130x130_sq_1396886154771-liwedding-ico

Watermill Caterers

Smithtown , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

711 Smithtown Bypass
Smithtown, NY US 11787 (map)

PHONE

631-724-3242

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Caterers of Distinction

The newly renovated Watermill is Long Island's premier destination for weddings and special events

Stunning ballrooms, luxurious bridal... Read more
Caterers of Distinction

The newly renovated Watermill is Long Island's premier destination for weddings and special events

Stunning ballrooms, luxurious bridal suites, indoor & outdoor chapels and so much more...

As a Scotto Family facility, the Watermill is commited to providing you with innovative cuisine and superior service.

For an celebration that will be remembered for a lifetime, contact the Watermill 631-724-3242 Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1396886238535-asto
130x130_sq_1396886245667-astor-suit
130x130_sq_1396886252399-bouque
130x130_sq_1396886319554-lobby-pian
130x130_sq_1396886260847-bouquet-tos
130x130_sq_1396886334613-outdoor-chape
130x130_sq_1396886266880-brid
130x130_sq_1396886272104-carnegie-accen
130x130_sq_1396886311344-lobb
130x130_sq_1396886342133-wedding-cak
130x130_sq_1396886286301-carneige-ballroo
130x130_sq_1396886338153-outdoor-event
130x130_sq_1396886328289-outdoor-champagn
130x130_sq_1396886295763-dinner-men
130x130_sq_1396886302684-foo
130x130_sq_1396886306407-food-bite

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1995
When was your venue last renovated?
2014
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Garden / Romantic
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
400
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
2
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
1000
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
75
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
6/28/2014
5.0/5.0
The Watermill was absolutely perfect! Everyone there was great and very accommodating! Mary, my bridal attendant, was exceptional; we had 2 young flower girls sleeping in the bridal suite early into the party and she was wonderful with them. The food was fantastic and the outdoor landscaping was the perfect backdrop for wedding photos! We had our reception in the Carnegie room and it was absolutely stunning! I would HIGHLY recommend the Watermill!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
Watermill was great. Everything went smooth. Food and grounds were great! I hope someone has an event here in the future!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Words can’t even begin to explain how much we loved the Watermill. My husband & I are from Queens, but we liked the Watermill so much that we decided to do our wedding here on April 19th, 2014. Brian, our Maitre'd, Jessica, our bridal attendant, and Tony our captain we cannot say enough good things about them. They knew where to direct us, how to help us, and they made sure we ate and drank throughout the night I really cannot explain to you how great they were. Jessica and Brian made sure we had some peace and quiet before the reception brought us back to the bridal suite and brought us a ton of food from our cocktail to make sure we ate something. This place is nothing but perfection, the chapel, cocktail hour, and our reception was beautiful. This place has AMAZING food and service! My guest still can’t stop talking about how much food they serve. I absolutely love this place and the people there! I miss my wedding day everyday due to how unremarkably perfect it was all because of the hard work, love, and attention the Watermill gave us. Because of how pleased we were we plan on using the Watermill for our future events and occasions. Thanks again for an unforgettable day and forever memory!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nicole
Wedding:
4/5/2014
5.0/5.0
Everyone at the watermill is so nice! I recommend Richie as maître d and Jen as bridal attendant. They were great all night. I don't have one bad thing to say about the staff or the food. Everything was perfect
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacie
Wedding:
2/16/2014
5.0/5.0
Staff was excellent, food was excellent, it was the wedding of our dreams!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anita
Wedding:
2/15/2014
5.0/5.0
Everyone at the Watermill was extremely professional and attentive! everything was both beautiful and delicious!! everyone said they had an amazing time and I can not wait to have a reason to go back! LOVE LOVE LOVE the Watermill!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
11/8/2013
5.0/5.0
I used the Watermill for my November 8th wedding. The service was absolutely amazing. I was so impressed with how every single person went above and beyond to make sure our day was so special. The food was unbelievable. People are still commenting on how delicious the food was, and how much of it there was! We had the most amazing day and I am so happy we chose the Watermill!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1341317832101-getattachment
Mindy
Wedding:
11/3/2013
5.0/5.0
I can’t even begin to explain how much I loved the Watermill. We had seen a few venues and had pretty much decided on one but we already had an appointment with Watermill so DH said we might as well go check it out especially because we weren’t absolutely thrilled with our choice. I’ll be honest, I was a little hesitant since it was so far for most of our friends and family but I agreed. The second we pulled up we both got this feeling. It was like it was our place. I never thought I’d feel that way about a reception hall but I did and best of all DH did as well which was totally unexpected. We were shown the Carnegie chapel for the ceremony and Astor Suite for the reception and we fell in love the chapel immediately and knew we were meant to be married there. We went back to the car but immediately called and said hold our date we want to be married at Watermill. I couldn’t have been happier with our choice. The grounds are beautiful the staff is amazing. The food is TO DIE FOR!!!!!!!!!!!! We were very lucky and got to deal with both Bob and Roy as our BMs and they were both the best. Roy is my new best friend (lol) They both really seemed to care about us and our wedding and we felt very comfortable with them. The day of our Maitre D was Bryan who was super sweet and very on the ball without being bossy or anything. Our captain was Brendan and he was great as well. Jenn was my bridal attendant and I LOVED HER!!!!!!!!!! She was amazing and also just seemed to really care about us and making me happy and comfortable. Our guests are still talking about how wonderful everything was and how delicious the food was. Watermill made our dream wedding come true and we can't thank them enough!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I got married at the Watermill in Smithtown on Sept. 14th, 2013. It was the first place we looked at when choosing a venue, and it was the last. As soon as we walked in, we knew we wanted to have our wedding there. We had a day wedding, and had the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception there. Ever since day one of booking, we loved working with everyone there. We worked with Brian, and Jimmy then on our wedding day we worked with Sean. Everyone is so professional and pleasant, that it made working with them so easy and fun. The food was phenominal, and everyone is still talking about what an amazing wedding we had and it was the best wedding they have ever been to. Everyone there was so in depth with working on every detail, that I was truly surprised and thankful. I had two people attending the wedding who had food allergies and the chef contacted them directly to work with them! What a wonderful surprise! I could go on and on, but to spare you an even longer review I will end it here. My husband and I had the best wedding day ever, all thanks to the dedicated staff at the Watermill. We cannot begin to thank them enough for helping us have the picture perfect wedding day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dawn
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
The watermill was a beautiful venue for my daughters wedding. The service was fantastic, the food was amazing & delicious. The staff was friendly and very efficient. I couldn't have asked for a better wedding venur
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
The Watermill was perfect! The cocktail hour outside was beautiful and the food was wonderful! I have gotten so many compliments on the food! I especially loved the mashed potato bar. My bridal attendant, Jackie, was fantastic. They were so organized and everything went off without a hitch. I wish I could do it all again!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Cannot express in words how wonderful this place and its staff are! I would recommend them to anyone for any event. Our wedding was wonderful and I couldn't imagine having had it anywhere else! We had over 200 people attend and just about everyone we know has been raving about it to us ever since. Jim was our banquet manager and he was with us running the show the entire night and made sure everything went off without a hitch. Bridal attendant Jeanine was wonderful as well, along with all of the waitstaff. Food was top notch as well!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jen
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Beautiful site. We Love them!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
6/16/2013
5.0/5.0
My wedding was held at the watermill and I'm so glad i did it there because it is such a beautiful place, I look back on my wedding pictures and I love them.
The people there are extremely nice and friendly and on my wedding day I felt like a true princess.
I have to say that on my wedding day I had 3 people coordinating the event, Jim, Jose and Jackie and they were lovely people, very professional and always on point. Jackie was very attentive to my needs. My husband thought they were great as did I.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
We came from out of state and visited the Watermill during the winter.That's when we new the watermill was the venue for us. Then we picked our wedding date for June and were not sure what it was going to look like at all. The day of our wedding was magical! The gardens, flowers, and outside cocktail area was beyond beautiful. Reception hall was beautiful and modern. We fit 110 in our room perfectly. The best part of the wedding was the attention and help from the staff. Amazing people, an a wonderful day! Thank you. The Arena's
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I did not have my wedding at the Watermill but I attended my friends wedding on June 7, 2013 & my evening so delightful!

I have Celiac's Disease so eating in general is very hard because I get really sick if the food is not Gluten Free & if the food is not prepared Gluten Free. I learned from the owner of STRICTLY GLUTEN FREE (gluten free grocery store on Larkfield) that if I call ahead of time that the Watermill would be able cater to my needs even though I am the only guest that has Celiac's Disease.

I called ahead and spoke to Maria who got Chef Chris to call me so he could explain how they would be able to help me! (MARIA AND CHEF CHRIS ARE SO KIND AND VERY UNDERSTANDING OF MY NEEDS!) It turned out that they have an Allergy Management plan in effect.

I really appreciated Chef Chris explaining everything to me & for really taking the time to make sure I was taken care of. Everyone was really helpful & actually cared about my well-being. Not to mention THE FOOD WAS AMAZING! I will forever remember my experience at the Watermill & spread the word of how wonderful my experience was.

IF YOU HAVE CELIAC'S DISEASE...YOU KNOW IT'S NOT EASY! but for one night...I was able to forget that I had it :)

Thank you so much again Chef Chris & Watermill Staff
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
3/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Had the greatest time- as the Groom! Very accommodating! Delish food and great atmosphere! I will always say wonderful things about the Watermill and the Staff!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
3/22/2013
5.0/5.0
I had the most amazing experience at the Watermill. The staff is extremely friendly, helpful, and accommodating. For health reasons I can't eat gluten and the chef and staff took this very seriously. The chef came out to speak to me several times throughout the night to make sure my accommodations were met. They even made sure to povide nut free food for one of my bridesmaids. My bridal attendant, Marie, was so sweet and even brought out candies for my young nephews. The MD, Bob was also great and made sure everything went smoothly throughout the night. All of the guests at the wedding have commented on how great the food and service was all night. The place is beautiful, with great spots for pictures. I loved the Watermill and my whole experience.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tracy
Wedding:
3/10/2013
5.0/5.0
I was extremely pleased with the watermill. I got married March 10th, 2013 (yesterday) and had the wedding of my dreams. The Staff was amazing. Brian booked us initially and sold the beautiful venue, Roy finalized arrangements with us and was great. Jackie, my bridal suite attendant was out of this world and catered to my every need. Ritchie, our maître'D was hysterical and got us everything we could ever want. our head waiter and wait staff did a great job and Samantha helped us with all of the little details necessary. What a fabulous place for a wedding, and wonderful staff and I couldn't have been any happier.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
3/2/2013
5.0/5.0
We planned our wedding from out of state, and were looking for a venue that would work with us over email, and be flexible in meeting with us. My husband was actually pickier than I was when we were looking at venues, and after we left The Watermill, we knew it was perfect for us. We were married on March 2, 2013 and everything was perfect, and if it wasn't I didn't know, and that's how I wanted it! Our bridal assistant Jenn was excellent, no one could seem to get my bustle right, and then she took me aside and fixed it 1,2,3. The food was delicious, the room brought tears to my eyes, we truly didn't want the night to end. I work in the hospitality industry so when planning, I knew to book out of season for the best rate, and we were very happy, it was right within what we wanted to spend and made it affordable for us. Perhaps the moment when I knew that everything would be excellent was when we went into pay our final payment, and brought our centerpieces, tables cards, favors and all that fun stuff, and we actually met with the GM, and since our centerpieces involved, he assured me that they would be set up just fine. (My husband made globes spin, and some lights, long story, to go with our travel theme). When we walked into the room before our guests to see the set up, and we saw every centerpiece light up and spinning, that was my full circle moment; when I saw everything we had dreamed of for our wedding come to life. The only, only thing that I wish was a little different was that our start time was at 7:30 for cocktail, and the reception at 8:30 pm it was just too late to eat so much food, I wish it could have started a little earlier, and we could have extended into the night. Then again, everything was perfect and it all did work out. At the end of the night, I just kept saying, "no, no please don't let it be over!"... do I hear an anniversary party in my future or what? Thank you everyone at the Watermill for making our wedding dreams a reality.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
2/9/2013
5.0/5.0
Watermill did a beautiful job for our wedding. The weekend we got married NY was hit with a blizzard that dropped 37 inches of snow in Smithtown and put Suffolk County in a state of emergency. The church was in Brooklyn, where I lived, about an hour and a half away. Watermill allowed us to come in earlier then planned because our outdoor photos were out of the question in the city. They had food waiting for us when we arrived and were taking pictures. They helped us tailor the menu to our needs and made sure that everything we needed was handled. Jen was my bridal attendant. She was above and beyond amazing. She not only made sure that I was taken care of but kept checking on my parents and my 90 year old grandmother. She was beyond amazing and would highly recommend her to anyone getting married at Watermill. Our maitre'd, Richard, was wonderful as well. The food was amazing. We had been to enough bridal shows to know this before hand. And despite the snow they still managed to clear the back patio so my husband and I could take picture in front of the frozen water wheel. I couldn't have asked for a better night! Watermill has a wonderful staff and we would think about hosting another event there in the future!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leea
Wedding:
1/27/2013
5.0/5.0
What a fairytale wedding we had and it was all thanks to Shawn and his extremely organized staff at Watermill. The amount of food and quality of food was superb. My friends are still talking about how much food was at our wedding. One of the nicest staff I have ever met and trust me I've been to a lot of weddings! Would highly recommend Watermill to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jessica
Wedding:
12/15/2012
5.0/5.0
We got married at the Watermill.. This place is incredible! We were treated like family. The food was incredible. The service was incredible. The venue was incredible. Thanks to all the staff you made my wedding unbelievable experience.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Renee
Wedding:
12/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Wow, I really don't know where to begin!!!! The manager Bob was extremely helpful and was flexible about our tentative wedding date. Fortunately, our date worked out and we had a beautiful wedding at the Watermill!!! The food was just so good, the servers were impeccable, the bar attendants did a great job trying to keep up with my family!!!! Roy our Maitre D' had the best sense of humor and kept things going on time with such ease. Jackie, my attendant, was on top of everything and just couldn't do enough for all of us! I really can't complain about any of it and am just so happy we chose the Watermill. We had an awesome time there and had the best wedding ever!! Thank you to everyone who had a part in planning and working this wedding for us, we really appreciated it!!! Much love, Renee and Kenny
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Catherine
Wedding:
11/23/2012
5.0/5.0
We got married on 11/23/12. We had the Astor room for our cocktail hour and the Vanderbilt room for our reception. Our wedding at the watermill was AMAZING!!! They did a fantastic job!! Our Matre'D was Bob who was at our service whenever we needed him. My bridal attendant was Jeannie. She was the absolute best!!! My bustle on my wedding dress had broke, and before I knew it she was behind me with a needle and thread sewing up cathedral-long train to my dress in a matter of minutes. She was like Wonder Woman. The food was outrageous and so was the service. I didn't get one bad review from any of my guests. Everyone had a great time. I HIGHLY suggest you look at the Watermill for your wedding!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I had my reception here and it was amazing!! I am a bit of a control person and was very nervous about someone else setting up my wedding to how I wanted. But they did EXACTLY what I wanted. I simply gave them a box of everything in the beginning of the week and was able to just walk in and see everything and it was perfect! The staff there is amazing as well. Jackie was my bridal attendant and SHE IS AMAZING! She was always there with me behind the scenes doing everything and anything for me. All of my guest commented on how great the staff was at the tables as well. I can't say enough, they do weddings and do an amazing job!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
john
Wedding:
10/7/2012
5.0/5.0
I just got married today at the Watermill,,,WOW! That place is incredible! We dealt with Frank at first and then Roy. We were treated like family. The food was incredible. The service was incredible. The venue was incredible. Thank you Roy and all your staff you made today an unbelievable experience. I am so glad we chose this place. Everyone was going nuts just for how nice it was. There is nothing I can say that would give the Watermill or its staff justice!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
10/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Beyond what I had expected. Everyone at my wedding was so impressed. My husband and I loved it. We would highly recommend the Watermill. The staff was wonderful. The food was excellent (all of the food from the cocktail hour to the Viennese hour). I can't say enough about the place. I would have another event here without thinking twice about it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
carolyn
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
I am the worst kind of bride, Im a control FREAK and I never thought any place could live up to my perfectionism...the Watermill did BIG TIME!!! We dealt with Roy who was AMAZING!!! and the rest of the staff were just too wonderful as well! The day went off perfectly and months later I am still getting comments from friends and family that say they can not believe how much fun they had at our wedding. I know brides will read reviews upon reviews but please do believe when I say I couldnt not have asked for a better wedding!! Thank you Watermill!! Love Carolyn and Andrew (the VERY happy bride and groom :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
The watermill staff and facilities were simply amazing. Many people commented that it was a wedding like they have never seen before and that the service was Ritz quality. All staff were continually communicating with us and checking on us. They made everything run smoothly. They truly look out for the best interest of the bride and groom. If any problems came up, they fixed them so quickly that guests were not even aware. Unlike other vendors they actually deliver what they promise, and in certain ways even more than what they promise. Sadly after the florist did not deliver flowers to the church and the DJ did not deliver what was promised, I was so thrilled that the Watermill does absolutely deliver. Jessica, the bridal attendant truly made a stressful day pleasant. She helped me so much. All guests loved the reception at the Watermill.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dinarae
Wedding:
7/12/2012
5.0/5.0
We couldn't possibly begin to write how perfect our wedding was! The staff, the quality of the food, the beautiful setting (inside and out), the patience of every person that we consulted with..... all beyond our expectations! Roy, our banquet consultant, felt like family by the time our wedding date arrived. He entertained every single phone call, question, email.... whatever it was... we always felt like our wedding was at the top of his priorities! We HIGHLY recommend Watermill Caterers if you are considering it for your affair!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jessica
Wedding:
7/8/2012
5.0/5.0
The watermill gave me my fairytale wedding I have always dreamed of. Throughout the whole planning Brian and Bob were amazing in helping me make July 8th special!! On my wedding day the matr'D Rich, and the assistants Jose and Jackie were amazing!!they went above and beyond with me and they made sure my husband and I were fed and had refreshments at all times as well as my bridal party!!every part of the wedding from the chapel, cocktail hour to the reception everyone was outstanding and it's the best day in my entire life and I thank the Watermill Caterers with all my heart!!!!The food was amazing and the waitstaff was professional and everybody raved about how delicious everything was!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eleni
Wedding:
6/24/2012
5.0/5.0
5 stars all the way! Bob was an absolute pleasure to deal with and I was extremely happy with all we got for the price - they are the best in value! The outside cocktail hour was gorgeous and the food was absolutely the best quality you will ever get. We had the vanderbilt suite downstairs (has a bar room inside which is pretty cool) and when everything was done the day of the wedding I was so stunned to see how beautiful it was! My bridal attendant was fantastic, she even washed and wrapped up my swarovski cake initials which I was warned about from other brides at other halls that they just wrap unwashed and sticky. This place was so easy and accommodating that you would be a fool not to consider and book! Oh and ask for the champagne tree, it was a hit with the guests. The whole place was a hit actually! Thanks Watermill!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CMVF
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
I just got married there this past weekend and they were amazing!!!!!! We had the day wedding and they made sure everything was done perfectly. My bridal attendent Jeanine was phenomenal and so attentive and sweet. Brian, our maitr'd was on top of his game and made our day go so smoothly. Everyone raved about the food, the decor and the wonderful service. I would reccomend everyone to get married here!!! It was simply the best!! Thankyou Watermill Caterers
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kmorasse
Wedding:
4/15/2012
5.0/5.0
I was very happy we booked with Watermill Caterers. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is amazing. Everyone raved about the food. Janine was our bridal attendant and was absolutely fabulous. The captain Jose was very polite and made sure we were comfortable the whole night.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melissa
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
My wedding was amazing! Everyone loved the food and service! I dont regret it one bit guys!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mvh123
Wedding:
12/3/2011
5.0/5.0
There is honestly not a bad thing I could say about the Watermill. The food was out of this world and plenty of it. The decor was above my expectations. The staff was amazing and accomodating with every twist and turn! I cannot wait to be a guest at a wedding at the Watermill...If I had to do it all over again The Watermill it is!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Watermill Caterers responded with the following comments:

Thank you for the very positive feedback & congratulations!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
11/25/2011
5.0/5.0
Excellent venue! I couldn't be happier with how my wedding day turned out! Everything was perfect! My maitre d', bridal attendant and everyone else at the Watermill were so helpful! The food was fantastic, the chapel was beautiful and and my room was gorgeous! Highly recommended!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Invitations, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Every person that we dealt with at the Watermill from the first day that we went to visit the venue was amazing! They provided a wedding planner, Samantha, who was such a pleasure to work with! She helped us with so many aspects of the wedding and was available to answer any and all questions that we had. The night of our wedding was what impressed us the most. The cake, the set-up, and the people were really there for us the whole night! Our bridal attendant, Kelly, even had a pocket full of safety pins for when my MOH's dress ripped! The staff at the Watermill should be commended for such amazing service and for making every detail of our wedding night perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Favors & Gifts, Invitations, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths, , Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1284246833732-august022010
Carolyn
Wedding:
8/31/2011
5.0/5.0
My wedding was on Wednesday 08/31/11 at the Watermill Caterers. It was great!! I had my ceremony and cocktail outside and my Reception in the Astor suite. Overall the Location was perfectly kept. It was clean, the staffs were friendly and very helpful. I started out working with Frank and then Roy.. Both were very good. My guests still talks about my wedding and commended me on the location.. Thank you all.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Watermill Caterers responded with the following comments:

Hi Carolyn,
Congratulations and thank you for the wonderful review.
All the best!
Watermill Caterers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NPD41411
Wedding:
4/14/2011
5.0/5.0
recently had my wedding at THE WATERMILL- and it was a page out of a fairytale!!! Not only was the staff attentive, the food was out of this world.Months later people are still calling me about my coctail hour!!!!! My husband and I wanted to eat before we went into coctail our so our bridal attendent made us plates of food for the bridal suite. Samantha the wedding planner helped me with so much along the way. My invitations were gorgeous, and everybody loved the platter that Samantha helped me pick out for my favor. She had so many great ideas throughout the planning process. The staff was all very nice, and on their toes. Our bridal attendant Gina really went above and beyond in my opinion. Her nickname for the night :MARY POPPINS! I give The Watermill 2 thumbs up... and 5 stars!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lildudette36
Wedding:
3/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Wedding 3.19.11
I know everyone says that their wedding was the best day of their lives and i too will state the same however, i could not have been more pleased with everything from the moment i woke until packing up and leaving the watermill.
wedding planning with their wedding planner was the BEST extra you could ask for. she was a doll, and assisted with invitations, ideas for seating cards, coctail hour suggestions, invitation wording, and Time management!!!
the invitations were spectular and done with a great price and within perfect time. ANY questions she was a phone call away. the same was for the venue... ANY question was a phone call away.
From the food to the atmosphere indoors and out was the reson why we chose the watermill. we used teh chapel, that to this day my guests are saying how beautiful the chapel room was.

i used the whole first floor and it was easy and convient for all my guests to move, go indoors and out and not get or feel lost or confined.

the food was DELISH! everything and more we could have asked for. we wanted some extras ie: kosher platter, baby pig, special carving station.. perfect!

additionally was had the extra dessert hour... OMG, my husband and i love sweets... this was above and beyond.. but not TOOO much! guests ate plenty, and snacked plenty.

if you need a place to remember adn hassle free... definitly the watermill was the best!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Invitations, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
2/25/2011
5.0/5.0
All I can say is AMAZING. From the very beggining, I was impressed with the Watermills exceptional customer service, attentiveness to detail and EXCEPTIONAL service. I was floored the day of my wedding by our Matre D Rich, and Bridal attendant Marie, both were amazing and made he entire night run so smoothly and go without a hitch. We werent even running late! Our guests were blown away by the service and food and are still talking about it. The Watermill exceeded my expectations, and I would highly reccomend them to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elisa
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I are beyond pleased with Watermill Caterers as our wedding venue! Hunting for the perfect venue is not easy, but once we found WC everything was easy. The wedding coordinators are very helpful and always accessible to answer questions. The planning process (food, beverages, linens, setup, timeline) was easy. They were happy to accommodate our request for an extra room before the wedding ceremony to perform the traditional chinese tea ceremony, including chair / room setup and providing hot tea.

Sean - our Maitre d' - was great and made everything seamless from family portraits to tea ceremony to first look thru the ceremony and reception.

I think my absolute favorite of WC that I will never forget is our amazing bridal attendant, Gina. I can not say enough about Gina!!! From the moment we first arrived, I was already impressed. Knowing how hectic it was, Gina took it upon herself to look through everything we brought with us and set everything up before I remembered (candles, placecards, centerpiece additions, ceremony items, etc.). She was there every minute I needed something, and was even able to anticipate my next move! Case in point: I switched into my bride flipflops during the reception and had asked to be notified before the bouquet/garter segment so I can change back into my purple wedding shoes. Before I knew it, I was whisked to the dance floor sitting on a chair waiting for my groom to retrieve the garter. I panicked for a split second - then there was Gina, who sneaked right in and swapped my shoes FOR ME under my dress and darted back out into the crowd. I honestly don't think anyone even noticed what she did!

Brides - Request for Gina to be your bridal attendant. She deserves every penny of the venue's suggested tip - I promise!

Elisa & Alex
09/25/2010
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
9/24/2010
5.0/5.0
My wedding was amazing. It was flawless. I could not has asked for a better wedding. The staff were very welcoming, warm, friendly, and accomodating to our needs. Watermill provides a wedding planner as part of their package which is helpful to help assist you with your wedding plans which we all know could be difficult or stressful at times.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Denise
Wedding:
8/22/2010
5.0/5.0
Everyone at the Watermill was extremely helpful. Alicia my bridal attendant was a dream, everything I needed, she was there to help. From making me a plate at the cocktail hour, to do the bustle on my dress. I would definitely use the Watermill for the next occasion I have!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Natalie
Wedding:
9/5/2009
5.0/5.0
We could not have asked for a better place to hold our wedding. The food was phenominal, and the service was exquisite.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
2/25/2007
5.0/5.0
Ceremony: Vanderbilt Suite
CH: Restaurant
Reception: Astor Suite

I realize this review is very LATE--but I figured, better late than never.

So our day at the Watermill started around 8:30 a.m. or so. My husband and his boys were dropped off early, since we were doing pics before the ceremony. I arrived at around 9 a.m. The moment our limo pulled up, our maitre d' Jim and the bridal attendant, Marie were standing outside already, waiting for us. They immediately greeted me and Marie was quick to help me with my train and ask if I needed something to drink. She brought me to the bridal suite and let me know that if there was anything that I needed, I should let her know, because quite frankly, that is her job! Jim was great from the get-go and once I met them, I knew our day would run problem free.

So we set up for the ceremony and waited. Once again, my bridal attendant Marie was wonderful and constantly bringing me water and following me around so that my train would not get dirty. Once it was time for the ceremony, we did a quick run-thru before the guests arrived…got a few more pics…and then I waited in the bridal suite, while the guys headed downstairs to the Vanderbilt. Now I have to say that when we signed our contract, I knew that the Watermill would be providing the flowers for the ceremony, but I did not what kind or anything, until the day of. My only stipulation would be that it wasn’t all carnations or something…otherwise I could have cared less about them. I remember my banquet manager mentioned that they would probably be all white. On the big day I still have no idea what the hell flowers were used….I just know they were colorful and simple and I loved them.

The ceremony actually started ON TIME and the staff made sure that everything went as planned. Everything was in place at the altar like I wanted and the placement of the string trio was perfect, far enough from us at the altar that I could hear my DH, yet the acoustics of the room allowed me to be able to hear them in the back.

After we were announced husband and wife, we were very quickly whisked away to the bridal suite by my Marie. While we did not get to attend the cocktail hour (we decided to take more pics), we did get to sample food in the bridal suite. It was delicious. I told Marie what I wanted and she was quick to run off and get it for us. Everything we tasted during the cocktail hour was delicious. Our guests complimented on how much food there was. The only slight downside was that a few people did tell me that it was hard to find a place to sit. I know that this can happen with most any hall when it comes to a CH, but my family said it wasn’t so bad.

Before everyone was allowed into the Astor suite, we asked that we be able to see the room. We walked in and I honestly have to admit….it took my breath away. There are no words for the feeling that you get seeing each table set up, every place setting, every favor, etc in the right place. To top it off, the DJ had a gorgeous glow in the room and it really amazed us.

Fast forward to the reception, and once again, we were catered on, hand & foot. Our maitre d’ was checking in with us constantly, but not in a way that was annoying. They made sure that my husband had a cold beer all day.

We had the Long Island Vegetable tower for our appetizer, but I have no idea how it tasted. We took that time to walk around and do table greetings. The second course was Caeser salad and we did get to have some of that. I liked the dressing, as it wasn’t too heavy. The next course was lemon sorbet intermezzo with midori, and it was yummy. I made SURE to eat my dinner. I know so many brides say they didn’t get to eat. Well my fat azz was eating. I had the prime rib steak while my husband got the Chicken Verdi & steak duo. I loved my steak, it was seasoned nicely and tasted delicious. DH said his chicken was great too. For dessert we served Strawberry Amaretto glace over vanilla ice cream. I hate fruit, so I received an ice cream sundae instead, and from what I heard, the berry sauce was good. Our wedding cake was whipped cream with ½ cannolli & chocolate mousse with yellow sponge cake. I had only a few bites of the cake, but once again, from what I tasted, it was good.

For the entire day, everything was simply amazing. The staff at the Watermill were top notch and I didn’t feel like we were just another wedding to them. They were attentive without being smothering, and that was just what my husband and I wanted. We saved a ton of money by having our wedding on a Sunday in the daytime in February…..and we were concerned that we wouldn’t be as satisfied as someone who paid 3 times as much as we did on a Saturday nite in June. They didn’t treat us any different and I felt like royalty the entire day. If you are having your wedding at the Watermill, trust me when I say that you have nothing to worry about at all.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennie0898
Wedding:
9/23/2006
5.0/5.0
The Watermill was nothing short of phenominal. The food and service they provide is top notch and truly worth every penny spent.

In the past two years that my husband and I have been married we received countless compliments about this place.

I really have nothing bad to say about the Watermill!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennie0898
Wedding:
9/23/2006
5.0/5.0
The Watermill was nothing short of phenominal. The food and service they provide is top notch and truly worth every penny spent.

In the past two years that my husband and I have been married we received countless compliments about this place.

I really have nothing bad to say about the Watermill!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Photolita
Wedding:
6/3/2006
5.0/5.0
After my wedding, all I kept hearing from my guests was how amazing the food and service was at Watermill. Guests raved about never having an empty glass, as their personal table waiters were extremely attentive. The hall is beautiful and after my wedding, three of my guests also chose to have their weddings there because they were so impressed.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ladybug888
Wedding:
10/15/2000
5.0/5.0
FANTASTIC!! I had my reception at the Watermill 8 years ago and it was amazing! I have been to many receptions there since then and they are all just as amazing! I recommend The Watermill to any bride looking for a beautiful reception.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dawn
Wedding:
5/31/2014
4.8/5.0
My husband and I were glad we booked at Watermill! The staff was extremely helpful to us both throughout the night, always making sure we had a chance to eat something and making sure our glasses were full... they also were responsible for how smoothly everything ran all night from ceremony all throughout the reception... All of our guests were telling us how much they loved the ceremony and cocktail hour in the gardens, we were lucky to have a beautiful day! I've also heard over and over again how much people loved the food!! Our reception room, the Vanderbilt Suite looked beautiful and as most newlyweds know, the night flies by like a blur so it was so wonderful hearing from all of our guests how much they loved our wedding and how great everything was!! Big thanks for that goes to the Watermill!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/26/2013
4.8/5.0
Watermill Catering is fantastic. From the incredibly creative and delicious menus, the presentation, the professional and friendly staff, our entire event was perfect. My friends also have used Watermill Catering for several weddings; from small, to very large scale events and they have always been wonderful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Watermill Caterers responded with the following comments:

Thank you for providing such wonderful feedback from your October 2013 wedding. We wish you many years of happiness. Sincerely, all of us at The Watermill Caterers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
soon2birish
Wedding:
6/6/2009
4.8/5.0
I had absolutely no complaints with the Watermill. Not only did they exceed my expectations, they went above and beyond. My wedding was absolutely gorgeous. Everything about it was perfect. My wedding was three weeks ago and my wedding guests are still calling me telling me how wonderful the food was. It was so perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, DJ, Flowers, Invitations, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Baine
Wedding:
5/25/2014
4.7/5.0
The Watermill made our wedding a perfect dream.. Everything was great. Food was wonderful. My bridal attendant Marie was so helpful, couldn't of gotten through the day without her. Sean was excellent. always by our sides making sure that everything was ok. I would highly recommend the Watermill to anybody. So many of my guests raved about how beautiful the inside and outside was. We had perfect weather for outside ceremony and cocktail hr, which was one of the reasons we booked the Watermill.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
7/8/2013
4.7/5.0
We really felt catered to and were so happy with the value we got.

The only negative was the change in our number of guest changed by 4 after i had called in the final count..although they warn you before about not being able to be reimbursed for a changed number, it was frustrating to have to eat that cost.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.7/5.0
The Watermill was a beautiful venue! The staff was amazing with a capital A! Samantha ordered my souvenirs, which were gorgeous! The day of my Jackie was my personal assistant and she went above and beyond to make me feel special. The only reason why I gave a 4 in professionalism and not a 5 was because at the end of the event the matre d (spell ck) came to me and asked me for a tip for himself and the 2 others that were in charge of my event. That kind of shocked me!!!! Other than that everything was awesome and the food was delicious!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lytz
Wedding:
12/22/2013
4.6/5.0
I was skeptical at first because I felt that my banquet manager was not as responsive to my needs. I had to go through a different banquet manager when I needed a question answered. On the day of my wedding, they were amazing. I had a great wedding. The place was well decorated, the staff was phenomenal and very professional. The food was great and they gave a lot of it. If you are
Looking for a place that runs well, the food is excellent and plentiful, and a professional staff, then this is your place. The only thing that I was a bit disappointed with was the fact that I did not have one designated person to deal with. Therefore, there was a disconnect. To be fair, Ray/ Roy, I always get the name wrong, did work hard to accommodate me when I became a distressed bride. Watermill Caterers thank you. I had the most beautiful wedding imaginable. The staff really worked hard that night to make my dreams come true.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Corissa
Wedding:
5/2/2013
4.6/5.0
Got married on a Thursday in May. Had a beautiful day and was able to do cocktail hour outside. Everyone loved the mashed potato station! Beautiful Venue, Delicious food. Margarita, our bridal attendant was AMAZING!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Watermill Caterers responded with the following comments:

Hi Corissa,
Thank you for the review. Congratulations & best wishes for a happy marriage! Sincerely, All of us at the Watermill
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
11/16/2013
4.5/5.0
I LOVED the Watermill! My banquet manager Bob was very helpful and easy to work with and my Matre D Bob (different guy) was absolutely amazing the day of the wedding! My bridal attendant Jeanine was FABULOUS and everything was incredible. I actually got to eat some of the food (shocking for a bride) and it was delicious. All of my guests couldn't stop raving about how delicious the food was and what a wonderful time they had. Also, for those brides getting married on site, they have a gorgeous chapel in the hall that is really reminiscent of a church. It was actually the deal closer on picking that venue. Highly recommend it!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.5/5.0
Everything was very nice. Guests were treated great and all requests were met. Great service.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katelyn
Wedding:
6/28/2013
4.5/5.0
The Watermill was a gorgeous venue for my wedding. The food was amazing, and the help staff went above and beyond to make my guests happy. On the night unfortunately one table was not served cake though! And willingness to help and make things available to you in all the planning depended on how much you were willing to pay for it. If I had to do it all over again though, I would definitely choose the Watermill. Their good nature and amazing "day-of" help was unprecedented.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
4/20/2013
4.5/5.0
Watermill Caterers were wonderful to work with. They worked with us on pricing, room, menu, etc. We also had our ceremony there and they worked with us on which room the ceremony would be in. The menu we tweaked to add something they did not offer and they gave us exactly what we wanted. They also helped us to create a beautiful candy buffet as favors. We brought everything and they put together a beautiful table. I personally did not get to eat much but I've been told from all of our guests that the food was fantastic. I would highly recommend the Watermill. From beginning to end they made our day perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cali
Wedding:
8/25/2012
4.5/5.0
Despite lots of visits, phone calls, meetings, etc At the end of the day I had the Wedding of my dreams there this past Auguat and the place was absolutely beautiful!! Thanks Roy!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
6/4/2006
4.5/5.0
I had a wonderful experience at the Watermill. They offer you a wedding planner to help coordinate every aspect of your event. The place is beautiful and the food is wonderful. The cocktail hour was amazing... I recommend ordering the seafood boat! They have 2 weddings at a time but you would never know (I had the smaller room upstairs)!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Invitations, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.4/5.0
The caterers were awesome! I had a lot of guests tell me the food was exceptional, not that I got much of a chance to try it seeing as how I was running around a lot. The caterers were professional and very helpful. At the last minute due to to severe heatwave, we had to move the outdoor cocktail hour indoors, they were very prepared for that and made the change with ease. we had a premium package and the quality of the food and beverage was very good. Top shelf liquors. They were a bit untidy in tying the chair sashes and set up, but then again, it was 275 chairs, so it might have been understandable. They had an attendant and private room for us which was very helpful! Overall, great ambiance, great service, and professional.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
11/22/2009
4.3/5.0
Bridal attendants were great and all of the staff were extremely friendly. The food was really good. Some complaints on the cake we had ,but it was free in our package. I would recommend this catering hall for the price. :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
snowmeese
Wedding:
2/14/2009
4.3/5.0
Brian sold us on holding our event at the Watermill. Some of his "sell"...did not actually come to fruition. The meeting before the event we were handed off to someone else.....she was not very responsive. It felt like we have your money now, just check the boxes, I need to meet with the next bride. We were told I had the bridal suite for the entire event (all our stuff was carried across the dance floor in the middle of the reception). I decided to let it go the day of, but quite annoyed, they will here from me. I'm a vegetarian, they need some work on those selections, rather bland and boring.
On the bright side, from the moment I arrived the bridal attendant and all of the staff were extremely friendly, no complaints about the service!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Officiant, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nettie2127
Wedding:
5/18/2008
4.1/5.0
All my guest raved about the food and quality of service on the day of my wedding. One bit of advice make sure you get all the information you need before the big day.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1392082332-754be6555684f457-scan0001
Jonathan
Wedding:
6/29/2014
4.0/5.0
Overall good experience, the décor was elegant, food was above average but not excellent, didn't like that there was not a food tasting prior to wedding this could of improved the quality of the food. Roy was comforting and more personable than Bob was. It is important to make couples feel like they are having a unique experience and Jessica and Hakeem did that 100% !
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberley
Wedding:
7/4/2013
4.0/5.0
Watermills, Watermills, what a long road..... We had a lot of quirks with them. One thing I must say "MAKE SURE YOU READ THE CONTRACT and EVERYTHING YOU WANT AND THE SAY IS IN THE CONTRACT" because that is what the go by. This place does not offer food tasting and after the wedding if some of your people did not show you do not get to take those plates to take home. The staff the day of the wedding was excellent. Management is okay, but overall the place was great and I had a great time.....
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kinkade186
Wedding:
9/17/2010
4.0/5.0
We had a beautiful wedding! The watermill is a elegant establishment with very friendly staff. The only advice I have for a bride thinking about booking there is make sure your bridal attendant is not part of the wait staff. You are going to need things throughout the night and if the attendant is also a waitress it is hard to find them.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Invitations, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
7/21/2007
4.0/5.0
The Watermill is beautiful and the food was fantastic. A few minor snags that I would have liked to know ahead of time but otherwise highly recommended. If you can pay for it, it is well worth it. Matree'd was great!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.9/5.0
Food was excellent!!! Venue is beautiful!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1360964499010-16704102001928672943731612499161n
myrlande
Wedding:
8/22/2013
3.8/5.0
they staff at the watermill was very kind and helpful. they tried to help me in every way possible.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.5/5.0
I do not believe in bad mouthing a company, oranization or restaurant just because they are not flawless. I am going to be completely honest regarding my experience I had with the Watermill. I met with Brian, the Banquet Manager. Brian was very friendly and enthusuastic and I instantly fell in love with the Watermill. The decor is beautiful and updated and the chapel is lovely. Brian sells the Watermill through pictures of his daughter's wedding. He shows you pictures of the chapel, coctail hour, appetizers and main courses. My fiance and I chose the East Coast menu and selected every enhancement for our guests. The day of the wedding they gave us a terrible Maitre D, he had absolutely no personality, never spoke two words to us the entire evening. We selected a menu that had about 20 selections of passed around hors d'oeuvres in addition to full coctail hour with many enhancements. Not one cold or hot hors d'oeuvre was passed, not one ! My mother who was my captain for the night brought this detail to my attention. We immdiately went inside to speak to the Maitre D and he said there is a person walking around with a tray, I said to him "one person for 20 plus hors d'oeuvres," he didnt even respond. There was not one waiter walking around passing during the cocktail hour. One waiter came around about 10 minutes before cocktail hour finished with an empty tray- ( It looked like they gave us a tray of food from another party). Our reception room captain
(Tony) and Bridal Attendant (Jen) were great. In closing, make sure the day of your wedding you put someone in charge to oversee the party. You will be so busy the night wil go so fast, that you and your fiance should just sit back and enjoy.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amanda
Wedding:
2/16/2013
3.4/5.0
For the price and the convenience the Watermill was great..I was happy with the food except my main dinner. Also, my banquet manager and "main man" sucked. He was rude, accused me of lying in front of some of my guests, did not help and caused me some stress. I called and complained because I do not want another bride to feel the way I did when working with him. He upset me on my wedding day. I guess if it wasn't for him I would have rated the Watermill much higher.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LORMICH
Wedding:
4/22/2012
3.4/5.0
tHIS PLACE IS FAR BETTER THAN ANY OTHER ESPECIALLY IIN THIS PART OF LONG ISLAND.
tHEY ARE A LITTLE TOUGH THOUGH IN THAT THEY ARE NOT FLEXABLE IN REGARD TO ANYTHING.
FOOD IS HOW IT IS, SERVICE, WE KNOW WHAT TO DO, EVERY QUESTION WAS WITH A SHARP BUT POLITE ANSWER. tHE COORDINATOR SAMANTHA IS NOT TOO HELPFUL EITHER, AS HER ONLY CONCERN IS HER INVITATIONS AND FAVORS...WELL WHAT ABOUT THE REST CANT SHE GUIDE YOU TO TELL US WHICH VENDORS MAY BE BETTER THAN OTHERS?

NICELY KEPT THOUGH, PLENTY OF PARKING EASY TO GET TO, BUT NOT FLEXABLE.
THE GEN MGR ROY WAS EXTREMELY HELPFUL IN PUTTING OUT DILEMMAS AND MAKING US OVERALL HAPPY.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrsfleary
Wedding:
2/18/2007
3.4/5.0
The location itself was really gorgeous. Exactly what my husband and I had imagined.

In the beginning, the administrative staff was very helpful and attentive. They responded to my calls spread out over 2 years. My original account manager, Glenn, was very caring and sweet. However, a week before the wedding, he passed me on to someone else and the service at that level went a little down hill. This man treated me a lot less than the princess that I wanted to feel like that day. (His name escapes me but I want to say... Bob... I could be wrong). When I came to the reception hall in my own car, he scoffed at me and said "no limo, huh?" I took great offense to that considering that they had a very good chunk of my money. I gave him very specific direction about the order I wanted everyone to go down the aisle and what song needed to be playing before I went down myself. I said to him - "If NOTHING else goes right, this part of the wedding HAS to be as I imagined it." If it wasnt' for my amazing coordinators who strong armed him in to making him wait, I would have gone down the aisle a full song earlier than the one I'd dreamed about all that time. In the 11th hour, when we were told that we could have the bridal suite to the end of my event, they ended up kicking my bridesmaids and all our stuff out of the suite a full 2 hours early forcing them to put their items in storage.

All in all, the location was beautiful, the rest of the wait staff was quite good and cooperative, but I'd say, proceed with caution and don't expect the sweetness they use to capture your attention to last until the very end.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.2/5.0
The Watermill is a nice place. The food incredible. So creative. My daughter n law actually met the GM who was a doll.
Everything but the maître' D was to perfection.
My step daughter had a Maître"D who was a short NAPOLIAN without shining armor. He was RUDE and OBNOXIOUS and CONDENSENDING.
Every time my step daughter asked for something he rolled his eyes, and skated out of the room so to speak, or area we were in, and shuffled his feet in upsetment.
He couldn't be bothered! He actually answered her back on occasion. It got to the point that she said FORGET IT, I don't want him near me!
Beside all of that the Watermill couldn't have done a better job. From when we first met our salesman, and then did our menue, and met Roy, life at the watermill couldn't have been better.
A wedding dream come true that was CLOUDED by the remarks and temperment of this guy Bob. Don't know how he can run a party, he should go to school to learn about people skills
I would still recommend the watermill, but only if you make sure this guy is no where to be found.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
alina
Wedding:
9/30/2007
3.2/5.0
Beautiful location and reception.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.1/5.0
My wedding was Thursday, 6/17/2010, I enjoyed the Watermill Service until the cocktail hour. During the cocktail hour my husband, bridal party and I were taking pictures. We did not eat nor have the opportunity to taste the cocktail hor'douves 10 minutes before the cocktail hour was sceduled to end, my maitre'D informed us the cocktail hour was about to end. We walked out of the garden area into the cocktail outdoor area to take photos with our guest. The maitre'D reminded us the cocktail hour is over and we had to walk inside of the reception area. My husband, bridal party and I never had a chance to taste the cocktail hor'douves nor take a picture of the guest who did not sit for the first photo.

Once we walked inside of the catering hall, the seat placement cards the banquet manager insist has to be in alphabetical order were not displayed on the a table for my guest to take their seat accordingly. As the bride, I personally assigned the seating arrangements, I had to verbally tell my guest which table they were assigned. I then had to look for my assistant for the placement cards because there were too many people for me to direct them to their seats.

My biggest complaint, why was I rushed out of the outdoor cocktail area from taking photos if in fact the reception area was not fully ready for my guest and bridal party to enter the area. Also, we had big blow flies in my bridal suite.

During the reception, I had my photographer photo shoot my husband and I at each table. In the mist of walking from table to table for a group photo, the MC in which the Watermill recommended "In the Mood Dj" continue to interrupt the photoshoot by calling the bride and groom to the middle of the dance floor.
We (the bride and groom) unfortunately did not have a chance to take a group photo of 1 table our guest were at; out of 8 tables of guest we had taken pictures with 7 tables. Not to mention, after we cut the cake, I asked my maitre'D if he could have the kitchen staff wrap a plate of salmon aside for me (the bride) to take home, he replied, "the food is already placed in boxes to give to the meals on wheels". I kept my cool, however I called the Watermill the next day to complain "the amount of money I paid for food/service/gratitivity and taxes the kitchen staff need to ensure the bride/groom and guest should be asked if they would like to take food home. Whatever is left over should be donated to meals on wheels".

However, my guest mentioned the cocktail food was phenomenal. As the bride it would have been nice if my husband and I had a chance to taste it.

Sincerely,
Mrs. Lloyd from NY
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
2.7/5.0
The place is beautiful . I immediately fell in love. The planning seemed easy prior to the event as we got closer things promised didn't happen. Our banquet manager no longer worked there at time of event so when I went in to finalize things I met with a totally new person who knew nothing about what we wanted. We would call numerous times before receiving a phone call back. Due to unforeseen circumstances we ended up 20 people below our minimum. When we approached the banquet manager about this he promised to give us something to equal what we spent on those now empty seats. Well to my surprise they offered us stuff we were already having from our vendors like a picture montage and room up lighting. When I turned down there options they offered to send us home with 15 meals the night of the reception, I was happy with this but it's better than nothing. At the end of the night they gave me 5 meals and said that's all we are allowed to give you. I was pissed and I made sure everybody knew. In the end our wonderful maître d sent us home with 2 giant filet minions because he didn't want me to leave upset knowing I had recommended numerous people there prior to our issues. I also didn't like that people from the upstairs party would wonder down and use my photobooth. When I told the watermill staff they told me it won't happen again but it did numerous times I have the pictures to prove it. Overall I made the best of my day and the staff tried hard but the watermill handled things wrong way. I would not use them again and would strong consider never using a scotto brothers establishment again.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mtk1605
Wedding:
3/27/2011
2.5/5.0
If I could go back and redo it knowing what I know now there would be quite a few things I would change. They made me 4 plates of food, I never got to eat and they never wrapped it up for us. My husband and I had to order pizza to our hotel room bc we were STARVING!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LT
Wedding:
8/22/2010
2.3/5.0
I had my wedding at the Watermill in August 2010 but wasn't happy with the execution of the event. I had an evening wedding from 6:30pm to midnight. Originally I was told the ceremony would be from 6 - 7 p.m. then weeks prior to it was changed to 6:30 pm to 7:00 pm. I was told to arrive early and was there at 5:35 pm or so. Although there was a party before mine, there shouldn't have been a reason why my ceremony got started almost an hour late but yet they tried to blame it on my because I was fixing my dress after using the restroom. Then the cocktail hour, reception was rushed just so the staff at the Watermill can get us out by midnight. There's more but too much to type but to make a long story short, the food was good and decor of the venue is good, but service there is truly slipping as I have heard from a few vendors that they have also heard complaints from other brides that had their wedding at the Watermill. If I was to do it again, I would definitely not have my wedding there again, nor recommend it to others.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1277491794656-fbavatar16310813
Mallory
Wedding:
9/18/2011
2.0/5.0
My wedding was beautiful. Our attendant was helpful. Everything flowed beautifully. HOWEVER, that was all outshined by the DISGUSTING disrespect I faced at the end of the evening. At the beginning of the morning when I was in the bridal suite with my girls, I was informed that the bridal suite would be LOCKED the entire event and we could be relaxed with our belongings. Maria (our bridal attendant) kept on constantly reminding us to please make sure we lcked the door behind us, and several times I needed to request a key to be able to use the room. HOWEVER, half an hour before the reception ended...all of that was tossed aside . Apparently the wedding after ours arrived 'early"...and we were evicted from the bridal suite!! BUT NO ONE WARNED US. my sister (MOH) had gone to take my nephew to the suite to use the restroom to find them unloading all our personal belongings to be left in the middle of the lobby of the venue. MAria continued to get snippy with my sister and yelled 'ALL THIS STUFFF NEEDS TO GET OUT OF HERE" my sister quickly came and got me...and I did not even get to say goodbye to my guests because I was too busy apologizing to my bridal party for this HORRENDOUS violation and disrespect. Credit cards, purses, gifts, cellphones, clothing, ALL OF IT just tossed aside. I could not believe it. I was so disgusted by that TERRIBLE treatment. they got their money and their tips and could not care less about us. Do yourself the favor and GO SOMEWHERE ELSE.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
9/8/2012
0.9/5.0
I had originally booked my wedding here but unfortunately had to cancel the date. The management here are the worst. They don't return phone calls, they will say anything to get you to book your date, but if you have to cancel, good luck getting your money back. We've been waiting over 3 months, while Roy the GM dodges my phone calls and blames it on accounting.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jenbee83
Wedding:
10/31/2008
0.7/5.0
I was married at the Watermill in 2008 and the place was beautiful, but I was very unhappy with the way the banquet managers and maitre d treated me and my husband. It began with our contract...my husband describes it as sitting through hostage negotiations. The biggest problems we had with these people came when we strayed from the "Watermill factory wedding package". We asked for a food tasting before we signed the contract (we were unable to catch a wedding expo before we signed the contract) and at first the banquet manager declined claiming "The Watermill has an excellant reputation for serving fantastic food." The Banquet manager seemed truly taken aback that we would want to test the food before signing the contract. They finally accomadated us when I told them we would not sign with them before tasting the food.
When we met to sign the contract we wanted a quesadilla and burrito station instead of an extra pasta and meat station. They told us, "No problem, it will only cost you an extra $10 more per person!!!" I almost walked out of the room right there and said forget it. When I told them I wouldn't sign a contract that was going to give us a cookie-cutter wedding, all of a sudden our requests were free. It seems like the folks at the Watermill are so used to steamrolling people.
The worst treatment, which I feel is unforgiveable, occured the day of the wedding. My wedding rehearsal was at 5:30pm and the wedding ceremony was at 6:00pm. My father was running late and didn't make it until almost 5:45pm. By that point we had already run through the ceremony rehearsal. Keith, the maitre d, refused to allow my father to be part of the ceremony because he had missed the rehearsal. I was in tears at that point, so my bridesmaids had to fight with Keith. They won.
Keith confided in my dad, "I've been working here for 12 years, but your daughter has, by far, been the toughest bride I've encountered." How inappropriate was that? I may be difficult, but he was totally unprofessional.
Jim, another banquet manager, helped us out right before the ceremony. He found roses for our rose ceremony, when we realized that our florist forgot them.
We spent our entire cocktail hour taking pictures, but halfway through Keith told my photographer "Picture time is over. Pack it up." More tears on my part and my brother-in-law had to pull Keith aside to keep the pictures going. My brother-in-law won. Just what I wanted from my wedding...to have my friends and family fighting with the people who were supposed to be helping us through this stressful day. My brother-in-law and several others also smelled alcohol on Keith's breath, which could explain his behavior.
Keith actually went up to my mother on the verge of tears and asked her what he could do to make things better. "I didn't mean to make her unhappy." Maybe he should have thought of that sooner! Once we entered the reception he stayed far away from me, thankfully. I guess Keith would be fine if you are willing to let him do whatever he wants and you don't mind him drinking and making fun of you on your wedding day.
On the other hand, Alecia, the bridal attendant, was amazing all day! Definitely ask to have her as your bridal attendant. You will not be disappointed. She treated us like royalty. Alecia followed us with a tray of food and champagne while the photographer took pictures of us, she searched for my father every ten minutes through the crowd of arriving people, she thought of things we needed before we did. I felt very lucky to have her.
Hope this helps any Watermill brides or potential Watermill brides. By the way...all of the "deals" that vendors promised if you are a Watermill bride...don't waste your time. I found so many cheaper options.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
711 Smithtown Bypass, Smithtown, NY 11787 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Watermill Caterers
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo