130x130_sq_1189636215515-nuptialpleats

With Sugar On Top

Hurlock , MD

LOCATION

129 Miles Circle
Hurlock, MD US 21643 (map)

PHONE

410-943-3807

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Providing custom gourmet cakes, desserts and favors for your special occasions at discounted prices. Delivery service available for the Baltimore/Annapolis area as well as here on the... Read more
Providing custom gourmet cakes, desserts and favors for your special occasions at discounted prices. Delivery service available for the Baltimore/Annapolis area as well as here on the Eastern Shore. Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1186939095326-pink_cake_2
130x130_sq_1213901919215-yinglingcake
130x130_sq_1247881273151-dcp2040
130x130_sq_1247881803547-tracy
130x130_sq_1247881416407-jacklyn
130x130_sq_1222371931808-cindyweddingpic
130x130_sq_1186940505013-clarise
130x130_sq_1187215237203-greenwedding
130x130_sq_1188951244062-rosesandlillies
130x130_sq_1189636084828-nuptialpleats
130x130_sq_1213901735527-032808_20051
130x130_sq_1200086322890-twotone
130x130_sq_1247881672041-ryangroom2

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Fruit, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
Yes
Are you licensed by the state health department?
No
Do you offer private tastings or open house tastings?
We offer private tastings.
What are your tasting hours?
We can work with you if you have a busy schedule and make it convenient for you. I can also send samples for out of state brides who are getting married in the area.
Describe how you price, such as by slice or by tier, for your cakes?
Our cakes are priced by the slice. Gumpaste flowers are extra depending on the amount.
Does the price include the top tier of the cake?
Yes & the 6" anniversary cake.
Do you offer custom cakes, or do you work with pre-designed styles?
All my cakes are to your specifications. If you want an exact replica to something that is totally custom.
What (if any) special ingredients, such as fresh fruits or farm-fresh butter, do you use in your cakes?
I promote all the local farmers in our area by buying most of my ingredients from them.
On average, how far in advance of the event do you prepare the cake?
Depending on the size of the cake I prefer up to 6 months in advance. Two months for small tiered cakes. Special event cakes can be ordered two weeks in advance (ie: birthday cake)
How many cakes do you schedule for a typical weekend?
I will only book one cake a weekend to put my full focus on YOUR cake alone. That is my priority!
Will you work with the client's florist to garnish the cake?
Yes. But remember, floral arrangements cannot be put directly on or in the cake. Special plates and picks are required.
What (if any) cake accessories, such as a cake stand or cake cutter, do you rent out?
I do rent out cake stands with a refundable deposit.
Do you offer delivery? If yes, how much is your average delivery fee?
Yes. Delivery is free on the Eastern Shore. $25 for Anne Arundel County and surrounding counties. Out of state is per quote basis.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anne
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Long story short: Kim is amazing.

My now husband and I went to Kim's house for a tasting in April and immediately knew that we wanted to use her. We told her up front that we wanted 150 cupcakes, and she was on board. She also suggested that we have a small cutting cake, which was great. Kim always responded quickly to my emails and was up for being super creative. We had a travel theme going at the reception, and she made little cars, passports, Eiffel Towers, and more for each cupcake. She even decorated the cake stand with different travel pictures. It was so cool. When I saw everything at the reception, my jaw hit the floor. And I am still hearing rave reviews from guests about how good the cupcakes were. They were so good that I didn't have a chance to get one and they were all gone by the end of the night! So thank you Kim for doing such a wonderful job and laughing with me along the way!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
Kim helped make our wedding day beautiful. She saw the cake design I liked and heard our vision on the color scheme and got it done! She was creative and flexible. The cake tasting was great too since she brought so many different things to try! My husband is not into sweets and he fell in love with her strawberry filling, white cake choice. On our wedding day she used fresh strawberries from a nearby farm! She is a great baker and I would highly, highly recommend using With Sugar On Top.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jnicely1
Wedding:
9/15/2011
4.8/5.0
Kim was very helpful in helping us shape the look of our cupcakes. She was very flexible, friendly, very easy to work with, very detail oriented, and followed our wishes to the letter. The cupcakes were DELICIOUS. Everyone at the wedding spoke very highly of the taste and look of the cupcakes. We were very happy working with her. She delivered the cupcakes on time and they looked exactly as we wanted. We plan on ordering cupcakes from her in the future.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
The "bakery" was in the kitchen of her house, however, that did not hold this woman back from making the most delicious and beautiful wedding cake that my guests and I have ever seen. She was EXTREMELY flexible and gave us a military discount. Her artistry was spot on for what we wanted for our wedding and I did not have to give her much guidance. She was excellent! She was so accommodating and affordable that we were able to save a large chunk of money and apply it to other places for the wedding. She was hassle-free. I cannot say enough wonderful things about her and our experience with her for our wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1250374750656-dscn0006
ginger heiberger
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
I loved working with Kim!! The cake portion of my wedding planning was not only the EASIEST part, but it was actually one of the funnest parts!! I always looked forward to her responses wich were always prompt. I bounced crazy Ideas off of her and she was always so excited to be apart of whatever I threw at her. I changed my mind several times on what cake and filling we wanted and she NEVER had a problem with catering to my indecision. We live in Colorado and she not only shipped samples to us months before but provided us with a cake tasting when we actually got into the MD area . Every time we tasted her cakes they seemed to get more and more delicious! Thank you so much Kim for making our day absolutely PERFECT!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Kimberly made my DREAM wedding cake. I knew from the moment I tasted her cakes that I had to book her. Her fresh strawberry buttercream is the most delicious thing I have tasted. While other bakeries in the area will give you grainy, sugary grocery store-like frostings to taste, Kimberly makes the most delicious homemade creamy frostings. I was sold! Over the course of several months, we traded emails here and there and she was very responsive. She even made a computer mockup of what the cake would look like and had some wonderful design ideas. I was floored by the cake at my reception - I nearly cried! It was one of the most beautiful cakes I had ever seen! I wouldn't hesitate recommending Kim. And get the fresh strawberry buttercream or chocolate ganache - they are both amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1259703940758-mikeandraquel
raquelwhiting
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
Kim is an artist and the cake was delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
megan
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
I was SO extremely pleased with the work that Kim did. Everyone who attended my wedding commented on how great the cupcakes taste wise and how amazing her designs were. I also had her do our grooms cake and received rave reviews on it. She did everything that I asked for and was more than accomodating. I changed my mind a million times and she never got mad, never got frustrated, and entertained all my ideas. The value was unbelievable. I would DEFINITELY use her again!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
apearce
Wedding:
4/24/2010
5.0/5.0
I could not be happier with the cakes and service I got with from With Sugar on Top. Kim was a delight to work with. My wedding cake was absolutely delicious with two different layers for each of our favorite flavors - peanut butter and mint chocolate. It was a big hit and everyone kept talking about which flavor they liked (most liked both!). Plus, it was beautifully created to match our wedding colors and the design on our wedding invitations. All the research we did on wedding cakes showed that this was also the best price in the area for a wedding cake. In addition, she also did our groom's cake at the rehearsal dinner. It was a full sized alligator (our college mascot) on a football field with a jersey and football in his mouth. It was the coolest looking cake I have ever seen and we almost didn't want to cut it because it looked so amazing! Kim spent a lot of time preparing this cake and giving me updates. You could tell she was excited about designing this cake which is always comforting when vendors are excited about their work because you know it will be high quality. My mother-in-law bakes a lot and is often critical about baked goods and she said it was one of the best carrot cakes she's ever eaten. As if that wasn't enough cake, Kim also made two individual birthday cakes for the rehearsal dinner for my maid of honor and sister-in-law (which I requested at the very last minute and she was more than accomodating). They were decorated like presents with a lid and a huge bow. They were a great surprise and tasted delicious. Overall, I would highly recommened With Sugar on Top. They provide delicious and beautiful cakes and the process was easy, fun, and stress free.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1271606448603-weddingphoto
Amy
Wedding:
4/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Working with Kim was a fabulous experience. Our cake tasted wonderful and looked beautiful! I will highly recommend her to all of the future brides I meet!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
12/19/2009
5.0/5.0
Our cake was amazing!! We just loved it! It was beautiful and tasted delicious too. Kim even braved the blizzard of 2009 to deliver our cake. We could not be more appreciative of all her efforts. Her professionalism and artistic eye cannot be topped.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jesielynn
Wedding:
9/19/2009
5.0/5.0
Words can not describe nor express the amazing work of art Kim (With Sugar on Top) did for our wedding cake. John and I were blown away at the presentation she prepared for us when we went for our tasting. We were sold as soon as we walked in the door. Everyone one commented on how amazing the cake tasted and there was only a few pieces left for us to take home. All of our guests were asking for more to take with them!! Hands Down... 5 Stars!
Mr. & Mrs. John Eastland
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1258493676702-addymalik1001a
AdrielleMD
Wedding:
9/6/2009
5.0/5.0
Kim from With Sugar on Top baked our wedding cake/cupcakes for our recent September wedding. Without any reservations, my new husband and I would recommend Kim's services in a heart beat to any one looking for an exceptional taste, quality and affordablity. Her ideas were original and creative, her rates are beyond reasonable and to top it all off she is just a pleasure to work with. She helped us from begining to end with ideas for the design and flavors. We choose petit fours which are small cup cakes covered in fondant (they look like mini cakes). Our guests were so impressed with the look of the fours as well as the taste-needless to say there were NO leftovers :) We found Kim to be very responsive and helpful right down to the very last detail in the design and presentation. She even went out of her way to create various sample designs and cupcake stands for us to choose from. Since we live quite a distance from her business location, she was very flexible in long distance payment options and in communication. She delivered the cake in a timely manner and set it all up for us as well. With all that being said, it is obvious that Kim from With Sugar On Top provides not only beautiful and delicious wedding creations, but she also has a deep comittment to customer service (a lost art as we all know). Kim, we thank you for helping in making our day stress free and unforgettable. You truly are an artist and master of your craft. I encourage anyone thinking of hiring With Sugar on Top for the next event to contact me personally (adrielle_m@yahoo.com) if they have any questions or doubts. I will glady offer a glowing recommendation.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
thunt4
Wedding:
7/10/2009
5.0/5.0
We absolutely LOVED both the wedding reception and rehearsal dinner cakes that Kim made for us. Everyone at the rehearsal dinner couldn't believe that the Towson cake was really a cake! The tiger looked so real - It was wonderful. And everyone commented on how great the wedding cake tasted (especially the red velvet) and that it was the best "wedding cake" cake they had ever had! And the cake itself was BEAUTIFUL!! We can't thank you enough for everything that you did. The cakes were waaaaay more than we hoped for, so thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
FutureMrsH
Wedding:
7/2/2009
5.0/5.0
I am the ultimate budget savvy bride and wanted to get the most for my money, and Kim made it happen! I was able to have two cakes and her talent with sugar is amazing. The cakes looked and tasted wonderfully! They were so good my family had them all again the next night with some ice cold milk! Kim was also great at helping me design the perfect cake. I wanted simple yet stunning and with her sugar roses, sugar hydrangea, a monogram topper and her talents, my cake was perfect. Our groom's cake was shaped like the Luxor hotel (this is where we got engaged) and it was awesome as well, right down to a chocolate sphinx! I wish I had more reasons to buy cakes from Kim!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colleen
Wedding:
6/20/2009
5.0/5.0
With Sugar on Top did an amazing job with our cake. Kim was very responsive to any request that we had, and she was incredibly easy to get in touch with. She mailed samples to us because we were out of state, and she set up a tasting for us that was lovely and delicious that accommodated our schedule for when we would be in town. Months out she would email me with ideas for our beach-themed wedding, and she was responsive to my ideas but brought her own to the table as well.

With Sugar on Top was also able to work with us to meet our budget needs, so we had a lovely cake that fit within the restraints of what we were able to spend.

The wedding cake itself was delicious and beautiful. We received many compliments from our guests about how lovely the cake was. I highly recommend this vendor. Kim is professional, talented, and easy to work with.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
5/23/2009
5.0/5.0
Kim was so easy and wonderful to work with. She really takes her time to help you figure out exactly the kind of cake you want for your special day. We had such a nice time at our cake tasting (where it was very hard to choose, they were all so yummy!) Our cake was beautiful and delicious! We opted for Kim to make our flowers rather than purchasing them from the florist. I still can't believe that she makes these flowers - they are so life-like. I would recommend Kim for any of your baking needs. She has very fair prices and is a delight to work with!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dragana
Wedding:
11/8/2008
4.6/5.0
We wanted a custom suitcase cake, and Kim was very open to our ideas! She made a wonderful cake, exactly what we wanted. Someone even asked me if it was from Ace of Cakes :)

Thanks Kim!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cindalar
Wedding:
5/17/2008
5.0/5.0
It was a pleasure to work with Kim. We had such fun at the tasting. My Mother-in-Law was in heaven tasting everything! Kim made enough for me to share with family. She has great design sense and makes suggestions for shape color filling, etc. We were so pleased and so were our guests! There was very little cake leftover! Guests came back to get a second piece so they could taset both layers. I recommend Kim for specialty cakes as well as any wedding cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alexandra
Wedding:
4/26/2008
4.8/5.0
Kim is great and super flexible. She went above and beyond. The cake looked great, though there were a couple of cracks in the icing. No biggie, still looked amazing and tasted EVEN BEtter!!! Kim was wonderful and I'd use her again any time. Thank you!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake

DEALS

Free 6" Anniversary Cake
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
Anyone who buys a wedding cake will get a coupon for a free 6" cake to have on their one year anniversary! Offer is for cake orders that are $300 or more only.
Deal #WWd6d8007aab4c2484
220x220_1189636215515-nuptialpleats

MAP

 
129 Miles Circle, Hurlock, MD 21643 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for With Sugar On Top
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1189636215515-nuptialpleats