130x130_sq_1289510317579-guidingbride

Wedding Ceremonies by Jeff

Alexandria , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Alexandria, VA US 22301 (map)

PHONE

703-980-1677

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

My name is Jeff Maszal and I have officiated wedding ceremonies for couples of almost every faith, race, and culture.

Each wedding is customized to meet your needs. I take... Read more
My name is Jeff Maszal and I have officiated wedding ceremonies for couples of almost every faith, race, and culture.

Each wedding is customized to meet your needs. I take pride in listening to you and working with you to create a ceremony that reflects who you are, what you want, and what your faith, family, and culture may request or require.

An Ordained Minister, in good standing (and a former management consultant), I officiate traditional, contemporary, religious (Christian, etc), non-denominational, spiritual, interfaith, cross-cultural, and secular/non-religious ceremonies.

Religious and interfaith ceremonies that I have officiated/co-officiated include those from the Jewish, Buddhist, Islamic, Hindu, Bahá'í, Confucianism, and Taoist faiths. I have incorporated cultural traditions from most part of the world.

I’m licensed to officiate in Virginia, Washington D.C., and Virginia.

Check out my web page at www.weddingceremoniesbyjeff.com or contact me at 703.980.1677 and let me know if you have any questions. Read less
Officiant

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1289486212203-nelsonandandreamarch2010
130x130_sq_1289486258484-wedding21
130x130_sq_1289515263938-wedding7
130x130_sq_1289515290219-wedding6
130x130_sq_1289515348813-wedding4
130x130_sq_1289515545438-kleinwedding1
130x130_sq_1289515599829-kleinwedding3

INFO FOR OFFICIANT

What officiant services do you provide?
Civil Union, Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious Ceremony, Single Religion Ceremony
What religious affiliations do you serve?
Agnostic, Baha'i Faith, Buddhist, Christian (no denomination), Christian - Anglican, Christian - Baptist, Christian - Catholic, Christian - Episcopalian, Christian - Lutheran, Christian - Methodist, Christian - Mormon, Christian - Orthodox, Christian - Presbyterian, Christian - Quaker, Evangelical, Hindu, Islam, Jainism, Jewish, Muslim, Shinto, Sikhism, Taoist
Can you accommodate the hearing impaired?
No
Are you willing to perform a ceremony at a non-religious site?
Yes.
What is your attire for the ceremony?
I usually wear a suit and tie, or a suit and clerical collar, or full vestments.
Are you flexible in the wording used throughout the ceremony, including the vows?
Not a problem.
Do you allow the couple to write their own vows, if desired?
Yes
Do you have a list of readings pre-selected, from which the couple must choose?
Couples are not "required" to use my readings. I offer a selection of readings that couples can choose from, or they can use readings of their choice.
How long are your ceremonies?
That is up to the couple's requirements
Do you require that premarital counseling be done?
No, premarital counseling is not required but it is available.
Are you willing to perform pre-ceremony rehearsals?
I am available for rehearsals, at an extra charge.
Do you supply a sound system?
No

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin and Lee
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
Jeff officiated our very small, outdoor elopement ceremony over Memorial Day Weekend 2014 in Old Town Alexandria. He made our personal (civil) ceremony exquisitely beautiful and memorable by his contributions. We could not have asked for a better officiant! We contacted Jeff approximately one month prior to our desired wedding day and found him to be incredibly responsive, flexible and amenable to any and all changes as plans for our special day were adjusted. He also offered excellent guidance based on his own experiences for the area- assuaging many of our planning fears in the process and saving us additional expense.

All in all, the day and ceremony he performed were beyond perfect for us in every regard. He really kept us at ease from the moment he arrived to meet with us and by taking the time to ensure the moment was enjoyed and special even if it was only the four of us. Jeff also included our two teenage children in the most beautiful way that allowed them to a participate in the day and give their blessing. It was incredibly touching and they loved being included.

We could not have asked for a better day or memory. The weather, location and words were absolutely perfect!!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Denise
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
We found Jeff through Wedding Wire and we are so glad we did. WOW is all I have to say. Our ceremony was absolutely perfect. He gave us ceremony ideas including traditions that we would have never thought about using ourselves. We used one of his suggestions and that’s all our guests can talk about. I can’t tell you the amount of people that said our ceremony was so beautiful (so many tears of joy for us). Our photographers and venue coordinators had nothing but positive things to say about Jeff such as “wow you guys are in such great hands. He really knows what he is doing.” This was definitely realized by all at the rehearsal where he took charge and led with such confidence explaining to our parents and wedding party what they would be doing.

What I really could appreciate was him visiting me and my groom before the ceremony (while the chaos was still happening). He reassured us that everything was going to go great. During the ceremony he made small gestures that helped us remember what we were doing next. Trust me you need that when you are trying to stay calm and cool in front of all your guests J The way he speaks is just so eloquent and effortless. Not to mention he is a very humorous and you and your guests will be very entertained.

I highly recommend Jeff as your officiant. As soon as you book your date I suggest you contact him right away before anyone else does!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrew
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
From our first meeting with Jeff, we knew we wanted him to be our officiant. He was so personable, funny, and professional. He is also extremely knowledgable about weddings and has worked with many other excellent vendors (he can provide excellent references to other vendors). Jeff asked us so many questions about things we hadn't even considered and provided a lot of free advice during our first consult. It was like having a mini planning session with a wedding planner.

Jeff also makes planning the content of your ceremony very easy. He provides a ton of pre-written material to match different personalities. All you have to do is select the material and customize it to whatever you'd like.

We received many compliments on our ceremony, and many of them were attributed to Jeff. He was a big part of making our ceremony memorable and beautiful.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
4/4/2014
5.0/5.0
Jeff gave such a great ceremony. My guests are still talking about how great he was. He cracked jokes before I walked down the aisle which everyone thought were hysterical. He answered every email I sent him in a timely manner and he was seamless to work with. I'm really thankful I found him.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Jeff did a wonderful job. We spent plenty of time speaking with him before the ceremony, so it felt like we knew each other well when the day came around, which made for a unique and fitting ceremony. Jeff was incredibly helpful and flexible with setting up our ceremony order of events, and knocked it out of the park delivering it. We felt like we had a friend officiating.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Madalyn
Wedding:
3/29/2014
5.0/5.0
Jeff was a blast to work with! When my husband and I were looking for some to officiate our wedding, we wanted to find someone who had a jovial personality and would make our wedding joyful and fun to be at and sit through. Jeff was just that person! At every meeting, email, and on the day, he was very personable and overwhelmingly enjoyable to be around. We were so happy to have Jeff as the person leading us into our marriage. He was able to blend our want of a traditional and contemporary ceremony to make the service both unique and suit our beliefs. I would highly recommend Jeff to everyone getting married who want an officiant that will cater to their needs and make a customize ceremony that will make their day special!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cam
Wedding:
3/22/2014
5.0/5.0
We found Jeff online, and were impressed by his professionalism and obvious knowledge/experience with pre-marital counseling. We met with Jeff soon after, and while speaking with him we knew immediately that we wanted him to officiate our wedding ceremony.

We signed up for pre-marital counseling with Jeff, which was conducted in the convenience of our own home! It was a great experience overall! We highly Jeff for pre-marital counseling and/or as an officiant for a wedding ceremony.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael
Wedding:
3/8/2014
5.0/5.0
Jeff was great to work with! Our guests continuously commented on what a great job he did. He allowed us to customize the ceremony script to our liking, and during the ceremony he created a great mix of both humor and seriousness at the appropriate times. Very professional, highly recommend.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
3/1/2014
5.0/5.0
Jeff was super easy to work with and helped design a ceremony that really fit us! We're glad we had him attend the rehearsal to run through everything with our families as we had a more unusual ceremony set up (ceremony in the round) and it really put everyone at ease. He knew exactly when to add a little humor which was really important to us. We highly recommend Jeff!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emma
Wedding:
12/31/2013
5.0/5.0
We knew we wanted to work with Jeff in the middle of our first meeting, when it was clear he just "got" us. He had great ideas and really worked with us to craft a ceremony that reflected our relationship and our beliefs. Jeff was perfect and did an absolutely amazing job officiating our New Year's Eve wedding ceremony. My husband and I loved every second of it - the ceremony was a perfect mix of nerdiness, humor, and emotion. I think every single guest said something about how beautiful, touching, etc the ceremony was, and they all loved Jeff.

Jeff also helped us before the wedding with some pre-wedding counseling. That was super helpful and I really recommend it, if couples are having trouble with the stress of planning the event.
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1390016168037-bubble
Holly
Wedding:
12/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Jeff met with us far ahead of time and afforded us a great deal of freedom in helping create a ceremony that best fit our needs. We wanted to add in a very non-traditional piece and Jeff did research and wrote it up for us. He is extremely well organized and knowledgeable. He organized the rehearsal and made sure everyone clearly knew what they needed to do with very explicit directions. He CLEARLY knows what he is doing one thing that popped out was that he stepped back from the first kiss so he wasn't in the photo. In all of the photos he looks like he is genuinely happy for us. Everything went perfectly on the day of. We strongly recommend Jeff.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Justine
Wedding:
12/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Jeff is fantastic to work with. He helped us design our own ceremony that was EXACTLY what we wanted, and we received tons of compliments on the ceremony and Jeff. Jeff is the best choice for your officiant if you want to feel taken care of and that you are in experienced and capable hands!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katherine
Wedding:
12/2/2013
5.0/5.0
We decided to elope on Saturday afternoon. Within 48 hours, we had the most wonderful ceremony imaginable. Jeff offered a few locations for the event as well as generously offering his home. Officiants in general offer that as a service/location as seen on websites.

Jeff is most responsive to our questions via cell, emails and texts. We had many questions as we were creating a life changing event in 48 hrs. A location was our hardest decision. We asked Jeff his opinion and he was spot on! Having had previous experience at Old Town Alexandria's Morrison House, we walked into a venue as if we had been there before.

He was prompt, very nice, professional and even took pictures for us! Thank you for making our day so memorable Jeff! You are the best!

Kathy and Ed
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1386297702062-142570910104408548649981777141140
Jessica
Wedding:
11/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Jeff was a wonderful officiant for our wedding ceremony. Our wedding day was a bit chaotic but Jeff helped keep everyone calm and organized. He took control of the situation, and that is where you see his experience shine through. I couldn't be happier with the beautiful ceremony he officiated for us! Thanks Jeff!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Phil
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Jeff, what can we say other than you were amazing! For everyone else reading, we had planned a surprise wedding where our close family and friends were attending under the assumption that they were attending a surprise birthday party. Of course with this format, there were a number of traditional elements to the evening that would have to be worked out on the fly (who was giving away the bride, the ring bearer etc)... Jeff was extremely poised, direct and guided this intimate event so thoughtfully and with a smooth calmness that allowed everyone to participate without feeling any pressure whatsoever. Jeff, thank you so much for being a part of this special night. It is one we won't soon forget!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Talented speaker. Professional. Genuine. Jeff was truly wonderful to work with. We felt like our wedding ceremony was in good hands from the first phone call to inquire about his services. Calls/e-mail were promptly returned and he was accommodating to our needs. I loved the civil ceremony he performed. Each element of the the ceremony was perfect, and he delivered it with such sincerity and grace. We couldn't have asked for a better officiant.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rachel
Wedding:
10/25/2013
5.0/5.0
I found Jeff through Wedding Wire and am so glad I did! He truly made our ceremony memorable and was so professional to work with. He was extremely responsive and was able to change our ceremony at the last minute to incorporate some last minute changes. He offered so many helpful hints, even down to my veil and dress alterations. Would recommend Jeff 100%!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amira
Wedding:
10/13/2013
5.0/5.0
We have nothing, but positive things to say about Jeff, he is amazing. He helped customize our wedding ceremony to be exactly how we envisioned it, which was fun and personal. He even helped us incorporate Filipino wedding traditions. He's great to work with and is very responsive. More importantly, we felt like our friend was marrying us, which made our wedding day even more special.

Once you have decided on your wedding date, contact him right away so no one else snatches him away from you!

Thanks for everything, Jeff!

J+A K.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Janet
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
We went through pre-marital couseling and a wedding ceremony with Jeff. We really enjoyed both of them. Jeff provoked thought during the pre-marital couseling and provided excellent guidance in our journey as a couple. He provided us with a "Prepare Enrich" workbook as well as personality test information, love languages, and other handouts for us to more fully understand each other. He was both kind and to the point in discussing matters that are sure to arise during our time as a married couple.

During the ceremony, Jeff was professional, courteous, and showed his wonderful sense of humor to our guests. He gave us so many options to customize our ceremony; from casual to conservative, he can do it all! We received so many compliments about our ceremony, especially the wine box ceremony part, which Jeff introduced to us. We wrote letters to each other and bought a nice bottle of wine and will read the letters and drink the wine on our first wedding anniversary and each year after that. It was beautiful!
Services Used: Officiant
Bg2
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Jeff was recommended to us by a friend who attended another wedding that Jeff officiated. We made such a great decision by hiring Jeff due to his vast experience, responsiveness, and overall efficiency. When we first met Jeff during the initial consultation approximately a year before our wedding, we felt that he really understood what we were trying to achieve. He provided templates and also enabled us to customize a ceremony suited to our needs. For a moment during that initial meeting, we thought Jeff was going to marry us at the Panera!

He was a commanding presence at the rehearsal, as well as the actual ceremony. My father-in-law, who can be difficult to please, was extremely impressed with Jeff’s professionalism and knowledge. Our guests also commented on how our ceremony moved them and Jeff was an integral part of the planning.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
9/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Thanks to Jeff, my husband and I had a beautiful, intimate, and memorable wedding ceremony. It was everything we envisioned--and much, much more. From the first consultation, we knew that Jeff was the Officiant for us. He built rapport with us very naturally and easily, and his passion and expertise were clear. It was a joy to craft our ceremony with Jeff--he made the process both collaborative and fun. He listened to our ideas, but brought ideas of his own to the table that helped us create a highly personalized ceremony that was perfect for us. He has an eloquent presence as well as incredible attention to detail. He thought of--and managed--every cue down to a "T" so that the ceremony ran seamlessly. Our guests gave the ceremony and Jeff rave reviews, sharing with us that it was the most personal and touching ceremony they had ever witnessed. Many commented that the ceremony was their favorite part of the entire evening. Jeff made it all possible!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
John and Cathy
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Jeff was everything we could ask for in an officiant and pre-marital counselor. He is engaging, experienced, insightful, and organized; and he also is just a super-nice guy. In his role as counselor, he helped us not just to talk through difficult topics but to improve how we communicate with each other. In his role as officiant, he helped us craft a beautiful and personal wedding ceremony. He then delivered it superbly, leaving not a dry eye in the house (which included some real tough guys). Jeff also was ALL OVER both the ceremony's rehearsal and directing our wedding party on the big day. We received endless compliments about the seamless, "emotional," and "touching" ceremony, which in large part is in thanks to Jeff and the effort that he put in not only to deliver a ceremony but to know and understand us as a couple. We recommend him highly.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sherry
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
We interviewed three officiants, two we discounted after a phone conversation and another after an in-person meeting. Then we met Jeff. We knew instantly we wanted him to be our officiant, even adjusting our wedding time to get him. He was warm and personable. He listened to our thoughts and ideas regarding the ceremony, and provided us a framework from which to work. The information he provided was a tremendous help in getting us started. We were able to create and write a ceremony that fit both our beliefs and personalities.

The day of the wedding Jeff coordinated with the hotel staff, musicians, and others to make sure everyone was ready and on the same page. He met us in our room to sign the marriage certificate, and to make sure we were ready. He then delivered the most beautiful of ceremonies, capturing our lives and our love. Our guests were extremely impressed with Jeff’s delivery, as were we. Many of our guests asked how we knew Jeff, and were surprised to learn we did not know him prior to selecting him to officiate our wedding, as he had created an atmosphere as if he had known us a lifetime.

We could not be more pleased with Jeff’s services, and we endorse him with the highest of regard.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Irene
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Jeff did an amazing job for Dan and me. He was professional, yet acted as though he was a good friend as well. He helped us create vows suited to just us, not the standard vows that everyone else seems to use. Jeff kept the ceremony moving and light-hearted. My family and friends loved his sense of humor. I would recommend him to anyone who needs a thoughtful, organized officiant.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenna
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Jeff was phenomenal. A key part of our ceremony, and the reason everything went so smoothly. Many in our wedding party complimented Jeff on his professionalism, and how simple he made everything. We are forever grateful for his help creating the perfect ceremony for us.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Jeff provided us a wedding ceremony that we will never forget. On incredibly short notice, Jeff helped coordinate and plan the ceremony while being sensitive to our wishes and requests. His professionalism is unmatched as we have corresponded with numerous officiants in the D.C. area, and we unquestionably know that Jeff far exceeds all others.

The service Jeff officiated for us was beautiful, unique, and truly memorable. Our family members have repeatedly commented on his exceptional service and that they have not attended such a breath taking ceremony. Jeff provided insight and shared stories about us in such a way that our guests believed that we had known him for years, this personal feel and attention to detail truly separates him from all other officiants. Lastly, Jeff is able to provide a loving atmosphere while inspiring a joyous feel for all the guests.

We could not be more satisfied with Jeff's professionalism and service. We are deeply grateful for his flexibility, candidacy, and attention to detail. We would absolutely recommend him for any friend and family who wishes to have a beautiful ceremony in D.C. Thank you so much Jeff for making our wedding an event that we will never forget.

Adam and Elitha
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Jeff was absolutely amazing. We had to plan a wedding within 3 months and trying to line up everything was a bit tough. I went on weddingwire.com to search for local Officiants and came across Jeff's page. The reviews tell it all - HE IS THE BEST. You cannot go wrong if you have him be your Officiant. All my Guests raved about how awesome he was. He is very professional, reliable and a very calming person. I was the Bride and he made me feel very comfortable - which was a huge factor for me.

-A very happy Bride
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emma
Wedding:
8/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Jeff was great from the start.
I was planning my wedding initially from over in the UK and had to do a lot of online research. His website was informative & friendly and gave an idea of pricing straight off the bat which always helps.
He was quick to respond and very knowledgeable.
We met him just once, only a couple of weeks prior to the wedding and he was happy to integrate all the wording and format we had planned for our ceremony - one other officiant told me that they would not use a ceremony written by the bride and groom, you had to use their templates.
I emailed Jeff, either very late the night before, or possibly even the morning of the wedding (my head is fuzzy on details around the day!) to include one more bit in the ceremony & he of course had no problem with it.
On the day he was very professional and got us all where we needed to be, and most importantly delivered a beautiful ceremony. So many guests keep commenting to us about how wonderful, meaningful and personal our ceremony was.
Thank you Jeff for surviving through the melting hot weather to help us get married!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Matt
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Jeff was the perfect officiant. Our wedding ceremony could not have been better. From the moment we met Jeff, which was about three months before the ceremony, we trusted him. He brings a calming confidence to his work that works well in a formal setting like a wedding. Jeff gave us ceremony program ideas, but ultimately deferred to us on every detail. He also took charge at the rehearsal when no one else knew where to start. He gave the men and women a quick tutorial on the etiquette of the ceremony, but continually injected humor into this happy time. Our parents and wedding party were both impressed and thankful.

Now, for the ceremony, we could not have asked for a more romantic, respectful, touching, or humorous program. Jeff guided us through every step, whispering small reminders when needed, and provided the perfect tone for the ceremony. His voice projects loud, but is not forceful or unnatural. He reads smoothly and was very prepared. He moved smoothly between being the MC and deferring to me and my wife.

Ultimately, we heard more comments about the ceremony than we ever could have expected. Friends and family members told us they had never seen a more beautiful ceremony. Many people told us they thought the ceremony was perfect for us, that they cried, and that the ceremony made them even more excited for the reception. So, if you're looking for an officiant, you should definitely consider (and choose) Jeff. You will not regret it, and you will always remember it.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
If you don't choose Jeff, your marriage will end in a divorce and you will gain 20 pounds. In all seriousness, Jeff was amazing and having him at our ceremony made it that much more perfect. We did pre-marital counseling with him and I highly recommend it. We were able to resolve unseen issues and strengthen our relationship during a very stressful time (bridezilla). Choose Jeff and make time for the counseling. - Boom & Meredith
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mark
Wedding:
8/8/2013
5.0/5.0
We met Jeff because my husband and I happened to be in the right place at the right time. Being on a very tight budget, we decided that we would just have our ceremony take place at the courthouse in DC. As we sat in the crowded, dated office waiting to get our paperwork filled out for our license, a very friendly man sitting beside us struck up a conversation. It was Jeff.

He asked us about our pasts, how we met, how long we'd been together, and our future with the wedding and so-on. We told him about our plan to get married there at the courthouse, which after waiting for about an hour we were beginning to hate the idea. He gave us a few different suggestions for budget-friendly "venues" and he told us about Meridian Hill Park. Our name was called, we turned in our paperwork, and Jeff gave us his card.

So excited about Jeff's suggestion, we went straight to the park to check it out and fell in love. We knew that it was where we were going to get married. However, since we weren't going to have the ceremony at the courthouse, we would need an officiant. Jeff, duh!

We called him up and set up a time to meet and go over our plans. He gave us a very thorough and detailed package of different ceremony choices. He kept in contact with us the entire time prior to the wedding and was so nice.

The day of the wedding we met him at the park. He was extremely professional looking and so friendly to our family and friends that had arrived at the park. Afterwards, everyone immediately asked us about the officiant and how he had done such an amazing job. From the feedback we got from almost 100% of our group, he had them all in tears (of joy!)...which we were totally ok with!

We would absolutely recommend Jeff to anyone. Like we said, he was so helpful, friendly, personable and professional through the entire process. We couldn't have asked for a better person to marry us and bring so much happiness to our special day.

Thank you Jeff!!!
--Mark & Theo
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ginly
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Jeff did such a great job organizing everyone at the rehearsal that everyone knew exactly what to do the day of the wedding. He is super funny, my guests raved about him! He also has lots of suggestions and helpful hints from officiating so many weddings. We are so glad we had him at the wedding!
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1349917357435-engagementshoot004
Linda
Wedding:
7/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Jeff was awesome! In our first meeting with him, he was very informative.

My fiance and I had pre-marital counseling sessions with Jeff. We learned so much about one another through his guidance. He was funny and needed to be serious when the topics were emotional and extremely sensitive.

In both the wedding planning and pre-marital counseling, Jeff was very encouraging. We did not have Jeff for our rehearsal dinner, but prior to the ceremony he walked through everything with us and it only took a few minutes. He provided amazing guidance throughout the ceremony during the ceremony, whispering when he needed.

We found Jeff on WeddingWire, but I found out later that two of my co-workers was using Jeff's services. We all loved him.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kyle
Wedding:
7/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Jeff went above and beyond in everything! He met with us for nearly 2 hours in our first meeting, and this was before we had even signed a contract with him. He helped create a perfect ceremony for us, incorporating our own ideas and standard ceremonies and language he had for us to review. We went back and forth creating probably 2-3 different versions which he tracked and follow-up on very professionally. We met him again about a month or so out and he had all the paperwork ready to go and again we met for nearly 2 hours! He takes the time to get to know the couple and really understand what they want out of the ceremony. He offers his insight into other parts of the ceremony as well including processional and recessional process, which we found extremely helpful! Jeff was beyond friendly and extremely cheerful and flexible in meeting all of our unique needs. My wife and I highly recommend him!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Jeff was amazing! I was VERY particular about how I wanted my wedding to go... I even wrote out everything I wanted Jeff to say and do! He performed the ceremony of my dreams perfectly! He was so helpful to my wedding party and guests too... everyone liked him. I couldn't be happier with his performance :)
Services Used: Officiant
Bg22
Private User
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
He did a great job and was even helpful in ways that went above and beyond our expectations.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
Jeff did an excellent job with our wedding ceremony! He was so knowledgeable about our venue at Whitehall Manor, and that really put our minds at ease. He shared so many helpful details throughout the process and ran the rehearsal very smoothly. We liked that we could customize our ceremony, and we pulled portions from all of his different templates to make it out own. People loved the ceremony and kept complimenting our vows, which we selected from Jeff's options. I highly recommend him!
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1328536557937-stuandkel
Kelly
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
The one thing that went right at my wedding was hiring Jeff as my officiant!! I had an interfaith ceremony in which Jeff officiated which was Jewish and Christian. He was so helpful in developing the ceremony and providing my husband and I with all the information we needed. The ceremony was flawless and really made a positive impression with everyone. The tone and inflection of his voice gave more meaning to the words and overall feel of the ceremony. I will ONLY recommend Jeff to all of my friends, as he was a dream to work with and responsive to every concern and question we had.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Missy
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Our wedding ceremony would not have been the same without Jeff! He was such a big part of making our day so special. Not only was he gracious, funny and kind, he delivered our wedding service flawlessly. From the beginning, Jeff takes the time to get to know you personally and makes excellent suggestions for your service. We received so many compliments on Jeff and I would recommend him to anyone looking for an amazing officiant.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kris
Wedding:
5/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Neither of us belong to churches and were not raised in a particular faith, and we worried we may not be able to find the beautiful, meaningful ceremony for which every couple hopes. Jeff stifled those worries within our first meeting. His jokes were funny and corny and surprising. He was confident to get the procession and recession perfect even without a rehearsal. He listened to our stories and gave us a ceremony outline that instilled trust, and we then just left it in his hands. We had a special symbol developed by my mother and aunt that we named the "Portrait of Community Sands" that I described to Jeff, and he included it in our ceremony. He may describe it to you if you chose to meet this wonderful guy! Also, the day of our wedding a detail was sprung on him at the last minute; it was a surprise to all of us that my brothers would stand to play an acoustic song in our honor during our ceremony. It was beautiful, but I realize that it had to throw Jeff off considering he didn't know until just an hour before the ceremony. He pulled it off flawlessly. Jeff provided a comfortable and touching ceremony catered uniquely to us. We were so moved, and we are so grateful that we have these memories for the rest of our lives.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Justine
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
We did not do a rehearsal and still everything turned out perfectly and this was largely due to Jeff. He went out of his way several times for us to meet up to go over the ceremony and to help us with our wedding license. He does an amazing job making something that can be stressful much easier and was prepared to help us with family drama or any problems that might have arose. Not only that but he is so knowledgable about DC weddings and helped us get a permit for photos around the monuments and recommended heel protectors so we wouldn't sink into the grass. He did a great job accomodating my husband who did not want a religious ceremony while respecting my very religious family. There is not a better choice for an officiant than Jeff!! Highly recommended!!!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JP
Wedding:
5/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Jeff was the perfect officiant for our wedding. My wife and I wanted a small ceremony that incorporated both traditional and contemporary themes, as well as traditions that matched our interests and personalities. We outlined these things to Jeff a few weeks before the wedding and he provided us with the information and tools to put together our perfect ceremony. Jeff has a ton of experience officiating many different types of weddings so he knew exactly how to tailor the occasion to what we were looking for. He's also very familiar with the all aspects of getting married in the DC region, from getting the license to recommending venues. For example, my wife and I really wanted to have our ceremony at the Thomas Jefferson memorial and Jeff knew exactly how to handle the parks service and arrange everything at the site.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
Jeff was amazing! He responded to my emails immediately and he offered suggestions that made our ceremony perfect. He did everything he could to alleviate the stress and was an absolute joy to work with. I would strongly recommend him to anyone looking to plan their dream wedding!

Michelle & Charlie
May 4, 2013
Services Used: Officiant
B5
Kate
Wedding:
4/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Jeff provided pre-marital counseling to myself and my fiance. If we hadn't already booked our officiant, we would have used Jeff for that as well. The sessions we held with him were very productive and we got through a lot in just three meetings. He has set tests that you take that facilitate a lot of discussion. He is trustworthy, objective, and really knows how to drive the conversation. Each time he left I looked at my now husband and said, "That was awesome". The most convenient part is that he drives to your house to meet with you.
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Jeff wonderfully officiated our March 2013 wedding. Dozens of people commented on how much they loved the ceremony. Jeff was easy to reach by e-mail and provided examples of different ideas that we could incorporate into our ceremony. Jeff also met with us in person before the wedding to work out all of the details. I would highly recommend him!!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Victoria
Wedding:
3/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Jeff was amazing! We interviewed 3 officiants, and we both agreed Jeff was the one. He was incredibly personable and worked closely with us. He gave us samples of scripts, and we took them and modified them to make it our own. He followed our script perfectly, and gave us suggestions on how to do certain ceremony rituals such as hand fasting, memorial candle lighting, and unity candle lighting. He will work with whatever type of ceremony you want - religious or non-religious, and will modify things to fit your needs. He also offers the service of taking your signed marriage license to the court house after the ceremony, so you do not have to worry about filing it yourself, in case you are leaving right away for your honeymoon, etc. (We didn't need this service as we dropped them off ourselves at the courthouse on our way driving for our honeymoon, but it's nice knowing that he will take care of it for you in case you are not able to - the paperwork needs to be filed within 5 days after the ceremony, and it's easy to get caught up with wedding/honeymoon stuff and forget about it!). I highly recommend him - very professional, very personable and likable, and very responsive and reliable.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
1/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Jeff is awesome. Even though we were strangers when we met, I feel like he really got to know us so he could make a legitimately heartfelt ceremony. He allowed us to piece our ceremony together and put as many personal touches as possible, but still maintain a serious, meaningful speech. He was prepared with a handkerchief when I was starting to get teary eyed and helped me feel back at ease. Very professional and personable. Our guests were commenting on how they loved what he said and how genuine our ceremony was. THANK YOU JEFF!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily and Ray
Wedding:
12/31/2012
5.0/5.0
Jeff was perfect for us.
From our first meeting with him, we had confidence that he could guide us through our dream wedding ceremony. Jeff was open to our ideas which was important to us. We feel he gave us valuable advice as well much needed leadership on the big day.
Our wedding ceremony was intimate and personal and perfect.
We highly recommend Jeff to any couple.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Jeff was wonderful! He was so understanding and really helped us create a personalized ceremony. He was very responsive, talking to us several times on the phone, emails etc. We definitely wish we had been able to do premarital counseling with him before the wedding, we could tell he would be a wonderful counselor. Jeff was great at our ceremony, he was very reassuring and checked in with us on everything on the day of before the ceremony, he truly made us feel comfortable. We had a small miscommunication with our venue regarding the wine box part of our ceremony (they opened the bottle of wine, it is not supposed to be opened), Jeff realized the mishap before the ceremony ever started, and so calmly told us what had happened and how it had already been resolved. We also had some very specific lines in our ceremony regarding the then opened bottle of wine, and Jeff altered it seamlessly, no one ever knew!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough wonderful things about Jeff - from the very first meeting to the last moment of the wedding ceremony, Jeff was just absolutely incredible. My wife and I actually found Jeff through his reviews on Wedding Wire, and though we didn't know quite what to expect, we couldn't have been happier. Jeff worked with us throughout the entire process, suggesting templates, passages and structure, and ensuring that the end ceremony was exactly what we had been looking for even/especially when we didn't know exactly what that entailed. Jeff's flexibility, his knowledge of the wedding process, his professionalism in structuring the order of ceremony, and his involvement in making our night perfect, will forever be appreciated. We had multiple guests tell us they were blown away by the ceremony and I can truly say that wouldn't have happened without Jeff. If you want your night to be perfect, then look no further.
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1349405771019-lmcatavatar
Former Chicky
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
It was good working with Jeff. He provided us with several sample ceremonies to work with. He was also flexible with incorporating some songs that I wanted to have in the wedding into the ceremony. He also provided us with plenty of suggestions on the tradition to use, such as the unity candles, rose ceremony, etc. He also reviewed our programs and made some very good suggestions.
Everyone thought that he did a great job during the ceremony. We received compliments from guests on the things that he said during the ceremony.
There were a few times when he was not prompt replying back with emails, but he did get back to us within a week. I also understand that we got married during a very busy month.
He still married us even though we brought the wrong paperwork with us for the marriage certificate at the wedding. He met with us the day before the honeymoon at the courthouse to get it all settled. He seemed to know the clerks at the courthouse.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leah
Wedding:
10/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Jeff did a great job officiating my wedding. He is very kind and professional. He is also flexible and open-minded, offering both religious and non-religious ceremonies. Our wedding blended two different religions and cultures, and Jeff had some great ideas to avoid offending anyone. He also offered useful, random wedding tips, such as adding weights to my veil to prevent it from blowing away. Jeff gave us a few sample ceremony texts so we had something to work from, but was open to any changes, including letting us write our own ceremony if we wanted to. On the wedding day, he reviewed the ceremony with us and helped me not be so nervous. He speaks loudly, clearly, and at an excellent pace, and quietly gave us tips throughout the ceremony on when to face the audience, how to put on the rings, etc. I am very happy to remember Jeff as the man who married us.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Jeff officiated my wedding this fall and was fantastic! In terms of preparation, he is very responsive, experienced, and professional. He provided my husband I with a lot of sample ceremonies, readings, et cetera, and helped us craft a beautiful ceremony. On the wedding day, Jeff gave a wonderful service, and we received so many compliments from our guests on the officiant.

My husband and I also had premarital counseling with Jeff and can highly recommend him as a marriage counselor as well.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chhaya
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Jeff was a pleasure to work with and made our ceremony very special. If we had to do it all over, we'd hire him again!
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1326254969275-weddingwire
Amanda
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Jeff is awesome. He met with us months before to talk broadly about options and get to know us. He sent over some templates based on what he thought we were looking for. We tailored our ceremony the way we wanted it, sent him a word doc, and he delivered. I was actually a little nervous a couple of days before about remembering where to stand, where to face, what to say, etc. We had a call with him a few days before and he said "I will tell you where to stand, when to move, and what to say." That made me feel SO much better. My husband is a wedding DJ and has worked w/Jeff and several different weddings, and no matter the couple's background or culture, he navigates seamlessly and delivers a meaningful, professional ceremony officiant job performance.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brad
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Jeff did an excellent job at my wedding and I have seen a few hundred officiants in my lifetime which is unusual for a groom except I DJ weddings in the DC area and happened to have worked with Jeff a coupel times. So not only was I a customer but have worked along side. His templates made it very easy for my now wife and I to plan out our ceremony. Highly reccommend.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nerisa
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
Jeff is an exceptional Officiant. We chose him because of he had lived in London, UK and my groom is British. He understood how to fuse different cultures and was very kind in providing us with guidance on ceremony formats and was open to me creating a completely bespoke ceremony. He was very flexible as we are living overseas and was happy to correspond by phone and email. Also, he has great connections with other vendors in the area and helped us find our wedding planners. On the day of the wedding, he was calm and despite the scorching heat was able to deliver a slick and very beautiful ceremony. I highly recommend Jeff to any discerning bride looking for a truly personal service.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
5 stars across the board. Jeff knows weddings and he was a wonderful blessing. I am so glad we found an officiant who was everything but stuffy and boring! Professional, great price, very accommodating. You won't regret using Jeff!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Jeff was a great officiant to have. We also did the premarital counseling with him. We felt very comfortable and relaxed having him officiate our wedding. He was always punctual and on time to all of our meetings. Jeff was knowledgable and gave us very helpful advice and tidbits that we may have overlooked during our wedding planning. All of our guests enjoyed his antics and warm personality.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Jeff was a pleasure to work with. From the first day we met him, we were impressed by his vast array of knowledge as well as his great sense of humor and fun spirit.

Through planning and having our ceremony, Jeff was extremely helpful and professional. He was always there to answer questions, and just made life easy.

On wedding day, Jeff was perfect. I have received MANY compliments and request for referrals since that day. Jeff was punctual, organized, a great leader for our wedding party, and a fun and caring addition to our day. Perfect!

I would highly reccommend Jeff Maszal for any services he may provide for you, especially weddings.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ellen
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
Jeff conducted my daughter's wedding the day after perhaps the worst storm I've ever seen. He was not only professional and had a sense of humor at the rehearsal, but was had a sense of "getting down the business" so that the whole wedding party knew what they had to do. Before the actual ceremony, Jeff made sure that everything we needed was taken care of (programs down to be distributed, bubbles passed out, marriage license signed and official, bride and groom okay), and we had every confidence that the wedding would run smoothly. He was able to conduct a lovely, meaningful ceremony that combined both Christian and Jewish traditions. The ceremony was perfectly timed so that none of us had to worry about what to do and when to do it.
I would highly recommend Jeff. The wedding was perfect!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Jeff was great! All of the little things he did through out the ceremony were very helpful. For instance, despite having the rehearsal the day before, he would quietly let us know what was coming next so it wasn't this guessing game as your mind does wander while you're up there! He also made sure that we were relaxed leading up to the ceremony and took charge when he needed to in order to alleviate some of the pressure off of us (sometimes you just need someone to make an executive decision on how the procession will go, especially when curve balls are thrown into the mix on the day of). He also had great ideas on different types of "modern" ceremonies; we decided on a wine box ceremony. We never would have come up with that if Jeff hadn't mentioned it in our meeting. He does also offer couples counselling, however, he did not try to force us to take the class like some other officiants we met with did. All around, Jeff is great and brings a little extra to the ceremony than most others I have been to.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Terri
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Jeff was wonderful. Our daughter and her husband wrote their vows and, with Jeff's help, created a unique and memorable ceremony. He is extremely friendly and outgoing, having visited with family members to introduce himself prior to the ceremony, and made everyone feel as though they played an important part. I should note that the actual ceremony was on June 9. Event Wire requires the same event date on all of your reviews, (and I have already entered reviews for the reception on 6/23) so I had to "fudge" the date in order for this review to post).
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
6/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Jeff is wonderful! We did both pre-marital counseling with him and had him officiate our wedding. I can't recommend him highly enough!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Jeff did amazing job at our wedding, I would strongly recomend him to every bride
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bridget
Wedding:
5/14/2012
5.0/5.0
He is a wonderful officiant and I recommend him most highly. For example,
-when he met with us early in our decision process he spent time chatting with us, discussing our preferences, in a friendly and professional manner;
-since my husband was raised in a range of Christian faiths, & I was raised Catholic & Jewish, & yet neither of us is quite observant now, he helped us find a way to incorporate our religious backgrounds, but without making it into anything beyond our comfort zone;
-he found a way to incorporate my mother-in-law, our sole surviving parent, into our ceremony;
-he sent us sample ceremonies via email in advance, & offered to have us change it as we preferred
-he is always quick to respond to emails, and always punctual-a big relief for a bride
-and in a funny, but helpful twist, when we did not have a 'glass' for the traditional glass-breaking-for our jewish element of our ceremony, he provided a helpful solution, a quick save, which was much appreciated;
Again, my husband and I recommend him most highly, for his helpful ways and friendly and professional demeanor.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
akgurski
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Jeff was amazing from start to finish of the wedding process. He helped us to create an absolutely beautiful ceremony from scratch. The result was a wedding with a perfect combination of humor and seriousness that truly matched our personalities. He knew the right questions to figure out all important expectations of family and religion and what we wanted our ceremony to feel like. Many guests approached me during the reception to tell me that our ceremony was one of the best they had ever seen! I cannot recommend Jeff Maszal enough to perform your wedding ceremony!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
daniellepavlansky
Wedding:
4/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Jeff was an incredible officiant - from the first meeting we had with him nine months prior to our wedding through our wedding day. He was extremely helpful in planning our ceremony. He was very responsive to emails and any questions that we had throughout the planning process. Jeff also helped to make our rehearsal go perfectly. His humor and direction were both very welcomed! On our actual wedding day, he was incredible. Jeff calmed our nerves and when a group of our friends arrived late (due to the bus we had chartered), he seamlessly welcomed them in. I cannot thank him enough or recommend him enough for how incredible he made our ceremony. Jeff was a pleasure to work with from start to finish and we feel so blessed that he was our officiant.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lstrader
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Jeff was great! The ceremony was exactly what we wanted! Jeff spoke clearly and at the perfect pace. Would recommend him to anyone!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
C
Wedding:
2/24/2012
5.0/5.0
It was a pleasure working with Jeff as we planned our wedding. He was professional, responded to e-mails instantly, and always made himself available. My fiancé and I had something very specific in mind for our wedding ceremony. From the beginning, Jeff was flexible and able to accommodate us. He wanted to make sure that whatever we had envisioned would happen on our wedding day. The wedding ceremony was great; we were able to incorporate everything we wanted and had the perfect day.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
1/20/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I could have not have chosen a better officiant for our wedding. Jeff was very flexible with our hectic schedules during the planning process and would always make himself available when we needed him. His wonderful personality made our ceremony enjoyable and smooth. He adjusted the ceremony outline several times to accommodate our wishes and customs. We would 100% recommend Jeff to family and friends.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lizpineda
Wedding:
1/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Reverend Jeff just officiated over our wedding on January 14. While my husband and I are both uber organized, putting this wedding together was anything but, and Jeff completely rolled with the process and made everything magically come together. Most importantly though, he was able to incorporate exactly what we wanted into the ceremony - as if he had known us for years. In fact guests were shocked when they found out we had just met Jeff - they had the impression we went way back. As all weddings are, there was very deep meaning in this celebration and Jeff not only respected personal elements we wanted to include but did so in an elegant AND humorous way. Guests loved him. Lastly, we incorporated Filipino marriage traditions (for my husband's mom), Buddhist blessings (for my husband and me), and readings from the Bible (for all of us) - Jeff didn't flinch when we brought up our wishes to incorporate these disparate pieces and honestly just brought it all together. He was awesome all around and we feel so fortunate that he officiated over our wedding!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sharon
Wedding:
11/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Jeff is a dream come true. He is extremely easy to work with and provides several ceremony templates (e.g., Christian, secular, etc.) and suggestions for vows and readings to use if you need them. We needed them. The week before our wedding was chaotic, and being the procrastinator I am, I didn’t get our ceremony content to him until the night before or the morning of our wedding, I can’t remember which. He had two other weddings before ours and still performed ours seamlessly. We were very impressed and grateful. He’s very low key and relaxed, and also provided advice that was very helpful. I can’t imagine a better officiant.
Services Used: Officiant
Bg14
Susan
Wedding:
10/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Jeff was the best officiant for us. It was hard for my husband and I to look for a pastor to be our marriage counselor and the officiant at our wedding. We wanted to have a good feeling about this person and we felt that way when we met Jeff. We initially met Jeff in January and spent the next nine months together. He helped my husband and I get through a lot and truly learn a lot about ourselves. On the big day, he did a great job of helping us through the ceremony. I would recommend Jeff to anyone looking for the best officiant in the DC area.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth
Wedding:
10/9/2011
5.0/5.0
Jeff was amazing! We are so happy we stumbled upon him. He helped us make the perfect the ceremony unique and the way we wanted it. When things might not have gone perfectly, he was there to help us and make a joke. It made it such a fun but serious ceremony. It was absolutely perfect. I was sad he didn't join in with the reception fun but I'm glad to say he checks in on us every once in awhile. It's nice to know there are still nice and personable people out there. Genuine people like Jeff are rare.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
David
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Jeff is amazing. We could not have asked for more for the ceremony he prepared along with the premarital counseling. Wasn't sure where to start with a minister for the wedding so went to wedding wire and found Jeff. Could not be more pleased and grateful. I highly recommend him.

The Groom
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1330013697811-baker106
Sarah
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Jeff was fantastic! The combination of an officiant and a pre-marital counselor was an excellent way to ensure Jeff knew more about us while also strengthening our relationship and increasing our communication. The pre-marital counseling sessions were helpful, especially around the time we moved in together - it gave us a chance to discuss issues with a "moderator" and helped us both see the other person's point of view.

As an officiant, Jeff is extremely versitile. After our pre-marital counseling sessions, Jeff created a draft ceremony based on what he thought we might like (it was spot on!) and gave us the chance to tweak it to our liking. He brought humor to the rehearsal and included several important tips to ensure that the ceremony went smoothly. He has a clear and commanding voice that demands attention from the guests. After our ceremony, all the guests raved about how great Jeff was. I highly recommend Jeff - he made our ceremony perfect, and has given us the necessary tools to start off our marriage right.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Where do we start?! From the moment we first met Jeff, he was unbelievable! We didn't want the traditional stuffy ceremony, but we also didn't want something that our guests would not be able to relate to. Jeff made the ceremony perfect for us. He was serious when he needed to be, but added laughter and warmth to our ceremony in a way we could never have imagined. It's not often people remember or talk about the actual wedding ceremony, but anytime anyone talks to us about the wedding they always bring up Jeff. Thank you for giving us an unforgettable ceremony!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
April
Wedding:
9/30/2011
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough good things about Jeff. We had back-to-back Hindu and Christian ceremonies at our wedding. Jeff officiated the Christian ceremony, although he also has experience officiating Hindu weddings. Many of our guests had never attended a Christian ceremony and they raved about Jeff afterwards. He performed a short but meaningful ceremony. He was kind, funny and very professional. I highly recommend him as a wedding officiant.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Newhusband11
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Jeff was the Officiant for our September 17 wedding and we could not have asked for anyone better. First, we met him and right away knew he was the one we wanted. We were completely comfortable with him and were able to laugh and joke with him. He gave us many different scripts and templates to choose from so we just mixed and matched and we were able to make it personal and change some of the wording. On the day of he was amazing in helping us through the ceremony, as we were a little nervous, and he plugged some humor in the ceremony knowing we would appreciate it as we love to laugh. Would highly recommend Jeff!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jnicely1
Wedding:
9/15/2011
5.0/5.0
Jeff was the ideal officiant. He helped us craft a wedding ceremony that truly reflected our style and incorporated a tradition that isn't well known (the wine box). He has a style that put everyone at the wedding at ease while maintaining a professional demeanor.

Jeff has a great personality, a commanding and clear voice, and is able to deal with last minute (weather) changes like a champ.

As a pre-marital counselor (another service Jeff provides), he was terrific. His questions, observations, and remarks helped us focus on areas we were weak in and didn't realize. We feel that our counseling sessions were money and time well spent.

We were incredibly happy and pleased to have had Jeff as our officiant and pre-marital counselor.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
I am so glad we found Jeff right here on wedding wire. The optional pre-martial counseling really gave us a chance to get to know Jeff and him to get to know us. We immediately liked Jeff's suggestions, endless options for readings and ceremony set ups the minute we met him. We personalized our ceremony in a way that I am sure only Jeff could have facilitated. I am happy to say that Jeff exceeded our expectations. We have recommended him to all our engaged friends and they are happy as well. I am glad to say that Jeff was not only our officiant, he made my favorite part of my day perfect. Jeff was more than an officiant he has also become a friend!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Clarissa
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Jeff was fantastic. He met us at a location that was convenient to us, he answered all of our questions and helped guide us through the wedding process without any pressure towards any denomination or tradition. He was timely, efficient, effective, kind, helpful (gave the groom a handkerchief when the bride came out), and funny. We received nothing but compliments on how lovely our ceremony was and we know we owe a lot of that to Jeff.

We would absolutely recommend Jeff for your wedding, book him now!
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1315330048977-photo
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Jeff was amazing. When I began looking for officiants, my biggest pre-req was that they allowed us to put ourselves in the ceremony. We were not looking for traditional church wedding. We got married outside, with my son at our side, and we needed someone who we instantly felt comfortable with who was willing to hear our feedback and include us in the process. Jeff made us feel like we were the only wedding he was planning. He is quick to return emails, he held my hand thru designing our wedding ceremony to fit our family. It was beautiful. I am still getting cards and notes saying how beautiful and how "us" our ceremony was. He was more than willing to go ourside the box for us to include our son in every step, to hold a Celtic handfasting ceremony, to include a sand ceremony, and to make my son feel like he was truely part of the wedding. I can't thank him enough for the love, attention and support he gave us through the planing process and during our beautiful ceremony!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
We met with Jeff several months before the wedding, and he was very interested in getting to know us to be able to tailor our ceremony to our personalities and such. He has beautiful verses from which to choose and offers the otion to choose from pre-written vows or to write our own (we wrote our own, not because the ones he offered weren't lovely, we just wanted to write our own). Being that I am half Irish and since we were going to honeymoon in Ireland, he suggested doing Irish hand fastening as part of the ceremony, which was perfect. He has such a calming nature about him, and he know just when to add little touches of humor.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sun1421
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
Jeff was wonderful in officiating our ceremony. The ceremony was beautiful, touching, and sincere. We receieved so many comments afterwards on the details of the ceremony. Jeff was also extremely accomodating to my various needs, and was there to calm me down on the big day. Jeff was very thoughtful and kind with a wonderful personality. Thank you Jeff for making our day so special!
Services Used: Officiant
Bg8
Jana
Wedding:
7/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Jeff was really great to work with! After meeting with another minister who said he would do non-demoninational ceremonies but pushed for a religous ceremony when we met with with, we met with Jeff and knew right away that he'd be great for the kind of ceremony we wanted. He sent me lots of different ceremony options and let us build our own ceremony, then offered his own suggestions a couple of weeks before the wedding. On the day of the wedding, he put us and everyone in the wedding at ease and even did a run-through with everyone else so that everyone felt comfortable with where they were going. He has a great sense of humor, is very responsive, and is very open to different ideas.
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1302266948474-dsc0006
Lindsay
Wedding:
6/18/2011
5.0/5.0
Jeff is the best!! He is a real pro and gave us a beautiful ceremony. During our initial meeting he really made an effort to get to know who we are and learn what type of ceremony we were looking for. I also made the goof of a lifetime and told Jeff the wrong time to show up (30 minutes later than the time on the invites) and realized my mistake about a week before the big day. Jeff was completely understanding and the ceremony went off without a hitch. Thanks Jeff!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kevin
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Reverend Jeff officiated our interfaith (Hindu/Christian) wedding. He met with us prior to the ceremony to discuss our plans and our backgrounds, and was constantly in touch with us leading up to the wedding day to help us develop a ceremony that reflected both of our faith traditions. He was very flexible on our wedding day and even brought handkerchiefs for us to wipe our tears while we were saying our vows. He helped us have a beautiful ceremony that was just what we were looking for.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dianne
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
Jeff was terrific to work with - incredibly responsive and would get back to us within they day of an inquiry. He helped us at our first meeting by providing great outlines and ceremony options. From there we tweaked to customize and personalize. He provided good feedback and great suggestions. He was very familiar with our wedding site and worked seamlessly with the wedding site manager to remove a lot of logistical questions for me to deal with. Guests complimented us on our lovely ceremony and Jeff spent a nice amount of time after chatting with our family and friends. We'd highly recommend him for other couples.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
Jeff did a beautiful job at our ceremony... it was flawless, moving, and all of my guests mentioned how memorable the ceremony was. Jeff gave us tons of suggestions and advice about creating a ceremony that would represent us. We were lucky to have him!
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1282160990175-newyears20070452
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Jeff preformed our ceremony a few weekends ago, and was wonderful. He allowed us to personalize our ceremony, and really make it ours. We wanted a "civil ceremony", neither of us are religious, and Jeff's suggestions were exactly what we needed.
He arrived on time to both the rehearsal and the ceremony, was assertive enough to corral all of our family members and friends during the rehearsal, which is not a small task.
I would recommend Jeff to any couple who is really looking to make the ceremony their own. Thank you Jeff!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shruti
Wedding:
3/26/2011
5.0/5.0
Reverend Maszal was amazing. We had a complex ceremony that involved the blending of two cultures. Reverend Maszal was really helpful in mapping out the ceremony with us. We were able to blend my family's Indian traditions with the traditions of my husband's family. Reverend Maszal made sure we were all very comfortable with ceremony and on the day of wedding really took charge in making sure everything was as it should be for the ceremony. We can't thank him enough for making our special day so wonderful!!
Services Used: Officiant
Bg14
Glaubman
Wedding:
3/20/2011
5.0/5.0
Jeff was the BEST!! The most talked about portion of our wedding was the ceremony and how well it was officiated. If you want one less item to stress about - I would highly recommend Jeff's services.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meredith
Wedding:
1/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Jeff was absolutely fantastic when it came to every aspect of our wedding ceremony. We knew from the moment that we met him that he was perfect for us, he is a genuinely friendly person who made us feel incredibly comfortable throughout the process. Jeff was very knowledgable and offered us a huge variety of options and advice for our ceremony, from very traditional all the way to a Buddhist ceremony! He offered so much insight and help while I was designing our ceremony, I don't know that I could have done it without him. At the rehearsal, he was indispensible. He really made us feel that we were ready to go on with this show, giving us answers to questions we hadn't even asked or considered (how to put the ring on smoothly, etc) and keeping everything upbeat and FUN. Every single person in our familes/bridal party absolutely adored him. Jeff executed our ceremony on the day of so beautifully, creating a strong presence but never overshadowing us. I definitely reccommend working with Jeff and am so very thankful that we found him, he was perfect for us!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
12/31/2010
5.0/5.0
Jeff was an absolute pleasure to work with. We felt comfortable within minutes of meeting him and knew that he would provide an unforgettable ceremony. Jeff provided many examples of different wedding ceremonies and then worked with us to create the most perfect ceremony to fit our style. During the actual ceremony, he combined humor and wit with sincerity and compassion. We would recommend him to all other couples without hesitation!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs.Smith
Wedding:
11/6/2010
5.0/5.0
We can't say enough good things about Jeff! During our initial meeting, he really took the time to get to know us, and our story, and seemed genuinely interested. He kept in constant contact with us in the months leading up to the wedding, and worked with us to create a unique, beautiful ceremony. He is a wonderful speaker, and as a result, our ceremony was perfect. We got so many compliments from guests on the ceremony.....both because it wasn't so long that they started to fall asleep, and because it was like no other ceremony they had ever heard.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anastasia
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Jeff was a very caring man. From the first e-mail to our first phone conversation to finally meeting him the day of my big event he was very sweet, kind, caring and making my day special was very important to him. We have a private outdoor wedding at my parents house and he was able to do it on our special date of 10-10-10 at 10:10am. We even used him again in April with the Christening of our little girl. He made all of the nerves and emotions go away because he made us very comfortable.

I would recommend him to anyone. He will make your special day very important and meaningful.

Thank you Jeff.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sarahinthecity
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
We are so lucky to have found Jeff. Officiants can be a little odd, so we were struggling. But Jeff was so friendly and open to our ideas, that we knew we would hire him as soon as we left our first meeting. He is a very cool guy and has lots of experience.

He provided us with templates to pick and choose from wedding traditions, blessings, reading, vows, etc. But he was also happy to incorporate our ideas into the ceremony. He is also is very quick to respond to emails which is great.

I wasn't up there, but I heard he was cracking jokes and keeping the guest entertained while the bridal party took a little extra time to get to the ceremony. Everyone loved him and they loved our ceremony.

Jeff is great and we highly recommend him!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Jeff was very professional and open to all my ideas. You can tell he is experienced and expert on what he does. Our families were moved during our ceremony and it is because of Jeff. If you come across his site, look no further, Jeff is the person for you and make your wedding day memorable!
Services Used: Officiant
Bg2
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Jeff was wonderful to work with. My husband and I were a little intimidated at first to meet with an officiant to go over things since this, of course, was our first time and also since we are Buddhists. Jeff made us feel very comfortable. He was very genuine and listened to our needs and took very good notes. Jeff is extremely experienced. He knew exactly what questions to ask and brought things up that my husband and I would never have even thought of. He was a true professional. He respected our Buddhist faith and made awesome recommendations. Although he made recommendations, we ultimately made the decision on what we wanted. He also conducted our rehearsal, which is for an additional cost, but totally should be booked. We were nervous enough on our wedding day, by rehearsing, it was one less thing to worry about. I can't say enough how wonderful the ceremony turned out. It was the exact length we wanted, conveyed the exact message we wanted and touched everyone in such a special way. I highly recommend Jeff. The price is a little higher than other officiants, but believe us when we say it is absolutely worth it. You will not be disappointed one bit.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
A.Dicken
Wedding:
9/3/2010
5.0/5.0
I can't recommend Jeff enough. From the first time we met him, he provided us with fantastic advice on our ceremony, was professional, humorous and personable that we immediately knew he was perfect for us. Both my husband and I were so grateful that we found the right person. Neither one of us are from this area and couldn't afford to fly my minister in. We wanted the same personable and meaningful ceremony though. I had looked for nearly two weeks about 1-3 hours a day to find the perfect officiant that could accomodate both my husband and my views as well as give us a ceremony instantly meaningful, personable and memorable. Tall order to achieve for a discerning bride, but Jeff was absolutely fantastic every step of the way. I'll never forget how he discretely slipped me a handkerchief mid-ceremony (I didn't have one since I was convinced I wouldn't need it) and my husband forgot his. If you've been searching for an officiant - Jeff should be on your short list for interviews.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Roxana
Wedding:
8/28/2010
5.0/5.0
Jeff is professional and has a lot of experience so if anything doesn't go as planned, he'll go with the flow and make things work. He's also very responsive. We met with him prior to hiring him and he also officiated our rehearsal. Jeff provided us with various wording examples which we used along with other resources to put together our own wording. The ceremony was beautiful and we're very happy we hired Jeff. We definitely recommend him.
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1285019017788-img2149
The Getsons
Wedding:
8/15/2010
5.0/5.0
Jeff as great to work! He was very quick to answer questions we had leading up the wedding as well as ones we had on the wedding day. Jeff has a great sense of humor also that made us feel very comfortable with him and made our ceremony go smoothly. He was very flexible in working with us on our rehearsal day since our wedding was on a Sunday. His assistant that came out was fantastic and very organized and prepared us just as Jeff would have if he had been there. Jeff is very organized as well as well as professional about everything. He worked with us to create our own ceremony - we were able to add in or take out features of the traditional ceremony so we could make it our own. We were extremely happy with our ceremony and with Jeff. :)
Services Used: Officiant
Bg5
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Jeff performed a beautiful ceremony for us! Everything was absolutely perfect and far exceeded our expectations. His professionalism and ability to keep us in check/on track was greatly appreciated. We received lots of comments from our guests on how much they enjoyed it. Jeff was willing to work with us and incorporated all of our requests. He really made it feel like it was "our" ceremony.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alexandria
Wedding:
4/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Jeff was great to work with, he let us design our own ceremony from many different ones he had and pick and choose what we would like. He was very responsive to all communication and flexible. He was a wonder officiant and we would recommend him highly.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
Jeff was friendly and professional. He provided lots of ideas and was very receptive to our requests and interests when it came to how we wanted our ceremony to be. He provided several 'template' scripts which he encouraged us to edit as desired. I would absolutely recommend him to my friends. He can accommodate formal or laid-back weddings, spiritual or not, whatever. He was a warm and calming presence during my very big day!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
I was apprehensive to find our officiant online, but Jeff's reviews and website caught my eye. My husband and I are both religious but of different religious backgrounds and our main goal was to incorporate elements of our religions into our ceremony. From our initial meeting with Jeff we had the utmost confidence in him performing our wedding ceremony. The thing that stood out the most to us, was his knowledge about the different faiths and his ability to integrate our faiths into a personal, heartfelt, and spiritual ceremony. Jeff provided us with so many great suggestions to make our ceremony special; and our wedding ceremony is one of my favorite memories from our wedding. Our families and friends continue to complement us on how great a job he did; some have even asked for copies of our ceremony because they loved it so much.

Jeff is amazing to work with, he walked us through the process (marriage certificate, ceremony creation, etc); offering up guidance and support when appropriate. Jeff made our ceremony so memorable and fantastic, I cannot thank him enough for making our wedding perfect!!! I know it is scary to select the person who is going to marry you online but I highly recommend meeting with Jeff, he will instantly give you comfort in knowing your in good hands and he will conduct the ceremony of my dreams.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Annette
Wedding:
5/27/2012
4.9/5.0
Jeff was a fantastic officiant! He totally customized our wedding to fit our personalities. My husband and I loved our ceremony SO much - it wasn't generic (you couldn't just put X bride and Y groom in our places and make it work - it was completely our ceremony).

Jeff was very knowledgeable and professional. He gave us a ton of ideas to use and worked with us to create the perfect ceremony. Jeff was about average, maybe slightly higher than in price but totally worth it - he brought great advice and knew the logistics of our venue before we got there! Super helpful and took the pain out of planning!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rachelhp
Wedding:
4/1/2012
4.9/5.0
My husband and I were thrilled with Jeff. To be honest, we were a little concerned when we met him and were worried that he might be a little forgetful or not be as professional as we would hope. However, we couldn't have been any further off-base. He was absolutely fantastic and really charmed our guests--as well as the 200 tourists that gathered to observe our wedding at the Jefferson Memorial. :) It's really remarkable how many times we heard, "Your officiant was awesome"...not the first thing that people would usually comment on. :) His timing, appropriately-placed humor, and command of the crowd were impeccable. He was also completely flexible with our vows, allowing us to work from a template and edit/remove/add anything else we wanted. He was incredibly thoughtful, prompt, and became our hero of the day after working with the park rangers to secure the perfect location for our ceremony. We would absolutely recommend him.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Malarie
Wedding:
9/4/2011
4.9/5.0
My husband and I kept telling ourselves we didn't care about the ceremony - "it is just a formality to the celebration." We debated having a friend of ours ordained in order to save the money (officiants are more than we expected!) Well, we were wrong. Thanks in part to Jeff, the ceremony is the most incredible memory of our wedding. It was intimate and moving with the perfect touch of light-hearted commentary. Jeff makes a sincere effort to get to know you via several pre-wedding meetings. He provides great insight on ceremony content (particularly for mixed religion couples like us) and gave some excellent tips for ceremony logistics. We had no idea where to start, but Jeff's excellently organized templates really made it easy on us. I also loved the physical layout of the ceremony that he helped to design. We were married at the Carnegie Institute, and the circular setup made it SUCH an intimate occasion. I strongly recommend Jeff as an officiant - thanks for everything!
Services Used: Officiant
Bg5
Kelly
Wedding:
8/27/2011
4.9/5.0
My husband and I can't say enough great things about Jeff. We had a good feeling about him from the very first time that we met with him. He really made us feel comfortable and helped us to create a ceremony that was about us and what we wanted. He provided great example ceremonies, readings, poems, etc that made the planning so much easier.

Jeff also attended our rehearsal at my request, which helped me to stress a little less about the whole thing knowing everyone was on the same page. Jeff does require an additional fee for his attendance at the rehearsal. This bothered us a bit, but we understand that he is giving his time. And he did help to guide our bridal party through the rehearsal and ceremony and ensured that things went off without a hitch.

Several of our guests also commented on how great our officiant was. We would recommend him to others.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
10/19/2013
4.8/5.0
Jeff worked with us to do both our pre-marital counseling and as our officiant. Both my fiancé and I agreed that the pre-marital work was by far the best money we've spent on the wedding, as the program he used helped us constructively discuss topics in a way that will definitely help set the right foundation for a long-standing marriage. We're even thinking of maybe doing the touch base/upkeep meeting with him in a couple of years. For the ceremony, Jeff has also been incredibly flexible, helping my father to marry us and offering to meet us at unusual times or locations in order to help "make it official", including providing example ceremonies for my dad to work from.
Services Used: Officiant
Bg1
mrsmj
Wedding:
1/25/2013
4.8/5.0
Jeff was great! We were referred by our day of coordinators and we're really glad we listened. He was funny, offered many helpful suggestions, listened to our ideas, and helped us make a beautiful ceremony that was right for us. People came up to us after the ceremony and remarked that it was beautiful and moving and that he did a great job. We were very happy. Thank you!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
9/29/2012
4.8/5.0
We had such an amazing time on our wedding day and we have to thank Jeff Maszal for it. Our ceremony turned out exactly how we wanted - We both feel the ceremony was one of our favorite parts of the day which was a little unexpected. We received so many compliments on how well Jeff did and everyone enjoyed the wine box idea. We are so happy Jeff was part of our special day!!
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1275968752953-2891541118770492815674339992839360003600872n
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
Jeff has a great sense of humor and is professional. He has a vast knowledge of ceremonies and helped us customize our special day as well as work with our budget. We would recommend him.

Emily & Scott
9/12/10
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
9/7/2013
4.7/5.0
Jeff was an amazing officiant and our wedding just wouldn't have been as beautiful as it was without him. From the very beginning of planning Jeff was easy to contact and quick to respond to every email. We had never met Jeff before we set a meeting time, but right after our first meeting my then fiance and I both felt like we had known him for a long time. We laughed with him within minutes of meeting. He was able to provide many different templates and ideas to help us plan the ceremony. We are not religious at all and appreciated Jeff's flexibility in not including religious references into the wording.

In addition to the templates, Jeff let me find things that I liked and helped me weave them in. He really made an effort to get to know us and reflect that in his delivery of the ceremony.

One of the things that really sold us on Jeff and helped make everything easy was his knowledge of wedding timelines and detailed arrangements. He was able to tell us exactly what to do, in what order, and give us possible solutions when issues arrived. This was a HUGE help!

As for the ceremony, Jeff delivered it with a strong voice in a seamless manner. He wove humor and tears into just the right spots. He walked us through it and helped be the rock that kept me from completely balling in front of everyone (I'm a crier). We had MANY people tell us after the ceremony that it was one of the most beautiful and personal ceremonies they had ever heard and wanting to know what our officiants name was so they could recommend him to family members. I still have people bringing it up to me about just how meaningful and well delivered our ceremony was.

I just can't say enough how incredible Jeff was and I would recommend him to anyone looking for a highly qualified, organized, and personable officiant who will work WITH you to make your ceremony beautiful.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maria
Wedding:
9/17/2011
4.7/5.0
We hired Jeff as our officiant for our wedding and overall had a pretty good experience. We didn't even bother meeting with any other officiants after we met with Jeff since we really liked him and also liked his style. We were interested in a non-religious contemporary ceremony that was very personal and not canned at all. We liked his templates and chose one to customize ourselves. He was on time for our wedding and prepared. Our guests loved how personal our ceremony was and gave us lots of compliments. Our love letter and wine box ceremony was a big hit, which was a suggestion Jeff gave us since we weren't interested in a unity candle or anything like that. However, the one and only complaint is that during the ceremony, he called me (the bride) by the wrong name. At the time, I was pretty ticked about it, but he was apologetic of course. Fortunately now, my husband I can laugh about it and it makes for a funny wedding day story. Ironically, right before the ceremony, he was talking with the wedding party to help get everyone ready and providing humorous anecdotes about how couples have botched names during their own ceremonies... Well, at least we can say that of the three people who do all the speaking during a ceremony (officiant, bride, groom), that if anyone is going to screw up a name, the officiant is the best person to do it. Anyway, it's a funny story now and we still enjoyed working with Jeff. His ceremonies really are unique, personal, and very tailored to your needs/wants.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.2/5.0
He's a humorous type that got the job done. Though timing arrivals with each important member of your family can be tricky and oftentimes confusing and flawed, Jeff kept a very calm and collected nature about it all on the day of and it helped me stay calm.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
4/27/2013
4.1/5.0
Rev. Maszal was good but he was a little cocky and wanted to run the show and kind of took that thunder away from my DOC at the rehearsal. I felt that he didn’t really want to work with her and he basically stole the show. I don’t remember much of the ceremony, but I know he has great communication because he’d always reply promptly with emails and he showed up right on time. I was a little miffed at what he said to my DOC and her assistant at our rehearsal. He walked up to my DOC’s assistant and said, “I know the difference between Arabs and Persians.” Ok, not necessary. And then, he mentioned to my DOC that he had a wedding to do right before mine and that it wouldn’t be terrible if he were a little late to my wedding because it’s “an Asian wedding, and they never start on time.” Obviously, I didn’t hear this myself so I can’t say that he did in fact say this, but if he did, then that’s just all sorts of wrong.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alyson
Wedding:
7/3/2011
3.9/5.0
The first time my (now) husband and I met Jeff, we hit it off and ended up talking for over an hour! Jeff is very experienced and provided us with a lot of suggestions and different ceremony outline examples. However, he was just okay when it came to the actual wedding. He was somewhat bossy and his jokes fell flat (sorry, Jeff!).
Services Used: Officiant

MAP

 
Alexandria, VA 22301 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Wedding Ceremonies by Jeff
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo