You will no longer have access to your Project Wedding account on or after March 30, 2017. Save any photos or information you'd like to keep and join WeddingWire for your all of your wedding planning needs today. Learn more »
130x130 sq 1376926220834 ashleydaniel wedding022
(9)

Welkinweir

East Nantmeal Township , PA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1368 Prizer Road
East Nantmeal Township, PA 19465 US (map)
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Cultivating Memories at Welkinweir Estate

The stone house at Welkinweir Estate is adorned with a white oak wood floor that hums as you make your way down an elegant staircase,... Read more
Cultivating Memories at Welkinweir Estate

The stone house at Welkinweir Estate is adorned with a white oak wood floor that hums as you make your way down an elegant staircase, embellished with a centuries-old banister. The home is comprised of quaint family rooms with stately fireplaces that look out onto a field of lush emerald green grass. Your nose will lead you through a winding path brimming with the vibrant hues and aromas of freshly-blooming flowers, towards a cobblestone stairway tucked beneath an intimate cluster of trees and foliage. The leaves shelter you before you enter out onto a grassy plateau overlooking a serene six-acre pond nestled in the forest. This merely begins to describe the beauty of the calm, pastoral environment of the Welkinweir Estate.

The Welkinweir Estate, a scenic property bounded by 192 acres of richly wooded hills and a valley of tranquil ponds in Pottstown, Pennsylvania. Welkinweir is recognized for its historic significance as a part of the Reading Furnace which manufactured iron in the early 1600s.

Today, the property not only showcases the picturesque natural beauty of this landmark location, but also incorporates a healthy blend of sustainable practices. Green Valleys Association is a not-for-profit organization that has maintained Welkinweir’s stunning grounds and environmental integrity for eleven years. The organization has shown its dedication to conservation by implementing numerous green energy solutions on site. GVA boasts an 85-percent reduction in its carbon footprint during its tenure thanks to a system of solar PV panels, a micro-hydro system, and the installation of a porous paved parking lot. This is the ideal location for a client with an environmental conscience and who values sustainability. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1376926005948 ashleydaniel wedding012
130x130 sq 1376926032968 ashleydaniel wedding052
130x130 sq 1376926041319 ashleydaniel wedding057
130x130 sq 1376926002312 ashleydaniel wedding009
130x130 sq 1376926000326 ashleydaniel wedding006

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

What is the minimum number of guests required to book your venue?
50
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
1
Describe your venue:
Historic, Mansion
Describe the style of your venue
Country, Classic, Garden
What kind of settings are available?
Covered Outdoor, Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor
Which of the following wedding events does your venue service?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
150
What event services do you offer?
Bridal Suite, Liability Insurance
What transportation and access is available?
Parking

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.5/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Elisa
Wedding:
9/17/2016
4.4/5.0
This venue is so stunning the pictures cannot possibly do it justice. I fell in love with it as soon as I saw it, but it blew me away the day of. We had our wedding mid-September and it was a perfectly lush landscape of rich greens. The venue also has a great back up plan in case of rain! The only potential drawback is size - it only fits 150 and we had to rent an extra tent to fit our band (although if you have a DJ there's more than enough room). But we were looking to keep it small so this wasn't an issue for us. And the views and pictures alone made every penny worth it. Venue is breathtaking!
This venue is so stunning the pictures cannot possibly do it justice. I fell in love with it as soon as I saw it, but it Read more...
This venue is so stunning the pictures cannot possibly do it justice. I fell in love with it as soon as I saw it, but it blew me away the day of. We had our wedding mid-September and it was a perfectly lush landscape of rich greens. The venue also has a great back up plan in case of rain! The only potential drawback is size - it only fits 150 and we had to rent an extra tent to fit our band (although if you have a DJ there's more than enough room). But we were looking to keep it small so this wasn't an issue for us. And the views and pictures alone made every penny worth it. Venue is breathtaking! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/10/2015
5.0/5.0
Welkinweir was definitely the venue of my dreams! I was planning my wedding about a month and a half in advance and I knew I wanted in to be during October and held outdoors. However, apparently that is now the new popular month (news to me!) and most places I found were already booked. After weeks of scouring the internet I happened upon Welkinweir and knew it would be perfect! At that time they still had almost open availability...however, if news gets out about this place I think they will start to fill up VERY quickly.
The setting is absolutely picture perfect! I don't think you could take a bad photo here if you tried! The estate house is beautiful and guests are ushered through the front door to drop off gifts and then taken out back to see the grounds. We got married in front of an old barn stone wall that was stunning and created a natural stage for the wedding party to be easily seen. It even overlooked a beautiful lake. Seriously, the beauty of this place is stunning. It's set far back into the countryside so you will never here a plane, train or automobile...just a few geese honking as they flew overhead.
They also have a beautiful "Plan B" which was very important to us. It is held under the reception tent and overlooks the lake and countryside as well. We had to use this for our rehearsal but thankfully our wedding day was gorgeous! If not, this still would have been a very acceptable option.
I would also like to give a BIG shout out to Vicki Laubach! She was my go-to person throughout this entire process and she is amazing! She was very quick to answer my questions and help me with anything I needed. One thing I had always imagined was paper lanterns hanging from the reception tent. Vicki was able to give me special consideration to come in during "off" hours to hang these and take them down after the wedding. I will forever be grateful to her!
My wedding has only been two weeks ago but I already miss this place! I can't wait to visit again!!
Welkinweir was definitely the venue of my dreams! I was planning my wedding about a month and a half in advance and I knew Read more...
Welkinweir was definitely the venue of my dreams! I was planning my wedding about a month and a half in advance and I knew I wanted in to be during October and held outdoors. However, apparently that is now the new popular month (news to me!) and most places I found were already booked. After weeks of scouring the internet I happened upon Welkinweir and knew it would be perfect! At that time they still had almost open availability...however, if news gets out about this place I think they will start to fill up VERY quickly.
The setting is absolutely picture perfect! I don't think you could take a bad photo here if you tried! The estate house is beautiful and guests are ushered through the front door to drop off gifts and then taken out back to see the grounds. We got married in front of an old barn stone wall that was stunning and created a natural stage for the wedding party to be easily seen. It even overlooked a beautiful lake. Seriously, the beauty of this place is stunning. It's set far back into the countryside so you will never here a plane, train or automobile...just a few geese honking as they flew overhead.
They also have a beautiful "Plan B" which was very important to us. It is held under the reception tent and overlooks the lake and countryside as well. We had to use this for our rehearsal but thankfully our wedding day was gorgeous! If not, this still would have been a very acceptable option.
I would also like to give a BIG shout out to Vicki Laubach! She was my go-to person throughout this entire process and she is amazing! She was very quick to answer my questions and help me with anything I needed. One thing I had always imagined was paper lanterns hanging from the reception tent. Vicki was able to give me special consideration to come in during "off" hours to hang these and take them down after the wedding. I will forever be grateful to her!
My wedding has only been two weeks ago but I already miss this place! I can't wait to visit again!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Erin
Wedding:
5/30/2015
5.0/5.0
Vicky is very kind, professional, and flexible. The estate and gardens were beautiful and she helped assist the other vendors on the ceremony day. Being that the ceremony was outdoors, having the "Plan B" tent option was very important to us. Perfect for weddings of 150 or less. This venue is gorgeous and deserves 5 stars! Highly recommended!
Vicky is very kind, professional, and flexible. The estate and gardens were beautiful and she helped assist the other Read more...
Vicky is very kind, professional, and flexible. The estate and gardens were beautiful and she helped assist the other vendors on the ceremony day. Being that the ceremony was outdoors, having the "Plan B" tent option was very important to us. Perfect for weddings of 150 or less. This venue is gorgeous and deserves 5 stars! Highly recommended! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Julia
Wedding:
9/27/2014
5.0/5.0
In my opinion, Welkinweir is the most beautiful venue in the area...I might be a bit biased though.
In my opinion, Welkinweir is the most beautiful venue in the area...I might be a bit biased though.
In my opinion, Welkinweir is the most beautiful venue in the area...I might be a bit biased though. Read less
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Kathleen
Wedding:
5/25/2014
5.0/5.0
Welkinweir is an absolutely beautiful place and Robert Ryan Catering does a fantastic job with weddings here. We chose this location because of its seclusion (you won't see anyone that day except your wedding party and guests), quietude, and completely beautiful outdoor surroundings. Having a wedding there in late May/early June ensured that the entire place would be in bloom and we were lucky enough to have perfect weather to match. It was the first time that most of our vendors (photographer, florist, etc.) had been there and they couldn't stop raving over the location. The photographers kept saying they wish they had come hours earlier to take pictures for themselves! Our guests loved the place just as much as we did and loved checking out the old estate house and beautiful grounds. Our wedding had about 110 total people and that was a very comfortable fit for both the ceremony and reception locations (I think over 140 would start to feel a little small). So if you are looking for a beautiful, unique, stunning place for a smaller outdoor wedding, don't overlook Welkinweir! PLUS your venue fee is actually a donation to the Green Valleys Association - pretty cool!
Welkinweir is an absolutely beautiful place and Robert Ryan Catering does a fantastic job with weddings here. We chose Read more...
Welkinweir is an absolutely beautiful place and Robert Ryan Catering does a fantastic job with weddings here. We chose this location because of its seclusion (you won't see anyone that day except your wedding party and guests), quietude, and completely beautiful outdoor surroundings. Having a wedding there in late May/early June ensured that the entire place would be in bloom and we were lucky enough to have perfect weather to match. It was the first time that most of our vendors (photographer, florist, etc.) had been there and they couldn't stop raving over the location. The photographers kept saying they wish they had come hours earlier to take pictures for themselves! Our guests loved the place just as much as we did and loved checking out the old estate house and beautiful grounds. Our wedding had about 110 total people and that was a very comfortable fit for both the ceremony and reception locations (I think over 140 would start to feel a little small). So if you are looking for a beautiful, unique, stunning place for a smaller outdoor wedding, don't overlook Welkinweir! PLUS your venue fee is actually a donation to the Green Valleys Association - pretty cool! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Welkinweir Estate was a dream come true location for our wedding ceremony and reception. Our wedding guests could not stop talking about how incredibly beautiful the location was. It truly is a scene out of a fairy tale.

Robert Ryan Catering was the best choice for our catering and wedding planning needs. I cannot emphasize enough how helpful the staff at RRC was throughout the process of planning our wedding day. They were attentive and helpful and assisted us in creating the wedding of our dreams exactly how we wanted it. Betsy was my best resource as a bride because she was there for every step of the planning process. Bob Ryan himself was very involved in our consultations and he had great ideas of how to make our day special.

The day of the wedding we had the best staff we could have asked for. Our wedding guests were well attended to as were the bridal party. Everything went off without a hitch because of the amazing staff at RRC and our wedding coordinator, Julie, the day of.

If you visit Welkinweir Estate you will fall in love with it and can have faith that the staff at Robert Ryan will make your wedding dreams come true at this little piece of heaven in Chester County.
Welkinweir Estate was a dream come true location for our wedding ceremony and reception. Our wedding guests could not stop Read more...
Welkinweir Estate was a dream come true location for our wedding ceremony and reception. Our wedding guests could not stop talking about how incredibly beautiful the location was. It truly is a scene out of a fairy tale.

Robert Ryan Catering was the best choice for our catering and wedding planning needs. I cannot emphasize enough how helpful the staff at RRC was throughout the process of planning our wedding day. They were attentive and helpful and assisted us in creating the wedding of our dreams exactly how we wanted it. Betsy was my best resource as a bride because she was there for every step of the planning process. Bob Ryan himself was very involved in our consultations and he had great ideas of how to make our day special.

The day of the wedding we had the best staff we could have asked for. Our wedding guests were well attended to as were the bridal party. Everything went off without a hitch because of the amazing staff at RRC and our wedding coordinator, Julie, the day of.

If you visit Welkinweir Estate you will fall in love with it and can have faith that the staff at Robert Ryan will make your wedding dreams come true at this little piece of heaven in Chester County. Read less
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Welkinweir responded with the following comments:

Thank you SO much for leaving such a kind review!! We truly appreciate you taking the time to review us. We wish you both MANY years of happiness & laughter! :)
Bg22
Anonymous
Wedding:
5/26/2013
3.1/5.0
Let me start by saying that the "stars" or the "ratings" do not give an accurate vision of this venue. Beautiful Location - 5 Stars. Natural Setting - 5 Stars. We absolutely loved everything that Welkinweir had to offer. The beauitful ceremony space, the picturesque grounds & estate. It was everything we could have dreamed of and all of our guests did not stop talking about how beautiful the location was.

Our caterer was INCREDIBLE and that is not even a good enough word to describe her. I will miss her now that the wedding is over. I would recommend Ludwig's Village Catering to anyone looking to plan a special event. (At the time of our booking, Robert Ryan had not become the exclusive caterer)

Why I gave Welkinweir a 3.1 rating out of 5...The whole planning process with Welkinweir was a bit stressful in that we had booked during a period of transition with their management. The person that they had appointed to the weddings was not particularly helpful and often flip-flopped on a few things that we could and could do not do. She made me more stressed then necessary and was not a planner.

The week before the wedding, I had called to confirm our rehearsal information and asked who would be there with us to run through since our officiant was unable to make it. I was informed that no one would be there.

The day of the wedding, Robert Ryan did have a representative there to "run the day" but by no fault of her own, as she had not be involved in the planning process, I was left feeling like I was running the show on my own wedding day, confirming ceremony line ups before I was getting ready to walk down the aisle, gathering my bridal party for introductions. I work as an event planner so I wanted my one day to be a bride and not have to worry about planning and unfortunately did not get that. My suggestion to future brides that have not booked with Robert Ryan - MEET THIS INDIVIDUAL BEFORE IN A SIT DOWN MEETING TO DISCUSS ALL ASPECTS OF YOUR WEDDING.
Let me start by saying that the "stars" or the "ratings" do not give an accurate vision of this venue. Beautiful Location Read more...
Let me start by saying that the "stars" or the "ratings" do not give an accurate vision of this venue. Beautiful Location - 5 Stars. Natural Setting - 5 Stars. We absolutely loved everything that Welkinweir had to offer. The beauitful ceremony space, the picturesque grounds & estate. It was everything we could have dreamed of and all of our guests did not stop talking about how beautiful the location was.

Our caterer was INCREDIBLE and that is not even a good enough word to describe her. I will miss her now that the wedding is over. I would recommend Ludwig's Village Catering to anyone looking to plan a special event. (At the time of our booking, Robert Ryan had not become the exclusive caterer)

Why I gave Welkinweir a 3.1 rating out of 5...The whole planning process with Welkinweir was a bit stressful in that we had booked during a period of transition with their management. The person that they had appointed to the weddings was not particularly helpful and often flip-flopped on a few things that we could and could do not do. She made me more stressed then necessary and was not a planner.

The week before the wedding, I had called to confirm our rehearsal information and asked who would be there with us to run through since our officiant was unable to make it. I was informed that no one would be there.

The day of the wedding, Robert Ryan did have a representative there to "run the day" but by no fault of her own, as she had not be involved in the planning process, I was left feeling like I was running the show on my own wedding day, confirming ceremony line ups before I was getting ready to walk down the aisle, gathering my bridal party for introductions. I work as an event planner so I wanted my one day to be a bride and not have to worry about planning and unfortunately did not get that. My suggestion to future brides that have not booked with Robert Ryan - MEET THIS INDIVIDUAL BEFORE IN A SIT DOWN MEETING TO DISCUSS ALL ASPECTS OF YOUR WEDDING. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Welkinweir responded with the following comments:

Hello and thank you for your feedback on the Welkinweir Estate. We are thrilled that the natural beauty of the property was as awe inspiring for you and your guests as it was for us when we pursued the exclusive catering rights of the venue recently. We relish the opportunity to pair this breath-taking setting with the 5-star service quality of Robert Ryan Catering & Design.

It is terribly unfortunate that your planning with the estate did not meet your needs. In recognition of this previous void, Robert Ryan Catering and Design offers our full-scale wedding consultation and planning services at the Welkinweir Estate, as the exclusive caterer moving forward. However, since your event was planned through Ludwig’s Village Catering and previous management at Welkinweir, it is peculiar that your review is so harsh towards Robert Ryan Catering & Design, which had no part in the planning or execution of your wedding, and with whom you had never met until the day of. Though a representative from the company was on site day-of, she was simply present to protect the best interest of the Welkinweir Estate, which is now under the care of RRC&D. I apologize that you were under the impression our representative was there to be your catering event supervisor on your wedding day. I can understand the frustration you must have felt with some miscommunication.

It is a true shame that your choice of caterer and DJ fell short on planning and coordination of your wedding day; it is difficult to understand why the fault would lie elsewhere. RRC&D is thrilled about the prospectus of highlighting the natural beauty of this estate with the flawlessly planned and executed weddings that the reviews for our other venues are reflective of. (Columbia Station: 5-star avg. http://www.weddingwire.com/biz/columbia-station-phoenixville/846f90caab8f8cb1.html | The Barn on Bridge: 5-star avg. http://www.weddingwire.com/reviews/the-barn-on-bridge-collegeville/4233c67a22554725.html ) Any and all inquiries into the Welkinweir Estate going forward should be made directly to Robert Ryan Catering & Design at 610-933-6336 or info@robertryancatering.com.
Default vendor profile pic
Alyson
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
Well, our day was absolutely perfect. If you are looking for a picturesque venue, then Welkinweir is definitely it! We looked all over south-eastern PA to find a venue as amazing as this. As soon as we walked in, we knew this would be our reception site.
Well, our day was absolutely perfect. If you are looking for a picturesque venue, then Welkinweir is definitely it! We Read more...
Well, our day was absolutely perfect. If you are looking for a picturesque venue, then Welkinweir is definitely it! We looked all over south-eastern PA to find a venue as amazing as this. As soon as we walked in, we knew this would be our reception site. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Danielle
Wedding:
9/22/2012
3.8/5.0
Let me start by saying that this venue is absolutely gorgeous and our wedding turned out perfectly. The space, both indoor and out, works very nicely for a smaller wedding (mine was about 80 people), and you can't ask for a better backdrop! There are nice spaces inside for his and her dressing rooms, and the dining room works really well for a buffet layout. My complaints lie in the management, though I will say that none of these ultimately impacted the quality of our wedding. Our wedding happened to lie in the space of a transition period for Welkinweir- their two wedding coordinators had just left and the remaining staff was trying to organize and find a new coordinator. Unfortunately for us, this meant delayed email responses, unanswered questions, and no one to let us into the venue for the rehearsal. For the price of rental, you really aren't getting much (basically just access to the house and someone to be there and help coordinate) and you also have to pay a large amount to an outside company to rent the tents. All that being said, I still would recommend Welkinweir as a wedding venue because it is just so beautiful, and ultimately our wedding went off perfectly. (Also, I believe they had just or are on the verge of hiring a new coordinator).
Let me start by saying that this venue is absolutely gorgeous and our wedding turned out perfectly. The space, both indoor Read more...
Let me start by saying that this venue is absolutely gorgeous and our wedding turned out perfectly. The space, both indoor and out, works very nicely for a smaller wedding (mine was about 80 people), and you can't ask for a better backdrop! There are nice spaces inside for his and her dressing rooms, and the dining room works really well for a buffet layout. My complaints lie in the management, though I will say that none of these ultimately impacted the quality of our wedding. Our wedding happened to lie in the space of a transition period for Welkinweir- their two wedding coordinators had just left and the remaining staff was trying to organize and find a new coordinator. Unfortunately for us, this meant delayed email responses, unanswered questions, and no one to let us into the venue for the rehearsal. For the price of rental, you really aren't getting much (basically just access to the house and someone to be there and help coordinate) and you also have to pay a large amount to an outside company to rent the tents. All that being said, I still would recommend Welkinweir as a wedding venue because it is just so beautiful, and ultimately our wedding went off perfectly. (Also, I believe they had just or are on the verge of hiring a new coordinator). Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Welkinweir responded with the following comments:

Hello, Danielle!

Thank you for the feedback about your wedding at Welkinweir. Robert Ryan Catering & Design is now the official in-house caterer for the location. Going forward, we will be responsible for all catering, beverage, rental, and planning needs at Welkinweir. Our packages are all-inclusive of tables, chairs, silverware, glassware, a customized menu, beverages and liquor--so no need to add in extra costs. Additionally, the tent is now included in the rental fee of Welkinweir, eliminating the need to contract that on your own. Hopefully you will consider Welkinweir again for any events you plan in the future! Please contact us here at Robert Ryan Catering & Design if we can answer any questions for you.

Best,
Alyson Lurie, Marketing Director

Robert Ryan Catering & Design
610.933.6336
robertryancatering.com

MAP

 
1368 Prizer Road, East Nantmeal Township, PA 19465 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Welkinweir
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1376926220834 ashleydaniel wedding022