130x130 sq 1370577682482 ceremonylogo

Whimsíque Designer Invitations & Stationery

San Diego , CA

LOCATION

2690 Historic Decatur Rd. , Suite 209
San Diego, CA 92106 US (map)

PHONE

858-212-7677

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Company

Whimsíque (pronounced whim-zeek) is an award-winning designer invitation and stationery studio committed to making beautiful one-of-a-kind wedding invitations and... Read more
Company

Whimsíque (pronounced whim-zeek) is an award-winning designer invitation and stationery studio committed to making beautiful one-of-a-kind wedding invitations and stationery that provide an exclusive and authentic expression of you, your relationship and your wedding event. Whimsíque's work has been featured in some of the wedding industry’s most distinguished national and local media, including Style Me Pretty, Wedding Wire, Oh Lovely Day, Style Unveiled, Ceremony Magazine, San Diego Style Weddings and Exquisite Magazine.

Since its inception over 5 years ago, Whimsíque has become known for its stylish and imaginative designs as well as unsurpassed service and personalized attention throughout the entire process of custom-designing, handcrafting and delivering dream invitation suites to its clients. It is this combination of “style and service” that has allowed Whimsíque to earn the 2013 San Diego A-List Award for “Best Invitations” and the Wedding Wire “Bride's Choice Award" for 2012 and 2013.

To understand your unique requirements, personality and distinctive style, Whimsíque conducts complimentary in-person consultations by appointment. Your invitation suite is then custom designed to bring your vision to life with as many adjustments as necessary until you are completely in love with your design. Each piece is carefully handcrafted using the finest papers, embellishments and materials. Options include letterpress, lasercut, foil printing, flat printing, acrylic, wood, silk boxes and just about anything else you can dream up.

Whimsíque is located in San Diego and works with clients throughout southern California, across the nation and internationally.

Founder/Creative Director

Melissa grew up in San Diego and received a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Design from San Diego State University. After graduating from SDSU, she worked in the non-profit sector, performing graphic design and event planning. Eventually, Melissa moved on to "Corporate America" to become the Senior Graphic Designer of a large baby toy and baby gear company. She designed everything from logos and packaging to toys and shopping cart covers, but missed the excitement and creativity involved in creating unforgettable events.

Outside of her corporate job, Melissa frequently utilized her talents to design invitations and stationery at the request of friends and family. But it wasn’t until she got married that she realized how valuable a good vendor is in the process of planning a wedding. This fresh perspective coupled with her passion for design, events and people ultimately led her to start Whimsíque in 2009 while continuing to work full time as a Senior Graphic Designer. In mid-2011, Whimsíque’s success enabled her to quit her corporate job and pursue her passion wholeheartedly. Read less
Invitations

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1278186078677 whimsique2152
130x130 sq 1278186077614 whimsique2151
130x130 sq 1278186076130 whimsique2098
130x130 sq 1342649509046 whimsique155
130x130 sq 1342649506766 whimsique115
130x130 sq 1278697330374 red3
130x130 sq 1278697330343 red5
130x130 sq 1278186091895 whimsique2114
130x130 sq 1278186086895 whimsique2112
130x130 sq 1278186087192 whimsique2108
130x130 sq 1278186089942 whimsique2115
130x130 sq 1278186072911 whimsique2134
130x130 sq 1278697339171 teal4
130x130 sq 1278697336812 teal1
130x130 sq 1278697340155 teal7
130x130 sq 1278697341624 teal8
130x130 sq 1278697342155 teal9
130x130 sq 1278697326452 purple2
130x130 sq 1278697328234 purple6
130x130 sq 1278697324671 purple1
130x130 sq 1278697184655 blue1
130x130 sq 1278697317796 blue7
130x130 sq 1278697317796 blue4
130x130 sq 1278186080989 whimsique2106
130x130 sq 1278186081395 whimsique2103
130x130 sq 1278186083473 whimsique2161
130x130 sq 1278697321437 green1
130x130 sq 1278697322874 green3
130x130 sq 1278186082442 whimsique2124
130x130 sq 1278697323124 magenta6
130x130 sq 1278697335624 silver13
130x130 sq 1278697333812 silver5
130x130 sq 1278697333187 silver4
130x130 sq 1278697331687 silver
130x130 sq 1278697334984 silver7
130x130 sq 1342649504076 whimsique106

INFO FOR INVITATIONS

What invitation and card products do you offer?
Custom Invitations, Imprinted Napkins, Menus, Place Cards, Programs, RSVP Cards, Save the Dates, Thank Yous
What services do you provide?
Addressing, Assembly, Calligraphy, Design, Embossed, Engraving, Foil-Stamped, In-Person Consultations, Laser Cut, Letterpress, Printing
What is your minimum order requirement?
1

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Tina
Wedding:
6/20/2015
5.0/5.0
If you want the Complete Package-professionalism, attentiveness, responsiveness, on time delivery, great personality and artistic perfection, then Melissa Ward of Whimsique has to be your choice! Melissa did an amazing job on my daughter’s wedding invitations; favor boxes, assorted signage (for food stations, church, red carpet, candy buffet) in addition to menus, guest seating chart, agenda for out of town guest packages, and church programs! As mother of the bride, and also their official wedding planner, working with Melissa was totally stress free which in itself was such a bonus! I had the pleasure of meeting Melissa on my trip to San Diego, and I knew we had made the right choice using Whimsique for all our wedding stationery. Melissa designed the most beautiful Gatsby style wedding invitation complete with ostrich feather, brooch and tiny rhinestone accents which was mailed to our guests in a white gift box with blush ribbon! The response from our guests ranged from “you have got to be kidding me to… I am not going to return the RSVP Card because I don’t want to disturb this beautiful presentation” The invitation was truly breathtaking! The design and theme of the invitation was carried throughout the wedding event and we received so many compliments from those attending as to the detail that went into the wedding – all with thanks and appreciation to Melissa. After working with Melissa for a year and half, I felt like I was losing a friend when the wedding was over – but in giving her this review, I hope others will enjoy the same pleasure that I experienced as they plan for their special day! Melissa is the best, not only in San Diego area, but throughout the US in my opinion.
If you want the Complete Package-professionalism, attentiveness, responsiveness, on time delivery, great personality and Read more...
If you want the Complete Package-professionalism, attentiveness, responsiveness, on time delivery, great personality and artistic perfection, then Melissa Ward of Whimsique has to be your choice! Melissa did an amazing job on my daughter’s wedding invitations; favor boxes, assorted signage (for food stations, church, red carpet, candy buffet) in addition to menus, guest seating chart, agenda for out of town guest packages, and church programs! As mother of the bride, and also their official wedding planner, working with Melissa was totally stress free which in itself was such a bonus! I had the pleasure of meeting Melissa on my trip to San Diego, and I knew we had made the right choice using Whimsique for all our wedding stationery. Melissa designed the most beautiful Gatsby style wedding invitation complete with ostrich feather, brooch and tiny rhinestone accents which was mailed to our guests in a white gift box with blush ribbon! The response from our guests ranged from “you have got to be kidding me to… I am not going to return the RSVP Card because I don’t want to disturb this beautiful presentation” The invitation was truly breathtaking! The design and theme of the invitation was carried throughout the wedding event and we received so many compliments from those attending as to the detail that went into the wedding – all with thanks and appreciation to Melissa. After working with Melissa for a year and half, I felt like I was losing a friend when the wedding was over – but in giving her this review, I hope others will enjoy the same pleasure that I experienced as they plan for their special day! Melissa is the best, not only in San Diego area, but throughout the US in my opinion. Read less
Services Used: Favors & Gifts, Invitations, Unique Services
130x130 sq 1425487485160 1
Lindsay S
Wedding:
6/14/2015
5.0/5.0
Melissa was unbelievable! I would highly recommend her for anyone looking for wedding invitations, or stationary. So many of our guests have commented on how gorgeous and incredible the invitations are. But Melissa was even more impressive than the finished product. She had a huge selection of completed invitations to get ideas rolling for ours. She was very informative as far as what works well with other things and what does not. She was open to collaborating with us and our suggestions, and made countless changes to the invitations until we were 100% happy, always using our input and giving us exactly what we wanted. Best of all, she answered every single email promptly, including late at night and during the weekends. Being in the industry myself, customer service is a huge deal to me, and she went above and beyond. Cannot speak highly enough of how great Melissa was/is. Everybody, and I mean everybody, should use her for their wedding invitations and stationary needs.
Melissa was unbelievable! I would highly recommend her for anyone looking for wedding invitations, or stationary. So many Read more...
Melissa was unbelievable! I would highly recommend her for anyone looking for wedding invitations, or stationary. So many of our guests have commented on how gorgeous and incredible the invitations are. But Melissa was even more impressive than the finished product. She had a huge selection of completed invitations to get ideas rolling for ours. She was very informative as far as what works well with other things and what does not. She was open to collaborating with us and our suggestions, and made countless changes to the invitations until we were 100% happy, always using our input and giving us exactly what we wanted. Best of all, she answered every single email promptly, including late at night and during the weekends. Being in the industry myself, customer service is a huge deal to me, and she went above and beyond. Cannot speak highly enough of how great Melissa was/is. Everybody, and I mean everybody, should use her for their wedding invitations and stationary needs. Read less
Services Used: Invitations
Default vendor profile pic
erika
Wedding:
5/9/2015
5.0/5.0
Whimsique did our wedding invitations for our wedding on May 9, 2015. Melissa is OUTSTANDING at what she does. I would say these invitations are HANDS DOWN the best you will find in San Diego. They are a bit on the pricier side, but totally worth it if it's in your budget. They are so classy and glamorous. My husband was worried they'd be a little too feminine, but Melissa worked and worked and WORKED on them with me (on the design, colors and wording) until it was exactly what we wanted. Not to mention, she was the best vendor out of all the vendors for my wedding to respond to my (many) emails. This is where you need to get your wedding invitations done if you are getting married in San Diego!
Whimsique did our wedding invitations for our wedding on May 9, 2015. Melissa is OUTSTANDING at what she does. I would say Read more...
Whimsique did our wedding invitations for our wedding on May 9, 2015. Melissa is OUTSTANDING at what she does. I would say these invitations are HANDS DOWN the best you will find in San Diego. They are a bit on the pricier side, but totally worth it if it's in your budget. They are so classy and glamorous. My husband was worried they'd be a little too feminine, but Melissa worked and worked and WORKED on them with me (on the design, colors and wording) until it was exactly what we wanted. Not to mention, she was the best vendor out of all the vendors for my wedding to respond to my (many) emails. This is where you need to get your wedding invitations done if you are getting married in San Diego! Read less
Services Used: Invitations
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
Very good at listening to the changes I wanted. Very creative ideas.
Very good at listening to the changes I wanted. Very creative ideas.
Very good at listening to the changes I wanted. Very creative ideas. Read less
Services Used: Invitations
Default vendor profile pic
Laura
Wedding:
10/24/2014
5.0/5.0
Melissa designed our Save the Dates, invites, escort cards and thank yous. Very personable, friendly, professional and had a great eye for color schemes. Super responsive-replied back to emails quickly and also dealt with my billion questions with nothing but a friendly attitude! I look forward to working with Melissa for our future needs.
Melissa designed our Save the Dates, invites, escort cards and thank yous. Very personable, friendly, professional and had Read more...
Melissa designed our Save the Dates, invites, escort cards and thank yous. Very personable, friendly, professional and had a great eye for color schemes. Super responsive-replied back to emails quickly and also dealt with my billion questions with nothing but a friendly attitude! I look forward to working with Melissa for our future needs. Read less
Services Used: Invitations
Default vendor profile pic
Nicole
Wedding:
10/4/2014
4.7/5.0
Loved working with Melissa at Whimsique! The invitations turned out just as we envisioned them and everyone was talking about how gorgeous they were. The cost was steep, but I think this is typical of custom designed paper.
Loved working with Melissa at Whimsique! The invitations turned out just as we envisioned them and everyone was talking Read more...
Loved working with Melissa at Whimsique! The invitations turned out just as we envisioned them and everyone was talking about how gorgeous they were. The cost was steep, but I think this is typical of custom designed paper. Read less
Services Used: Invitations
Default vendor profile pic
Alysha
Wedding:
9/20/2014
5.0/5.0
Melissa was very helpful and very quick to respond to any questions/concerns. She has a lot of options/colors available!
Melissa was very helpful and very quick to respond to any questions/concerns. She has a lot of options/colors available!
Melissa was very helpful and very quick to respond to any questions/concerns. She has a lot of options/colors available! Read less
Services Used: Invitations
130x130 sq 1387839078 58e656a4f4a6fac4 1386888318454 nkbrsunsetonthepointingoldbydouglaspeebles
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We had Melissa do our wedding invitations. I absolutely love them, and we have received a ton of feedback from our guests saying they are "the most beautiful wedding invitations they have ever seen!" I may be biased, but I have to agree :-)! They were pricey, but they were letterpressed on thick cotton paper, foiled, included inner/outer envelopes, and an inner liner. Melissa did everything she could to fit my dream invites within our budget. She stayed in line with other letterpress competitors' pricing, but offered a lot more customization than any national invitation company! She allowed me to have a lot of creative input, and was able to transfer my calligraphy into a template that was later foiled into the invitation. The end result was incredible! I later found out that was a very involved task, and I am so grateful Melissa took the time to do it! She is great at returning emails...quickest of all the vendors I've dealt with. :-) She also gave me extra invitations that were made free of charge, and we were able to keep the letterpress/foiling plates which is a cool memento! She also emailed me our custom monogram used on our invitations so I could repeat the motif on other items. I am so glad we invested in these invitations and can hold onto one as a keepsake!
We had Melissa do our wedding invitations. I absolutely love them, and we have received a ton of feedback from our guests Read more...
We had Melissa do our wedding invitations. I absolutely love them, and we have received a ton of feedback from our guests saying they are "the most beautiful wedding invitations they have ever seen!" I may be biased, but I have to agree :-)! They were pricey, but they were letterpressed on thick cotton paper, foiled, included inner/outer envelopes, and an inner liner. Melissa did everything she could to fit my dream invites within our budget. She stayed in line with other letterpress competitors' pricing, but offered a lot more customization than any national invitation company! She allowed me to have a lot of creative input, and was able to transfer my calligraphy into a template that was later foiled into the invitation. The end result was incredible! I later found out that was a very involved task, and I am so grateful Melissa took the time to do it! She is great at returning emails...quickest of all the vendors I've dealt with. :-) She also gave me extra invitations that were made free of charge, and we were able to keep the letterpress/foiling plates which is a cool memento! She also emailed me our custom monogram used on our invitations so I could repeat the motif on other items. I am so glad we invested in these invitations and can hold onto one as a keepsake! Read less
Services Used: Invitations
Default vendor profile pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
By far one of the best vendors I have ever worked with!! Not only were their products beautiful and of extremely high quality but they were extremely flexible and supportive throughout the entire process. Melissa and her team did an outstanding job on our wedding, her creativity brought our theme to life and I am so grateful to have found her.
By far one of the best vendors I have ever worked with!! Not only were their products beautiful and of extremely high Read more...
By far one of the best vendors I have ever worked with!! Not only were their products beautiful and of extremely high quality but they were extremely flexible and supportive throughout the entire process. Melissa and her team did an outstanding job on our wedding, her creativity brought our theme to life and I am so grateful to have found her. Read less
Services Used: Invitations
Default vendor profile pic
Ashley
Wedding:
4/25/2014
5.0/5.0
It was a pleasure working with Melissa. My invitations were amazing! She listened to me and really understood my vision. We were so in love with our invitations that we decided that we wanted her to also do our escort cards and ceremony programs. Both of which were just as fabulous as the invitations and made the wedding seem more uniform. Her invitations really got our guests excited to attend our wedding and were a great first impression. Her prices are very reasonable and she was able to work with our budget. I'm so glad we went with Whimsique!
It was a pleasure working with Melissa. My invitations were amazing! She listened to me and really understood my vision. Read more...
It was a pleasure working with Melissa. My invitations were amazing! She listened to me and really understood my vision. We were so in love with our invitations that we decided that we wanted her to also do our escort cards and ceremony programs. Both of which were just as fabulous as the invitations and made the wedding seem more uniform. Her invitations really got our guests excited to attend our wedding and were a great first impression. Her prices are very reasonable and she was able to work with our budget. I'm so glad we went with Whimsique! Read less
Services Used: Invitations

DEALS

Letterpress Invitations at Cost
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
This is a first come, first serve promotion. If you want really high end invitations but don't have a big enough budget this is for you! Whimsique is offering one lucky customer a custom letterpress invitation set at cost. For details email us- a 50% deposit secures this deal for one lucky bride! * This offer can also include other stationery items for your wedding as well, including table numbers, menus, thank you cards, programs etc.
Deal #WW19649d1218688200
220x220 1370577682482 ceremonylogo

MAP

 
2690 Historic Decatur Rd. , Suite 209, San Diego, CA 92106 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Whimsíque Designer Invitations & Stationery
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1370577682482 ceremonylogo