130x130_sq_1199989334302-outsideatnight

Waterford at Springfield

Springfield , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

6715 Commerce Street
Springfield, VA US 22150 (map)

PHONE

703-719-5700

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

***Right now Waterford is offering a free reception giveaway. Enter your chance to win the 5-hour reception for up to 200 people at www.wjla.com/contests/waterford.***


... Read more
***Right now Waterford is offering a free reception giveaway. Enter your chance to win the 5-hour reception for up to 200 people at www.wjla.com/contests/waterford.***


Waterford was created with brides in mind.

At Waterford, our goal is simple: to provide you and your guests with an extraordinary experience by combining the highest-quality food with superb facilities and unmatched customer service.

Best of all, receptions at Waterford are an outstanding value. Our reception packages are truly all-inclusive – there are absolutely no hidden fees.

Elegant surroundings. Exquisite food. Superb customer service. Unmatched value.

That’s the Waterford Way.

Waterford at Springfield features five spectacular ballrooms, two pre-function rooms (each with a welcoming fireplace) and a spacious grand hallway with an imported fountain and a beautiful waterfall. Conveniently located near the intersection of the Beltway, I-395 and I-95, our space includes the second largest ballroom in Fairfax County, seating up to 800 for a social event (with dance floor) or 1,000 for a banquet or conference.

Visit www.waterfordreceptions.com for more information and to view our photo gallery.

Please note, Waterford Receptions also has a location in Fairfax, Va. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1199992331115-springfieldphotos008
130x130_sq_1189450672484-outsideatnight
130x130_sq_1375285479786-fetters1305034935
130x130_sq_1189451860000-greenbar
130x130_sq_1199990936505-springfieldphotos001
130x130_sq_1375285453175-fetters1305034191
130x130_sq_1375278549643-img0779
130x130_sq_1375278517129-642-img0707
130x130_sq_1375278522559-img0029
130x130_sq_1189453191140-dsc_0120
130x130_sq_1375278554033-img1211
130x130_sq_1189451874843-centerpiece
130x130_sq_1189451816296-0471
130x130_sq_1199989926912-008_17a
130x130_sq_1199989978193-015_10a
130x130_sq_1189452029140-dsc_0039
130x130_sq_1199990020240-033_33
130x130_sq_1199990078349-046_46
130x130_sq_1199990170240-053_53
130x130_sq_1199990268068-061_61
130x130_sq_1199990352162-062_62
130x130_sq_1199990489162-leaving756(2)
130x130_sq_1199990524193-newimage
130x130_sq_1199990657912-picture008
130x130_sq_1199990744771-picture009
130x130_sq_1199990876474-picture010
130x130_sq_1199991003224-springfieldphotos005
130x130_sq_1199992224490-springfieldphotos007
130x130_sq_1199991091912-springfieldphotos006
130x130_sq_1204036715947-cakeandtablesthroughmirror
130x130_sq_1199992512693-table351(2)
130x130_sq_1204036885838-girlsbathroom
130x130_sq_1204042069150-rollsroyceinfront
130x130_sq_1204039330025-gminkormanball
130x130_sq_1204041709291-kissoutside
130x130_sq_1204041788447-mobstylepicture
130x130_sq_1375285652611-fetters1305034381
130x130_sq_1375285683620-fetters1305034627
130x130_sq_1379507322480-fetters1305034691
130x130_sq_1379507450769-7---08-100
130x130_sq_1379507466655-7---08-144
130x130_sq_1379507488104-7---08-225
130x130_sq_1379507506451-7---08-310
130x130_sq_1379507523361-1001767
130x130_sq_1379507533700-279-img0636
130x130_sq_1379507545016-air-force-event-hi-res-11
130x130_sq_1379507566111-air-force-event-hi-res-25
130x130_sq_1379507587257-air-force-event-hi-res-32
130x130_sq_1379507602584-air-force-event-hi-res-48
130x130_sq_1379507616583-p1000782
130x130_sq_1379507639948-p1000830
130x130_sq_1379507662342-p1000973
130x130_sq_1379507910975-7---08-111
130x130_sq_1379507933152-7---08-120
130x130_sq_1379507955823-7---08-133
130x130_sq_1379507977321-7---08-141
130x130_sq_1379507998607-7---08-191
130x130_sq_1379508017577-7---08-197
130x130_sq_1379508031894-7---08-201
130x130_sq_1379508051708-7---08-214
130x130_sq_1379508072341-7---08-218
130x130_sq_1379508092138-7---08-230
130x130_sq_1379508118060-7---08-276
130x130_sq_1379515704730-waterfordlogoblack

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1376877912242-jennifer-and-matt-7994crop
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
great place, great people, everybody was very helpful , i have million of thank for everyone there, they made my wedding day very special.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
I am very happy that we chose the Waterford at Springfield.
Just wanted to say thank you so much to Nerisha, Kevin chef Mike and the staff served our food, Nerisha and Kevin help us a lot thru the process, it was excellent service and we really appreciate it..
Our guest called me the following day and everyone said they enjoyed the wedding party the place is very elegant and food is really good and entertainment is excellent...

JEER
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Traciea
Wedding:
5/17/2014
4.5/5.0
The Waterford staff particularly Kevin, Nerisha and the head chef were extremely nice...they made sure all our needs were attended to in a timely fashion. I called Kevin several times and he always responded with such professionalism. I only had one negative encounter with who I later found out was one of the owners who was very rude on the phone and ended up hanging up on me which threw me for a loop...the staff later explained that it was out of character for him and he was "going through a lot", if it wasn't for the the consistent professional treatment prior I would lose my mind because there is absolutely no excuse...people have bad days...the customer should never know that...I believe his name was Alex. Like I said, Kevin and Nerisha who you would be dealing with on a regular basis for your event are always professional and so very helpful...they make the quality of service at this place...they rock!
The Waterford gets an A plus for responsiveness and flexibility...the payment schedule was well laid out and I was able to call Kevin to authorize payments with no problems at all...very convenient and I never had to wait to talk to a staff member...even if I left a message, they called back in a timely manner.
The value...I like that they offer some "all inclusive" packages...I thought the food could have been better...it was great at the tasting but at the event, it was a little "cafeteria bordering"...I think an upgrade to the menu is due. It may be my Jamaican taste buds that call for a little more seasoning though because the guests didn't complain(not sure they would). We had a brisket and chicken dish. The Chef is very willing to work with clients to create a dish that suits your taste which was a plus. Overall the Waterford was very nice...the staff was great at the actual wedding as well...very attentive to my husband and I. We had a blast and everything was handled expertly!
Services Used: , Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rhonda
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
The Waterford at Springfield provides an exquisite venue to hold a wedding or any elaborate event. The ambiance with the crystal chandelier made the event that much more beautiful. My daughter's wedding was held there and the service provided was great. The food was excellent. The staff catered to our every need and was very courteous and professional.

I recommend this venue if you are looking for a very nice atmosphere with great food.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachelle
Wedding:
5/11/2013
2.6/5.0
I waited a month to calm down before reviewing the Waterford. The venue is beautiful and has good food. However, Nerisha made a few inexcusable mistakes during our wedding. She then denied any wrong doing or responsibility. It all started when we paid her the balance. Once Nerisha had the money she stopped talking to me. That isn't helpful the week before or of a wedding. Consequently she forgot to tell me that the bridal room they "let" me use would be changed for the morning of my event. The confusion caused a delay that had me running to the church like a mad woman. The stress showed in my expensive prep photos. Nerisha also forgot to tell event staff that the cake was to be moved to the dance floor for the cutting. I had to correct them, and in the rush we ended up on the wrong side of it. Then she forgot the numerous discussions we had on stopping open bar during dinner, even though my husband, mother, and aunt witnessed the first discussion. It was important to me that the open bar run from 5:30-7:30 and 8:30-10:30 so that the 4 hours would last the entire night without ending the party early. The only question was whether I would want wine service during the dinner hour, which I decided against. She didn't take note of this and the event manager didn't stop the service. So at 9:30 they approached my husband asking for $400 to continue the bar. I was furious given the other events and yelled at him for extorting us. They negotiated to not charge us, but to end the bar at 10, thereby ending the party early. I apologized for losing my temper realizing it was not his fault but Nerisha's. Oh btw for the rehearsal they didn't even realize their sound system can play from phones or computers, my husband had to buy a cable and show them how it worked. I still can't believe she wouldn't take responsibility for her incompetence.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Waterford at Springfield responded with the following comments:

Unfortunately, once in a long while a company must deal with an unreasonable customer. This is an example of such a situation.

Waterford made several “bend over backwards” accommodations to please this customer, both before and during her reception, including a discount due to the fact that her mother worked for one of our good corporate customers.
Waterford categorically denies this customer’s negative assertions regarding our service during the reception. In fact, we have the documentation to prove that we repeatedly and clearly explained weeks in advance why we could not and would not agree to a number of her demands.
Sadly, on the day of the reception, this customer was exceedingly rude to not only our staff but also to another Waterford bride.
As anyone can see by reading the vast majority of our reviews on this site, Waterford is well known for providing great service at a great price and always going the extra mile for our brides. However, even that is not enough to please unique customers such as this one.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dashe
Wedding:
5/4/2013
3.0/5.0
Before I booked this venue, I had read a google review that warned me that another wedding could be taking place at the same time as mine and that they tend to clear the dinner service early. Even with that warning, I booked the Waterford, but unfortunately I did experience those two things as well.

They helped to make the planning process go pretty well, but it was the service during the wedding that I was not thrilled with. I was told the tables and centerpieces would be set up by 11 am the day of the wedding, but when we arrived to set up, only the tables were set up. After waiting a couple of hours for set up to be completed by the Waterford, the bridesmaids and family had to finish the set up because time was running out.

I was told that the plated dinner service could be delivered in 30 minutes, which I needed to do because my photographer was leaving before the wedding ended. The dinner service ended up taking almost 2 hours, and lucky for me my photographer was willing to work with me.

In the end, I had a beautiful wedding and the Waterford was a nice bang for my buck. I would only recommend this venue for a friend having a wedding on a budget. If you can afford to go somewhere else, I would suggest that.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brandy
Wedding:
12/15/2012
5.0/5.0
I could not have asked for a better experience! I had both my ceremony and reception at the Waterford at Springfield and everything went so perfectly!!! The staff is professional and extremely helpful. I highly recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg22
Sonia
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
They were amazing. Helpful, professionaly, and did everything I could have possibly wanted or needed to make my day special!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1338224437522-5647893151953552263321338378047n
Anonymous
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
OUR WEDDING WAS AMAZING!
From the moment we walked in and met with the staff at the Waterford we knew this was were we should host our wedding events, ceremony and reception! The design, professional staff, and other services that were provided made our day so memorable; my husband and I will never forget it! The venue was so much more cost effective than other venues in this area. You'll definitely get so much more for your money! Maximum flexibility on payments, which was so great! The staff was a pleasure to work with from start to finish. The decoration were wonderful and incredible. Everyone was amazed at how beautiful our venue looked, particularly with the overhead elegance. We were impressed with how quickly and efficiently everyone worked to set up and take down the room from ceremony to reception. The Waterford went above and beyond our expectation. Thank you so much!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
April
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
We had our reception here. The food was amazing! I only wish I could have had more of it. The prices were great! We had a wonderful staff to work with. I highly recommend this place. They also worked great with our other vendors.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LaKrishna
Wedding:
5/27/2012
4.8/5.0
The Waterford is a wonderful one stop shop kinda place to get married! Because my family is from afar, it was easiest to have the wedding ceremony and reception at the same location, centered by a variety of different hotels! All of the special requests we made were met (contrary to pasts reviews that I read), they were accommodating to my decor preference (candles lining the aisles) and our changes to the seasoning and cooking style of the food! There was a tiny mixup with my placecards(not escort cards) which caused a big commotion because they took them out of their table specific bags and spread them onto one table, but my wedding planner was able to fix it as best she could. Otherwise everything went off without a hitch! If you are looking for a good value, this is the best way to go!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
morajam
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
Thanks to this venue I could not have had a better reception. I was worried that having a reception in a large venue with multiple rooms would take away from the intimate feeling of a reception but the Waterford did a perfect job. All of the waiters/waitresses were incredibly proffesional, wonderfully polite, and never let anyone's water/wine glass get empty. All of the food was amazing including the biggest filet's I have ever seen and best cooked duck I have ever had. The cocktail hour was perfect all of the hors d'oeuvres were amazing and plentiful. They were so incredibly flexible even able to add dinners for surprise guests to my wedding! I am forever thankful to the staff of this venue for providing me a great reception.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
They were very accommodating through every step of the planning process. The food was great, the service was fabulous and the look and appeal of the venue is very eye catching. Their management team does everything they can to make the planning easy and smooth.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
S. Moss
Wedding:
2/11/2012
5.0/5.0
First I want to start out by stating the Waterford has the most awesome staff in the business. Kevin your awesome! Chef Mike totally rocks it out in the kitchen with his gourmet style comfort food. My husband and I were overjoyed with the entire coordination process. The facility is state of the art and would accomodate any bride/groom on their wedding day. We had a small quaint wedding. However the staff and servers professionalism & dedication made it truly a stellar experience. The CEO when not with other customers always greeted us with a handshake & smile. Am I recommending the Waterford??? NO DOUBT! Brides LOOK NO further for your venue!!! They made my wedding planning experience one I personally will never forget :-)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael
Wedding:
11/5/2011
5.0/5.0
wonderful service and great food
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mudd
Wedding:
7/3/2011
4.4/5.0
All in all, waterford springfield was a wonderful choice of venue. From the sales experience to the day of the event, everyone was very helpful. My only complaint was that the staff threw out the leftover appetizers from our off-premise caterer...though that could've been my fault if I was supposed to tell them ahead of time I wanted it saved? In every other way they were great. My guests seemed to like the venue also.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Waterford at Springfield responded with the following comments:

We're so sorry that your leftover appetizers were thrown away. We have a policy that food does not leave the premises, due to food safety concerns. Had we been instructed to save them, we definitely would have done so. Thank you for allowing us to be such an important part of your day and congratulations!!!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bana
Wedding:
2/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Awsome..... they were very nice and professional.. The cost of the wedding was reasonable. the food was excellent too. they will work with you step by step and make sure your dream comes true
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
michelle
Wedding:
11/6/2010
4.4/5.0
The Waterford definitely knows what they are doing! They have so many details already laid out that it took the stress out of my planning! It was so refreshing to have things so well prepared and thought out... that we didnt have to re-invent the wheel every time something needed to be done!

Due to the nature of the place, they are not terribly flexible but we were able to work everything out!

On the day of our wedding, they treated us like royalty and I could not have asked for more!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1258077983660-0037
Rashanda Butler
Wedding:
10/16/2010
5.0/5.0
"Words cannot express my sincere thanks and appreciation to the Waterford Staff". Ms. Nerisha Joshi, Sales Manager was extremely professional, insightful and helpful in making my wedding day come to life. The Von Sternberg Ballroom was where my ceremony was held and when I saw the set-up of the room and the lovely decorations, I was completely blown away. As my husband and I walked into the reception in the Hazel Ballroom, we both were speechless of how well the Waterford Staff were able to flip the room quickly and swiftly just in time for the reception. It's simply amazing how well the staff worked as a team. Throughout the entire evening, Waterford Staff were consistently available during the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. I must comment on the food....one word...."Delicious". The food was phenomenal and many of our guests complimented us on the diversity of the foods and flavors. We knew we were in for a treat after attending the Food Tasting back in July with the Waterford Chef. We were extremely impressed by the Waterford and I would definitely recommend this venue to future brides. Throughout the entire year I planned my wedding, every time I phoned the Waterford regarding questions and/or comments, someone was always there to take my phone call.

Thanks Waterford-Springfield Family!

Be blessed,

Rashanda L. Jenkins
Wedding on October 16, 2010
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
The Waterford accomadate my every need. Since I was without a planner I decorated everything for my wedding myself with the aid of my family and they gave us Champagne when we finished. It meant so much to just they did that. They even pulled something out of their store room left from another wedding that matched my theme. They were very professional the day of and the staff told me it was my day to feel like a princess. The space is romantic and we got a lot of compliments on the quality of the buffet food served.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rollinsk
Wedding:
5/15/2010
4.6/5.0
I can not say enough good things about the Waterford. We were planning from out of state and Saul was very good to meet us on our schedule when we were available. I felt that he was very receptive to all the things we wanted to have and the way we wanted things to go smoothly. The only thing I was upset about was that my mom was pulled out during the father daughter dance to answer a question about the event order. I wish she could have seen me dance with my dad, and then I was pulled out during my husband's dance with his mother. All to sort out the extension of our bar until 1030 which we wanted to do from teh beginning but they would not let us decide until the day of.

The food was very wonderful though and the room was decorated exactly the way I wanted. People are still raving about the food.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MrsPM
Wedding:
4/10/2010
4.8/5.0
We only did our reception here, but we were not disappointed! The minute my fiance and I stopped walked into the Waterford we knew we were at our reception site! It was absolutely wonderful! We booked in June 2009 for a wedding in April 2010. Every time I called or e-mailed I was promptly answered back exactly what I was looking for. We worked with Louis for most of the planning but during the last month he went to the Fair Oaks location so we continued with Saul. Saul took over and everything went beautifully! At our 90 day appointment we got to sit down and taste food and talk about our ideas and ask questions. The owner himself was so personable. When we went in for our final sit down to go over everything for the event not a single thing was left. The way they paid attention to detail was amazing. When I dropped off the stuff for our centerpieces and few table decorations I went over everything one more time with the banquet manager. She was great and knew exactly what I wanted. It was such a stress relief to arrive at my reception knowing everything was perfect the way I wanted it and even better then knowing it was beautiful was seeing that everything was exactly how I wanted it. The evening was perfect! I would recommend this site to any couple looking for elegance, decent prices, personable staff members, beautiful memories, amazing food, and just an all around enjoyable atmosphere - the limited stress this place will provide is an added bonus!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kturtle
Wedding:
11/20/2009
5.0/5.0
If I could give more than 5 points for the everything regarding Waterford I would. I have never experienced better customer service. They really are there to make your day so special. They accommodated us in every way possible. I was referred to Waterford receptions from a friend. They have an excellent reputation. The ballrooms are beautiful, the waiting staff is excellent. Everyone who works there is extremely professional. You have several meetings to put you at ease and help you with the choices you have to make. The Waterford is pretty much all-inclusive as they can also help with centerpieces.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tamara
Wedding:
11/7/2009
4.7/5.0
The Waterford at Springfield is so beautiful inside that you want to get married the same day you take the tour of the facility. The staff is very professional and takes very good care of you. The Manager (Louis) is the most professional person in the wedding business I have met so far. He strives to take care of your every need and then some.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bride101709
Wedding:
10/17/2009
5.0/5.0
The Waterford was the best decision I could have made for my wedding! Saul was wonderful and extremely helpful and responsive. On the day of Angela was there for me every second that I needed her. If there was something I asked of her she quickly corrected it which is why I would give them nothing less than 5 stars. There's always going to be something that goes wrong..but as long as there is someone there to fix it and fix it quick I can not complain. The room looked gorgeous. They took everything I gave them and placed it just as I had instructed. They worked well with my other vendors and you can tell they are professionals at their job. Now my guests favorite part...THE FOOD! it was amazing. Of course I hardly ate any but my guests had nothing bad to say. Although the bruchetta during cocktail hour was frozen and soggy..I can look past that because the crabcakes and shrimp were amazing. The stuffed autumn chicken and salmon were delicious. Thank you waterford for helping my wedding dreams come to life!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ellen and charles
Wedding:
10/3/2009
5.0/5.0
Excellent place to have a reception. Saul is knowledgeable when planning. The room was beautiful and set up just as asked including a kids section with TV and games. Chicken piccata was delicious. Great price when compared to other locations where you have to pay a fee and then hire a caterer.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mob
Wedding:
10/3/2009
1.4/5.0
We paid for our daughter's wedding ceremony and reception. Saul promised us a lot but was absent on the day of the event and a lot of promised items were missing (like a unity candle that we had to run and purchase at David's Bridal for $40 minutes before the ceremony). Also, they promised us no more than 2 weddings, but there were at least 5 that same Sat. As a result the brides room was all messed up and our "dedicated staff" kept disappearing to help out at other events. The meat carver even disappeared before dinner was served. The staff is clearly overworked and underresourced. You also have to demand that they serve the premium drinks that you paid for. If the event staff was half as good as the sales staff, this would be an awesome venue. Maybe the economy causes them to cut back so much. Before you plunk down your nonrefundable deposit, stop by on a Fri or Sat wedding event to see for yourself.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Waterford at Springfield responded with the following comments:

At Waterford at Springfield, the happiness of the bride and groom is of the utmost importance. However, we never promise to supply items that are not listed on the contract (like a unity candle). We may have had 5 wedding in TOTAL the day of your event, but not more than two at the same time. Our staff is always dedicated to the events, especially a chef working at a carving station. Premium drinks depend on the package purchased. Also, please call ahead of time if you plan to visit on a weekend when we have events going on, as proper attire is required.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
franke2388
Wedding:
9/26/2009
4.8/5.0
We had a great reception here. Everyone went out of their way to make it a perfect night; even with our many requests throughout the process. The price was great for the DC area, because it includes everything! I would recommend adding some decorations for the chairs, and some other features to make it unique. The only reason they did not get a 5 in all categories is because the bartender was not great (but lots of good alcohol included), and they were not always flexible in the set up if you were bringing your own stuff, overall almost perfect though.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1256326379031-122791731057628346817
NEESI
Wedding:
9/19/2009
4.5/5.0
The Waterford is a beautiful place and our reception turned out wonderfully. We did, however, have some issues with them double booking our room -- but once the mistake was realized it was quickly rectified by the owner himself. The food was great!! The staff was friendly and professional. I would definitely recommend this venue -- just make sure that you book early!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
stella1278
Wedding:
9/19/2009
4.1/5.0
There were things we really loved about the Waterford and things that looking back we did not like. It is a beautiful site and overall we wouldn't change much about our wedding there but they don't have a good place to take pictures. They have a beautiful fountain in the front lobby and it would be great to take pictures there but it's right where guests are and if there's another wedding there's other guest around that area. They also don't like the brides seeing each other so if you are taking pictures and the other brides ceremony is starting at that time they push you out and hide you. I was not happy with that.

We also had boxes for cake for our guests to take home. We don't think they cut big enough pieces of cake and probably threw out or took some of our wedding cake.

But overall those are the only negative things. The food was amazing and all the guest raved about the food so that was awesome. The site was beautiful and let us do a bunch of decorations.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Waterford at Springfield responded with the following comments:

We're so glad that your guests loved the food and that you felt flexible with your decorations. Just to let you know, our staff is absolutely forbidden from taking guest food (at all), but especially off the premises. It may have been that they needed to cut the pieces smaller based on your guest count. Thank you for holding your reception at Waterford and we wish you all the best!!!
Bg5
Mariana
Wedding:
8/22/2009
4.7/5.0
I am very happy that we chose the Waterford at Springfield. It's a really convenient locations and so easy to find. It is so great that there were two bridal rooms. They brought the wedding party snacks and drinks two hour before the ceremony started, which is an excellent service. There were some last minute changes that we had to make, but the staff as very patient. During the reception, the staff served us our food first. We didn't have much time to eat our food though since we had a sweetheart table and everybody came up to talk to us, which we didn't mind =) After the wedding, the staff packed up all of our things- unity candles, champagne flutes, gifts, etc. and helped my parents get them into the car. The staff is very helpful, patient and always there to help. It was a breeze working with them =)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
saweera
Wedding:
8/10/2009
5.0/5.0
Everyone at the venue was very helpful. I was able to get in touch with a coordinator anytime I needed to and they were able to take care of my every need. My reception ended up being more than I had ever imagined.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mmb50298
Wedding:
7/25/2009
4.3/5.0
The Waterford was a great place to have the reception. We had ours in the Gibson Ballroom, and even though it was the smallest of all the ballrooms, it was beautiful and the perfect size for our wedding. The Waterford was very accomodating through the whole process. There was a mix-up once where they thought I had cancelled the wedding, but it got handled quickly, and they were very apologetic. Overall, it was a great experience.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dreamybabie
Wedding:
7/25/2009
3.4/5.0
Reception site:
Very beautiful and spacious. Many compliments from all of our guest. Only problem people might encounter is multiple parties on the same night. We have two other weddings right next to our ballroom. Our wedding start 2 hours later than the other two so we didn't have problem with inside space.

Food: We have filet mignon & salmon combo. From several feedback from our guest, the food tasted very bland and that they have to go out to eat afterward.

Open bar: Our friends said they can barely taste the alcohol in the drinks. We were told they were a bit thrifty with their alcohol.

Service before the wedding: Great! They were always available for questions.

Service during the wedding: Feedback from our guests from several tables said that they rarely see the waiter or get response for their small requests. We had also ordered chicken for 2 of the kid's table and it was delivered incorrectly to several adult tables. Both of the kid tables that were suppose to get chicken got filet mignon & salmon. I was notified during the reception and had asked them to fix it, but they never did.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Blessed
Wedding:
7/18/2009
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding and reception at Waterford at Springfield on July 18, 2009. We were very pleased with the quality of service and professionalism the staff provided us and our guest. The Waterford is a great place to have your wedding and reception if you have a lot of guest coming from out of town for your wedding. Our guests love the fact that they did not have to drive around the area to get from the wedding to the reception. The food and service were outstanding. I reserved the bridal suite and was suppose when the staff came in to the room and brought food and wine for the bridal party to enjoy while we were getting dressed for the wedding. I would highly recommend the buffet if you are having a wedding at Waterford because it allows the guest the opportunity to mingle more and get to know each other. Our families and friends thoroughly enjoyed our wedding and it is because Louis and the staff at the Waterford made sure everything went smoothly for us. Waterford at Springfield is an outstanding place to have your wedding and reception.
Steve & Tina Dawson
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ManavandCharlotte
Wedding:
7/11/2009
5.0/5.0
Waterford Springfield provided a worry-free and accommodating venue. After meeting with them to finalize our plans, they took take of everything perfectly. The set-up for cocktail hour and the ballroom was exactly as desired. We provided them with a box of things to set up (escort cards, place cards, guest book, cake servers) and it was perfect. The staff coordinated with our other vendors and made sure everything ran smoothly. We didn't stress about anything being left out because they have established such an organized system and layout. We would definitely recommend Waterford Springfield for a reception venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
skiflu
Wedding:
6/27/2009
4.8/5.0
Their price was reasonable compare to the hotels in the metropolitan area. They were very flexible.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maria
Wedding:
6/6/2009
4.6/5.0
They were very flexible with setting up our menu a year in advance due to our being out of town during the wedding planning process.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Bg10
Jennifer
Wedding:
4/25/2009
5.0/5.0
The Waterford in Springfield was fantastic. The fact that the reception venue also included catering was a huge plus for us. We didn't need to worry about the venue communicating and coordinating with a food service provider, and this was very helpful.

The place itself is very nice. They have suites available for the bride and groom to relax and eat before the reception, and it includes a private bathroom. We were brought a sampling of the appetizers we wanted, and had sodas and wine chilled and waiting for us when we arrived.

They have a variety of packages available, and everyone at the Springfield branch of Waterford was very friendly and helpful. Saul especially was great...he responded quickly to emails and phone calls and met with us several times to ensure that they knew exactly what we wanted.

The Waterford provides services that other venues do not. They put our favors, centerpieces, place cards, guest books, photos, etc. We saved hundreds of dollars by going with them instead of using a "day of" coordinator. There was a coordinator there (included in the package price!) who was always available if we needed anything, and she made sure everything went smoothly. The wait staff were fantastic, and provided our guests with whatever they needed.

The food was fantastic and the venue itself was beautiful. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shandagirl
Wedding:
3/6/2009
4.8/5.0
Food was wonderful and wait staff was very attentive.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth
Wedding:
12/20/2008
5.0/5.0
We had a great Holiday Event for our company and everyone was very impressed. We will not hesitate to use this facility again.
Thank you
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kendra
Wedding:
12/6/2008
4.6/5.0
Everything was great. We felt like Kings and Queens. Some advice: When you sign the deposit, you have to guarantee the number of people-- AND you will pay for this amount. So give them an ultra low number and budget for a high number. This way you truly end up paying for only the people who come.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1209354480416-n569478380_199711_2829
Yankee girl
Wedding:
11/9/2008
5.0/5.0
The Waterford was great! They really made my day special and they help out whenever you need it. I would recommend this venue to ANYONE getting married!!! They are incredibly affordable and it was just a great experience working with them.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
10/4/2008
5.0/5.0
Amazing! They were always available and accomodating. Friendly staff that made me feel at ease. Wonderful food and beautiful venue. Highly recommended.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cookymc
Wedding:
8/23/2008
3.9/5.0
The Waterford was a beautiful setting for my wedding and reception. The staff was very responsive and helpful and the catering was superb. I couldn't have asked for a better arrangement.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maria
Wedding:
7/12/2008
5.0/5.0
I am so happy that I had my reception at the Waterford at Springfield... I still receive compliments!!! The ballrooms are gorgeous, the food is delicious and all of the staff is extremely accomadating and friendly... on our wedding day we were treated like royalty. The staff was very responsive to my last minute emails and changes... and they always helped me with a smile on their face!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1207414378176-l
Raven
Wedding:
7/4/2008
5.0/5.0
All the staff catered to our specific needs and if we wanted something a little bit different they did it for us. tim Jones was awesome and worked with us to make sure we got taken care of.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth
Wedding:
6/6/2008
4.9/5.0
The Waterford at Springfield had beautiful ballrooms to choose from, the food was great, and the service was professional and super friendly. A great value for the reasonable price!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
5/24/2008
4.4/5.0
Waterford was a perfect place for our wedding. The staff was friendly, and ALWAYS available whenever I dropped in for questions, requests, and details. They were amazing and the food was the best!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amelia
Wedding:
4/12/2008
4.4/5.0
The Waterford did a great job with our reception. The food was really good and the staff was very attentive. At the end of the night they even helped us gather together our gifts and extra cake to take home. We went with the Springfield location because it's newer and looked much nicer than the Fair Oaks location. We made several changes at the last minute and we had no problems with them or coordinating with other vendors.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
asmith
Wedding:
11/30/2007
4.0/5.0
The waterford was a very afforadable way to have a wedding, the venue, food, and open bar were all included for 9, 000 for 145 people. They were very accomidating and helpful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
11/3/2007
4.9/5.0
This is a beautiful, elegant place. The food was excellent and the service outstanding. All our guests were impressed.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shin Young
Wedding:
10/27/2007
3.5/5.0
Excellent friendly staff during the preparation time and on the day of, I felt that I could trust them to accomodate our, and our guests needs. The only thing I didn't like was their flexibility on the re-allocation of the money that was already paid. We learned one week before the wedding day that 5 of our guests couldn't make it, and we had already paid for everything. We asked Waterford to re-allocate the money ($500) toward an extra hour of open bar but they were not able to do anything about that money. I felt that there was enough time for them to make such a minor change and was very dissapointed. Their strength lies in their people and they were very professional and we enjoyed their assistance.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sandi
Wedding:
10/6/2007
4.7/5.0
Although it seemed a bit pricey when we first looked into it - the Waterford at Springfield was worth every penny that we paid. We did both the Ceremony and the Reception at the Waterford and the combined event location made it very easy for us and our guests. Also there are several hotels near by that you can get very affordable room blocks with. I can't say enough good things about the Waterford. The Bridal room was a wonderful thing to have for getting ready, and for my new husband and I to escape to for a short while right after the ceremony. The support from the staff before, during, and after our event was friendly and highly professional. They really do know what they are doing. And the food! WOW! It was very good. We did a plated dinner and I was a little worried about making sure the right person got the right meal, but the Waterford staff had it covered! I can honestly say that my wedding was lovely and stress-free and the Waterford clearly contibuted to this feeling.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kella
Wedding:
10/6/2007
4.5/5.0
Once we were able to book our date and get one person as our contact person the Waterford was GREAT!!! They're very accomodating and friendly and the food is great. I was a little worried about them having 2 other weddings and a class reunion going on but I never noticed because I was in my room most of the nite.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eva
Wedding:
9/22/2007
5.0/5.0
Waterford did an excellent job for my wedding reception. All staffs are very nice and accomondating. Food was delicious. We just wished that Waterford had better steak knife.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Duped in DC
Wedding:
7/7/2007
4.1/5.0
We contracted with Waterford in Springfield approximately 13 months in advance of the wedding. The prices go up yearly but the increase was not reflected in our contract as it occurred once we signed on the dotted line. I thought the chicken meals were VERY, VERY good. I was not a fan of the beef. VG appetizers and the drinks are delicious and potent (for an occasional drinker like myself). We did have an episode wherein my cousin obtained and gave her underaged husband an alcoholic drink. Waterford not only cut him off, but her as well for providing it to him. If we had not supported these efforts, the entire table would probably have been cut off. I agreed then and agree now that that was the right policy to follow since they can lose their liquor license and we, too, would have been responsible for him if something had gone wrong once leaving the reception site. The couple got over it and had a lovely time. The only negative I really found was that the wait staff (my prime interface in the hall) stated that they were not tipped by the establishment. Of course, a tip is included and added to the fee with pay as part of the contract. Not sure who was telling me the truth. Very good price for the money.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
C
Wedding:
6/16/2007
4.8/5.0
Waterford is a beautiful venue, modern and elegant. We didn't want your standard reception hall - and we were thrilled when we found this place. Everything was perfect for the reception. Our sales contact changed throughout the year - which made it a bit difficult finalizing things, but otherwise - we had a great experience. Waterford is a great value as well. our guests all commented on how nice it was - and how amazing it was that we couldn't hear any of the other weddings going on at the same time. The food was delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michele
Wedding:
5/5/2007
2.0/5.0
This one is hard to rate. When we booked our wedding with the Waterford Traci was our coordinator and she seemed nice, a bit bitter about her private life but enthusiastic about our wedding which was weird. Regardless we thought the site was beautiful (and is).

Unfortunatly Traci was leaving the Waterford a few days before our wedding, in turn we were treated horribly. The bridal room she told us we had we apparenly didn't have and were kicked out of a vacant bridal room and left to sit by a fountain for 30 mins. There was much confusion with the staff and many decided to ignor us when we tried to get answers.

My advice is that if you do book with the Waterford, make sure the bridal room is in your contract, that the BEO lists exactly EXACTLY what you want and make sure you have the correct copy before your event. Regardless of the amount of times I pointed out questionable areas in my contract Traci reassured me that it would be changed and I allowed myself to trust her.

The management at Waterford will only want your opinions if the event whent smoothly otherwise they'll treat you like dirt once they have your money which is unfortunate since they do have a nice venue and their food nice too.

Also, another word of advice is have a coordinator at your event to boss around the employees here otherwise you'll be left at your cake table ready to cut the cake without any plates or forks and with a staff that isn't interested in getting you one :\
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carol
Wedding:
8/12/2006
5.0/5.0
We worked with Traci and Tim in our planning and Chris was our day of contact. When we first signed up for the Waterford to be our ceremony and reception place they were not yet open. They still had several months of construction before their opening date. Tim was able to show us pictures of what the place would look like and when they opened it was even better that we had thought! They were the complete package, everything we needed and wanted for a fraction of the cost of the other places we had looked into.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
8/12/2006
5.0/5.0
The staff at the Waterford at Springfield made my planning experience so easy! They were accomodating in every way and so very professional. My ceremony was in one ballroom to perfectly fit my 100 guests, then they were ushered into the cocktail room with butler-passed orheaves and other food stations, and then ushered into another ballroom for the reception. You must stop by this new facility to see their beautiful chandeliers in their ballrooms plus talk to their staff to see everything they will offer at a low competitive price.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1230051658416-lovepicture
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.5/5.0
We had our wedding reception at Waterford Springfield on July 3, 2009. We would definitely recommend this location for your reception in Northern VA. They were very professional, agreeable, helpful, and organized. There were so many things that they handled with ease that we hadn't even thought about. It was nice to have everything covered! We used the Singleton room for the reception, and I think it was the Gibson for the cocktail hour. The cocktail room had leather chairs and a fireplace, with classical music piped in. The reception room was also very nice and they did a nice job setting it up as we specified. I think there were a few tables with the incorrect number of chairs, but everyone had a seat so it wasn't a problem. There was one "captain" at the reception who made sure everything went smoothly and touched base with us throughout the reception in a non-intrusive way. Louis was our main contact and he was very helpful and easy to work with, but the other associates were also great. We had about 110 people in the Singleton room for the reception. It said they could seat up to 160, which would have been very crowded. If you use this venue, choose a room with much room to grow, you don't want the tables to be too packed in there, with a small dance floor (our dance floor was a great size). The food was excellent and the drinks were great as well. They offered good name brand liquors, as well as beer and wine. I think there was a line for the bar, but we (as the bride and groom) were served our food and drinks. The only downside of the Waterford Springfield is its location. Although it is convenient to many people since it is right off 495, it is in the mixing bowl area of Springfield, which was confusing for some of our guests. Also, it is not scenic at all outside of the venue, but inside you feel like you are somewhere else and that no longer matters. We felt that it was a great value compared to what else we had seen in the Northern VA area. Our wedding was on a Friday, so they offered a discounted rate. We would recommend Waterford Springfield to our friends!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
The Waterford made the experience worry-free. The day was perfect and the service and food was amazing.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
I believe the Waterford at Springfield is a beautiful venue, I love the food, everything was perfect. I recomended for you next event. Nerisha was always so nice and her sister in-law too. Everybody enjoyed it.
Thank you
Olivia and Myles
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
6715 Commerce Street, Springfield, VA 22150 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Waterford at Springfield
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1199989334302-outsideatnight