130x130_sq_1398977624574-robert-bullock

Weddings 826

Chicago , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

826 W Armitage
Chicago, IL US 60614 (map)

PHONE

773-529-8871

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Since 2002, we have specialized in offering beautiful off-the-rack bridal gowns and have continued to source a diverse array of bridal accessories. Weddings 826 is a unique bridal shop,... Read more
Since 2002, we have specialized in offering beautiful off-the-rack bridal gowns and have continued to source a diverse array of bridal accessories. Weddings 826 is a unique bridal shop, as we not only offer our dresses off-the-rack at a discount, we also offer the option of custom ordering a new dress when a different size or color is desired. Read less
Dress & Attire

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1398975095710-dress
130x130_sq_1398975146005-brid
130x130_sq_1398975128602-robert-bulloc
130x130_sq_1398975138012-accessorie
130x130_sq_1398975157524-jennwinterjphotograph
130x130_sq_1398975169935-dres
130x130_sq_1398975193097-log

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Bride
What accessories do you provide?
Garters, Hair Accessories, Jewelry, Shoes, Veils
Does a client need to schedule an appointment? How do the client appointments work?
Yes. Appointments with a style consultant last an hour.
What is the typical turn-around time for a dress?
An off-the-rack gown can be taken home the day of an appointment. Custom ordered gowns take 4 to 6 months to arrive.
Do you carry new or once worn gowns?
We carry sample dresses and offer custom ordered gowns.
How often do you receive new dresses?
Regularly.
Do you have a seamstress onsite?
Yes.
In addition to wedding dresses, what other products do you sell?
Accessories: Bridal jewelry, veils, shoes, garters

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carol and James
Wedding:
10/11/2014
5.0/5.0
Of all of my dress appointments, Weddings 826 was by far the best overall experience! My consultant Rachel was amazing! She listened to what I wanted and knows her stock very well. She was helpful, patient and knowledgeable. Amazing place to find your dress!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
RANDI
Wedding:
9/6/2014
5.0/5.0
I was referred here by two of my coworkers who also bought their dresses here. Wonderful experience from start to finish! Decent selection of dresses at a reasonable price. Scarlet was my consultant and could not have been nicer or more professional. The owner is very hands on and professional as well. I also purchased my veil and earrings here at their big sale in December. I ordered my dress and it arrived early within FIVE weeks!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Weddings 826 responded with the following comments:

Hi Randi,

You are too sweet! Thank you for the kind words and support of you and your friends. Brides like you ladies, are what makes us love our jobs and so successful! We look forward to helping you fit and accessorize your dress perfectly for your upcoming wedding! :)

Best Wishes,
Suzi, Scarlet and the girls at WEDDINGS 826
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gina
Wedding:
8/31/2014
5.0/5.0
They were so helpful and very reasonable!! I had so much fun there!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
12/30/2013
5.0/5.0
I had 1 day to find a wedding dress. Rachel at Weddings 826 was amazing. She made me feel beautiful and helped with accessories. Within an hour I found the perfect wedding dress and was able to take it with me that day. Weddings 826 was a life saver!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eliza
Wedding:
12/28/2013
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough great things about this shop--having been to a few other big stores that felt less personal and very rushed, this place was a breath of fresh air. For your appointment, you get the whole showroom to yourself, which was so nice and very fun. The champagne didn't hurt either! I bought my dress here on the spot and am so glad I did. The tailoring department (upstairs) is also wonderful and did such a great job getting the perfect fit. My mom even ended up having her dress altered there with me. A very pleasant experience, great staff, and beautiful dresses!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Amazing! I couldn't have done it without them. After deciding 3 weeks before my wedding that I hated my dress, Weddings 826 squeezed me in, helped me find the most perfect dress off the rack and Maggie was able to alter in 2 weeks! I got so many compliments on my dress and I couldn't have been happier. The staff at Weddings 826 was so sweet and accommodating. Love them and would recommend to any bride!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cahryn
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
As a disclaimer, I had already purchased my wedding dress prior to visiting Weddings 826...

I've been all over this city looking for wedding accessories, specifically earrings, a birdcage veil, and a hair accessory. This place has a large supply of hair accessories and earrings, most at very reasonable prices compared to other bridal stores. They don't have as many birdcage veils, but the few they have were worth the visit. I ended up purchasing all 3 items I came in for and was happy to check those items off the list! The staff was welcoming and let me take my time trying everything on several times. Would definitely recommend coming in here for your bridal accessories!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
I purchased my dress and did my alterations at Weddings 826 and really loved my gown and my experience. The store is both classy and warm and inviting, and the service was excellent every time I visited. If your dress is available in store, you can purchase the sample at a small discount and take it home that day. I also bought a headband and a belt there at a double discount (one discount for buying my dress there, and one that they offer two months out of the year).

Rachel and the rest of the alterations team were super easy to work with, and were very knowledgable and communicative. I always left my appointments feeling like all of my questions had been answered and confident that they would do a great job. They scheduled an extra appointment for me to make sure the fit on my dress was perfect (it was) and told me I could call them on my wedding day if there was a dress emergency (there wasn't). The whole process with Weddings 826 was positive and stress free, and I highly recommend their services!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1359254389753-website2
Melissa
Wedding:
8/9/2013
5.0/5.0
I loved this bridal boutique! I found the perfect dress here and my experience was phenomenal. We were given a private room for the dress fitting and some champagne. My consultant was extremely friendly and helped me change from each dress very quickly. She did not rush us and she let me put on the dresses a second time if I wanted to compare. We were also allowed to take pictures of all of the dresses. The best part was that I bought the sample for 50% off! Every time I returned for a fitting I was given the same great customer service. We were always given a private room and champagne and we were never rushed. I was given four fittings to make sure that the dress was perfect, and it was! I would recommend this place to anyone!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I purchased my wedding dress at Weddings 826, and I highly recommend going there if you are shopping for a wedding dress! I only went to a couple different places, but I ended up back at Weddings 826 and I bought one of the first ones I tried on. I was able to buy it off the rack at a 25% discount. When I started shopping for dresses I thought this place would be expensive since it is located in the heart of Lincoln Park. I was totally wrong. They have dresses in a wide price range, it's very affordable as far as wedding dresses go.

Every sales person I worked with was accommodating and friendly, very easy to work with. The seamstress who does the alterations is incredible! They really make sure you are happy and that your dress is perfect for the big day--no matter how many times you need to come and try it on. I scheduled 4 fittings, but ended up trying it on 6 times as I lost some weight very close to my wedding date. They did not hesitate to do additional fittings. They did not charge any more than they initially estimated to take my dress in a couple more times. Excellent customer service. Plus, the place is so cute. It's like a cute little house, and they offer you champagne every time you go there...it's a nice touch even if I didn't always have some. If you are looking for a dress, definitely go to Weddings 826.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
I have been walking, biking and driving past Weddings 826 for years and always thought it was the cutest place ever. When you picture wedding dress shopping, for me, it was always someplace that looked like that. So when I was lucky enough to get engaged, I quickly made an appointment at this shop. My bridesmaid and I were greeted with bubbly, tea or water and taken to a huge room with dresses for days. We felt pampered and spent more than our fair share of time picking dresses, trying them on and generally enjoying ourselves. Sadly, I did not find "the dress" there. But when I did find "the dress" and it arrived much larger than I needed I knew just where to take it.

Maggie and her alteration team upstairs at Weddings 826 are a hidden gem. They are amazingly detailed, smart, fun and enjoyable to work with. And most importantly they took what looked like a potato sack on me and made it into the gown I knew it could be...if it actually touched me. :) They gave me extra fittings when my weight started dropping. They even begged me....should anything happen to the dress on the day of, call them!!! They can be anywhere in the city in 20 minutes with needle and thread in hand. I felt like I was in the hands of angels. They wanted nothing more than for me to be comfortable and beautiful on my big day. And thanks to all their hard work, I was beyond thrilled and felt amazing in my dress. I spent days looking for non-strapless dresses. Every girl I saw with a strapless wedding dress spent her day jacking it up when it fell down. Despite my efforts, I fell in love with a strapless dress. And Maggie made sure it didn't fall down even a smidgen. The prices for services were super reasonable, their attention to detail was amazing, and they got everything done on time perfectly with a smile. Could you really ask for anything more? Thank you Maggie & team. I'm going to miss our fittings but I really can't thank you enough for your magic needle and thread!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
My mom and I went to Weddings 826 in search of a wedding dress. It was a rainy spring afternoon in Chicago, and it was a PLEASURE walking into the store! They offered us some hot tea or champagne right away while our consultant pulled some dresses. Not only did I find the most amazing dress, but I was able to buy the sample dress (at a discount) and my alterations were perfect. They were very flexible in setting alteration appointments, and when my veil was accidentally thrown away (blame it on wedding stress)... they were able to order me a new one (at a discount) and I had it within 2 or 3 weeks. THANKS to Weddings 826 for such a fun afternoon wedding dress shopping with my mom, and for a great experience after the purchase of my dress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vicky
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Thank you weddings 826 for providing me with such a beautiful gown and sash. I received so many compliments! Everyone there was so easy to work with and they were very helpful. They made me feel like a princess on my wedding day and I couldn't have asked for a better place to find a wedding dress. Thank you so much!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Weddings 826 responded with the following comments:

Hi Vicky,

Thank you so very much for your kind review and appreciation! It was so wonderful helping you from finding the perfect gown and accessories to making it fit so wonderfully! I wish more brides were as toughtful and understanding as you! We look forward to seeing your photos...Feel free to stop in and show us pics and we will have the bubbly waiting ;)

Congratulations,
Suzi, Maggie and all the girls at Weddings 826
Default-vendor-profile-pic
heather
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
This place is a bride's dream. The decor is lovely and inciting, it is private, the staff is very friendly and professional, and the selection of gowns is wonderful. When you make an appointment, you have the whole place to yourself. You get your personal time with whoever you bring and it makes it very special. They offer you champagne and tea every time you visit. The gown prices can fit anyone's budget. I was lucky and bought my dress off the rack because it was in my exact size, which lowered the price of what it would have been if I had to order it immensely. I also had my alterations done here. The woman who does the alterations is very knowledgeable. She altered my dress perfectly and on time. I was worried that it wouldn't be done in time because she was pregnant and the baby was due a few weeks before my wedding, but the salon made all the arrangements and was very organized and prepared for her absence. I am telling everyone I know who gets engaged to go here.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
I got my beautiful wedding dress at Weddings 826. I was a little intimidated by the large bridal salons (a la Macy's, etc.), and my budget wasn't huge compared to some (around $1000), so found Weddings 826 on the internet and decided to try it. When I called to make an appointment, the woman asked my budget and assured me that they had dresses within it. When I arrived, there were a lot to choose from, many more than some of the other small boutiques I looked at. I wanted something unique and beautiful, and I found it! The dress was blush pink, and had a very unique folded pattern on one side of the dress with a more poufy gathered pattern on the other side. Very special, very different than I thought I would pick, but very beautiful! I can't say enough about the girls who work there. Kaitlyn helped me most of the time, she was super sweet and caring, helped me in and out of the dresses (even put up with my indecision and retrying on ones, and us taking pictures), helped me set up dress fittings to do alterations, and coordinated the whole thing. I did alterations in their attached seamstress shop upstairs, which I found reasonably priced (although I only got the train chopped off, as the dress fit quite well off the rack). One point is note is that they only carry certain sizes of dresses, so be sure to check with them before heading out for an appointment. It all went off without a hitch, they were flexible with me changing fitting times and pickup times, and they stored the dress throughout the entire process, and provided it cleaned and stuffed for pickup the day before the wedding. Everyone was great, and I got tons of compliments on my dress, so thanks Weddings 826!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1317164626915-n15390922953033707459597211
Dee
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Weddings 826 is by far my most favorite wedding vendor I used. I can't begin to rave enough how gorgeous this bridal boutique is. They have some of most beautiful dresses and accessories I have ever seen. Their selection is extensive, and a great place to go for your bridal dress if you want to order of buy off of the rack. I bought two wedding dresses here, my veil, and all of my accessories. They are a one stop shop with some of most unique items not found elsewhere. I am so happy I found this place. The owner, Suzi and their staff conduct themselves in the highest standard and are very professional. They were so accomadating with everything. I used them for alterations which I would highly reccomend doing because my dresses fit perfectly, and they went way above and beyond my expectations. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you so much for being super nice and so responsive to all of my requests. I just love you guys to pieces!

Dee
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Roshelle
Wedding:
8/17/2012
5.0/5.0
OH MY LIFE. I found Weddings826 on a whim- and I couldn't be happier! Suzi the owner is AMAZING. They book the entire studio for each bride and give you PLENTY of time to go through the selection and try on whatever you are looking for. She was the most friendly and respectful and wonderful person. She never forced an opinion, but rather complimented sincerely with her thoughts. She would add a suggestion without ever pushing a sale or purchase! My mother and I will ONLY recommend her to brides. The prices were AWESOME- she had a dress for every budget- and mine was under $1300! She gave me the shoulder piece for free to help me make my budget. She was SUCH a blessing to me!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Roshelle
Wedding:
8/17/2012
5.0/5.0
I just LOVED Suzi! She was the most lovely person- she was not pushy, not sales oriented, and was just a joy in aiding my mom and I in finding the perfect dress! I can't get over how awesome her little boutique is and how we had the whole entire space to ourselves for our 2 hour appointment. THe price we paid was ridiculously reasonable- especially since we were in Chicago!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
The girls at Weddings 826 were wonderful!! I actually bought my dress at Priscilla of Boston, which closed down shortly after I purchased it, and I had already made plans to get my (huge) dress altered there. I was at a loss as where to go for alterations. I am so glad I ended up going to Weddings 826!! Although it was a hike for me, those Saturday trips down to visit Maggie (who altered my dress), Suzi (the store owner) and the other girls was very well worth it. They did an outstanding job!! I still can't believe how perfect it all turned out -- they have incredible talent. They took a lot of care in ensuring I was fully satisfied and the dress fit to a tee. Definitely recommend!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Weddings 826 was a godsend. I had originally purchased my dress from Priscilla of Boston, about 3 months before they decided to send me an email that they were closing all of their stores. After a lot of negotiations I was able to get my money back and look for a new dress.

Enter Weddings 826 - the most charming little boutique on Armitage. I didn't even have an appointment and walked in to ask if I could just browse their selection to see if I wanted to make an appointment. That day I ended up finding my dress - I didn't buy it but I knew it was the one. One of the sales associates told me to try it on quickly before their next appointment arrived - it was stunning. I made an appointment for the following week and said goodbye to what would be my wedding gown.

Never once was I pressured to buy anything from the store, there were even times where I was deciding between two items that were polar opposites in price and the sales associate suggested the one that cost less.

I also had all of my alterations done by Weddings 826 and they went so perfect, the dress fit me like a glove. All of the alterations were finished on time and I was able to pickup my dress a week before the wedding to bring it to CT. I highly recommend Weddings 826 - the entire staff was a dream to work with.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
gymdive22
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
I bought my wedding dress at Weddings 826 and it was a great experience. We had our appointment in their back room, which is pretty small, but it's my own fault for waiting until just a few days before our shopping trip to make the appointment (their main room was all booked)! Their main room, which I used when I went back to try the dress on a second time before deciding on it, is much larger and has lots of light.

The whole shop is very cute. I think they primarily sell samples but some dresses are available to order... in fact the dress that I ended up getting was available to order in whatever size you want, but the sample happened to fit me, and was practically brand new and looked perfect, so I ended up buying that one at a 15% discount! Can't beat that. Our attendant, whose name I unfortunately can't remember, was really sweet and helpful.

I had my alterations done elsewhere so I can't rate that aspect, but overall I had a very pleasant experience with Weddings 826 and would definitely recommend that brides shop for their dress there. They seemed to have a wide selection of great designers.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1317925449819-3159591015030041603386960631386879266761081055716n1
LeeAnn
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
My FAVORITE part of the wedding experience by far was Wedding Dress shopping at Weddings 826!! My mom flew in to share the experience with me and upon meeting Katelyn, we were blown away! She taught me so much about wedding dresses (I had no idea there was so much to know). The first dress I tried on was a one of a kind (in a Size 6, I'm a little bigger than that) designed by Julie, a local Chicago designer. The next 2 dresses I liked were also by Julie. Since this was my first stop, I went to another 5-8 stores, but I couldn't stop thinking about the first dress and the experience at Weddings 826!! 2 Issues: I'm not a Size 6 and I kind of wanted a corset back. Katelyn was AMAZING!!! She & Julie came up with a plan to make my dream dress fit me & even make it into a corset back. After 2 fittings, my dream wedding dress was a reality. On my Wedding Day, I felt like a beautiful princess and I got so many compliments on my dress. Katelyn and Julie - I cannot thank you enough for everything you did to make the experience at Weddings 826 something I'll remember forever!!! The only thing that makes me a little sad is that I won't get to see you for fittings anymore. Thank you!! Thank you!! :)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deb
Wedding:
4/2/2011
5.0/5.0
I didn't realize how much I would not like trying on wedding dresses. They all started to look the same and nothing caught my eye. One of my bridesmaids and I went to this little boutique. We had some chocolate, champange and bang I found my dress. It was the last one I tried on. You have to make an appointment because it's a small place and they wait on you individually. You have access to everything by yourself. I needed my dress off the rack, so it worked out perfectly. It was a great experience.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adrienne
Wedding:
9/1/2007
5.0/5.0
My dress was absolutely beautiful! At weddings 826, you buy a dress and they will work with you to make whatever changes that you want, which is what I did, and ended up with a truly original dress of my dreams. The girls there are so wonderful and helpful, and go above and beyond what is expected to create a truly memorable experience. At the end, I felt like they were family. All in all, Weddings 826 provided me with the dress I had always dreamed of, and an experience in which I will cherish forever.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
606130214
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
I had a great experience with Weddings 826. I had a short engagement and did not have enough time to order a dress and wait six months. I found a great dress off-the-rack. My alterations appointments were timely and quick and I was very pleased with the end result. Additionally, I was looking for a sash to complete my look and they recommended I visit Soutache on Damen, where I was able to create a great sash at an affordable cost. Overall, I had a great experience, loved my dress, and would recommend stopping by Weddings 826 during your dress search!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg3
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
The ladies at Weddings 826 are amazing. Suzie and Maggie were great! They were so nice, knowledgeable, and really read people well. They knew me by name. I bought my dress and had all my alterations done there. They have a great selection. They were never pushy always had great advice and suggestions.They have a great jewlry and veil selection as well.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KristiW1
Wedding:
4/17/2010
5.0/5.0
A huge selection of wedding dresses is offered in a no-pressure environment. The staff is friendly and helpful. Definitely make an appointment, as there is only one fitting room. Highly recommended.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MPMCFC
Wedding:
10/17/2009
5.0/5.0
I went to several places in Chicago to look for my wedding dress. I wanted it to be perfect. My mother flew in from another state so we could have our little "mother/daughter bonding" time during this process. We went from one place to another and felt like we were in a constant "cattle call"...not exactly the experience we were hoping for. The last place on my list was recommended by a friend - WHY DID I NOT GO TO WEDDINGS 826 FIRST!?!!? We walked in to this beautiful, vintage feeling boutique and were greeted with warm, friendly smiles. We were offered a glass of champagne and a little chocolate and had the whole place to ourselves to look at their dresses and enjoy our time together. THIS WAS THE EXPERIENCE WE WERE LOOKING FOR! Not only did I find two dresses that were more beautiful than anything I found at the other places, but they were a MUCH more attractive price!! I picked one and bought it the next day. I had a few fittings and brought in a few friends and family with me for the experience - I had so much FUN every time I walked into this store - I got everything here: dress, veil (2 actually!), jewelery, something to cover my shoulders on the brisk fall day of my wedding...Suzy helped me pick it all out...her taste and expertise is seriously unmatched. I couldn't have done it without her!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
5/10/2008
5.0/5.0
Weddings 826 is such a cute place. Maggie helped us and made my whole experience wonderful. I'm so so glad that I bought my dress there, I wouldn't have gone anywhere else.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tim
Wedding:
5/10/2008
5.0/5.0
Ok...so I wasn't the bride but my wife was - and she was the most beautiful bride I have ever, and will ever see! The dress looked amazing (because she did)....

They did a good job so I've been told and had champagne and pampered my wife every time.

She looked amazing in that dress -
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brenda
Wedding:
12/31/2007
5.0/5.0
This store is an absolute must go!!! The service is the best, and the selection is extremely unique. Everywhere else I went told me that it would take anywhere from 6-12 months to just receive my dress. With this shop I was able to find a dress & have it altered within 3 months! Not to mention I got ALL of my accessories from them. They even have a 15% off discount for LIFE. I ended up going back there to buy my mom a birthday present. I am recommending this to every woman I know getting married.
Services Used: Dress & Attire, Jewelry, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katelyn
Wedding:
11/6/2010
5.0/5.0
I work in the bridal field myself and see many situations with brides. This place is such a breath of fresh air. I got my amazing gown from here as well as all my accessories and alterations. Everything turned out perfect! I would highly recommend coming here if your looking of for great dresses for a great price and for an amazing experience. :)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elle
Wedding:
10/5/2013
4.9/5.0
I would absolutely recommend weddings 826 to anyone that is getting married. The staff is amazing and actually picked out my dress for me based on my body type, and I absolutely love it! They make your fitting about you, and they are very honest with you. The prices are very reasonable for the dresses, because they are off the rack. If you are looking for a dress, you should absolutely head there.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
3/22/2014
4.8/5.0
Weddings 826 was only the second place I went to look at dresses - and I didn't have to look any farther! The staff listened to my dress preferences and brought in THE dress in the first batch. I was also able to negotiate the price a bit, which was much appreciated. They were very accommodating for me as I went through a cross-country move in between buying the dress and picking it up. Strongly recommend!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
heckman.may
Wedding:
9/26/2009
4.8/5.0
I was very happy with weddings 826. Trying on dresses there was fun, the owner, Suzi helped me for my entire appointment. When I bought my dress with them, they helped me find a swatch to match and were really helpful with questions. Their seamstress, Maggie, is just awesome, her work is impressive and she's super nice. And when I took my dress home, Suzi herself carried it out to the car for me. This is the place to go if you want personal and excellent service that you won't get at a chain bridal store.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicki
Wedding:
5/4/2013
4.8/5.0
Such a cute little boutique. i was nervous going to a place like this in the city for my first time shopping because they can be so expensive. They definitely had some reasonble options. They dont have a TON to choose from but they get new things in often. Great place, super nice girls!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cynthia
Wedding:
1/12/2013
4.7/5.0
Weddings 826 was the perfect boutique to find my daughter's wedding dress.
They bent over backwards to schedule us for an appointment on short notice.

There were many choices in a variety of price points and sales.

All of the staff was super.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
krysta
Wedding:
4/12/2014
4.7/5.0
I bought my dress here off the rack Nov 2013, 5 months prior to our wedding. I loved having the store to myself & my friends. I felt they had a good variety of dresses & reasonable prices for the size of the shop, plus the place is adorable. I did buy my dress here, & looked amazing after alterations, which I had done elsewhere. My only small complaint is they didn't offer champagne to all my friends. Great store in the heart of Lincoln Park.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NovemberBride
Wedding:
11/5/2011
4.6/5.0
I really loved working with Weddings 826. I was going to be about 15 minutes late to my first appointment at Weddings 826 and they still encouraged me to come in and try on a few dresses. When we came in they were quick to get some ideas from on what I was looking for and where my price range was at. They quickly pulled dresses that were all great options - the last one ended up being MY DRESS. Once we decided that it was my dress, they brought in champagne for us (mom, friend and myself) and helped us celebrate! I ended up doing my alterations and accessories from weddings 826 as well. Best part about the place is that it's so close to Lincoln park, so it was very convenient.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lvdesign
Wedding:
5/21/2010
4.4/5.0
Weddings 826 is the first bridal shop I went to with my mom. Owner Suzi helped us and was very friendly and helpful without being pushy. She made suggestions, but ultimately let me pick out dresses I wanted to try on (I ended up buying the dress she picked).

I wanted to avoid the chain bridal shops and shop local, so this Lincoln Park shop was perfect. They had a great selection of independent and well-known designer sample and new gowns in many price ranges. Sizes tend to run small on the sample gowns, though I believe they can order sizes on some gowns. The gowns are sold off-the-rack, a great option if your wedding is approaching. It was nice to take the dress home, instead of waiting for 6 months.

I tried on several dresses, but decided to look at a few other local shops before making my decision. I returned to Weddings 826 several times—finally making my decision on the fourth visit—but never felt any pressure from the sales staff. Overall, it was a fun, no-stress shopping experience. I ended up with a dress I loved and received many compliments on.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1323106728080-mg9031version2
Ursula
Wedding:
10/27/2012
4.4/5.0
I purchased my wedding dress at 826 after a friend referred me due to her wonderful experience. I also had a wonderful experience - as Suzie and her team were professional and absolutely sweet as could be. I adored working with them.

I had a ton of alterations done to my dress since after purchasing I realized I wanted the style to be a bit different. I think the alterations were VERY affordable considering how much I had done to the dress.

The ONLY reason I am giving them a less-than-perfect score is due to the fact that there was a large needle left in my dress after I picked it up to wear on my wedding day. I didn't notice it until halfway through pictures, when I tried to smooth my dress and pricked my finger. Due to the tons of layers on the dress, I could not located the edge of the needle in order to take it out, so throughout the night I kept pricking myself (especially while dancing!) The entire time I was worried about blood getting on my dress.

However, this could be avoided as brides should just check every aspect of your dress before putting it on. Otherwise a wonderful establishment!! Truly the nicest people out there.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
6/21/2014
4.2/5.0
My fitting experience was great - I found the perfect dress pretty quickly and I loved it! The prices were pretty reasonable here especially considering the quality of the dress.
I did my alterations here, and the alterations worked out great in the end. However, after my first fitting they did take the dress in too much, let it out not enough after the second fitting, and had to let it all back out to the original spot after the third fitting. This was stressful for me, because I hadn't gained any weight, but it is nerve-racking when your dress doesn't fit. The alterations were pretty expensive too. I did like that I got a phone call reminder the day before every single appointment. Overall it was a positive experience, though the alterations were stressful.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
11/10/2007
4.2/5.0
This shop is BY FAR the best place in the city to buy a wedding dress. Suzi, the owner, is a fashionista without pretense. Her staff, including De___ (I can't remember her unique name), are professional and exceptional listeners. After trying on four dresses, this remarkable woman picked up my dress and invited me to try it on, encouraging me with "it will do nice things on your shape". It was perfect. I felt like Ava Gardner, Marilyn Monroe, and Grace Kelly rolled into one.

Their selection of veils and jewelry are the best in the city but not cheap. Bring a mom or an aunt who get really caught up in the romance of it to help offset costs. My dress was a steal so I felt like I could indulge a little on accessories.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katherine
Wedding:
5/4/2013
3.9/5.0
I purchased my wedding dress at Weddings 826 for my recent May wedding, and my dress was altered there as well. The shopping and altering experiences were a bit different. From a shopping perspective, I HIGHLY recommend Weddings 826. They have a large selections of dresses and a great assortment of styles, and the dresses are beautiful!! You can get real bargains here because many of the dresses are directly from the manufacturer, which lowers the price but certainly not the beauty of the dress! If you're still shopping for a dress, go to Weddings 826 right now!

The alteration experience was not as fantastic. For one, I think that from the beginning my dress was the wrong size. When I bough it, the woman told me part of my body is a 4, part of it a 6, and part of it an 8. She said this was strange. Well, I am a petite person (though not super-skinny) of 5 foot two inches and 115 pounds, and CLEARLY I should have gotten the 6, even if I had to pay some extra to have it let out a bit, which would have been less that what I ended up putting into having this huge dress cut down to size. They recommended I get the 8 and that's what they ordered, without much discussion on the matter. From the beginning alterations were a challenge because the dress was made for somebody about 6 inches taller and generally larger than me. The alteration process had a few hiccups along the way, and in general I often felt rushed and confused. I strongly feel the alterations department is understaffed, because they have a large space and it seems this operation would really benefit from another alterations employee. The experience could have surely been much, much worse, and overall was pretty good, but it was not top-notch and was sometimes frustrating.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Corinne
Wedding:
10/5/2007
3.4/5.0
Weddings 826 is a darling dress shop. They have a great selection of dresses and I was able to find something that was one of a kind. I tried on a total of 6 dresses, my dress was number 2. They served us champagne and chocolate, it was a delightful experience. I do not recommend getting the alterations done by them, like I did. My dress was altered and came out to be a nightmare. I had to have a couture dress designer fix all of their mistakes. In the end the dress was perfect, but please do not make the same mistake I did.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Margot
Wedding:
12/31/2011
3.4/5.0
First let me say that I loved the dress and the shop itself. It was a great experience and I would shop their again. What caused me to give the shop lower scores is that I was not pleased with the seamstress at all. I believe her name was Maggie. If you purchase the dress at the shop, I would recommend taking it somewhere else to get fitted. I read the yelp reviews and thought Maggie would be fine, but looking back, I agree with all of them.

All in all, great shop, great dress, but not a great in house seamstress (and she charges a fortune for sub-par work).
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maria
Wedding:
12/29/2007
2.0/5.0
When my dress arrived at the hotel the night before the wedding the alterations had not been properly completed. I had to request that a family friend who is a seamstress come to the hotel the morning of the wedding (thankfully the wedding was in the evening) and finish the dress. The vendor did compensate me for the error, but it added a great deal of stress to my day.
Services Used: Dress & Attire

MAP

 
826 W Armitage, Chicago, IL 60614 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Weddings 826
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo