Nophoto-130

wedding alterations by Mahtab

Laguna Niguel , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Laguna Niguel, CA US 92677 (map)

PHONE

949-495-1205

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Dress & Attire

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Bride

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
6/14/2014
4.9/5.0
I brought my wedding dress home last night after expert and very reasonably priced alterations by Mahtab. My dress is all lace and she performed alterations perfectly.

Alterations performed:

- lace sleeves were too big, she brought them in and shaped them to my shoulders.
- needed cups put in so that I am able to wear my dress without a bra
- hemmed my lace dress to make it a bit shorter
- bustle put in

Every alteration is perfect. The length is perfect and she kept the perfect integrity of the lace at the bottom. The sleeves now stay up and are perfect, but aren't too tight that they are uncomfortable. I can honestly say I was concerned how the bustle would look on a lace dress, but it is BEAUTIFUL! It looks like a lace waterfall and it is so easy to bustle the back. The cups didn't change the shape of the dress at all and now hold in my tatas perfectly.

Service - what a kind lady. She was always cheerful, polite, gave wonderful advice and insight on different options to wear a beaded belt I purchased. She responded to emails and calls quickly which is a huge plus for me. And she only charged $300 for all the alterations above! SO reasonably priced compared to dress shops that will gouge you. She even hugged my stressed out mama as we were leaving for the last time with my dress.

Mahtab is a fantastic find and I recommend her to anyone looking for a trustworthy person to alter your wedding dress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deb
Wedding:
10/13/2013
5.0/5.0
There's a reason why Mahtab gets so many 5 stars on Yelp, and that's because she's awesome! I'm so glad that my friends recommended her. She altered my dress perfectly, and the bustle looked gorgeous. She's very kind, very professional, and very warm. One of my friends warned me that she won't remember my name but she will remember my dress. Actually, she greeted me by name all 3 times that I saw her. :-) She was very kind to my mom, who came with me on the 2nd visit, and showed my mom how to hook up the bustle and how to layer it to make it fall perfectly. Mahtab is also very honest, and she told me to get bra inserts on my very first visit, and reminded me again on my second visit. Yes, I'm small. :-)

I also had Mahtab make a veil for me - an elbow length, very simple veil with a thin lining around the edge. All of it is just perfect!

She works out a room in her house in Laguna Niguel which is very clean and filled with pictures of dresses she's altered before. She only accepts cash or checks. I highly recommend her!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
12/29/2012
4.8/5.0
I highly recommend Mahtab! She altered my essence of Australia wedding gown(lace and organza). It was taken in up top, and hemmed at bottom- the cost was a little above the norm at 250.00 for those two things but the quality was amazing! and if there is one day/thing you don't want to take chances on and should spend the extra on its your wedding ! So to me it was worth it to know it was being handled by someone who would not only NOT mess it up but do an amazing job!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mina
Wedding:
6/2/2012
4.9/5.0
Mahtab did such a FABULOUS job altering my gorgeous wedding gown. Everything stayed in place, all it took was 3 simple appointments to go see her. She charged $300 for taking the top in, hemming, shortening the crystal belt, fixing a clasp on the belt, and adding a bustle. Not cheap, but SO worth it.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shianne
Wedding:
5/27/2012
5.0/5.0
After reading lots of questionnable reviews of other tailors, both in LA and OC, as well as getting a quote from a place in LA for a minimum of $900 to bring up the hem of my dress, I contacted Mahtab. She was sweet, efficient, and a great deal!! At the time of my first consultation with Mahtab, I was not super excited about my dress (silk organza Amsale) - I was actually worried I had settled and picked the wrong one. I also had thought there wouldn't be much to take in, other than the hem, but she immediately made a few other recommendations that helped the dress fit perfectly - so much so that I fell back in love with my dress after she was done with it! She was definitely worth the trek, and I would definitely recommend her to any bride!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
fei
Wedding:
9/16/2011
5.0/5.0
My wedding dress was a little bit large on the bust and I took it to Mahtab for help. Mahtab was very friendly and professional. She recommended that I add some lacy straps instead of taking the dress in (which actually meant that she would get paid less because adding the straps only costed me $50) I am so glad I followed her suggestion, because I ended up with BEAUTIFUL straps added to the dress and they look like they were meant to be there to begin with. Mahtab did a wonderful job. Great value! I could totally trust her to make any changes to my Vera Wang dress!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kristen
Wedding:
2/19/2011
4.6/5.0
I needed several inches taken in throughout the torso of my dress. Plus need some extra lace transformed into straps. Mahtab did a great job, the fit of my dress was perfect. I paid $400 for the work which seemed pricey but she had to take in a lot and I have two fittings.

Very nice to work with and very clean house. Felt extremely comfortable leaving my dress in her hands
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nicole
Wedding:
2/10/2011
4.9/5.0
Mahtab did an excellent job altering my wedding dress. She helped me navigate some undergarmet issues, made sure my dress fit perfectly, and created the perfect bustle. Her services may be a little bit more expensive but the work she does is well worth it. I know that I didn't want to take a chance with my dress! I came from Los Angeles to Laguna Nigel for several fittings and I'm so happy I decided to go a little out of my way. Mahtab is really sweet and my dress came out perfect.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Lindsay
Wedding:
11/20/2010
5.0/5.0
I was torn between two alteration specialists.

I knew after all the reviews that I wanted to get an estimate from Mahtab. Originally I was going to have her:
1. Take in the bust
2. Add Bustle
3. Hem the bottom of the dress

When meeting with her for the first time she was VERY friendly and welcoming.
After trying on the dress Mahtab said to buy a "mermaid crinoline", and that I might not even need to have the hem altered. When I went in a second time ( 1st fitting) I only needed a bustle. She suggested that I not get the bust taken in since it was just perfect, she didn't want to create "spillage".

I had 2 fittings in all. The dress had a 9 point french bustle with ties. The ties held up ALL night, and my dress was rather heavy, and not once did the bustle come loose.

The price was very reasonable, and her work was great.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joyce
Wedding:
9/18/2010
4.5/5.0
Mahtab is so sweet and easy to work with. My dress was a tad big still on the wedding day but she altered a dress from a size 8 to 0 for me so can't really complain. She listened to everything I wanted and gave me tips on how to do less alterations to save myself money. So sweet! Definitely wanting to make the bride beautiful and not in it just for the money.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Kelli
Wedding:
8/28/2010
5.0/5.0
Mahtab is amazing! She's a true expert at what she does. My dress needed little alterations, but we had the hem shortened, the hips taken in, and she even gave me two bustles! I got to have one bustle for the first part of the reception and then I switched to the second bustle just for fun :) She was so sweet and listened to exactly what I wanted. Every bride should go to Mahtab :)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Michelle
Wedding:
8/14/2010
5.0/5.0
Mahtab is very professional and personable. She gets straight to the point and you can tell she really knows what she's doing and she's dedicated to doing a really great job. I knew I could trust her with my wedding dress :)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Allison
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
Mahtab is wonderful. . . not only is she truly skilled in dress making but she is friendly, professional and easy to work with. She understands fabrics, patterns and how to shape a garment to flatter different body types. The most beautiful dress won't flatter if it doesn't fit well, for this reason I would highly recommend Mahtab as she will ensure your dress is as beautiful as it is meant to be. I found her price competitive and well worth it!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lara
Wedding:
7/23/2010
5.0/5.0
I loved Mahtab! She is so sweet and she did an amazing job on my dress. She is very affordable and easy to work with. I would definitely recommend her to anyone!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1275497848480-3141814394327135011463545331311487725431727n
Ashley
Wedding:
5/15/2010
5.0/5.0
Mahtab has an impeccable attention to detail! Her prices are great and she does beautiful work!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Margaret
Wedding:
4/29/2010
4.7/5.0
Mahtab did a wonderful job on my alterations, she was easy to work with, professional and affordable.

I had my dress hem taken up, the neckline made into a sweetheart, the back lowered and overall taken in. I went from really liking my dress to LOVING my dress. Plus she hand cleaned the dress at no additional charge.

I would highly recommend her to any bride.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Lucky Me Invitations
Wedding:
5/24/2009
0.0/5.0
I feel really bad about writing a bad review about Mahtab, but my wedding alterations with her were a nightmare!!! I bought my dress from a Monique Lhullier sample sale and I had a pick up skirt with a few of the "gathers" that had come undone. I had asked her to please look at the skirt as you can see where the stitching was missing from sew marks and to use those as guides when fixing the gathers in the skirt. She did not do this at all! She had just sewn random gathers and it looked so strange to me at the fitting but she convinced me that it was the way the skirt was and that is how it was "suppose" to look and that was the best she could do and that it was a difficult dress to work with. She also told me that since my skirt was pure silk, it is naturally wrinkled and there was nothing she could do about it.

Confused I went home and took a better look at the dress. I then realized that she didn't even look at the sew marks on the skirt and her sewing was so sloppy and unattractive, the stitches looked like little white spiders on my skirt!!! In tears I called my MOH and she rushed over with a roll of thread and a needle and together we sewed 9 gathers to make it look normal! How could a professional seamstress miss so much on a dress? It should have been a simple alteration with "follow the dot" instructions but she obviously did not put much effort or attention to detail into it.

Driving 1.5 hours from Los Angeles all the way to her home in Orange County for a horrible job on alterations was a complete waste of time and money! Do not go to her! And if you do, make sure you take a really good look at the finished alterations before you pay her!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire

MAP

 
Laguna Niguel, CA 92677 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for wedding alterations by Mahtab
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo