130x130_sq_1187847993796-weddvieqlogo

Weddings in Vieques

Vieques , PR
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

HC01 Box 8984, 61 Calle Ambar, Barrio Florida
Vieques, PR US 00765

PHONE

787-455-6222

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Weddings in Vieques is a full-service, destination wedding planning firm featuring unforgettable Caribbean weddings on the enchanted Vieques Island, Puerto Rico. Based on Vieques Island... Read more
Weddings in Vieques is a full-service, destination wedding planning firm featuring unforgettable Caribbean weddings on the enchanted Vieques Island, Puerto Rico. Based on Vieques Island and in Washington, DC, our professional planners are on-hand, in person to make sure that no little detail is missed while you plan the perfect destination wedding trip for you and your guests.



Planning a destination wedding doesn’t mean you can’t have the elegant wedding of your dreams for a reasonable price, but it takes a professional wedding planner from Weddings in Vieques to make sure all the little details have already been taken care of when you arrive in Vieques to get married. Weddings in Vieques will make your dreams come true for a beautiful Caribbean destination wedding or commitment ceremony, without stressing you out or costing you a fortune. Sandy Malone is an experienced wedding planner with years of event planning experience in Washington, DC and on Vieques Island.

Most couples think of “destination” weddings as cheesy, mass-produced affairs inside big-name, walled resorts where every bride has the same basic ceremony, flowers, cake and pictures. Your special day should be so much more than that! You deserve an individually-arranged, detail-oriented retreat – whether you wish to run away and elope, or bring 40 of your family and friends with you to witness your union. Weddings in Vieques will plan your intimate escape, or island-style gala event, specifically to your wishes.



Weddings in Vieques offers event planning services for weddings, anniversary parties, renewal of vows celebrations, and commitment ceremonies. We can help you arrange your travel, your rental cars, your accommodations, your ceremony, your marriage license details, and your honeymoon. We’ll coordinate your flowers, your cake, your photographer, and finding just the right hairdresser for you on your special day.

If your idea of an island wedding includes a group of your friends and family, Weddings in Vieques will help you arrange group discounts on travel and accommodations to get your guests to Vieques. And we’ll plan group trips to the bioluminescent bay and barbecues on the beach for your guests – we’ll take care of all the little details that will make your wedding the most memorable event your friends have ever attended.

Vieques Island, Puerto Rico is a 20 mile by 5 mile island, located 7 miles off the eastern tip of Puerto Rico. It is easily accessed by ferry or puddle-jumper airplane, and is widely-considered to be one of the most beautiful, unspoiled islands in the Caribbean. Featuring the brightest bioluminescent bay in the world, nearly deserted beaches, charming small hotels and bed and breakfasts, fantastic locally-owned restaurants, and wild horses, getting married on Vieques Island will take your wedding or special event to the next level of memorable. Read less
Wedding Planning

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1186027293625-copyofmisc.vol.2321
130x130_sq_1186027421921-dscf1891
130x130_sq_1186027457093-lynninthewater
130x130_sq_1234033367873-0041472-r01-025-11
130x130_sq_1234033383654-0041472-r01-065-31
130x130_sq_1234033518857-0041472-r01-067-32
130x130_sq_1234033561607-0041473-r01-019-8
130x130_sq_1234033632529-0041472-r01-073-35
130x130_sq_1234033747545-0041473-r01-053-25
130x130_sq_1234033758279-0041473-r01-073-35
130x130_sq_1234033985920-017_17
130x130_sq_1234034161279-img_0612
130x130_sq_1234034380748-img_0892
130x130_sq_1234034463998-img_0913
130x130_sq_1234034636545-img_0948
130x130_sq_1234034647357-img_0940
130x130_sq_1234034691420-img_0967
130x130_sq_1234034699904-img_0970
130x130_sq_1234034782857-p1010666
130x130_sq_1234034826545-p1010675
130x130_sq_1234034865139-p1011246
130x130_sq_1234034866139-p1010676
130x130_sq_1234034890998-p1011247
130x130_sq_1234040742936-0003055-r01-005-1
130x130_sq_1234040784139-0003055-r01-049-23
130x130_sq_1234040828795-0003055-r01-069-33
130x130_sq_1234040899592-0003055-r01-073-35
130x130_sq_1234041017561-0003505-r01-051-24
130x130_sq_1234041045545-0003505-r01-067-32
130x130_sq_1234041085045-0003505-r01-075-36
130x130_sq_1234041128170-0003506-r01-039-18
130x130_sq_1234041187920-0003506-r01-059-28
130x130_sq_1234041272201-0003507-r01-019-8
130x130_sq_1234041296654-0003507-r01-023-10
130x130_sq_1234041356936-0003508-r01-035-16
130x130_sq_1234041372264-0003508-r01-043-20
130x130_sq_1234041411842-0003508-r01-057-27
130x130_sq_1234041448592-0003509-r01-015-6
130x130_sq_1234041562873-0003509-r01-071-34
130x130_sq_1234041591404-0003510-r01-007-2
130x130_sq_1234041630123-0003510-r01-041-19
130x130_sq_1234041780170-0003510-r01-063-30
130x130_sq_1234041887998-0003510-r01-069-33
130x130_sq_1234041978186-0003511-r01-043-20
130x130_sq_1234042066326-0003511-r01-069-33
130x130_sq_1234042159045-0003513-r01-017-7
130x130_sq_1234042370623-0003515-r01-055-26
130x130_sq_1234042475920-0003519-r01-049-23
130x130_sq_1234042493732-0003520-r01-017-7
130x130_sq_1234042547326-0040239-r01-065-312
130x130_sq_1234042566373-0040241-r01-049-23
130x130_sq_1234042589061-0040241-r01-055-26
130x130_sq_1234042612670-0054773-r01-055-26
130x130_sq_1234042632201-0093056-r01-009-3
130x130_sq_1234042676451-0093056-r01-047-22
130x130_sq_1234042722795-0093056-r01-051-24
130x130_sq_1234042802014-0093057-r01-007-2
130x130_sq_1234042856717-0093057-r01-029-13
130x130_sq_1234042923029-0093057-r01-065-31
130x130_sq_1234042957279-0093057-r01-075-36
130x130_sq_1234042960045-0093058-r01-008-2a
130x130_sq_1234042994670-0093058-r01-022-9a
130x130_sq_1234043189998-0093060-r01-033-15
130x130_sq_1234043254920-0093060-r01-065-31
130x130_sq_1234043315186-0093060-r01-075-36
130x130_sq_1234043340295-0093061-r01-013-5
130x130_sq_1234043343311-0093061-r01-007-2
130x130_sq_1234043647326-0093063-r01-029-13
130x130_sq_1234043681326-0093063-r01-033-15
130x130_sq_1234043737686-0093158-r01-011-4
130x130_sq_1234043767123-0093158-r01-069-33
130x130_sq_1234043793404-0093158-r01-073-35
130x130_sq_1234043858936-p1011924
130x130_sq_1391024305039-epa118
130x130_sq_1391024448929-epa166
130x130_sq_1342585132886-carrieandjohnfromtheback
130x130_sq_1342590887258-danteandpatrick
130x130_sq_1356560987818-sunbay12
130x130_sq_1356561012642-sunbay17
130x130_sq_1356561042414-sunbay30
130x130_sq_1356561445847-8181208
130x130_sq_1384370212352-photo-
130x130_sq_1384370237433-photo-
130x130_sq_1384370267882-phot
130x130_sq_1384370288440-sherry-and-mike-ceremony-
130x130_sq_1386609201043-tracy-and-jeff-cake-tabl
130x130_sq_1386609225389-tracy-and-jeff-ceremon
130x130_sq_1386609306130-tracy-and-jeff-dinner-ten
130x130_sq_1386609581533-tracy-and-jeff-sandy-sending-tracy-down-the-aisl
130x130_sq_1386609666534-tracy-and-jeffs-cak
130x130_sq_1386609683037-tracy-and-jeffs-dinner-tabl
130x130_sq_1386611228390-photo-
130x130_sq_1386611276632-photo-
130x130_sq_1387292055391-first-danc
130x130_sq_1387292066166-flower
130x130_sq_1387292082205-photo-
130x130_sq_1387292247444-tie-kno
130x130_sq_1391029054652-epa246
130x130_sq_1391029326645-dsc945
130x130_sq_1393947185504-img457
130x130_sq_1393947213765-savannah-and-derek-post-vow
130x130_sq_1393947336806-img493
130x130_sq_1393947370144-img503
130x130_sq_1406213722911-img6025
130x130_sq_1406213804609-dsd
130x130_sq_1406213825326-epa2
130x130_sq_1406213895529-img6803
130x130_sq_1406213959770-img6836
130x130_sq_1406214072420-img6845
130x130_sq_1406214170905-img6923
130x130_sq_1406214202968-wp000154
130x130_sq_1406214212192-19576827932286940212417492502615765045200o
130x130_sq_1406214216970-102550817932087173565726289947070805863976o
130x130_sq_1406214222935-103488257932034806904298393503533368421643o
130x130_sq_1406214401988-img1560
130x130_sq_1406214430000-img1640
130x130_sq_1406214543849-8
130x130_sq_1357916333312-0008130r010093a
130x130_sq_1357916425150-0008125r010093
130x130_sq_1357916440653-0008125r0104119
130x130_sq_1357916448582-p1011424
130x130_sq_1357916453615-p1011438
130x130_sq_1357916465434-p6120061
130x130_sq_1357916478340-p6120085
130x130_sq_1357916490117-pc050503
130x130_sq_1357916694356-p3310146
130x130_sq_1357916770726-p3310153
130x130_sq_1357917044458-p5050491
130x130_sq_1357917117282-p5050496
130x130_sq_1357917195744-p5050497
130x130_sq_1357917796385-p4120252
130x130_sq_1357917878591-p4120253
130x130_sq_1357917961956-p4120255
130x130_sq_1357918047294-p4120257
130x130_sq_1357918123084-p4120259
130x130_sq_1357918201297-p4120267
130x130_sq_1357919509720-p6230075
130x130_sq_1357919593002-p6230076
130x130_sq_1357919759117-p6230093
130x130_sq_1357920929304-3193244373398696427651512239795n
130x130_sq_1357920932818-5557214417667525334101894048072n
130x130_sq_1357922219245-p1010644
130x130_sq_1357922223385-p1010663
130x130_sq_1357922227437-p1011234
130x130_sq_1357922242758-p3020175
130x130_sq_1357922257147-p6050081
130x130_sq_1384266624135-729-1-
130x130_sq_1384268368854-lynns-centerpiece
130x130_sq_1357922267988-p6120044
130x130_sq_1357922278593-p6200322
130x130_sq_1357922290400-p8150310
130x130_sq_1384268408575-p302018
130x130_sq_1384268454360-p302019
130x130_sq_1384268995521-sandys-phone-82
130x130_sq_1357922480397-p5210075
130x130_sq_1357922497537-p5210094
130x130_sq_1357922511504-p6200331
130x130_sq_1357922523352-p6270435
130x130_sq_1357922536471-p7070338
130x130_sq_1357922548153-p8010085
130x130_sq_1357922558992-p8150289
130x130_sq_1357922762997-dscf6710
130x130_sq_1357922849820-dscf6711
130x130_sq_1357922978195-dscf6713
130x130_sq_1384186687847-p212024
130x130_sq_1384266253634-p618005
130x130_sq_1384266647586-2012-02-08-16.34.3
130x130_sq_1384266656610-2012-02-08-16.35.4
130x130_sq_1384266667384-flowers-0
130x130_sq_1384268664428-p331016
130x130_sq_1384268724219-p620033
130x130_sq_1384268760971-p627043
130x130_sq_1384268778204-p704053
130x130_sq_1384268795756-p704057
130x130_sq_1384268819280-p711036
130x130_sq_1384268841421-p815031
130x130_sq_1384268902942-paco-06
130x130_sq_1384268943153-pb13052
130x130_sq_1384268976045-pb13053
130x130_sq_1384269006654-secret-wedding-centerpiece
130x130_sq_1384269020298-table-0
130x130_sq_1384462937457-c11e003
130x130_sq_1384463088695-img554
130x130_sq_1384463161687-img592
130x130_sq_1384463231154-img593
130x130_sq_1384463296608-img594
130x130_sq_1384463357098-img594
130x130_sq_1384463435577-img596
130x130_sq_1384463505252-img598
130x130_sq_1384463543558-img600
130x130_sq_1384463579289-img601
130x130_sq_1384463630397-img6146edite
130x130_sq_1384463667983-img615
130x130_sq_1384463699964-me-and-dee-dressing-at-the-press-clu
130x130_sq_1384465989831-wed
130x130_sq_1384466507248-wed
130x130_sq_1384466594158-wed
130x130_sq_1384466660308-wed
130x130_sq_1384466744583-wed
130x130_sq_1384466785886-wed11jp
130x130_sq_1384466829012-wed1
130x130_sq_1384466897731-wed3
130x130_sq_1384466936040-wed3
130x130_sq_1384467021358-wedd1

INFO FOR WEDDING PLANNING

What types of weddings do you accommodate?
Civil, Destination, Double Weddings, Eco-Friendly / Green, Military
What wedding planning services do you offer?
Full Planning, Partial Planning

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jerud
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
Sandy and her company, Weddings in Vieques, assisted my wife and me in planning our destination wedding on Vieques Island. Planning a wedding on Vieques is a challenging feat due to the very limited local resources. Sandy rises above the unique challenges she faces and is resourceful in solving a multitude of problems that destination weddings present. Sandy, personally, not to mention her staff, is among the top five most responsive vendors I've hired either personally or professionally. She makes it a point to not over-commit, to over-deliver, and to execute to perfection. I would strongly recommend Sandy and Weddings in Vieques to anyone seeking wedding or event planning.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
Prior to hiring Sandy we had a Wedding Planner we had to let go of. We were distraught and didn't know how we were going to pull off our daughters dream wedding. When Sandy agreed to take over planning the wedding, we were relieved but still had doubts things would work out. There were so many details and ideas to execute in such a short time. Little did we know that no job was too difficult for Sandy Malone to take on as she seems to welcome challenges. In less than three months, Sandy and her team managed to succeed in turning around what would have been a huge disaster. She is truly the best in the business!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Creighton
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
Sandy came to our rescue in planning our daughter's wedding after we fired the first planner. Sandy and her team's professionalism, energy and great attitude was noticed by all who attended the wedding. She took complete control of organizing the events, and allowing the host (mother & father of the bride) to enjoy the evening worry free. Sandy constantly asked how she could assist us with any issues or challenges that we were having. She even scheduled a flight for our son, who missed his original flight (and she did it with a smile). I have participated in and attended manny weddings, and I must say Sandy is the best planner I have met.

I highly recommend Sandy to anyone who is looking for a stress free wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna
Wedding:
4/25/2014
5.0/5.0
Sandy and her team were incredibly helpful in not only making our wedding the most special day in the world and helping us achieve the vision we had for the day, but ensuring that our guests had the trip of a lifetime. Definitely one for the books!!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shelly
Wedding:
4/25/2014
5.0/5.0
Weddings in Vieques made our dream come to life. The wedding was seamless and our guests had the time of their lives!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Campbell
Wedding:
4/5/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband and I did not want the big, traditional wedding. We wanted to elope to a favorite destination of ours, Vieques. We knew we wanted something intimate, fun, and easy for just the two of us. Sandy and her team provided exactly that plus some. From our very first phone call I felt like mine was the only wedding she was planning. So many details, like my wedding bouquet, I had never even considered nor felt like I needed it. Sandy insisted and with Kelsey's help, they made the most beautiful bouquet and boutonniere that really made our pictures "pop." When I explained that my husband was going to wear a tuxedo rather than the typical linen pants and white shirt because he wanted to be different, they took it a step further. Knowing how laid back he and I are, when we pulled up to the beach the morning of our wedding, there was Sandy and her crew, dressed for the occasion, all wearing pink tuxedo tshirts! It was hilarious and such a memorable moment that again just highlights how special and one-of-a-kind they made our wedding. I know that Weddings in Vieques has put on probably 30 or more weddings since ours and they'll put on hundreds in the future, but I feel like if I called them two years from now to say hello or ask a question, they would remember and treat us with the same kindness and attentiveness that they gave when it was our wedding. If you are looking for someone to make your wedding day exactly as you imagined it, Weddings in Vieques is the only way to go.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
our wedding was perfect! Everything was amazing!! The venue, the dj, the food, & the staff were perfect!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
David
Wedding:
10/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Sandy and the entire Weddings In Vieques crew,

From the first time we spoke with you we our wedding would be something special. It turned to be even more amazing than we ever could have imagined.

The planning process was perfect, with all our deadlines laid out well in advance. Even when we failed to make them due to our indecisiveness, you were still more than accommodating. All the insight you gave us on our calls was extremely accurate and super helpful, and sometimes quite hilarious. And when it came down to the wire just before we arrived and had to alter some plans, you were so helpful and understanding.

When we arrived (finally) at the absolutely beautiful (as you described) villa and got to meet face to face, it was like meeting part of the family instead of simply out wedding planner.

We are so glad we listened to and took your catering and locale suggestions. The party at Sun Bay was absolutely beautiful, not to mention how amazing the paella and rum punch were. But what really blew us away was the actual wedding. We could not have asked for a more perfect day. It was amazing from start to finish and we didn't have to lift a finger or worry about anything.

The drinks were great and the food was unbelievable. We don't know how you have a caterer that can make even a simple salad taste amazing, but they knocked the food out of he park.

Even with all this, there really are no words to describe how perfect it was. Your entire crew did an outstanding job and we could not have asked for more, especially with all the surprises you threw in. We thank you from the bottom of our hearts, you made the most important day of our lives even better than we thought possible.

We will be back next year, and the year after, and after to celebrate again with you! You are simply amazing!
Services Used: Flowers, Photography, Wedding Planning, Travel, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KATHRYN R
Wedding:
5/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Weddings in Vieques planned our destination wedding weekend perfectly! From our welcome part with a rum tasting, to our beach party pig roast, to the big event- everything was absolutely perfect. I had a very particular vision for my wedding and Sandy executed it to a "T". Even if a minor issue came up, it was immediately taken care of and Sandy had a great, positive attitude throughout the whole process! I highly recommend working with her and visiting Vieques- it's truly an island paradise! Even our friends who were married in Maui said that they felt our events and destination were "even better" than Maui- which i feel is a great review in itself!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Todd
Wedding:
3/5/2013
5.0/5.0
I can not being to explain how wonderful Sandy and her staff were! The group was extremely professional and friendly! Every detail was taken care of before we got to the Island. From the time we got to the island we had nothing to do but relax and enjoy our very special moment. I can't wait to get back there and visit. We left with the feeling that we had developed and new friendship that would last a life time! Thanks Sandy for all you did for us!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
3/4/2013
5.0/5.0
We told Sandy we wanted her to arrange everything...we just wanted to show up! Her staff not only did a great job in arranging our wedding day but also functioned as our trip planners and local information source -welcoming us at the airport, organizing our accommodations (which fit our style perfectly!), dinner reservations, sailing and Bio Bay excursions and answering any questions we had. Being our first time to Vieques, it was priceless to have a trusted contact on the island in the event we had trouble, questions, etc. We arrived on the island three days prior to our wedding, and by wedding day, we felt as if Sandy and her staff were friends there to celebrate with us. This was extra special for us since we came to the island solo! We could not have been happier with our wedding but also how the entire trip turned out. We LOVED it!
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Transportation, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Davide
Wedding:
2/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Sandy, Bill, and her team of professionals accomplished everything we dreamed without complaint, and without fail. They went above and beyond to ensure all of our events - from a Valentine's Day welcome party, to a fire-lit dinner on the beach, to an extraordinary wedding at a private villa that will be talked about forever. It's no secret that Sandy went to the ends of the earth for us, even to ensure the safe transport of our 10-person crew to and from our private villa each night to keep us safe.

Sandy and Bill live here. They know this island. We have been a part of Vieques for a few years and our wedding represented the conflagration of everyone we have met, all of whom have incredible stories to share. But it took their professional expertise and their relationships to make this wedding happen. From the rose petals on the ground, to the one of a kind menu, to the romantic guitarist, an impeccable DJ, and yummy cupcakes, our friends will talk about this wedding for ages - and they all got the added bonus of a V-day getaway in one of the most pristine and primal places on American soil.

If you're reading this and think everything sounds perfect, it is and isn't. This is not New York City. Electricity comes and goes. The roads are often perilous. Hot water is a precious commodity. But hire - and trust - Sandy and her team, and you will never believe how fantastic they can make this place for you and your wedding celebration.

To top off this experience, we have made friends for life.
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Flowers, Photography, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, , Transportation, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
2/3/2013
5.0/5.0
We already planned to revisit one of our favorite places, Vieques, as a birthday trip- at the very last minute, less than three weeks prior, we decided it would be fun(ny) to throw in a wedding. Normally someone with Sandy's organizational skills would have turned us down/thought we were crazy~ but she took it in stride, read me the riot act(you must be responsive and make decisions asap!), and planned not only our wedding, but a four day event for our family and friends...all during high season!
As opposed to googling caterers, trying to get past a language barrior(no habla espanol!), and pulling my hair out~ Sandy presented us with simple yes/no options and put everything together seamlessly which let us continue with our very busy work schedules rather than be consumed by the wedding process~ as she says, we became the guests of honor as opposed to host/hostess!
Whether planning a small wedding or a grand scale event~ Sandy is the "must have" planner ~ Vieques is an amazing place to gather your loved ones as the trip is easy, the island offers beautiful quiet beaches, water oriented activities(bio bay kayaking is a must do!)- or just relaxing pool time- something for everyone, bohemian luxury. We felt like it couldn't have gone smoother had we planned it a year in advance.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
When we decided to renew our vows exactly 10 years after our wedding, we wanted to find someone with local expertise, knowledge and a no nonsense approach. We knew with reasonable certainty what we wanted: just the four of us, a beautiful beach at sunset and a private dinner at the end of the day. Very quickly it came down to Sandy Malone and Weddings in Vieques as our choice, and from the first contact to the post-wedding follow up it was a great experience. Sandy cared and listened to our wishes and explained our options and gave us her recommendations for location, the restaurant, the cake, the photographer, and all. She organized everything for us, taking all the stress away -- which is something you don't want at all on an island like Vieques anyway! Our ceremony was exactly as we pictured, thanks to Sandy and her teams expertise, professionalism -- and yet it was laid back and fun, and an unforgettable memory! Highly recommended!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Everyone said the wedding was "magical". Everything went without a hitch- no problems, no issues, I felt taken care of and the event was more beautiful than I imagined. The wedding planner had great suggestions and I couldn't have hoped for a better day. Everyone had a great time. The food and decor was superb. Couldn't be happier.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rodney
Wedding:
12/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Sandy Malone is A M A Z I N G!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We wanted a simple elegant wedding. She delivered tenfold!! Because of Weddings in Vieques we have memories to last a lifetime! TY Sandy and Weddings in Vieques!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Dress & Attire, Favors & Gifts, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Transportation, Travel, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
130x130_sq_1355614458192-fbavatar2870551
Dwayne Byrum
Wedding:
12/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Coming up with all the appropriate adjectives and words to express how perfect and beautiful our wedding, our stay in Vieques, and our completely overwhelming satisfaction with Sandy and Weddings in Vieques was is next to impossible. Sandy's attention to every detail, no matter how large or small, and her unmatched management skills truly make her the miracle worker of weddings. Not only will we re-hire Sandy again when we renew our vows in Isa de Vieques in 5 years...if possible, I would hire Sandy to do each and every event I ever have no matter where in the world it would be. Standing ovation for Sandy and Weddings in Vieques!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Dress & Attire, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, , Transportation, Travel, Wedding Venue, Videography, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tere
Wedding:
12/8/2012
5.0/5.0
They made my dream wedding a dream come true!!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Franco
Wedding:
12/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Weddings in Vieques and here I include all of their great staff and vendors, made our dream wedding at the beach come true!!! Even the sunset was on cue!!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wes
Wedding:
12/1/2012
5.0/5.0
Weddings in Vieques is a must have service for this destination wedding location. Sandy is very good at honing in on your vision and helped us organize our thoughts and desires for the wedding. She and her team pulled it off without a single glitch. Our wedding was just as perfect as we envisioned it. We also asked WIV to help us with a welcome party, a beach party, and some day of the wedding events for both of us. Our guest have told us that the four days they spent in Vieques "will never be topped by any other wedding". We would like to thank WIV for organizing it all and making it look like we knew what we were doing. Thank you Sandy and Bill for pulling off the impossible!
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Transportation
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
11/5/2012
5.0/5.0
My now husband and i wanted an elopement when he had returned from one year in Afghanistan.
From the venue, flowers, officiant, planning, photography, to the cake it was wonderful. It was only a party of 4 total, yet it was PERFECT. Shout out to the lovely lady that "made me beautiful", she applied my makeup and styled my hair wonderfully. Photographer was great too!! Definitely would do again!
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Wedding Cake, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
4/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Oh my, what a magical day we had! I began researching the possibility of a wedding in Vieques in 2010, and I contacted Sandy with a few questions. She warmly and promptly got back to me and was very helpful giving me a general idea of what to expect. A year and a half later, we were finally ready to start planning this thing and i contacted her again. She remembered me and we got to work right away. Sandy is very upfront with you about the reality of wedding planning on that gorgeous little island, she will directly explain what is possible, yet somehow with her charm, makes you feel like anything is possible. We are students and pretty much broke compared to most people, but she treated us as if we were VIPs. She has tiered packages with basic services available, but within those choices, you will get A LOT of bang for your buck, and A LOT fewer headaches than if you chose to do everything yourselves. Then you can choose her "add-ons", extras a la carte, depending on how elaborate you'd like to get. At no time did Sandy ever try to up-sell us on anything, and she even advised me NOT to spend money on certain things...how amazing is that? She will not only help you plan your wedding, but she will help you plan pretty much every aspect of your trip as well, including travel for you and your guests and where to stay. Sandy was so supportive through every single step, and I have to say, this woman is hilarious. She had me cracking up on every call, and she is even better in person. She made me feel so special and never once did she make me feel like a crazy bride. When we got to the island, she met us at the airport and had everything planned out to the hour--all the little details were taken care of for us and we were able to just settle in and relax. There were was an awesome welcome basket waiting for us at our house, goodie bags delivered to our guests' accommodations, quick, no-hassle marriage license (took less than one hour out of our day). Her vendors and employees are just wonderful, with special thanks to Chef Richard at Orquideas, Yanira, who did an amazing job with hair and makeup and was just a total sweetheart, our Biobay guide who i wish i could remember her name because she was so cool, all the sweet gals at Next Course, the lovely Judy who hosted our karaoke reception party, and the unforgettable and incredible Rev. Nancy who performed our ceremony. And how can i forget Sandy's partner in crime, her husband, Bill. What a cool dude, very supportive when we hit a snag with our rental car upon arrival, and was cheerful, helpful, and funny every time we saw him. The day of the wedding is really where you see Sandy and company shine. Everything was on time, delivered, and perfect. Not a single problem. She arranged a gorgeous spot for the ceremony on Sun Bay beach, an amazing reception dinner at Next Course restaurant (where we had an entire outside space to ourselves), and a hilarious time doing karaoke and dancing at Lazy Jack's on the Malecon. My guests were happy the entire time and that meant so much to me to see them relaxing and enjoying themselves. So much gratitude and love to Weddings in Vieques, and Sandy Malone. She is so honest and you will probably come in under budget. Be patient, this is a tiny island after all, without access to all the resources of a bigger place. That said they do a stunning job--(i still have no idea how she managed things like our perfect wedding cake and the gorgeous flowers, may seem like easy details, but no small feat on Vieques I am sure). Unforgettable wedding, magical island. Get married in Vieques! Do the Biobay tour, stay in an amazing villa, and hire Sandy if you want the best wedding ever.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1334953473239-fbavatar2393681
Danté
Wedding:
4/12/2012
5.0/5.0
My partner and I of 10 years hired Weddings in Vieques to plan our wedding week on Vieques for about 40 guests. And we made the right decision!

Sandy, Bill and her staff were simply amazing! Our months of consultation with Sandy allowed us to concentrate on being creative while the logistical details of planning a wedding were handled flawlessly by Sandy and her team.

Not only did WIV plan our wedding, they also planned our beach party with beautiful umbrellas, delicious pinchos, and the most amazing music by DJ Paul. Our guests were thoroughly enjoying themselves especially after the sangrias started to flow. It really was a beautiful beach party.

Sandy and her team also planned two Biobay trips for our guests on the same night, and it was well coordinated that our guests were "WOWED" by the whole experience.

And for the big day, Sandy and her team orchestrated the most beautiful wedding I have ever seen. We were in tears seeing our creative ideas executed by Sandy flawlessly. The whole villa looked like a movie set, and we really felt like the stars of our big day.

We can't thank Sandy and WIV enough for producing the most epic wedding held on Vieques in 2012!!!!

Our friends and family may be calling Sandy soon for their events!

And we will be using you again when we renew our vows!!!!
Services Used: Band, Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Favors & Gifts, Flowers, Officiant, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Justin & Whitney McIver
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
The crew at Weddings in Vieques are top-notch professionals and hiring them was one of the best decisions we’ve ever made. Sandy is very straight-forward throughout the whole planning process, which made things go quickly and efficiently. We told her how much we wanted to spend, how many guests might attend (we ended up with 34) and she walked us through all our options. We loved the fact that we were able to “personalize” our destination wedding, because frankly, the cookie-cutter resort packages just didn’t appeal to us. If you’re the adventurous type, and decide to take the plunge by hiring Weddings in Vieques and inviting your family and close friends to spend a few days in an extraordinary island paradise - trust us, you will NOT be disappointed!

--Justin and Whitney McIver, Married in Vieques November 12, 2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1307395354001-vieques046bw
abj5232011
Wedding:
5/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Sandy is simply fantastic! She took care of every detail for our elopement to Vieques and everything went very smoothly. Our wedding was exactly how we had pictured it, and we can't recommend this beautiful island and Sandy's wedding planning services enough! Please see my full review on the Weddings in Vieques website.
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Wedding Cake, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shari
Wedding:
2/26/2011
5.0/5.0
sandy with weddings in vieques was great. She went out of her way to find us everything we were looking for in our budget. She was so knowledgeable about everything on the island, right down to the details of the house we rented. Everything fit our dreams, went so smoothly, and we were told by many of our guests that this was the best wedding they had ever been to! That really made it for Chris and I. The only thing we would have changed was our choice in caterer for dinner. But this was not on Sandy at all. We were tight on budget with food because we were more interested in spending our money on activities. So we would have gone with the caterer who did our sunday brunch for the reception dinner too if that would have been an option. Unfortunately at the time of our planning, that company was not doing offsite receptions yet.
But if your looking for a wedding planner and company that knows the island inside and out, a planner who will call you back ASAP, and makes the whole process stress free and takes pride in her work, this is the place to go. The flowers we had were amazing, the staff was also so nice and professional. The ladies that did our hair the morning of were so talented and timely. We were all ready to go right on schedule, which made me so happy because we had a ton of time for pics in this beautiful setting. I left wishing we could do it again ten times, and missing Sandy already as she had become such a great source of friendship and support through this sometimes crazy process. What I think I loved most was her open ear for bride-to-be vent sessions. I always got off the phone laughing and feeling a million times better over whatever it was that had me stressed out at the time. Thank you Sandy for the wedding of our dreams, the great care you took with all our guests, and for making it fun in the process!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jenheskitt
Wedding:
2/12/2011
5.0/5.0
I love weddings in Vieques!! Sandy, Bill, and her entire team made my fairy-tale wedding come true!! From setting up a fun beach party to making beautiful bouquets for me and my girls for my romantic beach side ceremony they were on it! All of my expectations were exceeded! Sandy went above and beyond to make sure all of our wedding dreams came true. She even offered to help made dinner reservations for us after we were on the island!!
If you want a romantic, fun, stress free, GORGEOUS wedding then go with Weddings in Vieques! Without Sandy's help I could have never planned this once in a lifetime amazing destination wedding for myself and closest family members. My wedding, thanks to Sandy and her team, will be something my family and I talk about and remember forever! I can't wait until we have been married long enough to do a vow renewal, we WILL be doing it with them in Vieques!!
Thanks again Sandy!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
6/5/2010
5.0/5.0
We can't say enough great things about Sandy Malone and the Weddings in Vieques staff! We began planning our wedding over a year in advance. We knew we wanted a destination wedding, but weren’t sure where. What we didn’t want was a “cookie cutter” wedding at some big Caribbean resort, where we were just another wedding. We wanted an experience to remember for both us and our guests that reflected who we were as a couple. When we stumbled on Sandy’s blog, read her awesome insights on destination wedding planning (laced with a fantastic sense of humor!), read more about Vieques, and contacted a couple of her former clients and vendors (yes…we did our research) we absolutely knew Vieques was THE place and Sandy was THE planner. We signed our contract for our June, 5, 2010 wedding before ever visiting Vieques and having never met Sandy in person.

We took an opportunity in the spring of 2009 to take a long weekend trip and visit Vieques. Despite the fact that Sandy was executing a wedding on the island the weekend we visited, she helped us plan our “planning trip”, set us up for dinner at a few places to try potential catering options, set us up for tours of the Bioluminescent bay, met us for lunch, toured us around the island, showed us several wedding and reception options and made us feel like we were her only priority. Now that we know what really goes into executing a wedding on Vieques – I’m even more amazed that she was so attentive to us when she had a wedding on the island!

During the year leading up to our wedding, Sandy was methodical. She kept us on track to make decisions on catering, flowers, music, etc. In addition to having careers that keep us incredibly busy, we are both triathletes with demanding training schedules, so really didn’t have the time or mental energy to devote to wedding planning. Sandy made it easy. Even when she and her husband had some personal issues to deal with a few months before our wedding, Sandy remained incredibly accountable. She didn’t let a single ball drop.

Sandy and her staff are truly FULL SERVICE. They provided travel packets to send our guests with detailed travel instructions, wrote welcome packets for our guests to help make the logistics of the wedding weekend run smoothly – and delivered the packets to every accommodation on the island where we had guests staying. She made dinner reservations for us and our families the week of our wedding, scheduled manis/pedis for my girls the morning of the wedding, arranged for lunch to be delivered the day of the wedding, scheduled the vendors, handled the logistics, and enabled us to simply “show up” at our own wedding.

Sandy was the single point of contact for all of our guests for any and all issues they may encounter, from travel issues from San Juan to getting lost on the island. Sandy’s staff was able to negotiate to get my husband's family (all 23 of them!) on the Ferry from Fajardo when they were having trouble getting tickets, and was able to get them all seats on chartered airplanes to return to San Juan after the wedding when they decided they’d rather take the puddle jumper back than the ferry.

We enjoyed every minute of the week on the island leading up to our wedding, relaxing on the beach, snorkeling with friends, hanging out at the local watering holes, and just relishing every minute. Not having to deal with last minute details, vendors, logistics and snafus – and being able to relax and truly enjoy this special time with family, friends, and each other, knowing that the wedding of our dreams was being executed for us, was absolutely PRICELESS!

All of our guests are still raving about the entire weekend, from the Welcome Party at Belle Vista Villa, to the Pig Roast/Beach Party at Sun Bay, to the wedding on the rooftop of Quinta Jabali, overlooking the coastline. We’ve said many times since the wedding that we couldn’t have dreamt up the wedding weekend if we tried. Thanks to Sandy, her husband Bill and her amazing staff – we have memories to last a lifetime.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
4/10/2010
5.0/5.0
We loved working with Sandy Malone at Weddings in Vieques!!! She (and her very enthusiastic staff) held my hand through every step of the wedding planning process, from the travel kits we sent my guests to the welcome beach bags that were waiting for each of them at their accommodations when they arrived on Vieques Island.

Sandy was very direct about what things cost from the very beginning and we actually came in UNDER BUDGET (by about $50, but still, that something!). All of her vendor recommendations were awesome -- the wedding cake looked just like the picture I'd sent her from a magazine!

I think we saved a lot of money by using a wedding planner because she was able to get discounts on things I hadn't even thought about -- and our wedding venue even waived the $1500 event fee because we were working with Weddings in Vieques. Although my new husband originally objected to the idea of hiring a professional event planner, by the time everything was paid for he truly believed that she had more than paid for herself with the money she saved us in other areas of the planning.

I LOVED my destination wedding, but I wouldn't have tried to plan it myself. I think that any bride even considering getting married in Vieques should contact Sandy for help. She made the entire process fun!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
3/13/2010
5.0/5.0
Vieques Island, Puerto Rico was an incredible place to get married! Wild horses were having happy hour beside the beach where we got married, and we took all of our guests on a private kayak tour of the glowing bio-bay. But I couldn't have done any of it without the help of Weddings in Vieques.

I have a busy job and I didn't have time to plan my own wedding. I hired Sandy about eight months before my wedding and she had the vast majority of it all planned two months later. She promised me I would be the "guest of honor" at my wedding and she told the truth. I didn't lift a finger all weekend and everything went perfectly.

We had a welcome party with a rum tasting, a beach party with local food, and an absolutely beautiful ceremony and reception at a waterfront villa. If I could do it all over again, I wouldn't change a thing.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
12/12/2009
5.0/5.0
We liked Sandy and Bill Malone at Weddings in Vieques a lot. Originally, we talked to them about planning our wedding in Culebra. But it turns out that Culebra is a lot more expensive than it's sister island of Vieques. So we decided to have our wedding on Vieques and then honeymoon on Culebra (it's only a 5 minute flight from one to the other).

We had the perfect wedding ON BUDGET with Sandy in Vieques. She helped me figure out what kind of flowers would survive in the weather down there since the tulips I'd wanted wouldn't, and she found a hairdresser that could deal with my humidity-frizzed hair. She helped find villas for my whole family in the same neighborhood so we could just walk over for coffee in the mornings.

Get married in Vieques! (that's what the tshirts say that we got in our gift basket) And use Sandy as your wedding planner -- she's great!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
deirdre
Wedding:
7/12/2009
5.0/5.0
Without Sandy & Weddings in Vieques are perfect elopement never would have happened! After reading the requirements for getting married in Puerto Rico, we ruled out Puerto Rico as an option. Upon deciding to visit Vieques on vacation, I found Sandy. She made it so easy for us - we had virtually nothing to do but show up. We gave her just a few weeks to plan everything and it all turned out perfect. Not only did she organize all the legal & event details, she helped us find an amazing villa for our ceremony & to spend our vacation.
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Wedding Cake, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Transportation
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ariley8387
Wedding:
1/21/2009
5.0/5.0
Sandy did an excellent job of making my wedding carefree. The setting was lovely, the flowers, photographer, and officiant were all very professional. A catered breakfast after our sunrise wedding was gourmet and so private in our own casita. We thank her most for expediting our journey through the paperwork, stamps and medical requirements so we could return to the beach in less than an hour. I cannot say enough for her skills in getting things done just the way we wanted and handling small issues with ease and joy!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Transportation, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tj
Wedding:
6/14/2008
5.0/5.0
Dear Sandy and Bill,

We DID IT!!!! And you guys made it all happen. Scott and I chose to elope in paradise and Vieques was just perfect. Sandy and Bill left us with no worries at all and perfect advice. They took care of everything from the perfect hotel, dinner reservations, fun in the sun plans and the perfect wedding day.

Sandy did not make us feel as if an elopement was any less of a big deal than a 200 person wedding. My flowers were beautiful, our in room massages, had us perfectly relaxed and Playa Grande was the BEST wedding spot in the world. Sandy came more than prepared with her "extra large" bag of wedding day preparedness kit.

I thought it would be difficult to plan a wedding from far away but it was completely effortless. Sandy and Bill know the ins and outs of the island, the people and how to make everything flow with ease. Trust me, whatever they suggest...listen. They know what they are talking about.

Everywhere we went on the island people said " Oh you guys are Sandy's wedding couple!!! Congrats and have a drink on the house!!!" We felt surrounded by love from the whole island.

Our last night in town, we had dinner with Sandy and Bill and it was the perfect end to a perfect elopement. Not only did we have the perfect wedding thanks to Sandy and Bill but we have made lasting friends.

If any of you future brides out there want a reference, ask Sandy for my information. I will talk you ear off about the perfect place that is Vieques and perfect planners that are Sandy and Bill.

All our Love and Best. We will be back to visit our new friends sooner than later.

Tj and Scott
June 14, 2008
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Wedding Cake, Ceremony Music, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Transportation, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
leif
Wedding:
5/25/2008
5.0/5.0
Even thought my parents live in Vieques, I knew that hiring Weddings in Vieques would be a smart move. Not only did Sandy take away the stress and worry about the who, when, and where of planning, but she recommended choices I would have never even known about. My wedding went off perfectly, and it was an experience that my friends and family will never forget. I highly recommend hiring Weddings in Vieques for your special day!
Services Used: Band, Beauty & Health, Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Flowers, Invitations, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Transportation, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
4/26/2008
5.0/5.0
Sandy Malone and the Weddings in Vieques team were wonderful! I feel so lucky that I found her. Our wedding was more beautiful, more fun, more personal, and more gracious than I could have ever imagined and I owe it all to Sandy.

Lauren - married April 2008
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amya
Wedding:
12/24/2007
5.0/5.0
Sandy is an exceptional wedding planner - highly recommended!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lynn
Wedding:
7/7/2007
5.0/5.0
Working with Sandy Malone was the best decision I made in creating an unforgettable wedding day. I wanted to get married on the beach in an island and Vieques was perfect. There was a lot of culture and the beaches are the most beautiful I have seen - often times you could get a beach all to yourself. My husband and I had a perfect day and Sandy was the sole reason that made it possible. It was seemless and she thought of even the littlest details. I even gave her MY camera during the ceremony to take some photos as well. She was flexible, timely and trusting; she took ownership of the day and truely wanted it to be what we dreamed of. Sandy knows the island and many of the business people which is essential in making things run smoothly.

My husband I hope to go back - Vieques is now very special to us and we look forward to visiting again. Thanks again Sandy!


Weddings in Vieques
One-Stop Caribbean Destination Wedding Planning
3604 20th St., NE (View Map)
Washington, DC 20018
787-455-6222
Website: http://www.weddingsinvieques.com
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
Sandy and her team offer exceptional service. She went went above and beyond. Not only with the wedding, but a family emergency that if it weren't for her I don't know what we would have done. The wedding itself was gorgeous and service was fantastic, everything from the venue, flowers, servers, music, hair and makeup and food. She offers way more than what your typical wedding planner would offer or help with. Fantastic wedding weekend for family and friends!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
Working with Sandy from Weddings in Vieques was great; I highly recommend her to anyone considering a wedding on the island.

I work in the event planning industry and was a little nervous to work with a wedding planner for my own wedding since I felt confident that I could do this myself. However, choosing to work with Sandy was the best decision I made about my wedding.

Planning a wedding on an island like Vieques requires someone to be on site to handle the details and get in front of unresponsive or apathetic vendors. Sandy did this for me repeatedly. She was the boots on the ground that ensured my wedding went off without a hitch. Her services were worth every penny.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Patti
Wedding:
5/19/2012
4.8/5.0
Sandy and her team were great! From the moment I landed on the island, she made sure everything I wanted was taken care of. She even came to meet me and my fiance the first night we were there in the middle of a downpour. It wouldn't have been the day of my dreams without her help.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
starstx
Wedding:
10/25/2011
4.8/5.0
Sandy at Weddings in Vieques did a phenomenal job helping us for our Wedding Ceremony. What started out as an idea to possibly get Married in Vieques on the Beach on an already planned vacation turned into a reality. For us ... it was just going to be us two and we could not of done it by ourselves. Sandy informed us of the Marriage License documentation we would need and helped us turn it in at the Demographic office. She arranged the minister and helped us pick out beautiful Sun Bay Beach to get Married at Sunset and even helped us setup reservations at Next Course which I also HIGHLY recommend for dinner after our Wedding. Her and her Husband were our Two witnesses! They also arranged our photgrapher and someone on the island to help my beautiful Bride get her hair done and took her to the Beach where I was anxiously waiting (since we didn't want to get ready and ride over there together!). We were fortunate with perfect weather and everything went without a hitch. It was truly an amazing experience that we could not of done without Sandy's help. Highly Recommend to anyone exploring the idea or possibility of getting Married out there.
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Officiant, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
1/31/2009
4.8/5.0
If you want to get married in Vieques you simply must use Wedding in Vieques. You'd lose your mind otherwise. Sandy did an incredible job presenting me with options and wasn't shy about making recommendations - which I much appreciated, since I wasn't a bride with a definitive set of preferences. The planning process went smoothly and I never felt worried as the months and days before the wedding elapsed. Not having anxiety before your wedding is priceless, especially if your job is stressful and you have little time to tend to details. The only delinquent items (like the dress!) were ones I was responsible for but everything fell into place in time. From the moment my family and friends and my fiance and I arrived on Vieques, we were treated with exceptional care by Sandy and Bill. Though small in number, I know we were a "handful" but Sandy and Bill were pros at tending to the impromptu needs of our group. Each planned event - the welcome dinner, beach party and wedding itself - was terrifically executed. The food was excellent across the board but the Coqui Fire folks stood out as great chefs and lovely people. Sandy went above the call of duty and was very attentive to how I was holding up throughout the festivities. My wedding day was a sickeningly perfect day and I was able to fully enjoy being with my guests and celebrating each moment without being preoccupied with what was going on behind-the-scenes. I cannot thank Sandy and Bill enough.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
5/21/2008
4.8/5.0
We want to thank Sandy and Bill for everything. We couldn’t have had our beautiful beach wedding without them. Soon after arriving on Vieques we went to Sun Bay Beach, the beach Sandy recommended, and knew instantly it was the perfect beach for our ceremony. The restaurant (The Tradewinds) Sandy suggested for our small group after the ceremony was wonderful. They set us up on their large deck with the ocean right in front of us. Sandy and Bill do their best to make sure everything goes as smoothly as possible. Since Vieques is a small island, there are things that could not have been done without Sandy’s invaluable relationships on the island. There is only one person who has the authority to process marriage licenses on Vieques. It so happened, this person had a family emergency while we were there and if it weren’t for Sandy being on the island to follow up on our paperwork, we probably would not have been able to get married.

We wish Sandy and Bill all the best. We'll see you on our next visit to Vieques!

Karen and Chris Hallam
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
5/17/2008
4.8/5.0
Weddings in Vieques is a fabulous company and was one of the smartest things my husband and I did while planning our wedding. We knew we wanted a destination wedding but we didn't want to have one in a resort where everything can become cookie cutter. Sandy is a treat to work with and helped keep our costs reasonable. We had a rather large guest list, and we definitely are a couple with champagne taste but a beer budget. Everything worked out beautifully and we wouldn't have changed one thing.

The only reason I gave 4 stars for responsiveness is that we're still waiting on a few wrap up items from Sandy - but the only reason we're waiting is because she's doing the same beautiful work for other lucky couples. We say rock on!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deirdre
Wedding:
11/12/2005
4.8/5.0
Sandy and her support werer great!! I would never have pulled this off by myself. She made sure my guests and myself had everything we needed when we got to Vieques. She made my wedding day completely stress free (well, as much as can be expected on such a special day). If Sandy could not help me with a question, she knew people (and their phone number) who could. Our wedding was beautiful and effortless thanks to Sandy and her organization. Maybe Ill come down there for my 5 year anniversary and do it all again!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kcanton
Wedding:
11/11/2011
4.7/5.0
We had a fantastic time in Vieques! We just had a party in SF to celebrate with friends and family, but eloping in Puerto Rico was perfect!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1325899908308-fbavatar2152559
Amanda
Wedding:
10/21/2011
4.7/5.0
We couldn't have been happier wth our experience with Sandy and all the vendors she set us up with! We were unable to visit prior to the wedding festivities to meet the vendors, see the spaces or taste the food. While this felt very unconventional, Sandy just knew what would work with our group size (25) and laid back tastes. My husband trusted all of the planning to Sandy and myself and couldn't believe how amazing everything was; from the pre wedding festivities at Bio bay and sun bay to choosing our reception site and villa location, Sandy got every detail right. We literally said to each other "when is something going to go wrong?" Because everything just totally exceeded our expectations. Even when their was drama we had no idea, she took care of it and let us enjoy our night and each other!
In November we planned a reception at home for 100 friends and family and I couldn't believe how stressful it was! I really saw the difference in our two celebrations and was so grateful for having Sandy and her relationships with some amazing people and vendors. It was an amazing experience that we will be so happy to look back on thanks to Sandy and her team!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
4/11/2014
4.6/5.0
Sandy and her staff did an amazing job helping us plan our beach wedding. Our ceremony was a very simple elopement wedding not like some of the big fancy weddings she and her staff often plan but she didn't treat us any differently and helped us plan the perfect intimate ceremony. Memories to last a lifetime. I would recommend them to anybody planning a Caribbean wedding.
Services Used: Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brad
Wedding:
4/20/2013
4.6/5.0
We were very pleased with our experience with Wedding in Vieques. Sandy was very thorough and helpful and was able to make our wedding dreams come to life even before we knew what we wanted! She was excellent at being able to accommodate our needs even any last minute changes. There was a few weeks during the earlier period in our planning that she was unreachable but was very apologetic and it was due to extenuating circumstances. We did end up going about 40% over our original budget but she threw in some extra (free!) surprises for the wedding so that definitely helped! (Sticking to our budget probably would not have produced such an amazing wedding!) Her staff was amazing at being able to accommodate the needs of our wedding guests even when it was extremely last minute! Overall, Weddings in Vieques and Sandy were truly amazing and we feel so grateful that they were all able to organize this important day for us from so far away.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
6/12/2009
4.6/5.0
Sandy is very organized and pays attention to detail.
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Favors & Gifts, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Transportation, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nicole
Wedding:
1/10/2009
4.6/5.0
sandy was an AMAZING wedding planner!! she made our wedding and our trip to vieques so seamless, from planning a private biobay tour to making all of our dinner reservations to the wedding itself....she even went to the store and picked up drinks and snacks for us to have at the hotel!

sandy is so personable too, its as if you have a friend planning your wedding for you.

i highly recommend sandy, she is the best!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.2/5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our elopement in Sunbay thanks to Weddings in Vieques!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
acer
Wedding:
7/5/2008
4.2/5.0
We had a incredibly amazing wedding in Vieques! It truly ended up being a 'dream wedding' and I will always appreciate that.
We almost ended up without a planner at all, and that could have been a major disastro!!!! Sandy made everything logistically breezy! Although we had already hired several of our vendors before we decided on Sandy, we had run into a few snafu's that she was able to smooth out. All of the vendors were great, I mean great! The food from Bili's was phenomenal, the band Will Colon was so perfect for our event, and the cupcakes from Elsie were a BIG hit, particularly from the 20 kids who attended our wedding!
We had a huge wedding party (or as Sandy put it par-tay) and over 90 guests all from the mainland, Sandy and Bill handled it, they really balance each other out. What a smart idea to move to Vieques to be wedding planners! And yes, everyone on the island knew who were were, partly from Sandy's exceptional PR work, and partly of course from our HUGE group of guests who respectfully drank out every bar in town! It was the trip of a lifetime!
Services Used: Flowers, Officiant, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
IJ from NJ
Wedding:
10/10/2010
4.1/5.0
I hired Sandy from Weddings in Vieques to plan my Oct 2010 wedding in Vieques, PR. To be honest, I had never known anyone who had used her services or anyone who had gotten married on this tiny little island in the middle of the Caribbean ocean for that matter. When I hired her, I hoped and prayed that the end result would be somewhat similar to the wedding I envisioned in my head.
I can say in all honesty that the end result far surpassed any expectation I could have ever dreamed of!!! Sandy and her staff did an amazing job not only planning an absolutely picture perfect wedding for us, but the perfect wedding weekend to go along with it. Our guests were blown away by all the activities we planned and by how beautiful it all turned out! My husband and I could not have pulled off our dream wedding without the help of Sandy and her team.
Although she can sometimes be a bit rough around the edges, Sandy is good at what she does and definitely knows how to make it all come together. We were definitely pleased with our decision to hire her and would do it again. She helped create a wedding weekend that my husband and I and our guests will never forget.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adrienne
Wedding:
4/17/2010
4.0/5.0
The Weddings in Vieques team was fantastic! Sandy thought of everything and our wedding weekend was nothing short of amazing. If there were any issues the day of the wedding, I didn't know about them. Sandy and her team were there every moment taking care of all the details. At the end of the week, my husband and i had had the time of our lives! Thanks WIV team!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
caligirl
Wedding:
7/11/2009
3.8/5.0
Did a great job on the wedding. We had an amazing, stress-free day and everything went off without a hitch.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, DJ, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.0/5.0
If you want a destination wedding exactly like you want, contact Sandy, however, be prepared for all the good that comes with some difficulties. I’ll provide all the pros and cons with our interaction with Sandy.

I am amazed on how she gets so much done and makes nothing look like something fantastic. My family and friends all LOVED the wedding. The beach party was amazing and the wedding was perfect. It was exactly what we wanted. Even my cranky uncle gave wonderful reviews - he said this was the best wedding he went to.

Sandy was a bit difficult to work with. I read Daisy's review and agreed with a lot of the information she wrote, however I disagree with her rating.

Sandy was very relaxed with us so sometimes she said a few things that crossed the line - like when she called one of our friends a b****. The other thing is that I felt like Sandy does is pass blame off (like Daisy mentioned). For example, we were blamed for going over budget. She mentioned at the beginning that she would provide updates at a certain frequency. She did not provide updates. This is my first time planning a big event so I didn't know how things would balance out. So we kept getting things and I expected her to say, "you may go over budget if you get that." So it’s not a surprise we went over budget. Either way, she made up for it by giving us some stuff for free. Another example is at the day of the wedding, something didn’t go as planned and she said we didn't provide it for her. Once that happened, she would check in with us a lot to make sure we were good at the wedding. She even brought us food so that we could relax after the ceremony and pictures. Note that we checked our emails after the wedding and we sent it a month before the wedding.

For every bad thing, I felt like she really tried to make up for it. That lack of ownership bothered me a bit, but I can tell Sandy loves her business more than anything and tries really hard to make you happy.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
5/5/2012
2.6/5.0
Sandy is very clearly successful at what she does but I strongly recommend she consider hiring someone else to manage communications with clients. From what I understand she has a bit of a monopoly on the island as far as wedding planners is concerned and I strongly recommend a wedding planner. The event was beautiful.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Wwnetwork-128
Batool
Wedding:
5/28/2011
2.2/5.0
From a purely business point of view, it was helpful to have Sandy's assistance. I didn't mind that she was a bit pushy and lacked some polish because she made sure all the administrative details were taken care of in a timely manner, which was the bottom line as far as I was concerned.

My husband and I had a simple elopement ceremony right on the beach behind the suite we were staying in, and I would consider ourselves to have been generally cooperative and low maintenance clients.

While the ceremony was beautiful, the Reverend amazing, and the photographer outstanding, I was unfortunately accidentally made privy to some negative e-mail gossip about us on Sandy's behalf. The tastelessness was somewhat compensated for by the photographer (who actually got to know us) responding to Sandy that we were "quite normal, interesting... and solidly grounded". But Sandy's lack of professionalism just put a whole bitter aftertaste to our once-in-a-lifetime beautiful experience which I can say we are over now.

The simple fact is that she was clearly digging around for some gossip, perhaps as fodder for her blog, and I must say that it seems she feels a need to take out her daily stresses and frustrations in this manner on the very people (whether she "likes" them or not) that pay generously for her living.

While it is possible to realize this is her own problem and not take it personally, it simply outweighs the kind of sad feeling you get from this type of experience. My husband was actually upset and took it personally whereas I was able to see it for the fishing it was- but he should not have been sad after his wedding! It sorta broke my heart a little.

So if you think it is worth the convenience, go for it- but understand the risk involved due to the potential for needless drama.

While in her accidental e-mail disgrace she mentioned I was "nice" and was quite eager to use our photos to enhance her website, I wouldn't be surprised if she totally turned this review around into what a crazy bridezilla I was. Take the comments with a grain of salt.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
45K1073
Wedding:
1/15/2011
1.4/5.0
We were planning our own wedding on Culebra and we hired Sandy to handle some of the details (the marriage license, minister for the ceremony and planning the reception dinner). First of all Sandy is the kind of wedding planner who likes to dictate instead of listening to what the client wants. On several occasions we would ask Sandy for specifics on certain aspects of the wedding reception and she would vaguely respond "that is the way things are on Culebra" or "you will never get that for that price." After several attempts of trying to get a specific answer from Sandy concerning options for private venue, we just contacted the establishment ourselves. To our surprise the restaurant was very responsive, helpful and provided a private venue with a view at a cost much less than the prices Sandy quoted us. Concerning the Puerto Rican marriage license there was a definite lack of communication on Sandy's part, in particular providing all of our personal information (SSN#, birthdate, birthplace, and mother's maiden name) to Sandy herself. Sandy never explained that she would personally need this information before we signed the contract. We imagined that we would be completing and submitting the marriage license ourselves. We decided to just obtain a marriage license in our home state. Sandy never offered us a partial refund which we thought was in poor taste. The one thing that Sandy did do right was secure the minister for our ceremony. The minister was awesome, on time, and a great guy. Despite having to do more of the planning than we wanted, we had a perfect wedding and a great reception. If we had to do it again, we wouldn't hire her.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Weddings in Vieques responded with the following comments:

My mother always said you get what you pay for -- and that's what happened to this couple when they hired me. They didn't want to pay for a full wedding planning package. They wanted to get as much as possible and pay as little as possible. I agreed only to hire the minister and make a dinner reservation -- not find a private venue for their reception or cater to their very specific needs (they wanted a dinner venue within walking distance of the beach for their orthodox Jewish guests who had to walk before sundown). In four years of planning weddings in Puerto Rico, this was the first couple who refused to provide their social security numbers to the government for their marriage license. What am I supposed to do about that? Mad as I am about this review knocking down my average, I can only assume that this bride and groom are the kind of people who eat 3/4 of their dinner at a restaurant before complaining and refusing to pay the tab. Nothing in this life is free.
130x130_sq_1376080814318-20dao
Daisy
Wedding:
7/19/2013
0.4/5.0
I had a 7-month engagement and contacted Sandy Malone about 2 or 3 weeks after he popped the question. This didn't give us a lot of time to plan, but we wanted the wedding to be small and Sandy assured us it could all be done with our wedding party and budget. She mentioned TLC had just started filming a reality show on her and that we could trust her with all our wedding plans.
Biggest mistake ever. Sandy showed her true colors after her initial deposit was made: extremely unprofessional, unorganized and rude. She is very forgetful and would disappear for weeks at a time leaving very important items pending – like catering! Again, we didn't have a year to plan a wedding- we were closing in on 3 months to the big day. We confronted her being MIA and she would blame it on “the production of her show” Really!? Why take on a client when you can’t handle the bandwidth? Her “guidebook” says we were supposed to receive all final numbers 2 months before the wedding– she sent it to us 2 weeks before and left us scrambling to make important decisions. She threw us way over budget blamed it on us and our guest size- AFTER she had assured us it could be done.
The day of the wedding was no different. She took very little to no accountability for everything that went wrong. She was yelling at me because my photographer was taking too many pictures and at a guest of mine because they didn’t receive any welcome bags; ALL my guests had awful things to say about her.
She is a one-woman show which explains her scatteredness. Her “staff” is really two hard-worked interns. Everyone else is a third party vendor for the day of the wedding. She didn’t even give us a courtesy day-after debrief. I had to reach out to her regarding all of the things that went wrong. Her response, of course, was that it was all our fault. The only reason she is getting any stars at all is because she managed to bring together great service staff, bartender, caterer and DJ. I've reviewed them separately.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Weddings in Vieques responded with the following comments:

As a general rule, I’d prefer not to air my clients’ dirty laundry publicly. But I have to defend my company from some really unfair and untrue accusations by this client. To put it simply, this couple got exactly what they paid for, and a lot more, but they felt they should be getting so much more for free.

Not only did Daisy enjoy a fabulous wedding weekend, her wedding photo was featured in the Huffington Post’s “Weddings of the Week” section because the ceremony photos we took on our own camera phones were so beautiful. She is #8 of #34 http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/07/22/real-weddings_n_3636604.html?utm_hp_ref=weddings&ir=Weddings#slide=2728671.

Most of what the bride was angry with me about pre-dated her arrival on the island because of budget problems. From day one, these clients wanted to invite their guests and then figure out what they could afford. That isn’t how it works but that is how they approached it despite my warnings to the contrary. When this bride first consulted with me, I was clear about the anticipated budget and size of the guest list. She opted for a reduced budget and was going to reduce her guest list to match it. That isn’t what happened. And while it’s lovely that she’s so popular and many friends and family wanted to attend, planning your wedding budget backwards like that will always result in disaster if more people come than you had initially anticipated.

When they realized how over budget they were, the bride and groom began cancelling lots of things, from welcome bag goodies to décor. She cancelled her ENTIRE FLOWER ORDER and said she planned to bring all of her décor with her. She advised me of this in writing and approved the final list of what we would be providing after we deleted all the décor items she was bringing. But when she arrived on the island, she’d neglected to bring the centerpiece items she’d committed to, along with a number of other things. We didn’t find this out until we needed the items to decorate at the reception on the wedding day. And then we pulled out all stops to cover for her, and without additional charge, made the reception look lovely. I even comped her several hundred dollars in linen rentals to try to help her out with the budget overage they were frustrated about.

I'd also like to address specific things she said in her review that are completely untrue.

We were unable to deliver some of her guests’ welcome bags because some of them had travel delays and didn’t arrive on their anticipated dates, and we delivered the four orphaned bags (I think there were four, don’t hold me to that) to the bride at her accommodations as is our policy. She didn’t know when people would be arriving either. We told her they had been delivered there. And that's where they were still sitting when a guest asked why she hadn't gotten one at the reception. We brought them to the bride when the guests were MIA (as is our policy), but she didn’t give them to them.

Additionally, she lied and told her guests we'd neglected to put requested goody-bag type items in the welcome bags after she cancelled bottled water and other items IN WRITING, and a guest was nasty to us about it as though we had made an error. That’s the only welcome bag conversation I had with a guest and I certainly didn’t yell. The bride cut all "goodies" out of the goody bag and rather than own up to it with her guests, she blamed us. Her guests were nasty about their mostly empty welcome bags assuming that we didn't put the things in because the bride was calling it our error. Not so. She didn't pay to put anything in the bags. She didn’t even remember to print and send her welcome letter to us, even though she had it weeks in advance. My company kindly duplicated it for her and stuffed the bags without charging her for the copying. Remember folks, not much is actually free in this world. That was.

I also didn’t yell at her about her photographer, and in fact, provided the photographer she independently hired with a safe ride home when everybody from the wedding was too drunk after the reception. The guest the bride had assigned to drive her and other guests home was so drunk he backed into the concrete wall at the gate of the property twice before we practically pulled him out of the vehicle for the safety of his potential passengers and our entire community. We spent two days responding to rental car companies and helping settle the matter in the following week because my husband (a retired cop) was smart enough to take pictures of the damage to the wall and the Jeep, as well as a photo of the drunk driver and the Jeep’s plate number. If we permit wedding guests to drive drunk, we are assuming liability that we cannot afford. And we have an obligation to the properties where we host weddings to document and report any damage to the owners.

It's a shame this couple didn't feel they got enough attention during the planning process because I did the same number of conference calls (a couple more actually) than I do with all clients, and we exchanged literally hundreds of emails. The groom was nasty and aggressive in a large number of emails and I continued to respond professionally, and yes, I certainly apologized each time that they were upset and felt they were not getting enough attention because I was participating in making a TV show. Each call ended on a positive note with the nervous bride realizing that most of what wasn’t yet done was her own planning list (DJ playlist, ceremony plan, etc.) and her anxiety had far less to do with us than with whatever was going on at home for her and the backwards manner in which they approached their budget. At the end of the day, a wedding planner is your consultant, not a personal assistant nor your secretary. We even sent a staff member to drive out and find missing bridesmaids who had arrived on the island literally 30 minutes before the ceremony. The bride and groom never bothered to distribute the wedding party schedules we’d provided to them, and then cancelled the wedding rehearsal twice because their massive wedding party wasn’t yet on the island. Considering we were managing a wedding party of more than 20 on the fly and running around tracking down missing bridesmaids at the same time, I think we coordinated a gorgeous event for them. And many of the guests and family thanked us and complimented the beautiful wedding and reception. Oh wait, so did the bride and groom during and after the event on their wedding night.

That brings me to the incorrect statement from the client that we have no staff but two interns. While our interns are absolutely fabulous, I’m sorry that the clients didn’t notice the large crew of staff sweating in the hot sun to put up and decorate their tents, light the tents and other areas of the property, and do the dozens of other things required to pull off an entirely outside wedding reception. She’s right that I have excellent vendors – any good wedding planner does. I’m glad she liked them. I selected and recommended them. I don’t quite understand her point here – did she expect me to be the DJ and the bartender and the minister too? I am the wedding planner and it’s my job to recommend and supervise the vendors. I’m glad she was impressed with my selections.

Finally, these clients misrepresented so many things about their wedding plans to their families that we encountered a number of unfriendly guests through the course of the weekend. Not only had they lied about what they claimed to have purchased for the welcome bags, but we were verbally attacked by another relative who felt there wasn’t enough lighting at the venue. I tried to explain that the décor – right down to exactly how many tiki torches were to be used – was all decided by the bride and groom. This answer was not satisfactory to the guest who belligerently lectured me about how I should have provided more light even if the bride and groom didn’t want to pay for it. That just isn’t how it works, folks. You get what you pay for. And in the case of these clients, they got a number of things they didn’t pay for and they never said thank you for any of it.

The bride sent me a nastygram via email the day after her wedding demanding answers to a number of questions. I responded to her concerns line by line, but most of them were complaints about things she felt she should have gotten that SHE DID NOT PAY FOR. We verified everything in the emails she sent cancelling these items, and we pointed out that some of the things she complained about were, in fact, present and accounted for in the pictures we had from the wedding. The bride even demanded a refund for the bottled water she cancelled and didn't pay for in the first place. I wasn’t able to meet with her that weekend and they were departing the next day so I attempted to satisfy all of her concerns via email. I didn’t hear back from her again until after she’d left the island. There’s nothing customary about a debriefing meeting the day after a wedding – normal brides and grooms are headed off on honeymoons while their exhausted wedding planners clean up and sleep.

I’m fairly devastated by this review because our entire team worked very hard to give them a beautiful wedding despite the numerous challenges their own lack of organization caused. If it makes them feel better to eviscerate us on an important wedding review website, I feel sorry for them. Their wedding was beautiful despite the things they forgot to do. Their pictures will be incredible. I hope that they have amazing memories. We certainly won’t forget them or their toasts honoring the Mexican street gang “Vatos Locos” anytime soon.
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Weddings in Vieques
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1187847993796-weddvieqlogo