130x130_sq_1370455627211-0518

Wentworth by the Sea Hotel & Spa

New Castle , NH
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

588 Wentworth Road
New Castle, NH US 03854 (map)

PHONE

603-422-7322

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Welcome to the AAA Four Diamond Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa overlooking Little Harbor and the Atlantic Ocean in New Castle, New Hampshire. Since 1874, the Wentworth by... Read more
Welcome to the AAA Four Diamond Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa overlooking Little Harbor and the Atlantic Ocean in New Castle, New Hampshire. Since 1874, the Wentworth by the Sea has stood as a landmark hotel commanding postcard-perfect views of the waterfront. Reopened in 2003 after a spectacular renovation and expansion, our hotel is once again one of the Grand Destinations on the East Coast. Guests enjoy a location five minutes from downtown Portsmouth featuring wonderful shopping, dining and historic charm, and just an hour north of Boston. Moments from seacoast attractions and sparkling beaches, the Wentworth by the Sea will far surpass your highest expectations. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1266441329285-macphotographybw
130x130_sq_1263411134877-weddingsettings
130x130_sq_1245766520812-poolhotelshot
130x130_sq_1245766525187-whaerial2
130x130_sq_1266442943754-wentworthatnightfocusphotography
130x130_sq_1390929741464-focu
130x130_sq_1345755812025-ceremony
130x130_sq_1345755135236-0521
130x130_sq_1345755049118-0440
130x130_sq_1345755170821-0646
130x130_sq_1266442992004-wentworthgrandballroompanoramafocusphotography
130x130_sq_1390083821991-nautical-placecard
130x130_sq_1345755862880-seashellplacecardandtablenumbermainelynh
130x130_sq_1309096532445-totheship
130x130_sq_1390083743634-mac-
130x130_sq_1345754949082-0423e
130x130_sq_1345919508653-focusphotographywentworthballroom
130x130_sq_1345755920353-zevfisherphotographysmall
130x130_sq_1266443088301-wentworthsalonreceptionpanoramafocusphotography
130x130_sq_1345754737445-0550
130x130_sq_1370979395025-poolindoor9204med
130x130_sq_1390083935159-tall-centerpiec
130x130_sq_1345912153527-greatislandcenterpiecemacphotography
130x130_sq_1345912170642-wentworthmartinibaricesculpturefocusphotography
130x130_sq_1245766510109-041kristinntom
130x130_sq_1245766527328-whguestroom
130x130_sq_1370979429212-restaurantpatioview9205med
130x130_sq_1345755835955-juliarussell818atappenimg8051
130x130_sq_1345755082622-0518
130x130_sq_1266443111035-wentworthserveringardenfocusphotography
130x130_sq_1345754976680-0432
130x130_sq_1266443142785-gardenballroompic
130x130_sq_1345756015521-verandaexterior
130x130_sq_1345756018104-veranda
130x130_sq_1345755819116-chuppahingrand
130x130_sq_1345755823752-grandballroomceremonyfocusphotographysmall
130x130_sq_1345919497243-focusphotographygrandballroomceremony
130x130_sq_1345754919062-0264
130x130_sq_1309096552725-bgdipmac
130x130_sq_1345755830522-grandballroomfocusphotography
130x130_sq_1345912156885-juliarussell533ahatchimg7598
130x130_sq_1345755838712-juliarusselldaveandrachela
130x130_sq_1345755832677-juliarussell107graphi481wshatchimg7545
130x130_sq_1345755898614-snowicezevfisher
130x130_sq_1345755911025-stage
130x130_sq_1345755011054-0438
130x130_sq_1245766520609-carriagehotel
130x130_sq_1345756000995-chairsinthegardens
130x130_sq_1345755822194-focusphotography025small
130x130_sq_1245766519156-cake
130x130_sq_1345756003476-doubleroom
130x130_sq_1345756005882-gazebo
130x130_sq_1345756007637-hotelsuite
130x130_sq_1345754767557-0558
130x130_sq_1266443453004-whcloseupspashot
130x130_sq_1345756009376-marinasuitemaster
130x130_sq_1345756011581-marinasuitesfromtheharbor
130x130_sq_1345756013504-spaentrance
130x130_sq_1345912151897-edharv
130x130_sq_1345912161648-wentworthcappucinolovefocusphotography
130x130_sq_1345912166534-wentworthcoffeestationfocusphotography

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1874
When was your venue last renovated?
2003
Describe your venue:
Historic Site, Hotel
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Coastal, Waterfront
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
250
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
3
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
161
Number of suites
21
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
350
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
140
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Outside vendors welcome
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anne
Wedding:
6/6/2014
5.0/5.0
The team of wedding coordinators were extremely helpful in making our event all that we anticipated it being>. It was a fantastic day for all evolved.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katherine
Wedding:
6/6/2014
5.0/5.0
Jaime at the Wentworth by the Sea was wonderful. She was so helpful and organized that the whole day ran smoothly and was perfect. The grounds were spectacular and the food was amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
Our entire event was amazing from start to finish. Jaime Staples was lovely to work with over the course of about 18 months and went above and beyond to make our special day the most memorable. Teresa the catering manager was also incredible and provided individual, specialized service that made the day perfect. I can't say enough positive comments for the entire team at Wentworth by the Sea. I would recommend this venue to anyone and wish we could do it again!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Barbara
Wedding:
11/10/2013
5.0/5.0
Our experience was top-notch from beginning to end for our daughter's wedding at Wentworth by the Sea. From planning stage to the weekend of the event, attention to every detail was apparent. Rooms for our guests were superb. Beautiful decor, excellent food, top-shelf service, attention to detail superior. Catering Manager, Caitlin Sims, was fabulous to work with. Would highly recommend Wentorth for any occasion!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
April
Wedding:
11/9/2013
5.0/5.0
I chose the Wentworth by the Sea for my wedding venue because of its classic elegance and great reputation. From the very beginning they were very accommodating giving me several different package options and working with me to create one that worked for both my guests and my budget. The service at the Wentworth was outstanding and my wedding guest were floored by the quality of the food and the attention that is given to every detail. I worked with Caitlin Sims at the hotel and she was wonderful. She fulfilled every request and ensured everything went off without a hitch on the big day. My wedding was better than even I could have imagined and I attribute that in great part to the staff at the Wentworth.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Reychal
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
I recently had my wedding at The Wentworth. It was fantastic! I planned my wedding from DC but my consultant, Caitlin Simms, was so helpful and so responsive to every and all questions I had. The hotel is simply stunning as well as the historic gardens wheee we had the ceremony. The day of Caitlin was on hand to organize and coordinate everything. It was such a low stress wedding. I simply told her what I wanted and she made it happen. The food and cocktails were simply delicious and my guests raved about everything. I was told several times but friends and family that it was the best wedding that they had ever been to. I felt for what I paid it was totally worth it and exceeded my expectations. It was one of the best days of my life :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carolyn
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Aside from being the most elegant and stunning venue in the Seacoast region, in my humble opinion, the services you will receive from Catering Manager, Caitlin, is top-notch. We worked very well with our initial catering contact at the Wentworth, and when she took another job a few months before the October 12th wedding we had a few moments of panic. CAITLIN TO THE RESCUE! Her years of experience proved to be a godsend for us. Additionally, Caitlin is a positive and happy person who enjoys her job. She helped us decide which pieces of the reception "puzzle" would work best for our needs and our budget. In short, we loved working with Caitlin who handled every detail expertly and with a genuine smile. (Ask her about our stunning custom Ferris Wheel ice sculpture which she talked the ice sculptor into making - it added a whole new dimension to the occasion.)
As for the Wentworth's food and services for our cocktail hour and reception - it was divine. Our guests raved about the quality, attentiveness and professionalism. Our food choices (Filet, Salmon and truffle ravioli) were some of the best entrees we have ever tasted. Trust me - it is miles above your typical reception fare.
It is an extreme understatement to say that you will be very happy with your choice of Wentworth By The Sea for your wedding reception. Incredibly endearing memories were made for us and our guests there!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
My wife and I had a WONDERFUL experience working with Caitlin Sims at Wentworth by the Sea for our September wedding in New England. There were so many detailed aspects of the day and Caitlin was completely on top of things. We are truly grateful for all of her efforts to make the day go flawlessly.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jen
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Caitlin Sims was our event coordinator for our wedding at the Wentworth by the Sea, and we could not have asked for a more flawless execution, or a more perfectly coordinated event! I was just able to sit back and relax and I knew that if anything were to come up, there were extremely capable hands helping ensure things went smoothly. Caitlin listened to our ideas, helped provide suggestions where we needed them, and had such positive energy - she was a pleasure to work with and I would HIGHLY recommend both the Wentworth and Caitlin for anyone looking for a wedding venue and coordinator!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christy
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
My wedding here was the most gorgeous and perfectly planned event. I originally started working with Gina, who was amazing, but left the Wentworth after a few months into planning my wedding. I had a good base with her about everything and eventually transitioned over to Trish. Trish had originally been at the Wenworth several years before doing the same job, so I was confident in knowing she would get the job done. All I can say about Trish is that she is beyond amazing. She went above and beyond on our wedding day to make every detail perfect, and it was perfect. She is the sweetest person too! Every detail was watched over by the staff, who were also beyond helpful. The food was delicious and everyone said it was the best wedding they have ever been to. It is the perfect place for an elegant, upscale seaside wedding and I highly recommend this place!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alexis
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was a picture perfect fairy tale at the Wentworth! The historic building, the beautiful gardens, the scenic marina, and the gorgeous wedding suite! The staff was pleasantly overly attentive and accommodating; my husband and I had specific food requests and they were executed perfectly! Everyone's petit filets and duck were cooked perfectly, and the chef was willing to work with us to achieve our dream wedding food. Our hors d'ouevres were superb, and all the guests are still talking about how they have never been to a wedding before with such amazing food! They worked well with our wedding planner at the Wedding Belle as well, and achieved the most beautiful creation of the ballroom the likes of which the hotel has never seen. It was stunning...absolutely perfect venue for an incredible day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colleen
Wedding:
7/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Caitlin Sims was wonderful! She came into the planning process with a couple weeks left to go. The day was wonderful and the venue was beautiful. We were very pleased with the quality of service during the reception and many guests commented on the great service as well. I was a little disappointed in the check-out service the next day as my husband and I were paying for 3 rooms total. They got the amount of money quoted vs the amount they requested at the time wrong; we were in the room block price. They also charged me a room that I did not request to charge and I had to drive back to fix the problem. They also charged my Mother-in-law, even though we picked up the bill. After calling several times the problem was fixed however, it was stressful and annoying to deal with that. We would highly recommend the Wentworth and will be back for our 1st Anniversary. Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alicia
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
Caitlin was absolutely the best co-ordinator to work with. She was extremely responsive and always willing to go the extra mile to ensure we were happy with our service. Our wedding was unbelievable and there is nothing I would have done differently that day. Thanks to Caitlin she ensured we had the best day of our lives and we truly did. The Wentworth overall, is an amazing venue and I already have other friends considering it for their wedding. Thank you again for a wonderful day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Overall, my hyusband and I could not be happier with the service and experience we had at Wentworth by the Sea. Caitlin Sims, our wedding coordinator is very bubbly and exudes "hospitality." She was genuinely as excited as we were leading up to our wedding and on our wedding day. Any issues or questions we had she hit head on and took care of. The banquet staff at our reception was amazing! I can not say enough about them all and the level of service we received. I am still getting rave reviews about the staff, how delicious the food was and of course, you can not beat the location. Many thanks to Caitlin and the rest of the staff at Wentworth by the Sea for making our day absolutely perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ly.
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
Absolutely breathe taking. It was the wedding of my dreams and it's all thanks to the Wentworth
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lois
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
Wentworth by the Sea Hotel and Spa in New Castle, NH is the most beautiful property. Their wedding package provides many items a bridal couple would have to contract for separately-table flowers, escort cards, table numbers, ets... Their outside garden is a fabulous place for a ceremony and the Wentworth Ballroom is lovely. It is the perfect setting of elegance and beauty. The appetizers and entrees are delicious and their are choices for every palate. The staff is extremely professional and there to assist with every need and to make sure that everything goes smoothly.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rita
Wedding:
9/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Working with Christine was a pleasure.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
Amazing! The wedding coordinator (Gina) was amazing and very very helpful. She made me feel at ease with planning my wedding. The service here is impeccable.
I wouild highly reccomend.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We couldn't have been happier, the food was excellent, the service was amazing, the entire staff attended to our every need with incredible professionalism, we would highly recommend The Wentworth by the Sea!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Wentworth by the Sea was such an incredible venue to have our reception! From the minute we started planning our wedding, everyone was so accommodating and working to meet our needs. The event itself was amazing. The staff was so welcoming and made each and every guest feel special. Our guests are still talking about the service they received and how much they enjoyed themselves. Near dinner time, my husband and I were walking around to the different tables and greeting our guests. When we returned to our table, our food had already been served. Immediately a staff member got us new plates of food because ours had been sitting out for a few minutes already. I was so impressed! I would definitely recommend this venue to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
12/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Wow!!!! I can't say enough great things about the Wentworth. My wedding was unbelievable!!! Truly the best day of our lives!! They took care of everything and I mean everything. Of course my type a personality asked every question and emailed sometimes multiple times a day checking on things and they had everything already figured out and an answer or solution for everthing. Gina was my wedding coordinator. She is a god send!! I will never forget how she calmed all my nerves for one of the best days of our lives. Gina, Frank( the hotel manager) and all the staff were truly incredible. Every single one of the staff were always sooo amazing and on top of everything. The hotel was sooo beautiful and the food and soooo yummy. Everyone said it was the best weddings they have ever been to. I really could go on and on. They are truly the best!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SRoseS33
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Our Wentworth wedding was absolutely spectacular!!! We worked with Gina Damiano and she went above and beyond for the entire wedding planning process. She was extremely professional, responsive, and organized. I would recommend her to any bride!

On our wedding day, our guests were very impressed by the champagne welcome cocktail hour, the unlimited delicious hors d'oeuvres, and the great bar service! Gina was by our side helping organize our wedding entrance and we didn't have to worry about a thing the entire reception. The dinner and wine service were great. We served the filet and lobster, which was positively delicious. Our guests raved about every aspect of the wedding! We were even able to extend the celebration by having our guests enjoy drinks at the Roosevelt Lounge and cigars on the veranda after the reception!

My only feedback is that the Wentworth room block is expensive with a two night minimum so most guests did not stay in the hotel. We arranged for a more affordable room block at the Portsmouth Marriott, which is actually not downtown. This shouldn't stop you from getting married at the Wentworth, but you should know most guests will not stay at the Wentworth and I would recommend to research other hotels if you want your guests to be walking distance to downtown Portsmouth.

Overall, everything at the Wentworth was outstanding--service, atmosphere, professionalism, and food! I would, without hesitation, recommend any bride to get married at the Wentworth especially if they're looking for an elegant venue and a fairy tale dream wedding come true!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
B Lew
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
The hotel was great! We had our ceremony/reception in the Wentworth Ballroom. Everything was set up as we had planned for. The staff service was exceptional. The food was amazing and they kept bringing out more and more for the raw bar! I would recommend the martini ice bar as well, it was a big hit!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nadia
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Wentworth by the Sea was a terrific place to have our wedding...The venue is beautiful and the food is AMAZING. Our guests are still talking about how wonderful the food was. Our coordinator, Gina Damiano, was absolutely terrific...professional, responsive, helpful and really on top of her game. The day of the wedding, I knew I didn't have to worry about anything. There were a couple times I had to go to another coordinator (forget her name) who wasnot quite as helpful or friendly (I don't know if it was because she wasn't assigned to our wedding or if it's just her personality). Gina was great though. She is ultra organized and makes you feel like you don't need to worry about anything. I also love that she connects on her own with the other vendors...just makes it so much easier. Ours was an intercultural wedding (my family is Pakistani, and my husband's family is Irish and Jewish). We had a huge stage setup in the ballroom and the hotel was cool about everything. Highly recommend this place...and most of all Gina as a coordiniator.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Perfection and nothing less. The location, the staff, the service, the level of professionalism, the commitment, the food, the logistics, the acommodations, the magic - it was all there. We are still hearing about how our wedding was the most romantic wedding anyone has ever been to. With the warmth of the Wentworth and a winter wedding it was simply spectacular! The most magical day of our lives!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Talbots
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Wentworth By The Sea and Abigail Stephens were absolutely amazing throughout the entire planning process. My questions were answered right away and I was able to relax and enjoy everything because I knew it was all in the right hands. Our wedding was perfect and beautiful and I would recommend them to anyone! Thanks so much for everything!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
keds
Wedding:
4/23/2011
5.0/5.0
As many other brides and grooms have already said, we could not be happier with our experience at the Wentworth. We knew the moment we met with Jen O'Leary and toured the grounds that it was the perfect place for a beautiful wedding. From the tastings with all of the vendors (I booked Grace Limo's Rolls Royce and they were wonderful, and used Jacques for our cake, which was amazing in every aspect) to the constant flow of communication with our fabulous coordinator, Abigail Stephens, we felt like royalty and completely confident in their hands. I expected the best, and we got more than we could have ever imagined. The food was so amazing, people are still telling me that it was the best meal they've ever had at a wedding! The service was unbelievable... when the servers did their presidential service and placed everyone's plate down at the same time, tables of guests were clapping they were so impressed!! The moment we stepped into the front door there were servers with trays of champagne and Hors d'œuvres for us. I felt like a princess!! We did a wine service with dinner, and our glasses never got below half empty and yet you would never know the service was happening. Everything was planned and executed seamlessly. I wish we could relive the day all over again. My husband said as we were leaving our amazing suite the next morning, "I can't wait to celebrate anniversaries.... because we get to come back and stay at the Wentworth!" I completely agree.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nancy
Wedding:
12/11/2010
5.0/5.0
My daughter's wedding was absolutely fabulous! There was nothing that escaped Gina Damiano's eyes before or during the wedding. Being out of town, the many emails were responded to cheerfully and immediately. Gina is well respected and works well with the other vendors to make sure your wedding is exactly what you want. The value for cost is exactly on point. What price do you pay for peace of mind, excellent food, presentation, and the ability to enjoy your wedding without worrying about absolutely anything? I will miss talking to Gina and the Wentworth recommended vendors as they became fast friends. It blew my mind that so many people cared about my daughter's happiness on her special day. I could go on and on. Just looking at my pictures and seeing everything just as we had forseen, is a wonderful aftermath!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bride10910
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I fell in love with Wentworth by the Sea when we saw it, so we decided to make our budget work. We spent a lot of money, this is not an inexpensive venue. What you get, though, is well worth the cost.

Our guests told us repeatedly that we had the best wedding they have ever been to. It was an amazing five star event without being stuffy. The service and food was incredible.

We had a couple hiccoughs in our planning process. First I was working with Jennifer O'Leary and due to a misunderstanding on both ends, the wrong date was held over a year before the wedding. They would not accept the contract until 12 months before the wedding, but will hold the date prior to that time. Luckily all but one of my vendors was able to change dates and Jennifer was very accommodating in helping rectify the situation.

Jennifer O'Leary was amazing to work with. She was always very quick to return emails and helpful when it came to customizing the event. Such as having a martini luge instead of an ice sculpture. They were also very kind and allowed me to choose my wines for the wine service with dinner as long as they were of a similar price to the house wines (which were awful). And when fewer people than expected came, the venue allowed me to add an additional course and more food for the cocktail hour to meet the minimum.

Unfortunately during the planning Jennifer was promoted and her replacement was not so stellar, then when the replacement didn't work out I was back to working with Jennifer again! The replacement was not rude, but just didn't have the finesse or interpersonal skills that Jennifer had.

It was an unforgettable event for us and our guests. I highly recommend it, but if you like wine, you'll need to make arrangements to choose your own or upgrade.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ed Connolly
Wedding:
9/11/2010
5.0/5.0
We are a GAY COUPLE...newly able to legally marry in New Hampshire! Finding a location was both exciting and scary. Of course, first and foremost, we wanted that magical experience any couple getting married wants...yet also had to consider where we'd also feel comfortable, supported and accepted. We got it all with the Wentworth By The Sea Hotel & Spa. They not only made us feel welcome, but it truly was the best day of our lives at the most magical, elegant location we could have chosen. Every guest said it was the most beautiful and memorable wedding they'd ever attended...not just because they love us, but because the hotel and service were absolutely extraordinary. Gina Damiano, the catering staff, as well as the entire hotel staff, went above and beyond to make our wedding weekend a magical dream. I wish I could explain in words how we felt over that wonderful weekend in September...we were pampered, celebrated and welcomed like kings. Never had to worry about a thing...and all for a great price. I CANNOT RECOMMEND WBTS MORE FOR YOUR WEDDING...especially if you are a gay or lesbian couple looking for a dream location. Ed & Harv
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tricia
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
We were married June 26, 2010 at the Wentworth by the Sea hotel. Our experience with the staff at Wentworth was wonderful, beginning to end! The tasting was wonderful! They provided vendors and set up tables in the many different ways that were available. Their presentation was wonderful and very helpful. The wedding coordinators were so informative, confident and professional. We worked mostly with Jenni Franco and Gina Damiano, they were both wonderful. I was immediately put at ease and felt completely confident that everything would be taken care of the way that I had wanted it. We chose the Little Harbor Celebration package, which included a free night the evening of our wedding in the honeymoon suite (which was spectacular), open bar, the food, flowers, cake and linens. It was a very easy process to make decisions on these items because the vendors were top notch with so many various options. The grounds were amazingly kept and beautiful everytime I went there, perfect for wedding pictures! The food was absolutely delicious and the white glove service was outstanding. We received many compliments on the food starting with passed and stationed hors d'oeuvres, champagne, 3-course meal and yummy petifores for dessert!! There was tons of food at cocktail hour, everything was set up exactly the way that I wanted it. The Wentworth ballroom was amazing!! The two vendors, Jacques Pastries (cake) and Jardiniere (flowers), were also as easy and wonderful to work with, and we were extremely satisfied with the outcome of both. The whole evening flowed perfectly and I never had to worry about a thing! I would highly recommend Wentworth by the Sea!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg5
cupcake04
Wedding:
6/6/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I recently had my wedding at Wentworth and it was better than anything I could have imagined. Everyone keeps talking about how impressive the service was and how amazing the food was. I never had a problem reaching our event coordinator (Gina- she's the greatest) and the entire staff was very professional.

My dad used to take me by Wentworth when I was little and it was falling down, and I was so glad to be able to have our wedding there now that everything has been restored. The history and architecture of a venue was very important to me, and I can wholeheartedly say that Wentworth was perfection! The Grand Ballroom was where our reception was held and everything has been restored to achieve the perfect level of elegance.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JennaT
Wedding:
5/1/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I had recently had our wedding at Wentworth By The Sea and everything was AMAZING. The preparation and meetings with Gina prior to the wedding were organized and useful. I enjoyed the event they had for couples having their weddings there, which included tasting all the offerings, cakes, meeting all the preferred vendors, and lots of champange and wine tasting!

The Grand Ballroom where our reception was held is really beautiful, with old chandeliers and intricate moldings and carving on the walls and ceiling. It's the smaller of the two ballrooms, and has an old charm that we really enjoyed. Our wedding coordinator, Gina, was perfect and really made the wedding exactly how I had envisioned it. The hotel itself impressed all our guests and the food was to die for. I was nervous since wedding food churned out in batches of 100 usually isn't top notch, but I received so many compliments about the food, and what I got to eat (which wasn't much that day) was fabulous, and it was the vegetarian entree!

I really recommend this gorgeous venue for a wedding and if you can, ask for Gina to be your coordinator.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
apeacock
Wedding:
12/5/2009
5.0/5.0
We wanted to take some time and thank your staff for the excellent care you took in planning, preparing, and delivering on our wedding day. We were amazed with how we were treated and how everything came together. We felt like honored guests from the time we entered the Wentworth more than a year ago.
We want to thank Jenni Franco so much for her flexibility, her patience and her kindness. She was always organized and professional. Our experience working with the Wentworth has been one of the most wonderful experiences of our lives!
During our cocktail and reception, guests could not stop talking about how they felt they were in a dream, a fairytale. Since our wedding guests have been writing us and calling us to express how amazed they were at the Wentworth’s service and care. We are so happy that we could thank our guests in a way that only the Wentworth could do.
Our cocktail hour with the raw bar, the angel ice sculpture and the fine details that the Wentworth worked into everything really floored our guests and us! I can’t imagine celebrating our wedding any other place. We will always hold the Wentworth close to our hearts and look forward to spending more time there in our future as a married couple.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carey
Wedding:
7/18/2009
5.0/5.0
We just got married in July of 2009 and are so happy we chose to have our special day at Wentworth by the Sea. We looked all over New England, however wanted a place that was sophisticated, classy, on the water, held quite a few people, but simple all at once! My Dad used to golf at the golf course in the early nineties and recommended looking at Wentworth and were so happy we did. The history of Wentworth makes it such a remarkable place. Having a wedding coordinator really helps in making the process smooth and stress free. Jenni Franco, helped us through each step of the wedding planning process, which made it so fun and enjoyable.

The food was great and people are still talking about how amazing our wedding day was. We couldn't be happier with our choice of having our wedding reception at Wentworth by the Sea and hope to go back for many years to come.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Matt Guziejka
Wedding:
6/20/2009
5.0/5.0
My husband and I spent a lot of time searching for the perfect place to get married and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. As a bride there are so many details to take care of and decisions to make; I have to say working with the staff at the Wentworth was truly a pleasure. We worked with Gina and she took our vision and turned it into a fairy tale. We got married on June 20,2009 and our guests continue to tell us that they have never been to a more beautiful wedding. I could truly go on about our experience, but If i could leave you with one last thought. If you are looking for a gorgeous venue, spectacular food, elegant decor, and a planner who has an eye for every last detail I truly think Wentworth by the Sea is your fairy tale waiting to be planned.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristine
Wedding:
12/19/2008
5.0/5.0
The wedding planner at the site was amazing and so great to work with. She handled everything beautifully. The reception was like clock work. The food was the best I have ever had at an event like this and was told this to me by many of the guests at our wedding. They truly made this the most special day of our lives.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nancy M.
Wedding:
8/22/2008
5.0/5.0
We were married 8/22/08 at the Wentworth by the Sea. Let me first say, I don't typically write recommendations but feel that our experience was so perfect that anyone considering this venue should run and book immediately as it was truly a dream come true. As you'll read on their website, the hotel went through an amazing transformation/renovation costing millions and its obvious the architect, designer and contractor had a high degree of focus to bring it back to a glamorous premier destination resort. Some of the highlights of our experience was (a) it being a Marriott Hotel & Spa we were able to book massages, manicures, etc. the day before and then enjoyed a swim in the beautiful indoor pool to relax our nerves; (b) the package we chose, Little Harbor Celebration, included a free night the evening of our wedding in the honeymoon suite (which was spectacular), open bar, the food, flowers, cake and linens. It was a very easy process to make decisions on these items because the vendors were top notch and extremely flexible with so many terrific ideas/options; (c) we had our photos taken outdoors in the beautiful gardens with the waterfront as a backdrop (like a postcard); (d) the reception was in the Grand Ballroom (which has the original stage, chandeliers, woodwork dating back to 1874) and our 5 person band fit perfectly; (d) the food and white glove service was outstanding/unique in every way starting with delicious passed hors d'oeuvres, champagne, 3-course meal and beautiful petifores to accent the wedding cake for dessert; and (e) our wedding planner/consultant, Jennifer Franco (on staff at the Wentworth) was extremely professional, sweet, responsive, helpful, smart, detailed oriented and truly made sure everything went as planned. Overall, I can say with the utmost honesty that our experience was phenomenal and our guests were talking about the wedding for months afterward which made us feel GREAT that we made the right choice. One tip I'm happy to share, we used the Marriott Rewards Visa to book everything and it gave us enough points to stay a free night, which we used to celebrate our 1st anniversary. We plan to visit the hotel on every anniversary in the future as it'll be a fun and special tradition.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chelsea
Wedding:
11/10/2013
4.9/5.0
Wentworth by the Sea is an absolutely gorgeous place for a wedding. The staff at the Wentworth are all incredibly friendly and accommodating to your needs. The hotel has a lot of character and is truly stunning. I loved that we were able to hold both our reception and ceremony at the Wentworth and that our guests could stay at the hotel after the event (many of our guests did end up staying, so I was happy we didn't have to worry about transportation). We chose the Little Harbor package and it was perfect. The food was AMAZING! Great selection of appetizers and entrées - go to a tasting if you can, even if you are fairly certain of what you want. The tasting itself is a fun event! Also included in the package was centerpieces from Jardineires florist (she did a beautiful job), escort cards and table numbers from Mainely New Hampshire (they were phenomenal too), and a wedding cake of our choice from Jacques (yummy!). The best part of all about doing our wedding at the Wentworth was working with Cait Sims, the catering manager. She was SO helpful in working with us to plan and coordinate everything, and she made sure that every last detail ran smoothly on the day of the event. I think I emailed her about 100 times with questions, and she always responded in a timely fashion. Hands-down the best customer service I have ever received. We could not be happier with our decision to hold our wedding the Wentworth by the Sea.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
Wentworth By The Sea Hotel provided us the absolutely perfect location and experience we could have dreamed of for our wedding. From the ceremony in their gardens to the cocktail hour to the elegantly served meals....everything was PERFECT. The entire staff at the Wentworth were remarkable. They were accommodating, attentive, and extremely professional. Our families and friends were in awe of the beautiful setting and attention to detail that the hotel provided.

Our event manager Caitlin Sims was the absolute best!! Our wedding weekend was the best time in our lives and Caitlin played an enormous role in making it all happen. She is a absolute gem and we couldn't have asked for a better
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
1/16/2010
4.9/5.0
Everything was fantastic. Venue is beautiful, the food is delicious, and the wedding coordinator could not have been more helpful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aimee
Wedding:
9/6/2009
4.9/5.0
nothing less than perfect service. People said it was the best wedding they ever went to , however a little on the pricey side for all that attention, service and perfection.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Corey
Wedding:
5/10/2014
4.8/5.0
Wentworth by the Sea is an amazing venue with fantastic staff. We had our reception there on May 10th and everything was in full bloom- it was absolutely stunning! The food was amazing. The room was set up exactly as we requested, right down to the little details! Everyone raved about the food, drinks, beautiful scenery and the fantastic staff. Every detail was wonderful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Suzanne
Wedding:
12/31/2013
4.8/5.0
We were just married on New Year's Eve at the Wentworth by the Sea and it was amazing! I think it was such an amazing experience for us because of our wedding coordinator Caitlin Sims. I can't say enough good things about her. She was amazing to work with , very responsive and made me feel very comfortable leading up to and day of the wedding. The hotel itself is gorgeous and the staff was friendly and helpful. They were there for us with anything we needed during our stay. The food was great as well and our guest were raving about the presentation of dinner - it really is impressive. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars across the board yes because yes, it is expensive but to be honest - I would do it all over again in a heartbeat! If you are looking at the Wentworth, make sure and ask for Caitlin - you will not be disappointed!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meg
Wedding:
7/5/2013
4.8/5.0
The staff, and in particular Caitlin, did a first rate job with our event. The food was great, the wait staff were very professional and attentive, the cleanliness of facility was perfect. Caitlin did an excellent job organizing and keeping things moving. We'd highly recommend.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
9/3/2011
4.8/5.0
My husband and I had our wedding at the Wentworth by the Sea on September 3rd. It was the most amazing day! Abigail, our wedding coordinator at the Wentworth, was such a wonderful person to work with. She was very attentive and happy to answer all questions. The Wentworth blew us away during all aspects of the day. All of our guests raved about the food and service during the cocktail hour and the dinner. We would both recommend Wentworth by the Sea to brides and grooms looking to have the most magical, romantic, and perfect wedding day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
brookegoodwin
Wedding:
6/19/2010
4.8/5.0
We were married at the Wentworth in June of this year and it could not have been more spectacular. The venue is outstanding, the staff's attention to detail and service is impeccable, but most of all Gina Damiano, the Director of Catering, was invaluable throughout the process. Her calm demeanor, flexibility, experience and organization made the entire event happen seamlessly. I have been planning corporate events my entire career so I know how things should operate and Gina went above and beyond my expectations. My husband and I searched high and low for the perfect oceanfront New England venue and we could not have made a better decision. I wish we could do it all over again; it was such a tremendous experience.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathryn
Wedding:
7/18/2009
4.8/5.0
The Wentworth by the Sea exceeded our expectations on our wedding day. The service was outstanding! No detail went unnoticed, and it's nice to know that on the biggest most chaotic day of your life, someone else is taking care of all the questions. I never had to ask, because my questions were always answered in the Wentworth's thorough account of the wedding plans. Servers were attentive to our guests all day. The food is delicious, even in bulk when there are 150+ mouths to feed. I could go on and on about the incredible service, hospitality, and genuine care that went into making our wedding day the most beautiful and romantic day that our friends and family will never forget.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
10/1/2011
4.7/5.0
We had a beautiful wedding at the Wentworth, and it was everything we could have dreamed of. Our coordinator, Abigail, was great! She was always so calm, and I always felt like she had a handle on everything and really knew what she was doing. We had no major issues, but I had full confidence that she could have handled anything.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
8/28/2010
4.7/5.0
I recently had my wedding at the Wentworth Hotel and wanted to share my experiences. The location and venue is beautiful and the professionalism and service of the staff is wonderful. I found it very pleasurable working with our coordinator and felt like I could contact her with any questions and felt confident about how things would go during our wedding. Although weddings here can be a bit pricey, I feel like you get a good value for your money. The Wentworth has several different levels of wedding packages and they include the centerpieces, cake, and escort cards/table numbers, which are through pre-determined vendors. I found it wonderful to work with these vendors and took out the work of finding your own vendors for these items. The catering is done at the hotel, and the food was fantastic, much better than I had anticipated. All in all, I though the entire wedding went off without a problem and we were above and beyond happy with the entire event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stefanie
Wedding:
11/7/2009
4.7/5.0
We had both our ceremony and reception at the Wentworth, and it was by FAR the most beautiful wedding I have ever seen. Of course this is a biased opinion, but I am also going with the opinions of so many of our friends and familythat came up to us and said so. The Wentworth, and our wedding coordinator made sure that EVERY SINGLE last detail was taken care of. I am a very organized person, who was very involved with the planning of the wedding - however, I could not have done half of what was accomplished, without my coordinator. The lists and schedule of events pertaining to the weekend were extremely detailed and helpful. The food was AMAZING and the White Gloved Service was a big hit with our guests. My one true issue with the Wentworth woud be the cost - it is an expensive venue, with the opportunity for many upgrades, but I can honestly say at the end of the day, I would not change ONE thing about my wedding...so it was all worth it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
James
Wedding:
9/14/2013
4.6/5.0
The service and attention to detail was excellent, and the staff extremely attentive to your needs, especially the wedding coordinator, Caitlin Sims.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sharonlea478
Wedding:
7/30/2011
4.6/5.0
Incredible wedding coordinator (Abigail) and wedding staff! The catering staff was wonderful! The food second to none! Presentation and service impeccible! The ballroom....breathtaking! This venue is absolutely beautiful, not one detail has been missed! My only dissapointment was with the staff at the front desk who gave us such a hard time checking in...we requested early check in nearly a year ago and didnt get into our room until 4PM...and we had appts and small children...also they gave us a hard time with our AAA discount, when you are having a huge event I do think customer service at the front desk should be top notch. Eventually they did honor our discount, but it was very stressful initially..other than that the staff was wonderful! Including the very attentive bellman and valet staff....kudos ....
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.5/5.0
We had our reception at the Wentworth in October 2013 in the Wentworth Ballroom. We happened to have a gorgeous weekend, and the property looked picture-perfect. Most of our wedding guests chose to stay at the hotel and everyone loved the overall experience. The service was impeccable throughout the night. Appetizers during cocktail hour were delicious, the dinner was excellent, and everyone was impressed by the presidential dinner service. All of the wait staff were very professional and pleasant. Bar staff were very strict on carding people for a wedding but served good drinks. The wedding coordinator that we worked with was good, although slow at responding to our requests over email from time to time. Throughout the wedding weekend, all of the hotel staff were very responsive to anything we needed. Overall, we were very glad we chose the Wentworth and happy that all of our guests had a truly memorable experience at our wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
steph7787
Wedding:
4/28/2012
4.5/5.0
The Wentworth gave me my dream wedding. Everyone in attendance commented on the idyllic setting of the quintessential New England wedding.

We worked with Gina, who always had an answer for our questions. She understood what type of wedding we wanted and worked with us on how to accomplish our goal.

One of the main benefits of going with a Wentworth package is that you work with the preferred Wentworth vendors. Every vendor helped us during our engagement and made our event so special. Deborah from Maine-ly NH was especially helpful and had so many ideas for how to enhance our day with our programs, favors, signage, etc ...

The price tag for the Wentworth is hefty but absolutely worth the money. The cost per plate is inclusive of so many amenities and great service. More importantly, the actual food is delicious and there are great options for all menus.

All in all, we absolutely loved our Wentworth wedding and look forward to going back to celebrate our anniversaries. If you're searching for a New England wedding - definitely include the Wentworth in your search!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1279897335980-brunch20100606
Sapna
Wedding:
4/15/2011
4.5/5.0
Wow. After months of working with Gina, the wonderful Director of Catering, I had no idea that the execution of all our plans would be so seamless and professional. The hotel didn't have as much experience with Indian weddings, but they learned quick and even learned how to make Indian food! We chose the venue because of the character of the hotel and the food - and they delivered. Customer service was above and beyond. The wedding was a huge success. Needless to say, we'll be back to enjoy the hotel for many years to come!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LVogel
Wedding:
5/23/2009
4.4/5.0
The Wentworth is always great. Perfect for someone who wants a great wedding, but who doesn't have time to work on each detail. The food is excellent, as is the service. Read your contract carefully so you are not charged NH Food and Beverage tax on the mandatory gratuity though.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.1/5.0
Jaime and her team did an amazing job on my wedding day. Everything was perfect, exactly how I envisioned it! Our guests have given us numerous compliments on how beautiful the venue was and how delicious the food tasted. The Wentworth was a fantastic choice for us and our families. Everyone was extremely happy and it made our wedding day even more special and memorable. Kudos to Jaime and her team!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
5/7/2011
4.0/5.0
The Wentworth Hotel is the reception site my husband and I chose. We loved the hotel, beautiful old and only an hour drive from Boston, where we live. The whole process was pretty good, but there was some confusion in the beginning and the end which left a slightly sour taste in our mouths. We would go back and stay because it was gorgeous though. Proceed with caution if chosing the Wentworth. INSIST on working with GINA DAMIANO. She is great to work with!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.7/5.0
Our wedding day was a fairy tail at Wentworth by the Sea. The service during the event was exceptional. Anything that we wanted for our special day was accommodated by the hotel. The venue is so beautiful and elegant. The only negative of the whole experience was the communication with our coordinator. We would send e-mails or leave voice messages and not hear back for weeks. It made us feel like we were not important to the coordinator. For a high-end venue like the Wentworth we expected a exceptional coordinator but unfortunately we didn't receive that kind of service during the planning stage. We would recommend the Wentworth for events for its beauty, delicious food and service of the waitstaff during the event just not the service during the planning stages.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
elisabeth1030
Wedding:
8/30/2008
3.5/5.0
The Wentworth was a beautiful place to have our wedding reception. The food was amazing. The staff on the day of the event were very professional. I did have some trouble getting in touch with the wedding coordinator throughout the wedding process, however, she was fairly easy to work with. One thing to beware of - the package price does not include service charge and then tax on top of that. Also, a lot of what I wanted (flowers, cake, linens) were all considered "upgrades," and cost more
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
588 Wentworth Road, New Castle, NH 03854 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Wentworth by the Sea Hotel & Spa
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1370455627211-0518