Nophoto-130

Weller's Carriage House

Saline , MI

LOCATION

555 W Michigan Ave
Saline, MI US 48176 (map)

PHONE

734-429-2115

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Venue

REVIEWS

4.3
out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.1/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Valerie
Wedding:
10/19/2013
2.2/5.0
There is so much that I want to say about this vendor but the space is limited in this review box. I will say as a bride trying to plan a wedding here was quite difficult. Lots of rules, lots of fees, and lots of rude responses. Payments were strange, deposit made and refunded two weeks after the event rather then applied to your final bill. Sales manager, Nicole, is rude and not personable at all. We got our alcohol from their supplier but could not purchase half gallons of liquor due to Wendy, the owner of Weller's, not wanting their contracted bartenders to have to pour from them. This only made us spend more money then we had to on liquor, and if the bartenders want the money from working the event, that they should be willing to pour what ever is provided for them to pour. Fees were ridiculous. Especially the $450 fee to change the table linens from their awful dingy floral table skirts to white. Should have been an option, but it was pretty much a given way for them to make an extra $450 with out having to do anything. There were fees for everything, plugging in something, cutting the cake, running late for dinner, or late at the end of the night. You name it, there was a fee. There were no food tasting. This was a huge gamble on our part, but we lucked out. The food was pretty good. My husband said his prime rib lacked flavor. There is no day of or rehearsal coordinator to get or keep the wedding day rolling. Our ceremony got started by me yelling at people out of the bathroom door to go sit down so we could get started which was stressful. Also rehearsals are not scheduled but you are given a 3 hour block of time to rehearse the block is shared with all parties from that weekend. Valet was rude and would not allow our DJ into the parking lot to unload, and would not let a van for our handicapped guest to park. I will say that Andrea, our banquet manager was OUTSTANDING. Couldn't have asked for better service from her and her crew. She really made our night.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Felicia
Wedding:
5/4/2013
4.7/5.0
I can't tell you how many guests have told me (during and after the wedding) how beautiful the grounds were, how friendly and accommodating the staff was, and most importantly, how delicious the food was.

I had a wonderful experience working with Nicole, Wendy, and Andrea (as did my parents who worked with them as well). Overall, we couldn't have asked for a better venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dana
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Wellers' was an all around great venue will all around great service. Excellent customer service before, on the day, and after. Couldn't say all the great things here. Would recommend to anyone!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hannah
Wedding:
5/20/2012
3.0/5.0
The venue is breath-taking! There are a number of things they won't or don't tell you, though, that are important. For example, on an 85 degree day an outdoor wedding sitting on the concrete benches at the pergola will actually burn you through your clothes and burn your skin. The longer you sit there, the hotter they get. That is something we could have been warned about. There is no tasting for the food. Personally, I think that a testing should be held for those who have made a deposit. They could do it a few times/year. And speaking of the food, they make the call for people to come back to the buffet when the last of the guests make their initial trip. Those who did go back found only a tiny amount of food available, and others were not able to get seconds. That just seems wrong to me. They are completely inflexible when you make a request, and if you want to do something like remove 2 tables that are not the ones they want you to remove, they make you explain yourself. For that kind of money, I don't think I should have to explain why I want the tables removed that I chose. I get the whole 'historic property' thing, but an attitude that leans more towards customer service and pleasing those paying the bill would make me feel more generous in my rating of this venue. The bartender Mary Beth was fabulous! As to 'would I recommend to a friend' that depends on what they were looking for. If they don't want to have things their own way, you bet! But if they have specific ideas of how they want things, then no.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Andrea
Wedding:
10/22/2011
4.6/5.0
Great place to get married if you want a classic, natural feel. We got married under the gazebo (really large pavilion) in later October and since we had the west ceremony grounds, we used the rest of the park-like setting for our first look and family photos. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The reception was a step away from the gazebo in the carriage house. Everything inside was beautiful, too!
It was a little difficult with planning with the vendor but they made up with it in the flexibility and the staff that were on hand during the event.
All the vendors we were impressed with the site, a few of our families said it was the best wedding they have been too, and it was just a great place to have our wedding at.
The food was amazing - don't be scared off by them not offering tastings. We also did the appetizers that were passed around by gloved servers on metal trays - beautiful and not overly done.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
I've worked with a wedding videographer and dj for over 3 years, and at a print shop doing wedding related printing and engraving for 7 years. If you want to hear "this is the most beautiful wedding I've ever been to" from 75% of your guests, book this place! I was married at Weller's Carriage House in mid-September of 2011. We used the stunning outdoor grounds for the ceremony, dined on one of the best meals I've ever tasted in the carriage house, and danced the night away under the gazebo. Weller's had 3 weddings booked that evening. If they hadn't told me in advance, I wouldn't have known. Even at their maximum capacity, Weller's handled everything flawlessly.

Weller's staff was wonderfully efficient, polite and respectful of the fact that this is the most important day of your life (to date), and they are dedicated to making it the best experience it can possibly be. They handled every hiccup (including a medical emergency) seamlessly and with care. They are wedding professionals, and they are exceptional at what they do. Whatever location you choose, it is a shell--you fill it with your personal touches, your beautiful family, and your joy. You couldn't start with a better location than Weller's. The food was exquisite and there was plenty of it; everyone ate their fill.

Weller's gave me the freedom to have a personalized DIY wedding and the result looked like a million bucks. Unbelievable photos. Happy guests. Cost-wise, it's more than renting your local lodge banquet room. But don't underestimate the value of the gardens and the banquet facilities: additional outdoor ceremony decorations, excluding bridal party flowers, but including ceremony flowers and vase--$65; my family and I designed our own reception table decorations for under $500 for 25+ tables. Knowing that the food and ambiance would be phenomenal (and they were!), I could limit the costs of the other big ticket items--alcohol, dress, flowers, photography, dj, etc.--without feeling like I was compromising my guests' experience of the event.

Thank you Andrea, Nicole and all of the other dedicated Weller's staff and contracted crew for the best day of our lives!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Karri
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Weller\'s Carriage House was the venue for my October 10, 2010 wedding and reception. The staff was knowledgable and friendly before, during, and after the wedding. Every aspect ran smoothly and having a venue that provided the space (which was gorgeous and required only centerpieces to complete the existing decorations) and the food made for a much more relaxed day. I highly recommend Weller\'s to any couple looking to have their wedding/reception in Michigan!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrs.lange
Wedding:
10/17/2009
4.3/5.0
Wellers was perfect! Our wedding couldn't have gone any better. The grounds were beautiful, the outdoor lighting was beautiful and the food was amazing! Our wedding was in October so we prepared ourselves for it to be chilly but the service people there said, "don't worry about it, the canvas sides on the gazebo keep it plenty warm in there, heaters aren't necessary" So we took their word for it. It was the day of rehearsal -40 degrees!- and there were heaters sitting outside for a wedding the day before ours. I quickly ran upstairs and asked the staff about the heaters only to hear "You didn't rent any heaters?? Your guests are going to freeze!!" I was not happy. It seems silly now to not have ordered heaters but I was taking their word for it. Luckily my trusty groom called the rental company and they left the heaters there for us to use. Thank god for those heaters or the party would have been a bust! So ladies- Order heaters!

Oh-And I only had one tiny complaint from a guest that one of the staff members was rude. Everyone else at our wedding kept complementing us saying how wonderful the staff members were.

Overall-Greatest night of my life! Wish we could do it again!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
7/11/2009
4.0/5.0
Weller's was the perfect location for our wedding. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. It was the perfect garden wedding I imagined! The staff are great as well, but there were a few hiccups. Our final meeting was scheduled at 9 am and we waited until 9:30 before leaving without anyone showing up. I had to call them to reschedule. Also, I was not aware of this the day of the wedding, but when my family members were setting up a few things before the ceremony there were few staff members who were not very helpful. Overall, Weller's was perfect. The food is great and they certainly know what they're doing. I just hoped the service would be a little better.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pamela
Wedding:
5/24/2009
5.0/5.0
Gorgeous outdoor ceremony under a pergola. Patio area with umbrella's, candles and a water fountain. Dinner and
dancing in the Carriage House. Absolutely beautiful setting, inside and out. Excellent food and service. You can't
go wrong here.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deborah
Wedding:
5/8/2009
5.0/5.0
I loved the setting of Wellers. We had a Full Moon Wedding in the West Grounds, our reception was in the Carriage House, and dancing in the Pavillion. The grounds and buildings are very unique and a beautiful place to get married! Many of our guests said it was the most beautiful wedding they have ever been to. Several guest were even overheard saying that when they get married, that they are getting married at Weller's, or that they should have gotten married at Weller's. The food was unbelieveable, and the wait staff we very professional. If you're looking for a unique, romantic place to get married and/or have your reception, Wellers is a great choice.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kirstin
Wedding:
10/13/2007
3.6/5.0
I loved the setting of Wellers. It's a historic Henry Ford property. The grounds and buildings are very unique and a beautiful place to get married! I loved everything about Wellers except we had a difficult time working with our contact person at Wellers (the owner Wendy Weller was always very pleasant and I think the person we worked with is no longer there). The food was incredible and really everything else about the place was fabulous. If you're looking for a unique, romantic dreamy place to get married and/or have your reception, Wellers is a great choice. Our wedding was in the West Grounds and our reception in the Carriage House.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christy
Wedding:
8/27/2005
5.0/5.0
I have been married over two years now and I still reel at how wonderful my wedding was. The ceremony site was breathtaking, and there is no place quite like it. There is nothing bad to say about Wellers, it was wonderful.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue

MAP

 
555 W Michigan Ave, Saline, MI 48176 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Weller's Carriage House
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo