130x130_sq_1365188445353-i1111

Winnetka Community House

Winnetka , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

620 Lincoln Ave.
Winnetka, IL US 60093 (map)

PHONE

847-965-4094

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Winnetka Community House has been playing host to events on the North Shore since 1911. Our historic building offers a range of unique spaces and modern amenities making it ideal for any... Read more
Winnetka Community House has been playing host to events on the North Shore since 1911. Our historic building offers a range of unique spaces and modern amenities making it ideal for any event!

The beautifully landscaped Arches Garden is the perfect location for a romantic outdoor wedding celebration, festive Mitzvah or cocktail party. The Garden Rooms make a perfect space for dinner, dancing and celebrating.

Catered By Design, our full-service catering and event management company, is honored to be the exclusive caterer to the Garden Rooms of the Winnetka Community House.

For information please call 847-965-4094 or email rentals@winnetkacommunityhouse.org. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1365187062226-lensworkstudio-011
130x130_sq_1365186962875-i1365
130x130_sq_1365186981391-cake-sm
130x130_sq_1365186988154-garden-sm
130x130_sq_1365186994184-alter-sm
130x130_sq_1365187003165-dsc0006
130x130_sq_1365187027995-lensworkstudio-007
130x130_sq_1365187018545-wine-sm
130x130_sq_1365187088452-img00012
130x130_sq_1365187178980-fruit-and-cheese-with-hanging-wine
130x130_sq_1365187183272-winnetka-outdoor-orange

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/25/2014
5.0/5.0
Stunning, open, picturesque.

Our evening began in the outdoor Arches Garden, which was THE PERFECT SPACE for our cocktail hour. Everyone loved being able to enjoy conversation and drinks outside in the beautiful atmosphere they created. After the cocktail hour, the french doors to the ballroom were opened and guests filed into the room and into their seats. The room fit our guests perfectly, as well as the bar, our DJ, 2 dessert stations, and our photo booth.

Walking into the room before anyone was in there to see what it looked like was unforgettable - it was beautiful. They did a spectacular job making our vision come to life. The french doors were opened up halfway through the evening to allow for a breeze, fresh air, and overflow into the Arches Garden, and it was absolutely beautiful. Perfect idea and perfect timing. My only complaint is that the evening didn't last longer!!

I'd pick the Winnetka Community House over a generic hotel ANY DAY of the week!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
6/23/2013
5.0/5.0
I got married at Winnetka Community House in June 2013 and was blown away by the experience. Not only did Gina help us get everything set up, she worked with Catered By Design and their staff to make the entire evening come to life.

Our ceremony was in the Gardens (where my parents got married) and we were supposed to have had the reception out there as well...until the thunderstorms rolled in...

The inside Plan B was just as perfect as it would have been outside, and people have been complimenting us all week on the quick change in setup and how perfectly it worked out.

The Bride's Room is on the second floor, and has a back door to allow the Bride to make her grand entrance without anyone seeing it coming! The gardens themselves are absolutely beautiful, and there are so many places for photography that you really need to get an idea in your head which you want to use before the wedding.

The value for this site is unparalleled. We couldn't find any other venue at the price we paid that was anywhere near as beautiful as WCH. We were overjoyed to get married there, and would highly highly recommend it to anyone that is looking to get married outdoors on the North Shore.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
Great place for a wedding. Everything was laid out perfectly, great space. Great people to work with. Would choose it all over again!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
8/10/2012
5.0/5.0
We needed a venue that can accomadate a double ceremony (Laotian and Catholic Filipino) I've been here before and was grateful the date was available. We rented out the second floor, bridal room, and the garden banquet. The service was excellent and the setup went without a hitch.

Catered by Design(Nikee) was awesome to work with. The food options were plenty for a sitdown dinner compared to other locations we looked at. During the tasting we fell in love with the food and surprised at the portion size. Our guests were very happy =).

Having our Catholic ceremony in the garden was magical!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bravesfan425
Wedding:
6/28/2008
5.0/5.0
Great prices, beautiful venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
EmilyB
Wedding:
9/20/2008
5.0/5.0
I love this venue! We were married outside in the garden and loved everything about it. Catered by design (see separate review) was wonderful and took care of everything. I highly recommend this place for anyone getting married - very beautiful yet not too expensive compared to other venues in the Chicagoland area.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg8
Lauren
Wedding:
10/17/2009
5.0/5.0
WCH was the first place we actually visited, and the last place. It was the perfect environment for our wedding and reception. We absolutely fell in love with the garden area and hoped for no rain. We lucked out. The indoor ceremony room that is reserved in case of rain would have worked fine, but the garden was too gorgeous to not take advantage of. See my other review on Catered By Design (required caterer) and Rolf's Patisserie (referred bakery through contract). Leading up to the big day, Karen (event coordinator) was generally very helpful in answering questions we had, and figuring out problems as they arose. Sometimes it took a while to hear back from her, but I also mainly focused on email as my mode of contact, as she bounced around to the different Catered By Design offices. I came in organized and knew what I needed/wanted and Karen came through on that. The big day - the WCH staff and CBD staff were nothing short of amazing. We truly enjoyed our wedding and have received numerous compliments on the venue, staff, food, etc. etc. etc. Highly recommend.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marsha
Wedding:
6/9/2013
4.8/5.0
We had our son and daughter-in-law's reception on Sunday evening in the serene garden of the Winnetka Community House. The food (hors d'oeurves and desserts) provided by Catered by Design was excellent and the service was wonderful. The staff did everything they could to accommodate our every request. The Maevis Quartet played jazz throughout the evening, creating the low-key celebration ambiance we were seeking for the follow-up to our children's destination wedding in Carmel.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
9/2/2012
4.8/5.0
We were married at Winnetka Community House. We were looking for a venue where we could have an outdoor ceremony (but with an indoor backup) and hold the reception at the same place. We definitely found all of that at WCH! We held our ceremony in the beautiful garden and the reception in the Arches rooms overlooking the garden. All around the WCH there are beautiful places to take pictures, so we didn't need to go elsewhere to get beautiful shots. The garden is lit up at night and was beautiful, so beautiful in fact that we snuck out to take pictures in the dark and got some amazing pictures.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Holly
Wedding:
5/18/2013
4.8/5.0
We had our wedding in May 2013. The garden courtyard was a great space for the ceremony. The setting was beautiful. Nikki was extremely helpful leading up to the wedding. She was very responsive during the planning process and was always willing to accommodate our requests. Overall, the day of ran smoothly, and the catering staff was great to work with. We would recommend the venue to anyone looking for an indoor/outdoor wedding space - the wedding was beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg5
JessChicago
Wedding:
5/18/2008
4.6/5.0
We were very pleased with using the Winnetka Community House for our wedding ceremony and reception. We wanted a two-in-one location, so the Arches Garden and the Garden Room were exactly what we wanted. We had our wedding in mid-May and were told that the flowers would be planted in the garden earlier in the month, which didn't end up happening and was a little disappointing (but only a little!). I'm sure the garden would be even more beautiful later in the wedding season with everything in full bloom. There are rooms available on-site to use as alternatives in case of bad weather, which eased our rain worries. Overall, this site was just what we wanted for our wedding. We visted often in the year leading up to our wedding and saw it being used for other festive events as well.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.6/5.0
We loved having our wedding at WCH. Absolutely beautiful setting for ceremony and picture taking. The reception room was also nice. We did have to rent some table and glassware from an outside vendor because they didn't have enough. The extra work was worth having such a great location and the ease of walking right from the ceremony to the reception.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg21
Julie
Wedding:
9/25/2010
4.5/5.0
The Winnetka Community House was a great venue for a wedding! We held our ceremony and reception there (the ceremony was in the outdoor garden and the reception was indoors). Everything turned out beautiful and our guests greatly appreciated having both the ceremony and reception all in one place. It made things much easier on everyone!

We picked the WCH for their beautiful outdoor area, the nice looking reception area with windows looking out into the garden, and for the price. Compared to many other places in the Chicago area, the WCH was a great value.

My only complaint is that our guests got confused about where to go when they arrived. Most of them ended up parking in the wrong parking lot (not the one directly behind the garden area where the ceremony was held). It would have been helpful to have someone directing people once they arrived. But if that's all that went wrong, I still consider the wedding a success.

Karen, the main contact person at this venue from Catered by Design, was fairly easy to work with, but I felt like I had to pry information from her. She also just seemed really busy all the time. But if you're an organized person like I am, things should be pretty straightforward as far as planning goes pre-wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kobrien
Wedding:
9/22/2007
4.5/5.0
I agree with everything that has been written so far. The garden is beautiful and the arches and wall of french doors makes for really beautiful pictures. I was also glad that they had a back-up room for the ceremony that looked kind of like a church. I would have been happy in there too. We rented the upstairs getting ready rooms and was so excited to peak out into the garden and watch guests arrive. The only negatives were working with the coordinator (Karen) at Catered by Design. If I were to get a re-do, I would politely request to work with a different coordinator!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristina
Wedding:
5/24/2008
4.0/5.0
I really love this venue, and probably would have given it a rating of a 4.5 - 5. The Arches Garden is a beautiful outdoor spot for a spring/summer wedding, and the adjacent reception hall is nice. What brings the score down slightly is the catering company that comes with the package. There were some administrative struggles, as they were in the process of renegotiating with Catered by Design, so we had a hard time getting our initial questions answered clearly. All of our planning had to go through the on-site manager for the catering company. She was helpful and a sweet lady, but it was hard to get in touch with her, or hear back in a timely manner. We had to order (through her) from outside vendors, and there were some mistakes on wedding day. Fortunately, her team ironed everything out, and the day was still wonderful. If you book at this beautiful location, take your time in planning all the details with Catered by Design. Don't rush through it - or there will likely be mistakes!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
wilcowife
Wedding:
9/29/2007
3.2/5.0
This venue's outdoor space was beautiful and makes for a wonderful outdoor wedding. That being said, the indoor facilities, while new are your typical "rented hall." While our wedding was being planned, their event planner quit, leaving us in the dark for awhile and it was difficult to get solid answers from the venue. Our wedding day did run smooth (no rain!) and our pictures were draped in beautiful backdrops that the garden provides.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
620 Lincoln Ave., Winnetka, IL 60093 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Winnetka Community House
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1365188445353-i1111