130x130 sq 1254859696887 washcelebceremonypicfortheknot

Washington Celebrations - Live Musicians, Professional DJs, Elegant Lighting

DC

LOCATION

DC 20002 US (map)

PHONE

855-323-8368

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

AWAKEN YOUR ATMOSPHERE!

We would be honored to be a part of your special day. Below are services we can offer, either as stand-alone options or all packaged together for one... Read more
AWAKEN YOUR ATMOSPHERE!

We would be honored to be a part of your special day. Below are services we can offer, either as stand-alone options or all packaged together for one great rate.

CEREMONY MUSICIANS

All of our musicians are current and retired members of the National, Baltimore, and Richmond Symphony Orchestras, the four Premier bands of the Armed Forces, and professional freelancers.
String Quartets, Trios, Duos, and Soloists Harpists and Harp Ensembles Woodwind and Brass Quintets Live Jazz Specialty Musicians Ceremony Sound Systems
FULL SERVICE DJs

Our DJ services facilitate smooth musical transitions during your bridal party introductions and other announcements, while also seamlessly coordinating with your other vendors (photographer, catering staff).
Ceremonies, Cocktail Hours, and Receptions Multiple Sound Systems Login to DJ Database Online 24/7 Karaoke Dance Floor Lighting
BALLROOM LIGHTING & DECOR

The right kind of lighting can transform any plain room into a colorful, dramatic space. Washington Celebrations adds the "eye candy" your guests will not soon forget!
Uplighting Cafe & String Lights Pinspots GOBOs / Custom Monograms (Name in Light) Followspot for First Dance, Parent Dances, Toasts, and Speeches Texture and Theme Lighting Paper Lanterns
LIVE BANDS

Perfect for weddings, our bands add energy and excitement to any event.
Top 40 / Dance R&B / Hip-Hop Country Blues Jazz Variety Tribute Bands Read less

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1254810023535 gary291copy
130x130 sq 1331693290732 374
130x130 sq 1331693262990 stringquartetwithsinger
130x130 sq 1254810391019 harpandbride
130x130 sq 1254810405894 capitalheralds2
130x130 sq 1331693345768 guitarhands
130x130 sq 1331693410957 img0937
130x130 sq 1331695134616 washcelebknotprintad2
130x130 sq 1386646944681 img406
130x130 sq 1386646909293 img403
130x130 sq 1386646986946 img404
130x130 sq 1386647153212 img397
130x130 sq 1386647054324 img402
130x130 sq 1386647114695 img399
130x130 sq 1386647241157 caressa nathaniel wedding 045
130x130 sq 1386647278061 nclog

INFO FOR BAND

Are you an agency or a band?
Agency
What is the size of your band?
Large (6+ musicians), Medium (4-6 musicians), Small (1-3 musicians)
What music genre does your band play?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Blues, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Latin, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, R&B, Reggae, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
What is your band's usual attire?
Client's preference.
Do you offer live sample performances or CDs?
Yes. We offer both. Sound clips are furnished on our website. We send additional sound clips by request (mp3) via email. CDs can also be sent via direct mail. Live client auditions can be performed at local performances.
Are you willing to learn songs that you do not currently know?
Yes, for special dances and themes.
How much time do you usually need for setup?
Every band has different needs. However, it's usually safe to assume two hours for reception music (both band and DJ).
How much space do you usually require?
This depends on the size of the band. DJs usually need a 6'x5' space.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
Never at a wedding.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
Our DJ service offers dance floor lighting. Lighting is included with certain bands. We also offer most ballroom lighting options as well as cafe lighting.
Do you usually emcee the event, or talk between songs?
Yes, by request.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
This never happens. :)
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you need a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
Breaks are planned in cooperation with the Bride, caterer, and wedding planner prior to the event.
Do you play recorded music during your break?
Yes.
If one or more of the band members is unable to attend, what is your backup plan?
We always have substitute musicians ready to go. If a lead singer is unable to attend, we notify our client immediately.
What is your overtime rate?
Varies by how many members are in the band.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
Varies by how many members are in the band. Typically, there is no travel fee if you are within 50 miles of the center of Wash DC (20002). Lodging may apply if overnight is required.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
50% at the approval of an agreement. The final 50% is due at the event.

INFO FOR CEREMONY MUSIC

What ceremony music arrangements can you provide?
Brass - Quartet, Brass - Quintet, Brass - Trio, Instrumental - Duo, Instrumental - Solo, Instrumental - Trio, Orchestra, Soloist / Vocalist, String - Quartet, String - Quintet, String - Trio
What instruments does your group play?
Cello, Drums, Flute, Guitar, Harp, Organ, Piano, Trumpet, Viola, Violin
What is your usual attire?
Client's preference.
Do you offer live sample performances or CDs?
Sound clips are available on our website. CDs and mp3s are also sent by request. Live Client Auditions are offered by our reception bands.
How much time do you usually need for setup?
This varies by ensemble. String, Brass, and Woodwind groups usually only need 30 minutes.
How much space do you usually require?
10' X 10'

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

INFO FOR LIGHTING & DECOR

What type of events do you produce?
Corporate Events, Private Parties, Weddings
Which of the following services do you provide?
Audiovisuals, Entertainment, Event Lighting, Furniture Rental

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Lisa
Wedding:
10/12/2014
5.0/5.0
We recently got married at Eastern Market in Washington, DC. We utilized Washington Celebrations for several services, including lighting, DJ and ceremony musicians.

From the start, we worked directly with Mike Hooke who met with us in person at the venue and talked through several options for us to consider. With all of the chaos that goes into planning a wedding, I appreciated how Mike just cut to the chase, noting what was worth the splurge and what was not needed.

With respect to lighting, he suggested uplighting which really made a huge difference to the feel of the room. Eastern Market was blanketed in a soft warm glow that fit with our fall color scheme. Mike arranged to have some of the uplighting used during the ceremony, giving the bricked building a warm glow. They moved the lighting inside for the reception – this was a seamless transition.

He also worked with us to secure paper lanterns, which were hung over the dance floor. Down to the week of, Mike was coordinating the best and most economical option for us to utilize the paper lanterns. In the end, he saved us a boat load on installation costs.

As a DJ, Mike was spot on. The advanced planning tools provided by Washington Celebrations were easy to use and helped us select the music played during the whole reception. Mike was not one of those “chatty” DJs – he got the party started, played a great mix of music and kept us on schedule.

Mike was a great addition to our day and I highly recommend the professional services provided by Washington Celebrations.
We recently got married at Eastern Market in Washington, DC. We utilized Washington Celebrations for several services, Read more...
We recently got married at Eastern Market in Washington, DC. We utilized Washington Celebrations for several services, including lighting, DJ and ceremony musicians.

From the start, we worked directly with Mike Hooke who met with us in person at the venue and talked through several options for us to consider. With all of the chaos that goes into planning a wedding, I appreciated how Mike just cut to the chase, noting what was worth the splurge and what was not needed.

With respect to lighting, he suggested uplighting which really made a huge difference to the feel of the room. Eastern Market was blanketed in a soft warm glow that fit with our fall color scheme. Mike arranged to have some of the uplighting used during the ceremony, giving the bricked building a warm glow. They moved the lighting inside for the reception – this was a seamless transition.

He also worked with us to secure paper lanterns, which were hung over the dance floor. Down to the week of, Mike was coordinating the best and most economical option for us to utilize the paper lanterns. In the end, he saved us a boat load on installation costs.

As a DJ, Mike was spot on. The advanced planning tools provided by Washington Celebrations were easy to use and helped us select the music played during the whole reception. Mike was not one of those “chatty” DJs – he got the party started, played a great mix of music and kept us on schedule.

Mike was a great addition to our day and I highly recommend the professional services provided by Washington Celebrations. Read less
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default vendor profile pic
Sara
Wedding:
8/16/2014
5.0/5.0
I could not be more pleased with the service provided by Mike Hooke and Washington Celebrations!

We were able to meet with Mike on several occasions to plan the music for our ceremony and our reception. It seemed as though every request we made was honored, and it could not have been simpler to choose our music for the evening!

I was especially appreciative of Mike's effort to honor our every request and to make sure I was okay with how the evening was progressing. He helped my father and I NAIL our surprised choreographed father-daughter dance, and made sure NO ONE touch the mic who wasn't supposed to!

Financially, this group was the best choice around. They were extremely professional and delivered a high-quality service. I would recommend them to everyone!
I could not be more pleased with the service provided by Mike Hooke and Washington Celebrations!

We were able to Read more...
I could not be more pleased with the service provided by Mike Hooke and Washington Celebrations!

We were able to meet with Mike on several occasions to plan the music for our ceremony and our reception. It seemed as though every request we made was honored, and it could not have been simpler to choose our music for the evening!

I was especially appreciative of Mike's effort to honor our every request and to make sure I was okay with how the evening was progressing. He helped my father and I NAIL our surprised choreographed father-daughter dance, and made sure NO ONE touch the mic who wasn't supposed to!

Financially, this group was the best choice around. They were extremely professional and delivered a high-quality service. I would recommend them to everyone! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Susanna
Wedding:
7/4/2014
5.0/5.0
I chose to have a violin and cello duo for my ceremony and it was just perfect.
I am from Sweden and my bridesmaid was going to sing a hymn in Swedish during the ceremony. I sent the music to the musicians and they learned how to play it and together they rehearsed for 15 minutes on the wedding day.
It was so beautiful I cried, and they were so good on timing and professionalism. The violinist, Laura, was the one I spoke to most of the time and she was so attentive and supportive.

I could not be happier, it was just perfect in every way.


Best
Susanna Baxter
I chose to have a violin and cello duo for my ceremony and it was just perfect.
I am from Sweden and my bridesmaid Read more...
I chose to have a violin and cello duo for my ceremony and it was just perfect.
I am from Sweden and my bridesmaid was going to sing a hymn in Swedish during the ceremony. I sent the music to the musicians and they learned how to play it and together they rehearsed for 15 minutes on the wedding day.
It was so beautiful I cried, and they were so good on timing and professionalism. The violinist, Laura, was the one I spoke to most of the time and she was so attentive and supportive.

I could not be happier, it was just perfect in every way.


Best
Susanna Baxter Read less
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default vendor profile pic
Jessica
Wedding:
3/29/2014
5.0/5.0
These guys were awesome! Super professional, reasonable prices, and the lighting they did for our venue really made a HUGE difference in the aesthetics for the place. Would recommend ten times over.
These guys were awesome! Super professional, reasonable prices, and the lighting they did for our venue really made a HUGE Read more...
These guys were awesome! Super professional, reasonable prices, and the lighting they did for our venue really made a HUGE difference in the aesthetics for the place. Would recommend ten times over. Read less
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
Default vendor profile pic
Samantha
Wedding:
12/7/2013
5.0/5.0
I had my wedding at Fauquier Springs Country Club last month. I was so pleased with how everything turned out. Lauren Turner was amazing to work with! She was patience, kind and CALM! Lauren made sure every detail was exactly as I wanted. The staff was so professional and really made me feel special. They catered to every need that night for myself, my husband and our families. I was told by so many guest that the staff was so welcoming and friendly. I also heard from many guests that this was the best wedding they have ever attended! As Miss Virginia USA 2010 I have attended many wonderful functions and events (including Miss USA) and have dealt with many sales and catering directors. I truly will say that Lauren Turner is by far the best I have ever worked with!!! Thanks Lauren Turner and staff for a dream come true Wimter wonderland Wedding! Samantha Casey Coleman.
I had my wedding at Fauquier Springs Country Club last month. I was so pleased with how everything turned out. Lauren Read more...
I had my wedding at Fauquier Springs Country Club last month. I was so pleased with how everything turned out. Lauren Turner was amazing to work with! She was patience, kind and CALM! Lauren made sure every detail was exactly as I wanted. The staff was so professional and really made me feel special. They catered to every need that night for myself, my husband and our families. I was told by so many guest that the staff was so welcoming and friendly. I also heard from many guests that this was the best wedding they have ever attended! As Miss Virginia USA 2010 I have attended many wonderful functions and events (including Miss USA) and have dealt with many sales and catering directors. I truly will say that Lauren Turner is by far the best I have ever worked with!!! Thanks Lauren Turner and staff for a dream come true Wimter wonderland Wedding! Samantha Casey Coleman. Read less
Services Used: Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Mike was great to work with! We didn't meet him until the actual day of our wedding, but he made sure that the planning process for our wedding reception lighting was super-convenient. He was friendly, professional, and quick to respond to e-mails, and through photos and written descriptions, we were able to nail down exactly what we wanted for our wedding reception lighting. On the day of our wedding, Mike delivered on his promises and worked hard behind the scenes to make sure that the lighting for each part of our reception was perfect. We definitely made the right choice to go with Mike from Washington Celebrations for our wedding reception lighting.
Mike was great to work with! We didn't meet him until the actual day of our wedding, but he made sure that the planning Read more...
Mike was great to work with! We didn't meet him until the actual day of our wedding, but he made sure that the planning process for our wedding reception lighting was super-convenient. He was friendly, professional, and quick to respond to e-mails, and through photos and written descriptions, we were able to nail down exactly what we wanted for our wedding reception lighting. On the day of our wedding, Mike delivered on his promises and worked hard behind the scenes to make sure that the lighting for each part of our reception was perfect. We definitely made the right choice to go with Mike from Washington Celebrations for our wedding reception lighting. Read less
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
Default vendor profile pic
Jennifer Spoone
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Mike was wonderful to work with! Everything went perfectly. Not only did he call me before the wedding to make sure everything I had sent him was accurate but he even went over the names of the people being introduced to make sure he pronounced them correctly! He was very organized and extremely professional throughout the entire process. He went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect and just how I wanted.
The dance floor was packed the entire reception! Not only did people tell me how great the DJ was, a few of my engaged friends asked for his information for their upcoming wedding. I am SO glad I used Mike and Washington Celebrations! If you are looking for a great DJ for any occasion you will not be disappointed! Thank you again Mike!
Mike was wonderful to work with! Everything went perfectly. Not only did he call me before the wedding to make sure Read more...
Mike was wonderful to work with! Everything went perfectly. Not only did he call me before the wedding to make sure everything I had sent him was accurate but he even went over the names of the people being introduced to make sure he pronounced them correctly! He was very organized and extremely professional throughout the entire process. He went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect and just how I wanted.
The dance floor was packed the entire reception! Not only did people tell me how great the DJ was, a few of my engaged friends asked for his information for their upcoming wedding. I am SO glad I used Mike and Washington Celebrations! If you are looking for a great DJ for any occasion you will not be disappointed! Thank you again Mike! Read less
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, DJ, Lighting & Decor
Washington Celebrations - Live Musicians, Professional DJs, Elegant Lighting responded with the following comments:

Thanks Jennifer!! I had a blast....your family and friends were so nice and friendly. While reading your review, I couldn't help but think that it's the perfect example of how I want each Bride to feel about their reception afterward. All the best in the future for you and Scott!
Default vendor profile pic
Martha
Wedding:
10/18/2013
5.0/5.0
Here is the letter we wrote Mike Hooke our Dj after our wedding:


October 20, 2013
Dear Mike,

I wanted to really tell you how special and perfect you made our day. The way you organized everyone and took all of the stress away from me and Eli was unbelievable. Everyone danced the entire time and truly enjoyed themselves which was very much your doing. Your kindness and friendship to both me and Eli means the world to us.

You were there from the very beginning when I first started this little thing with my Eli. So for you to have such a big part on our special day means more than we could ever say.

If we can ever do anything for you please let us know.

With much love,
Martha

Martha & Eli
The Carlyle Club
10.18.13
Here is the letter we wrote Mike Hooke our Dj after our wedding:


October 20, 2013
Dear Mike,

I Read more...
Here is the letter we wrote Mike Hooke our Dj after our wedding:


October 20, 2013
Dear Mike,

I wanted to really tell you how special and perfect you made our day. The way you organized everyone and took all of the stress away from me and Eli was unbelievable. Everyone danced the entire time and truly enjoyed themselves which was very much your doing. Your kindness and friendship to both me and Eli means the world to us.

You were there from the very beginning when I first started this little thing with my Eli. So for you to have such a big part on our special day means more than we could ever say.

If we can ever do anything for you please let us know.

With much love,
Martha

Martha & Eli
The Carlyle Club
10.18.13 Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
The New
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Everything was perfect! We hired Washington Celebrations for our ceremony music and as our reception DJ and couldn't have asked for a more perfect team for our special day. From the amazing duet for our ceremony to the rocking party afterwards! Guests of our wedding, who have never danced at a wedding before were out there all evening long! I've heard from friends and family, "we have never been to such a great and fun filled wedding!" Thanks Mike, for everything-- It was amazing to see everything just perfect as we walked in to see all of planning come down to a wonderful and jammed packed evening of dancing and laughter. I will highly recommend Washington Celebrations to all of our friends in the DC Metro area without any hesitation! Thanks again Mike and team....for everything.
Everything was perfect! We hired Washington Celebrations for our ceremony music and as our reception DJ and couldn't have Read more...
Everything was perfect! We hired Washington Celebrations for our ceremony music and as our reception DJ and couldn't have asked for a more perfect team for our special day. From the amazing duet for our ceremony to the rocking party afterwards! Guests of our wedding, who have never danced at a wedding before were out there all evening long! I've heard from friends and family, "we have never been to such a great and fun filled wedding!" Thanks Mike, for everything-- It was amazing to see everything just perfect as we walked in to see all of planning come down to a wonderful and jammed packed evening of dancing and laughter. I will highly recommend Washington Celebrations to all of our friends in the DC Metro area without any hesitation! Thanks again Mike and team....for everything. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Nick
Wedding:
10/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Mike, Joe:

Following our wedding this past Sunday, it was important to send you a review. Not seeing a place on the Washington Celebrations (WC) website (okay, that's a small negative), I clicked on over here. (My note: right after posting this on Facebook, I found the review section -- this is cut/pasted, and reduced for character limits, from the Facebook post)

You guys were A-W-E-S-O-M-E!!! Anyone looking to schedule an event would be hard-pressed to find services that matched yours.

For those looking to find more in-depth information, read on (check out the Facebook post). Our request was threefold: a harpist for the ceremony and cocktail hour, a DJ for the first half of the reception, followed by karaoke.

Mike and Joe were pros on all accounts. And, this was really an important point -- they were friendly and genuinely nice; very easy to work with.
Mike, Joe:

Following our wedding this past Sunday, it was important to send you a review. Not seeing a place on Read more...
Mike, Joe:

Following our wedding this past Sunday, it was important to send you a review. Not seeing a place on the Washington Celebrations (WC) website (okay, that's a small negative), I clicked on over here. (My note: right after posting this on Facebook, I found the review section -- this is cut/pasted, and reduced for character limits, from the Facebook post)

You guys were A-W-E-S-O-M-E!!! Anyone looking to schedule an event would be hard-pressed to find services that matched yours.

For those looking to find more in-depth information, read on (check out the Facebook post). Our request was threefold: a harpist for the ceremony and cocktail hour, a DJ for the first half of the reception, followed by karaoke.

Mike and Joe were pros on all accounts. And, this was really an important point -- they were friendly and genuinely nice; very easy to work with. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ, Lighting & Decor

DEALS

The Bride's Choice Package
Get Deal
Promo Code: WWIRED   $3,600 Value
String Quartet for your Wedding Ceremony and Cocktail Hour (Two Hours), DJ/MC for your Four-Hour Reception, 16 Uplights for your ballroom perimeter, Custom Monogram, Wedding Cake Pinspot, Sweetheart Table "Light Up", Dance Floor Lighting

Available to the first 10 couples
Deal #WWb93c3ea6a6412e84
220x220 1342227021647 stringtrioatwedding

MAP

 
DC 20002 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Washington Celebrations - Live Musicians, Professional DJs, Elegant Lighting
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1254859696887 washcelebceremonypicfortheknot