130x130_sq_1381943098668-dsc02053

Wisp Resort

Mc Henry , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

296 Marsh Hill Road
Mc Henry, MD US 21541 (map)

PHONE

301-387-4911

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Let Wisp Resort's Sales Team guide you in planning your special day every step of the way. With numerous options for ceremony sites, receptions, menus, lodging and more, Wisp is the... Read more
Let Wisp Resort's Sales Team guide you in planning your special day every step of the way. With numerous options for ceremony sites, receptions, menus, lodging and more, Wisp is the ideal wedding destination for saying 'I DO'.

Ceremony Sites
Mountain Top Site: Breath-taking views overlooking Wisp Resort & Deep Creek Lake! Make a unique entrance by ariving via chairlift.
Sundown Village: A beautiful location on the outskirts of the golf course and within walking distance of the Wisp Resort Hotl and McHenry Lodge. The picture perfect site overlooks manicured lawns and beauitful seasonal foliage.
McHenry Lodge: Gorgeous Slope views and soaring ceilings make this an ideal location for an indoor ceremony.



NEW for 2014 Mountain Mist Wedding Tent
This private venue features draped ceiling, elegant chandeliers, adjustable walls, heating and air conditioning.







The McHenry Lodge Reception
This room features soaring ceilings, gorgeous slope views, three story windows, an adjoining canopied deck, elevated mezzanine level with a balcony view and flexible room configurations. The lodge comfortably serves up to 450 guests for a seated reception or as few as 100 guests for an intimate memorable evening.

Food & Beverage Selections
Wisp offers numerous menu packages from hors d’oeuvres, buffets to elegant plated dinners. Enjoy a full culinary experience created by renowned Chef Sang Le. Assistance with planning your rehearsal dinner, morning after breakfast or brunch is also available. These services allow us to offer you and your guest’s one convenient destination for all of your needs. Your beverage selection will be tailored to meet your needs. Choose from various “hosted bar” options. Our staff will assist you in creating a unique drink specific to your wedding! Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1381942498774-dsc02053
130x130_sq_1305912229197-1030363
130x130_sq_1332948519010-millerlaytonwedding015
130x130_sq_1332948424519-2010summer340
130x130_sq_1305912813869-1030369
130x130_sq_1305917938760-berry2344
130x130_sq_1305918001979-jonefreeweddingjune2010005
130x130_sq_1381942473635-dsc01984
130x130_sq_1332948369181-2010summer335
130x130_sq_1332948472740-millerlaytonwedding010
130x130_sq_1332948398409-2010summer310
130x130_sq_1381942601996-dsc00904
130x130_sq_1381943693457-mountain-mist-wedding-tent
130x130_sq_1305913991604-img1441
130x130_sq_1305917572401-kissingcouplebypondretouched
130x130_sq_1305917861135-1040030
130x130_sq_1354910802094-dsc00840
130x130_sq_1354910994753-dsc00877
130x130_sq_1354910870089-dsc00874
130x130_sq_1381942722109-dsc02041
130x130_sq_1381942750301-dsc02076
130x130_sq_1381942798277-dsc00713

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1956
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Hotel, Restaurant
Describe the style of your venue
Country, Rustic
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
1000
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
2
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
169
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
500
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
65
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
I couldn't of ask for a better day..... Even with the sudden ceremony site change due to sudden rain fall. Thanks to Andrea and crew, quick turn around made the day amazing! There wasn't a single dry eye in the seats. Andrea was very easy to work with and flexible. Felt as she became part as the family during process and now miss having to contact her! The wedding site was beautiful and all compliments
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for the perfect Deep Creek wedding, book it at Wisp Resort! A bride is under a lot of stress planning a wedding, and Wisp Resort and their Wedding Coordinator, Andrea Fitzwater, took all of that stress away! I can't describe the amount of professionalism, attention to detail, knowledge, expertise, responsiveness, kindness, and care this Resort and their staff offers. The staff was absolutely incredible. It's been a month since my wedding and my family and friends are still talking about how they want to plan a vacation their, simply because the staff was just so amazing. They really went over the top. Andrea was the best part though. We considered a few different places in Deep Creek to get married, and we decided on Wisp Resort entirely because of Andrea. She was so responsive and caring from the first time I talked to her, that I couldn't have possibly gotten married anywhere else! When you plan a wedding, you want to know you will be taken care of and in good hands. And that's just what I felt with Andrea. She truly cares and wants your wedding to be unforgettable and perfect. She was available via phone and email the entire process. And the wedding day, she was there to make sure all of the little hiccups were taken care of and I was not the one dealing with them (even though, as far as I know, nothing went wrong!!). Our wedding was beautiful and flawless, exactly what everyone wants for their special day. I wish that I could relive it at Wisp Resort every single day! Truly an amazing and unique experience - I guarantee any future wedding held here will be just as perfect as mine was!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christy
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Andrea fitzwater was amazing and I will highly recommend her and the wisp to anyone planning a special event!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Andrea was awesome!!! She was more like a friend helping than a person just doing her job. She was amazing and would recommend her to anyone!! :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Andrea really made the crazy wedding planning process SO much easier. She made everything seem so easy with her calm, cool, and collected personality and she knew a lot of the vendors in the area, making my job easier, as she could communicate with them, so my day could be as stress free as possible. I really appreciated her hard work. The Wisp wedding experience would not be the same without her!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
6/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Wisp Resort could not have been a better wedding venue. Our guests are still talking about the beautiful outdoor ceremony and the rustic lodge reception. They have also raved about the delicious food, especially the mini crab cakes that were served at the cocktail hour. Our wedding party really enjoyed taking the ski lift down the mountain after the ceremony and also the private cocktail hour in the mezzanine overlooking the reception area.
Throughout the whole wedding planning process the wedding coordinator worked to answer any and all questions very promptly. This was a great wedding experience and I would do it the same all over again! Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elisabeth
Wedding:
5/26/2013
5.0/5.0
We absolutely loved having our wedding at Wisp Resort. They were wonderful to allow us to have half of the catering provided by a Halal restaurant in Pittsburgh. The plating fee that we paid for those guests was a bit higher than we had hoped, but it still worked out to about the same for each type of guest. It is amazing all of the work that they do for you included in the package. Andrea was our wedding coordinator for the day and helped out so much. She was fantastic at communicating with us about how we wanted everything to look and even helped out with some things super last minute. I'm so thankful that we decided to have the wedding at Wisp - because we got a wonderful, beautiful, personal wedding at such a great price.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Our wedding at the Wisp was wonderful! We definitely picked the right place. We ended up having to do the indoor ceremony due to weather, but it was still beautiful (and we managed to get outdoor pics). The food was great and our guests had a great time. The staff was great, especially Andrea. She was soo helpful. She was always an email or phone call sway throughout the planning process, and she was a lifesaver organizing and coordinating everything that day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Wisp was the perfect location for our wedding! Everything went so smoothly and that is thanks in large part to our wonderful wedding coordinator, Andrea! She was there for us every step of the way and offered helpful suggestions when we needed them. She thought of every single detail and kept us on track during the weeks leading up to our wedding. The day of our wedding was perfect. Andrea did such a great job of making sure that everyone knew where they needed to be and what they needed to be doing. It was so great to not have to worry about anything.

We also really loved the ceremony site options. The golf course site was absolutely beautiful and it was nice that guests didn't have to walk too far to get to it (although Wisp had a golf cart available to shuttle guests if needed). There was a great backup site in the lodge by the fireplace in case of rain, but luckily we were able to use the golf course site. The reception area worked out really well too. We had about 130 people at our wedding and the lodge provided plenty of room so that it didn't feel cramped. The windows looking out on the slopes provided a great backdrop for the reception.

Our guests also really liked that they could stay at the lodge. No one had to worry about driving after the reception. Plus there were plenty of fun activities for everyone to take part in. We had a bonfire the night before which was a lot of fun and a great way to welcome our guests.

On top of all that, Wisp was relatively affordable in comparison to other venues we looked at. The alcohol was a little pricey since you can't take in your own, but everything else was pretty reasonable.

I highly recommend Wisp! It is a beautiful place, and Andrea will make sure you have a wonderful wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
atadd24
Wedding:
10/21/2011
5.0/5.0
The staff was wonderful. Everything was completed as promised and they were very helpful with my food allergy.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberley
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
My wedding was beautiful and the food was better than expected!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bubsbee4
Wedding:
7/23/2011
5.0/5.0
We had my daughter's wedding, ceremony and reception, at WISP resort and were extremely pleased with everything. There was a lot of communication between Jamie and us. The ceremony site was beautiful, the reception was flawless. The food was excellent, service excellent and the room itself looked absolutley beautiful. I would not hesitate to recommend WISP resort for your wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christie
Wedding:
5/29/2011
5.0/5.0
The wisp was amazing. The consultant Carrie took great care of me up to the day before the wedding. Though she wasn't at the wedding the staff there was amazing. Every detail was perfect. the staff at teh wedding was friendly. Everyone at the wedding commented that the resort was amazing and my wedding could not have been better.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
Wisp went far beyond our expectations. From the wedding coordinator down to her interns to the caterers and bar staff. Everyone was just so nice and accomidating. I was worried the mountain top wouldnt be set up in time for our wedding due to rain, but it was and it looked beautiful. The reception was in the grand lodge and when I walked in, it simply took my breath away. They are VERY professional and well worth the money!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mhemler
Wedding:
11/6/2010
5.0/5.0
Wisp did a wonderful job handling all the details they promised without me having to worry about anything. They were ahead of schedule with room setup and very on top of cleaning everything up as the event went on. Everyone we worked with was very professional and accommodating. And the prices could not be beat!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael and Karen
Wedding:
10/8/2010
5.0/5.0
We found The Wisp Resort to exceed our expectations for our daughter's wedding reception. The staff at the Wisp was very accomodating, and worked well with our wedding planner, DJ, and photographer. They were open to our needs and provided many suggestions. The food was well prepared and enjoyed by the guests. This was a destination wedding, and having such a qualified group of professionals made our daughter's dreams come true. We would highly recommend The Wisp Resort for your wedding venue.
Sincerely,
Michael and Karen
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1263787172408-savedatetouchup
Bethany
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
Wisp Resort is an absolutely stunning location. We had a mountaintop ceremony overlooking the lake and valley below, and the views were breathtaking. Wisp also was a great value for the location, much more reasonably priced than other "destination" locations. The food was excellent, as were the staff, and our wedding planner Carrie took care of EVERYTHING. She was extremely helpful and was always willing to answer any questions we had. I was very impressed by the Wisp Resort, and so were our guests. Thanks for everything!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Samantha
Wedding:
6/5/2010
5.0/5.0
Carrie Luekel made my wedding day run smooth and unforgettable!! She went over and above her duties to make our day very special!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mother of the Bride
Wedding:
5/1/2010
5.0/5.0
Event Coordinator, Carrie, was a dream to work with. Can't say enough good things about her - love her, love her, love her.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elisabeth
Wedding:
5/26/2013
4.9/5.0
Wisp resort was a terrific option for our wedding. My husband's family is mainly in Pittsburgh, along with a significant portion of our friend base, and my family was in North Carolina so it was a great middle ground. However, what really set Wisp apart for us was their willingness to work hard to accommodate what we needed. I keep worrying that we were the difficult couple of the summer even though I tried to make things easier on them. My husband's side is Muslim so there were a lot of things that Wisp needed to rearrange to accommodate both sides of our families. They did so terrifically! Andrea is the wedding coordinator there and she outshines everyone! I thought she was just supposed to be a day-of coordinator, but she was so helpful throughout all of the months leading up to the wedding. (We still had to do the decisions and work, but she was extremely helpful with suggestion and accommodating our plans.) The room that they booked for us for our first night was gorgeous, the golf course ceremony site was so tranquil, and the Lodge with the mountain view and sparkling light string chandeliers was perfect. It was great having our wedding in such a vacationy area too since we got to spend quality time with our guests before the big day too!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
5/25/2013
4.9/5.0
The entire staff at wisp was friendly and accommodating to us and our guests. Helpful even in the case of last minute changes. We still have family and friends commenting on the friendliness of front desk staff and even maintenance and cleaning staff at the resort. I would recommend the venue to anyone planning an upcoming event. Andrea made the weekend run flawlessly. Couldn't ask for more.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mom1.5
Wedding:
5/29/2011
4.9/5.0
My daughter's wedding and reception were held at the Wisp Resort. Having visited Deep Creek Lake yearly since she was born, she wanted to be married there. Any question I had was readily answered by the resort staff, whether by email or long distance phone calls as I live in Houston, Texas now. Even though there was a major staff change the day of the wedding the new staff members were well aware of all the arrangements and were very easy to work with and when a minor problem occurred, it was quickly and efficiently handled. It was nice not to have to worry about things and be able to enjoy her wedding. I will highly recommend the Wisp for any type of event you may be planning.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1329539625055-daniellejonahesession0403
Danielle
Wedding:
7/6/2012
4.8/5.0
My husband and I were looking for a place in the Deep Creek Lake area to get married, and we just fell in love with Wisp’s mountain top ceremony location. So, we booked with Wisp!

I do have to share that the first month into our booking at Wisp, the staff was short a wedding coordinator. With that said, we had a frustrating time getting answers to our questions in a timely manner, among a few other things. We also did not receive the best response from management when we reached out to them to discuss our frustration.

HOWEVER, even though we did not have a great experience at the beginning of the process, everything completely turned around when they hired their Wedding Coordinator, Andrea! Andrea is just fabulous. She is friendly, has excellent customer service skills, is organized, responsive, and even offers thoughtful suggestions! It was great working with her. My husband and I both felt confident that our big day would go smoothly with Andrea coordinating everything. And it did!

Our wedding day was even better than we could have imagined. The mountain top ceremony location was beautiful – all of our guests couldn’t stop talking about the great views. The reception was fantastic as well. Everyone said that their entrees were delicious, and it seemed as though everyone had a great time!

My husband and I both agree that our wedding day was the best day of our lives, and we owe much of that to Wisp and to Andrea for helping everything to go as planned. Several people told us it was the best wedding they had been to. Thank you, Andrea, and thank you, Wisp!

We would highly recommend Wisp if you are looking to have a wedding in the Deep Creek Lake, MD area – we live 3 hours away, but we love the Deep Creek area and found it was a great location for our guests to travel. Many of our guests enjoyed the amenities at Wisp (like the mountain coaster) and Deep Creek during their stay. 5 stars for Wisp!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
papalooch
Wedding:
7/2/2011
4.8/5.0
Mountaintop venue was absolutely wonderful, reception very well done.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg6
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
Great place for both the ceremony and reception! Everything went smoothly. The guests raved about the food. All the staff were very accomadating. Carrie and her staff were awesome! I had a wonderful, stress-free day all because of the Wisp. I would highly recommend them to anyone in the MD/WV/PA area.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
11/28/2009
4.8/5.0
Carrie took care of everything that we needed for our wedding, and was extremely helpful and resourceful, even down to finding me a hair stylist who would come to the resort! We had a beautiful reception and even the weather was perfect! Definitely recommend Carrie and Wisp Resort for your wedding :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bobbi
Wedding:
8/20/2011
4.6/5.0
I just had my wedding, the ceremony and the reception, at the Wisp Resort, August 20, 2011. I worked primarily with Jami Bonitz, and she was there for me every step of the way. She worked with me on any concerns I may have had, and for the most part, anything I wanted that I did not think they would be able to do, SHE made it happen, even if it really was not within her duties. She was great, the venue was great, and the price was moderate. Compared to other venuues in that particular area, the Wisp is pretty fairly priced. Definitely a "must see," if you are looking to have a wedding in the beautiful, Deep Creek Lake area of MD!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Onusouthernbelle16
Wedding:
6/18/2011
4.6/5.0
The staff at Wisp were extremely helpful and really helped me to make my dream wedding into a reality. They were always willing to answer my questions and helped my actual wedding day be stress free. The wedding planners even helped me with my hair so they definately go above and beyond to make your day perfect!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.4/5.0
The Wisp was a great place for our wedding. One of the best things about having our wedding there was our coordinator - Andrea. I feel like she really made a big effort from walking me through the planning and recommending vendors, getting our entire wedding party and guests access to the ski lift to attend the mountaintop ceremony, planning a bonfire w/ beer and smores the night before the wedding, accomodating 2 separate food tastings (one for just my Mom and myself), bringing in special rum from Trinidad for my husband's family, helping us set up the favors and decorations for the reception, setting up our overnight bags in a special wedding hotel room, transporting my husband and I around the venue for pictures and coordinating with my vendors, day of coordinator and guests. She was great.

The only reason I gave a 4 out of 5 for responsiveness was due to the bar manager, Vicky. Our contract stated that they would be able to provide us with an imported rum as part of the bar menu. When it came down to finding the rum it didn't seem like she tried very hard and was somewhat rude about it when we provided her POCs to call regarding it. Fortunately Andrea persevered and helped us out with getting it. Very big kudos go out to her - she was really great and made us feel comfortable about the entire process.

As for value - I think we faired very well but I did overhear some of the other wedding couples at the tasting and they all had various deals depending on which wedding coordinator they were dealing with. The Wisp seemed to have a lot of turnover at the time we were in the planning process. Also - I would say that the facility could be reonovated. It is a ski lodge and not the Ritz so we weren't expecting state of the art luxury but the venue itself needs to be updated - the rooms were out of date and the indoor facility needs a facelift in most areas.

Overall I would highly recommend having your wedding here.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Transportation, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.0/5.0
Everything was wonderful! The set up was gorgeous and everything up until the day of was incredibly well coordinated and organized. Andrea was very responsive and easy to work with. On the day of there were some miscommunication about the cake cutting/distribution and I had a hard time locating someone to help me but other then that things went very smoothly!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
palmdog06
Wedding:
10/17/2009
3.9/5.0
The original consultant with whom we worked was extremely unresponsive and difficult to get a hold of, and left many details unresolved until it was almost too late. However, Wisp recognized the problem, replaced her, and we got to work with Carrie. Everything turned around immediately. It was great how quickly they were able to get everything set up, and the wedding reception was beautiful and perfect! We were able to customize our menu, do the decorating we wanted, and bring in our own entertainment. The staff at Wisp even coordinated with all the other contractors (photographer, decorator, bakery, band) on the day of the event so that we didn't have to worry about it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.5/5.0
We had a great wedding! Staff was flexible to work with and wedding planner was very helpful which made for a great experience. My only complaint would be that not all of our guests came to the wedding so we overpaid and were unable to get the extra food we paid for and no reimbursement. Overall was a very nice venue for the wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
296 Marsh Hill Road, Mc Henry, MD 21541 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Wisp Resort
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo