130x130_sq_1356728596323-beautifuldayphoto20637x10150dpi

Wayfarers Chapel

Rancho Palos Verdes , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

5755 Palos Verdes Drive South
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA US 90275 (map)

PHONE

310-377-1650

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

With its breathtaking Pacific Ocean view and original Lloyd Wright architecture, the Wayfarers Chapel was conceived as a respite for all wayfarers on the journey of life. Here all people... Read more
With its breathtaking Pacific Ocean view and original Lloyd Wright architecture, the Wayfarers Chapel was conceived as a respite for all wayfarers on the journey of life. Here all people may sit and be nurtured by the beauty of nature and enjoy peaceful meditation. No one realized that this simple idea would produce a world-renowned sacred site. The power of Wayfarers Chapel is a blend of the sacred purpose and beauty that people experience. This quiet beauty is emphasized by the openness and echoing of nature in the elegant glass structure. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1356654826137-wcji
130x130_sq_1356654873193-joeyikemoto015
130x130_sq_1356654924678-ijohnbordon4025
130x130_sq_1356908647115-beautifuldayphoto20637x10150dpi
130x130_sq_1356908678848-wayfarerschapelweddingextravaganza

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.3/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1365452412846-562348101513597711807941891915547n
Starr
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
Absolutely stunning is the only way to describe this venue! My wedding coordinator recommended Rancho Palos Verdes as a possible location for our wedding when she heard that we had originally wanted to get married in Big Sur. We did some research and stumbled across Wayfarer's Chapel, the minute I stepped inside it I knew this was the perfect backdrop to celebrate our love. The chapel itself is so gorgeous, all glass on top of a high hill overlooking cliff's tumbling into the ocean. Because the chapel is glass you really get the sense of being outdoors even with a roof over your head. They have great greenery inside the chapel and a gorgeous little garden outside. You really don't need to bring in any additional décor which is good because you aren't allowed to anyways, but this rule probably saved my $1,000's in unnecessary flowers. They are kind of stickler for their rules but, the setting is so gorgeous and the price so cheap you will quickly forget those rules. Our officiant Terry Micheals was absolutely amazing! We were nervous and didn't really want to say our own vows, the ceremony she came up with for us was absolutely perfect! We added some personal parts and kept some of the Wayfarer's parts and it flowed smoothly and was short but sweet. Overall the Wayfarer's Chapel was the perfect venue for our ceremony, we will remember that day forever, even without our own personalized brick in their garden walkway to commemorate it!
Services Used: Officiant, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melissa
Wedding:
11/12/2013
5.0/5.0
My grandparents married here in 1960 as they were high school sweethearts.
I always wanted a destination wedding near the beach and this was by far the most amazing place to come. Plus it had so much meaning for me to go back where my grandparents once stood.
Staff is awesome and on top of it and our pastor was even better. Love!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1340499230216-mylover1
Jessica
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Our ceremony was absolutely perfect. Stunning location, super friendly and helpful staff, wonderful pastor. They made our special day stress free and beautiful. There is no more beautiful chapel to get married at. The only thing I would have liked is to have more than 2 hours at the church. 3 hours would have been perfect for longer picture taking time.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
alina
Wedding:
10/27/2013
5.0/5.0
One of the most gorgeous places I ever seen, and I am so glad I found my dream place to get married. This chapel is absolutely breath taking and the staff are supper friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this beautiful place. Vicki is amazing and very helpful.
Thank you Wayfarers chapel team, my wedding was an absolute fairytale.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
9/30/2013
5.0/5.0
The chapel is beautiful. The coordinators and staff are very nice and professional. My officiant Don was fantastic!!! No complaints. I would recommend.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kay Lynn
Wedding:
12/22/2012
5.0/5.0
If you have seen Wayfarers, you know why people choose it, this was the first wedding venue we looked at, and there was nowhere else for me once I saw it in person. I had always dreamed of getting married near the ocean, but still wanted a church ceremony, and this was the perfect combination of the two. They do lots of weddings here, and they walk you through the process step by step. I wanted to make a small change to the ceremony (I wanted to include a ring blessing), which we did include. They assign a minister to you, we were assigned Father Mouret, who met with us beforehand, and the ceremony he performed was perfect for us. They also assign you a coordinator who is there for a planning meeting, rehearsal and ceremony. Deborah was absolutely amazing, she helped manage all of us, including making sure my 91 year old grandmother was able to wait inside, and still managed to keep her from seeing me beforehand. It is a little pricey, but for us, it was totally worth it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
12/8/2012
2.4/5.0
I had my ceremony at Wayfarer's Chapel.
Pros:
-It is a beautiful chapel overlooking the ocean.
-It comes with a wedding coordinator.

Cons:
-You only get 2 hrs at the chapel. No more than 2 hours for your ceremony and pictures. You get rushed out at the end of your two hours. They book each wedding party on two hour blocks. For example, your time ends at 2PM, another party begins right at 2PM.
-The cost is $3,000. (It's a little steep for only 2 hours.)
-During the holidays, they have a circular wreath at the altar. I did not like it and they could not take it down. (I did not see this when I booked the chapel.)
-The wedding coordinator seemed to change each time I was there, making it hard to keep the facts and what would happen straight for the wedding coordinator.
-I had my ceremony at noon. The light in the chapel is bad for pictures the altar at that time in December. Might want to keep that in mind. It would have been nice if the chapel told people this or had blinds to block the light from coming in.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Somer
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
From the "we're just checking things out" phase to the post-ceremony wrap-up we were extremely pleased with our experience at Wayfarers. There are some relatively strict rules about hosting an event at this location, (no decorations allowed, for example) but with such an exquisite venue nothing was an issue big enough to matter. We were able to combine both our favorite songs via ipod for some portions of the ceremony and the tremendous musical talents of the chapel muscians for the others. We are so happy to have found this venue and grateful for the easy and efficient process the chapel has for helping couples create their magical day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
5/26/2012
4.7/5.0
i LOVE Wayfarer's Chapel. It is a beautiful and unique place for your wedding. They have it down to a science and get you in and out while the next bride is rolling in. The only reason I docked them any points in value is that it is EXPENSIVE, but if the unique-ness and beauty is important to you it's worth it. Also, for the amount you pay, you only have a limited time on the grounds before and after the ceremony to mingle with guests and have photos taken.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1294473713301-sfniteshot5x7300dpi
Dionne
Wedding:
11/11/2011
5.0/5.0
The staff was wonderful and if I did it again I would definitely be back to this BEAUTIFUL chapel.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NWD
Wedding:
9/24/2011
3.4/5.0
We choose Wayferer's as our ceremony because it is simply goregous. It lets you have the feel of a beautiful outdoor ceremony without actually having to be outdoors and dealing with the elements and bugs.

But you should definitely consider its rules before picking the place. The chapel does not allow photography during the ceremony by guests and your professional photographers and videographers have to stay behind the last pew so they cannot get any shots of guests and family's faces etc during the ceremony. They will only be able to shoot you from the back too.

You also only get 2 hours to do your ceremony, which sounds like a lot but consider that your ceremony is the in the middle of the 2 hours. Therefore if the bride/groom don't plan on seeing each other before the ceremony then you really only have 1 hour for BOTH the ceremony and pictures. Even if you do decide to get ready elsewhere and arrive at Wayferer's at the beginning of your 2 hours to take pictures, you need to do some wedding paper work first still then you have maybe 35mins to take pictures before having to go prepare for the ceremony 10-15mins beforehand. So if pictures are really important to you you should talk to your photographer first and consider whether you even have time to take advantage of the beautiful grounds of the place. For us, we only had time to take a few pictures before the ceremony. Then after the ceremony we only had time to take pictures inside the chapel.

The pros of the place is that after you pay them your money you basically don't have to worry about the ceremony at all. You meet with them twice and your ceremony is basically all done by them.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebekah
Wedding:
7/2/2011
4.0/5.0
Wayfarer's was beautiful and all the staff did an amazing job of making our wedding run smoothly. If you are not familiar with their policies, a weekend wedding costs $3,000.00. This includes 2 hours on the property, bridal changing room, minister, and ceremony music. The Chapel was perfect size for our small wedding, 70 guests. Also your phtographer is not allowed past the back pew during the ceremony. (Jolynne still had amazing shots!). Over all it was a great expierience there. I don't think I would have changed anything!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, Officiant, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
6/17/2011
4.0/5.0
They are very strict with their rules and timelines. I kind of felt like I was in a wedding factory. It is a beautiful location.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
browns529
Wedding:
5/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Most Beautiful Scenic site ever. If you love nature, water, elegance and simple beauty, choose this site for your ceremony. Great thing is the cost of your ceremony is tax deductible!!! Although you cannot decorate site, you would not want to. Very, very natural beauty. Wedding coordinators are great to work with and site is very punctual. Thank you Wayfarers Chapel
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1308066678556-weddingpic
Kelsey
Wedding:
5/27/2011
5.0/5.0
Just a beauiful place, there are no other words to descibe how wonderful it is there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ten7chilin
Wedding:
5/21/2011
3.2/5.0
The church is beautiful and everything was great until my wedding day. When my wedding party and photographer arrived at the top of my time slot to my surprise the church was open to the public and they would not set aside any area for me to take pictures with out strangers in the back ground! then was told to leave at the end of my two hour time slot when I only asked to be able to take a few more pictures with my family. VERY SAD!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1282502402160-5color
Sam and Chris
Wedding:
4/10/2011
4.6/5.0
The Wayfareres Chapel is without a doubt the most beautiful and unique church I have ever been to. I knew from the moment I saw it when I was 13 years old that this was the place I wanted to get married. We booked the church site unseen since my first visit as a teenager and I was just hoping I would still love it as much, and I did. All the people we worked with were very friendly and helpful. The cost is a bit more than your average chruch ceremony and the church only holds 100 people, but you're paying for the beauty of the place and that is understandable. Since the church has limited space it helps you limit your guest list and over all you might save money in other areas. They do have some strict rules only one that I would have liked to change; you only have about 30 minutes at the chruch after the ceremony to take pictures, the reason is ceremonys are booked back to back and a Bride dosen't want to see another bride on her wedding day. I guess I can understand that but I would have loved to have all the bridal party photos taken there. We ended up going to Trump golf coarse down the street to take the rest of our photos and it worked out just fine. Over all this was a beautiful venue and unforgettable for us and our guests.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kris10mw
Wedding:
12/4/2010
4.9/5.0
What can I say? This place is absolutely beautiful, and it was the perfect venue for our ceremony. We got married in December, so there were poinsettias decorating the front of the chapel. It was gorgeous, and it did not matter one bit that they do not let you bring in your own decorations--no extra decorations were needed! The place is so beautiful on its own that you don't need anything extra. I had so many guests tell me that it was the most beautiful wedding ceremony they had ever seen. Even though you only get that 2-hour window on the chapel grounds, we had enough time to get many beautiful pictures, and the majesty of this place makes it worth it. Also, the minister was wonderful. Could not have imagined more beautiful ceremony.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sheila B.
Wedding:
11/21/2010
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding there last November. Everyone at the chapel was so helpful and they guided us through from start to finish. The fee was all worth it since the view was breathtaking and the ceremony was so meaningful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Richard
Wedding:
10/22/2010
5.0/5.0
Simply the best cermony stop in the world ! The Wayfarer team was fantastic. Not the cheapest chapel, but the best !! Our wedding ceremony was spectacular.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1353013750132-3876471015051458592468765519968684111701469061146n
paulaandbrooks
Wedding:
10/3/2010
4.9/5.0
Absolutely beautiful location! My husband & I got married on 10/03/12. It was everything we imagined & expected. At first I was disappointed that no pictures were allowed in the chapel, but afterwards & after attending other weddings, I understood why. It is a distraction from the ceremony that is a sacred moment. At other weddings in different locations, the photographer was annoying. I couldn't see what was going on between the bride and groom - the photographers were "just in the way." The chapel is very strick about photos being taken inside during the ceremony and I am thankful that my photographer got some great shots from the back of the chapel and was not in the way of our guests.
Oh, by the way, our photographer Lisa Coplen is AMAZING!
Reverend Dan Burchett was WONDERFUL!!!! He made us laugh & feel so comfortable. It is evident that he loves what he does.
One thing I would change would be the time frame allotted to each couple. Although, it is a well oiled machine... my family and friends felt a bit rushed to leave once the ceremony was complete. It's great to be on a schedule, but I guess I would have liked more time to enjoy the grounds & more time to take photos at the chapel since it is so enchanting. However, it was only a small sacrifice that we knew we would encounter.
It also would have been nice if the lady helping us that day who works at the chapel organizing each wedding would have asked if we had the ring bearers pillow. In the hustle and bustle of the day, we forgot & it was just a few steps away in the trunk of the car. Just a small detail like that would have helped. But that's forgivable, maybe not for my 6 year old nephew who was disappointed, but for us.
Overall, the Wayfarers Chapel is enchanting! I would definitely recommend it! Our day was beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ayngel10
Wedding:
9/6/2010
5.0/5.0
Wayfarers Chapel is a beautiful venue. The chapel has a gorgeous view of the ocean including Catalina Island on a clear day. It is surrounded by beautiful botanical gardens and trees that are meant resemble the central california coast. It is the perfect location for small wedding wedding. The chapel holds 100 guests. The staff is very helpful and friendly. They made the entire planning process very easy and stressfree! I would definitely recommend this venue!!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LOUISA
Wedding:
9/4/2010
5.0/5.0
Wayfarers chapel made my wedding dream come true.
My photos came out so beautiful because of the setting. The garden is well maintained and the trees are beautiful.
Everyone works at this Chapel are all very professional, organized and friendly.
If you choose this venue, you will not be needing a wedding planner or coordinator.
Reverand Jonathan Mitchell is the BEST!
Choosing the Candlelight option is worth it. The candles and harpist made everything formal, elegant and romantic.
All my family and friends were amazed by this glass chapel and the overlooking view of the water.
This was the first venue my husband and I went to go see and we did not look further after we were speechless.
It is very intimate and perfect for 100 guests or less.
It was perfect for our family who both lived in LA County and Orange County which made everyone drive the same distance.
I cannot wait to start a family and show our kids were my husband and I got married.
Wayfarers Chapel gave my family & friends so many unforgettable memories.
This was an unbelieveable choice!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, Officiant, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MissMaunder
Wedding:
8/7/2010
4.7/5.0
Physical Location: The Wayfarers Chapel is absolutely gorgeous. Located on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean, it offers a great view of the California Coastline and Catalina Island.
Interior: Locals call this "The Glass Church" because most of the walls are glass and provide views of the surrounding gardens, the ocean, and Catalina Island. The chapel offers the perfect compromise between an indoor and an outdoor wedding because you get natural lighting and a beautiful view without wind or sand. We had a noon wedding in August and the lighting was perfect. I'm sure it would be even better at sunset. If you marry near dusk, they light the church with candles.

Decorating: The chapel does not allow decorations inside the church because they often have multiple weddings in one day. Don't be dismayed. The inside of the chapel is already beautiful. There are planters filled with greenery built into the walls alongside the pews and there are always fresh flowers on the altar. It was actually a relief to have one less decorating task to worry about.

Music: The resident musician is fabulous and will arrange any music you want played. He uses a Clavinova, which can be adjusted to sound like a piano, organ, or harpsichord. We went with traditional music for the processional and recessional. As guests were seated, he played a mix of modern and classic tunes. The cost of the musician is included.

Coordinator: The chapel dedicates one wedding coordinator to help everyone get the the right place at the right time. This helped keep things running smoothly and on time.

Extras: You can have a paving stone or brick engraved and placed in the chapel gardens. Have one installed to commemorate your one year anniversary. My parents were actually married at this chapel in 1970. At the end of the ceremony the reverend announced the commemorative brick that my sisters and I had installed as a 40th anniversary present (a surprise to my parents).

Rehearsal: If the chapel has a wedding Friday night, your rehearsal will likely take place Thursday evening. Despite numerous reminders and calendar requests, the Thursday rehearsal created confusion because most people expect the rehearsal to take place the day before the wedding. Despite the confusion, I really enjoyed having the rehearsal on Thursday. Instead of inviting all of our out-of-town guests to the rehearsal dinner, we were able to have a small and intimate rehearsal dinner on Thursday night. That left Friday evening free to meet up with out-of-town guests for casual drinks and appetizers.

Of Note: Anyone may get married here (different religions, non-religious). There are two options for your vows. The first is a traditional religious ceremony. The second is called the Humanist ceremony and is all about love, respect and commitment.

Drawbacks: During popular wedding months, the chapel often hosts multiple weddings a day. This means you are only able to be at the chapel for a total of 2 hours (so that you you don't run into the next wedding party). Here is an example of the timeline for our noon wedding: 10:40 photographer allowed to arrive and start setting up; 11:00 wedding party should arrive in stages (groom and groomsmen first, bride and bridesmaids second); noon ceremony begins; 12:30 ceremony ends; take pictures and be gone by 1:00pm. I felt a bit rushed, but on the other hand it was nice to arrive at the reception within half an hour of the ceremony. I probably would have been happy with literally 5 more minutes of photos. In retrospect, we should have left the chapel and stopped to take photos along Portuguese Bend or at one of the lookouts on the way to the Terranea.

Nearby Reception Ideas: Point Vicente Interpretive Center (in the evenings), Trump National, Terranea Resort.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cherie
Wedding:
6/12/2010
3.8/5.0
I absolutely loved having our ceremony at the Wayfarer's Chapel because it was so beautiful and Rev. Mitchell was great! However, the rest of the staff is a little robotic and not as friendly. Our rehearsal was chaotic, but everyone had a wonderful time because our family and friends are awesome. The one thing I wish the staff would have told us earlier (rather than on the day of the wedding) was that they do not let the photographer come past the last pew. This was a slight annoyance because it limits the types of pictures they are able to get. They also push you out quickly to make room for the next wedding party. However, I would absolutely pick this place again because it is gorgeous and was the perfect setting for our ceremony :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Purplebride
Wedding:
5/15/2010
4.3/5.0
Wayfarers Chapel is a lovely, memorable place to be married. Although the contribution is pretty steep, it's tax deductible and personally I was happy to support the location for everything it represents. It's breathtakingly beautiful.

The staff was great to work with and they allowed me to move my time around after I put my contribution down (provided there was not a reservation already in place for the time slot). It does fill up VERY quickly so you need to make your reservation as early as possible. I really enjoyed talking with our pastor, Don Barnes; he shared a lot of interesting history about the Swedenborgian faith and he was inquisitive but not judgmental about me and my now-husband's spiritual paths.

The wedding coordinator was lovely to work with as well, she took her time and offered to repeat any portions of the rehearsal that we felt uncomfortable with.

The only complaint I had is that on the morning of my ceremony, there was a marathon being held on the only road that accesses the chapel. I wish they had warned us ahead of time about the terrible traffic. We assumed we'd be okay heading up on a Saturday at 9am but we ended up arriving almost 45 minutes late due to the marathon, and a number of our guests did not make it in the time for the ceremony.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg19
Betty
Wedding:
5/15/2010
4.2/5.0
The customer service was great, everyone is so experienced they know exactly what questions to ask so that everything goes smoothly. We loved our minister and the overall message of the ceremony. Music is highly customized so it was great for me, a music lover. There are no decorations allowed (no time to clean up before next wedding) but I didn't feel it was needed at all with how beautiful the chapel is.

The pricing is very comparable to other venues. I would've paid the same or more to have my wedding at my reception hotel since I would've needed to rent the chairs, buy more flowers and hire a minister. The coordinator is included at the chapel which is great value in my opinion.

The downside of course is not having much time on the grounds but as long as everyone is on time then you will be OK. I took all the pictures I needed of my bridal party, a couple quick family pics in the chapel after the ceremony and then the rest of time was just us on the grounds. We went to a 2nd location afterwards to do all the family portriats which can take an hour or more.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1255794228702-138varaeng
bonbon
Wedding:
12/19/2009
4.4/5.0
The Wayfarer's Chapel is absolutely stunning. My guests were all in awe of the location & talked about how beautiful it was & how they would love to or had loved to, get married there as well. The trade off for the spectacular views & scenery is the price. The mandatory donation was $2,500.00 & if you want to add the Candelight service, which adds pillar candles to each pew & 2 extra ceremony musicians, it is an additional $400.00. So, needless to say it is not an inexpensive location seeing that after your ceremony you must go elsewhere for your reception. Also, the staff is VERY strict about getting you off the grounds in time for the next wedding. So, if you haven't taken all the pictures you want you will need to travel elsewhere. Overall, I could not have imagined getting married anywhere else-it was the most beautiful wedding I have ever attended (regardless of the fact that I am biased!)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CJ
Wedding:
11/14/2009
4.8/5.0
Beautiful chapel and surroundings with a well-organized team devoted to make your wedding day seamless. Our coordinator, Marion, was absolutely fantastic. Our ceremony was perfect!

The ceremony cost (donation) is pricey - but worth it if within your budget.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1189566509250-_dsc4176_jpg_thumbnail15
MuffinB
Wedding:
9/26/2009
5.0/5.0
Beautiful chapel!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SuperChooper
Wedding:
9/10/2009
5.0/5.0
I live in the area, and the chapel represents everything about Southern California. Overlooking the Pacific Ocean, blue sky, and surrounded by beautiful green...everything I wanted for my special day. We wanted to have a small and intimate wedding with family members and close friends, so the Wayfarers was the perfect location!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1249540913802-dsc05733
Cristina
Wedding:
9/9/2009
4.9/5.0
There couldn't be a better place to do your vows than the Wayfarer's Chapel. We had a sunset candle light wedding and the feel of this location is very different compared to day time. It was elegant and breath taking. Guests will forever remember your wedding because of the ambiance. The ceremony was nearly flawless. The only drawback is that you can only have about 100 people in the chapel otherwise it'll look too jam packed and the fire dept. will need to be called since it's capacity is only for 100 people or so. This is a great location especially if you would like to have an intimate ceremony. Your wedding memories will definitely be remembered with timeless style. If you have the budget, there are hidden cameras that are set on the ceiling and walls to capture your wedding ceremony without obstructions. The cameras are controlled remotely and the company that is contracted with the Wayfarer's chapel is very professional and can also cover your reception on HD. The chapel staff are truly amazing and the music coordinator is very talented. We requested Coldplay and U2 to be played during the pre-processional and he was able to play them with ease! BTW, the chapel fees are all tax deductible so when you think about it, it's definitely worth it to get married here!!! Hope this review helped you & good luck with your wedding preparations!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1218414108592-timmelissa
Melissa
Wedding:
7/25/2009
5.0/5.0
Beautiful place for a wedding. Impossible to take a bad picture! Loved it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
shleymay03
Wedding:
6/13/2009
4.5/5.0
I never thought I would ever be married in a church. We wanted to get married outside. But I'm telling you, if you step foot into the Wayfarers chapel, you won't be able to talk yourself out of getting married there. It is a bit pricey, they are incredibly strict (no decorations allowed, no petals allowed to be dropped, and nothing is allowed to be thrown / blown at you during the recessional). It doesn't matter. This is a spiritual place. A wonderful place. The Rev that married us was amazing. We aren't EXTREMELY religious people, but we heartily believe in God and he formed the service around our beliefs and values. They do all sorts of weddings, including humanistic and homosexual. All of our wedding party fell in love with the place and also wants to get married here. I would reccommend this venue to anyone!

Just be sure to book WAY in advance. We booked a year and 3 months in advance and got June 13th at 4pm. PERFECT time. But there were already weekends in June booked when we did this!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, Officiant, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1234939396179-houseman317
Christina
Wedding:
6/1/2009
4.8/5.0
The Wayfarers Chapel is a beautiful place to get married! The ministers and staff are very easy to get along with and are pretty flexible regarding reading and music choices for the ceremony. All the employees are very helpful and kind. The only downside to this venue is that there are no reception facilities (in other words, you need to have the big party somewhere else). Fortunately, there are a lot of reception venues nearby (with rates ranging from "That's a great deal!" to "That's way too much!"), so it's not really a deal-breaker. I would absolutely recommend this venue to anyone looking to get married at a location that is beautiful on any day, during any time and season. (It ended up raining on our wedding day and even the dark clouds couldn't take away from the Wayfarers' beauty.)

I said that it took us 12+ months to book the Wayfarers, but I don't know really know how far in advance you have to book it. Our wedding was on a Monday, so I feel like we probably could have waited longer (we booked it over a year in advance just because we felt like it). I'm pretty sure that more popular days of the week (Friday or Saturday) get snatched up much sooner though, so if you know the Wayfarers is where you want to have your ceremony, you might as well book it early.
Services Used: Officiant, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CaliforniaDreamin
Wedding:
5/15/2009
4.8/5.0
We are very happy that we had our wedding ceremony at Wayfarer's Chapel. We live out of the state and have to plan the wedding from afar, and Wayfarer's Chapel was very helpful at making this possible. They worked with our schedules. On the day of the ceremony, they ran the wedding so efficiently and seemlessly. We hired one of the recommended photographers and our wedding photos at the Chapel were incredible. Beautiful chapel, beautiful scenery, beautiful setting. I do think they are quite expensive, and you can probably get married somewhere else for much cheaper, but truly the unique beauty of this location cannot be matched anywhere else.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
warmjune
Wedding:
11/29/2008
4.6/5.0
Wayfarer's Chapel is ABSOLUTELY STUNNING!!! All of my guests were amazed at how beautiful it was, and its beauty made our ceremony so much more touching than it already was... A lot of my female guests even cried during our ceremony...
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
John
Wedding:
10/10/2008
3.3/5.0
Extremely beautiful place for a wedding...but they know it. They are very business like and not expecially friendly. They have very strict rules and seem to be more interested in your fee. They messed up the paper work for our wedding license and we had to fill out additional forms at the courthouse. Like I said, very beautiful place, but you have to work for it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrod
Wedding:
8/10/2008
5.0/5.0
Wayfarers Chapel is breathtaking! Its a glass chapel that over looks to beautiful Palos Verdes Beach. Our pictures turned out amazing there and the staff is so friendly. Its truely an angleic place to get married
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nyla
Wedding:
6/30/2008
4.9/5.0
The glass chapel is EVERY girl's dream! The scenery, the architecture, the feel in nature, are hard for whoever attends your wedding to forget. If you want to have a wedding day during the weekend, you might want to book way early! It's not cheap but it's going to be so worth the memory.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Natalie
Wedding:
3/29/2008
5.0/5.0
Once you go onto the website you will know why we picked this place to get married! It beautiful and has an amazing view!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sheila
Wedding:
10/20/2007
4.3/5.0
What a beautiful location to get married!! Absolutely breathtaking!! The entire ceremony was so well organized and every step along the way was well thoughtout and planned. The only downside is the expense and the time limit.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Belle
Wedding:
10/20/2007
4.8/5.0
Wayfarers Chapel is beautiful! The staff was excellent, and our officiant was great! Our ceremony was perfect. If you are interested in having your ceremony at the Chapel, make sure to call the reservation office as soon as possibly to find out availability. Luckily, for us we were able to find a date and time that worked for us, but this place gets booked quickly.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MegSilverman
Wedding:
7/21/2007
4.4/5.0
Wayfarers Chapel (also known as the glass chapel) sits on the cliff of Palos Verdes. The view is exquisite! Many of my guests still talk about how beautiful the site was. There are a couple of down sides: Wayfarers is popular, so they have weddings every 2 hours (you have one hour for photos, 15-20 minutes for the ceremony, and then another 40-45 minutes for pictures before you need to leave the site), you cannot have your own minister, your photographer cannot come into the site (but the videographer recommended by the chapel has remote control cameras located throughout the chapel - the scenic photos more than made up for the lack of chapel pictures) and they have a "standard" set of vows. Also, there isn't a place to hold the reception on site - But, there are plenty of places in the surrounding area to have your reception! My husband and I fell in love with this site, so these "cons" did not matter to us. The fee does seem high (we paid $1900 for a weekend wedding, and that has gone up to $2300), but it is tax-deductible...
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tiffany
Wedding:
10/6/2006
3.8/5.0
We had to take pictures quickly because there was going to be another wedding party after. It was a beautiful place though, but a bit expensive to book the place.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1292508533389-maryadamengagement74
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Wayfarers Chapel has to be the most beautiful chapel - capturing an essence of spirituality and nature all in one. We had our wedding there and 90% of our guests were from all over the country. They had never seen anything like it! I got to see pictures from our guests after the wedding and everyone used the chapel grounds to capture tons of photos. The chapel overlooks the pacific ocean and is just breathtaking. The staff there do weddings ALL the time so even if there is no rehearsal they prep your wedding party so that everyone is good to go (which was our case) The chapel only seats 100 people. There is enough room for 6 bridesmaids and 6 groomsman to stand with you at the front. You have two hours to arrive, take photos, get married, take more photos and get going but for some reason it doesn't feel rushed. Our ceremony was about 20 minutes long and everyone complimented the length. Since its a glass chapel it can get hot in there but for our 2pm July wedding the weather cooperated and stayed in the mid 70's. Perfect venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg21
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
2.0/5.0
The chapel is beautiful, but beware - you will not get one extra second on the grounds than the 2 hour time slot you've paid through the nose for!! Furthermore, they didn't inform me until AFTER they had my non-refundable "donation" that there would be construction going on that would be in the way of some of our photographs. The "coordinator" was rude and pushy to my photographer, and wouldn't allow us 2 extra minutes to take pictures of us with the beautiful ocean backdrop (the whole reason we were there in the first place!) despite the fact that there was no one scheduled to come in after us. Rude, rude, rude. Oh, and the minister sounded like Kermit the frog. :P It was all my husband and I could do to keep a straight face during the ceremony. Absolutely beautiful location though, just know that they have absolutely ZERO flexibility.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I had my ceremony on a September morning and it was simply gorgeous there. The coordinators were very efficient and helpful. It can be a little difficult to find a nearby reception site other than Terranea.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
GREAT PLACE! WOULD RECOMEND TO ANYONE. VERY ORGANZIED AND A BEAUTIFUL PLACE
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1313711953783-rscn1591
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
This place is magical, it is beyond beautiful. The wedding Director that they assign you walks you through everything (at your initial meeting and at the rehearsal) And your meeting with the minister is awesome, he'll walk you through every single word he is going to say, and they are very flexible with Changes. There is no other Chapel quite like this place. Worth every penny!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1339969514565-1000766b
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
Absolutely beautiful! It's like having an outdoor wedding without worrying about the weather. Beautiful, real chapel. Simple and elegant. Staff is very professional, very easy to work with, and know how every minute should flow. Seamless in execution. Different days and times have different prices. We did Sunday at 4pm and it was $3,000, so a little pricey for sure. They allow you to be on site for only 2 hours - an hour before the service, then the service into departure time. In other words, our ceremony was at 4pm, we arrived at 3pm and departed at 5pm. There is a small dressing room for the ladies, best for touch ups and hiding out.

They have about 4 to 6 different ministers/pastors that you can choose from. We have Dr. Reverend Donald Barnes. Great man!

They also offer their own video service, 24kt Video, which is totally worth using! They use 4 different cameras that are already set up, to video you from front and behind. You're own photographer won't be able to go up front, so this is almost a must. They also offer a 2 hour deal, from arrival to departure. The video service does cost extra, from about $700 on up, but is worth it.

There are many areas around the chapel that make for wonderful photo opps. Views inside & outside the glass chapel, green grass, large trees, many different flowers, benches, stone walkways, fountain, steps, overlooking the Pacific Ocean.

I totally recommend this place. If you can swing the cost of this, cut back on other things in your budget, then it is soooo worth it. Very memorable for both us and all who attended, since not everyone has seen a glass chapel before. Our focus (money) was on the ceremony, with keeping a more simple (less expensive) reception. Everyone loved the chapel!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
fmlin
Wedding:
12/15/1964
5.0/5.0
Highly recommend - great place with nice scenery.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
5755 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Wayfarers Chapel
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1356728596323-beautifuldayphoto20637x10150dpi