!

We will have a lifetime of amazing memories from Walnut Grove! We couldn't have picked a better venue to have our wedding!!!

Nick & Becky
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hudson_c
Wedding:
7/11/2010
5.0/5.0
Michele and the rest of the Walnut Grove staff were absolutely amazing. Everything went perfectly, we could not have asked for a better venue for our ceremony and reception. Command performance provided excellent catering. The food was great and so was the service. We had multiple groups of people tell us that this was the best wedding that they had ever been to. Thanks to everyone involved.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
RLHusband
Wedding:
6/19/2010
4.8/5.0
We got married in June at Walnut Grove and it was everything we were hoping it would be and more. The venue is at its best in the late spring/early summer: everything is in bloom, green grass and the weather is perfect. Michele and Rick were very helpful and kind during the entire process. You can't beat the late afternoon ceremony, sunset during dinner and the charming, romantic lights at night. Our guests had a wonderful time in this beautiful environment - and that was the most important thing for us.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs. Hise
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
My wedding at Walnut Grove was the best day of my husband & my life. This location is absolutely breath taking & the views are AMAZING. The staff of Walnut Grove are WONDERFUL to work with, they make sure that everything is perfect. I had most of my guests tell me that my wedding was the most beautiful wedding that they have ever been to & Walnut Grove is an amazing place. If you want an outdoor wedding &/or reception, this is the place to do it. You will be amazed!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jordansugar
Wedding:
6/6/2010
5.0/5.0
I know its difficult to trust a perfect 5-star rating, but please believe me when I say that my wife and I had the most wonderful experience working with Michele Springs and Rick from Walnut Grove. From our first meeting with Michele, we knew there was something special about this venue. We were married at Walnut Grove on June 6, 2010. If you want to see photos from the event, they should be on the blog at www.tobytucker.com soon.

Before we chose to move forward with Walnut Grove, we were torn between having our wedding at Walnut Grove or at the Hyatt in Valencia. The Hyatt was beautiful and "easy" in the sense that everything was self-contained and it all seemed so packaged. Walnut Grove was outdoors, beautiful, and we really felt like the grounds not only reflected the simple joys that we find so valuable, but it also would give us an opportunity to make the site "our own". Our only concern was rain, but we decided to put down our deposit, start praying, and hope for the best...

What a terrific decision that turned out to be! Every step of the process was fantastic. Michele and Joe from Command Performance worked extremely well together, and they did everything they could to put together a package that worked with our budget. My wife and I prayed like crazy during our engagement, and it was amazing to see how God used Michele and Joe to answer our prayers. They were extremely helpful, incredibly generous, and overwhelmingly patient. They answered questions, quickly responded to calls and e-mails, and showed a genuine desire to make our wedding a truly wonderful day that we would remember forever.

The grounds on our wedding day were absolutely beautiful, the weather was fantastic, and the entire day was perfect. As a guy, I didn't know too much about what it took to make a "pretty" wedding, but after all the planning that we did it was a wonderful feeling to have someone come up to us and say "Seriously...this is the most beautiful wedding I've ever seen" and "This looks better than something in a magazine!" My personal favorite was "when you told me you were getting married behind the Underwood family farms...I got really nervous...REALLY nervous, but seriously dude, this is incredible!"

Once again, as a guy I'm not sure if this will be super helpful for future brides, but for future grooms I can definitely say that I recommend this venue. If you love the outdoors, if you like rustic, beautiful settings, if the idea of feeling a soft breeze and hearing a gentle rustling of leaves as sunlight softly dances across your fiance's face when she tells you that she is pledging to love you for the rest of her life appeals to you, Walnut Grove is for you.

I want to thank everyone at Walnut Grove and Command Performance Catering for making our wedding so incredible. After 7 and a half years of dating, we'd really looked forward to our wedding. As I hope you can see, it was a dream come true. Thanks again!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jason & Courtney
Wedding:
5/28/2010
5.0/5.0
Jason and I are still talking about our perfect wedding day. Sounds cliche, but for a perfectionist with high expectations, I was quite pleased. I researched sites up and down Southern California and this was the first site that really fit us both. I promised myself that I would not get married and have a reception in a banquet hall with multi-colored carpet. Not only did we fulfill that promise, we found a place that satisfied all our needs. Walnut Grove provides a serene natural environment and a blank canvas awaiting any couple's style. The site is beautiful as it is, and with a few simple touches, can become personal and complete. The all outdoor wedding complemented our "eco-chic" concept and offered a beautiful backdrop for some amazing wedding photos. It was so nice to not have to worry about catering, table and chairs set up, linens, etc. Knowing the very reputable company Command Performance Catering would be in charge, I was able to rest assured that things would be in order. Michele, Walnut Grove site coordinator, was nothing but pleasant. Wedding planning can be very overwhelming and not only was Michele very organized and able to answer all of our questions, her calmness and reassurance along the way made the process very easy and manageable. Thank you to everyone involved in making our wedding day wonderful and memorable.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Booncroft
Wedding:
5/8/2010
4.8/5.0
Our experience with Walnut Grove & Command Performance was amazing!  The peace and serenity on the site is like no other.  The service is exceptional and overall environment is breathtaking.  Command Performance's food & service was superb and their willingness to accommodate our vision was outstanding.  Our wedding was flawless and our photographer was so excited to shoot with such an amazing backdrop!  We highly recommend Walnut Grove and Command Performance to provide the service in making your wedding a blessed memory that you will never forget!

Dustin and Nicola Bancroft
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
HeavenlyBliss
Wedding:
5/8/2010
5.0/5.0
I Loved Walnut Grove @ TRR. I had the perfect wedding! I got married just 3 weeks ago and people are still emailing me and calling me telling me how beautiful the wedding was. They didn't know such a beautiful place existed so close to the LA area. I consider WG to be a diamond in the rough! The staff is so very friendly and so helpful! They made my wedding such a breeze and allowed me to just concentrate on me and my husband and not get distracted with any thing that was going on in the background! Thank you WG! I highly recommend this venue if you are looking for a ceremony and reception at one site and if you want it all out doors!!! Super beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jmawrey
Wedding:
4/17/2010
4.8/5.0
This site was a fantastic venue for a wedding! They have recently remodeled the site, and we felt that the while it was very simple, it was also incredibly elegant. The lights that are strung in the reception are are gorgeous at night, and are definitely enough lighting for the party throughout the evening. The simplicity of the venue also allows for a lot of creativity in adding your own "flare" to the wedding. The site coordinator (Michele) was fantastic and super helpful, and the owner, who is at the rehearsal for any questions, is very nice as well. We were married in April, so the trees did not have any leaves, but I think in the end I liked it even more than if they had been in full bloom- it gave the site even more character. Lots of opportunities for beautiful pictures, and also a lot of space for the ceremony, reception and parking. The caterer that is linked to the site (Command Performance) makes amazing food and has very reasonable prices.

The only cons I would give the site were largely due to the fact that it is in Ventura County- namely the early curfew of 10pm and the "no fireworks" ordinance (which includes sparklers for a grand exit).

Otherwise I would completely recommend this venue. A++!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marie
Wedding:
9/1/2007
4.2/5.0
it was the perfect place to have a wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
7/7/2007
5.0/5.0
Rick and his staff went above and beyond to make sure our wedding day was perfect. He hung 45 lanterns on the lights and even paid a vendor when no one else was sround!
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
7/29/2006
4.8/5.0
We were extremely happy with our experience at Tierra Rejada Ranch. Not only is the location beautiful and clean, it is run exceptionally well. The owner went out of his way to help us set up extras. We brainstormed our ideas with him and he advised us on the best use of the space. On the night of our rehearsal, he gave some very helpful insight on the ceremony (we didn't hire a wedding planner or have someone to lead the rehearsal). The day of the wedding, everything went smoothly, in large part because he oversaw the activities and helped out when needed. I cannot say what the experience would be like elsewhere, but I can say that I'm very happy we chose to have our wedding at the Tierra Rejada Ranch...amazing.
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jamiemillett
Wedding:
6/18/2004
5.0/5.0
BEAUTIFUL! It isn't as manicured as some places, but I loved the natural setting. We were married under the canopy of an old walnut orchard. The owner of the place provides excellent help and service throughout the day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
3370 Sunset Valley Road, Moorpark, CA 93021 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Walnut Grove At Tierra Rejada Ranch
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1262121295707-hctgwg001