Nophoto-130

Wuollet Bakery

Minneapolis , MN

LOCATION

3608 West 50th Street
Minneapolis, MN US 55410 (map)

PHONE

612-922-4341

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Cake

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.7/5.0
I got a 3 tiered cake (strawberry souffle) and a sheet cake (chocolate souffle)- both whipped cream frosting. We gave a design for the tiered cake and then a picture of the inspiration for the sheet cake giving them creative license do what they want using the inspiration picture....they NAILED BOTH! The cakes were so yummy tasting, people went around taking from empty seats to get seconds! I got more compliments on how good the cake tasted than any other aspect of the wedding. We ended up still taking quite a bit home and it is still moist and yummy 2 weeks later! My family loved the cake so much that they ordered another one for my sister's birthday 2 weeks after the wedding (that cake was just as good!!) I would recommend Wuollet for any occasion.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erik
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Great cake! We ordered a traditional Norwegian cake (something that not all bakeries would be able to make) and they looked perfect and tasted great.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jonathan
Wedding:
10/8/2011
4.8/5.0
We decided to have cupcakes instead of a wedding cake. It turned out fantastic!!! We received so many compliments on how fun it was as well as how delicious they were. We went with three different flavors and all were yummy. And it turned out to be very budget friendly!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
eszilla
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
Wuollet's was a wonderful partner for our wedding. The cake tasting alone was out of this world - my fiance and I were stuffed and overwhelmed with the choices and generosity of the serving sizes; we felt like Wuollet's really wanted us to know what we ordered. We ended up ordering 10 princess tortes - one of the bakery's regular cakes - and asked for a different color of marzipan. They didn't even charge us for the change, just charged us the regular cake price and delivery. VERY good bargain - I'm the only person I know who spent just $400 on her wedding cake. AND - the cake was the star of the reception. People are still talking about it! Would definitely recommend Wuollet's for your wedding day baker!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
motherofthebride
Wedding:
6/17/2011
5.0/5.0
We ordered a cake and cupcakes from Wuollet's for my daughter's June wedding. The cake was beautiful and just the right size. The cupcakes were delicious and also beautiful. What we liked was the ease of placing the order, the helpful advice from the Wuollet's staff and that they delivered and set up the cake and the cupcakes and decorated the cake with flowers for us. We didn't have to worry about any of that and the cake table looked lovely.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mmalone032
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
I gave them a picture of a cake I found in a magazine that I really liked and they were able to create it beautifully! The cake tasted amazing! I also had them create personalized heart-shaped cookies which we used as favors for guests. Those were a beautiful addition to the table and were quite tasty as well! We would definetely recommend Wuollet bakery!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1268454257889-katynick08100808
katyd1024
Wedding:
4/2/2011
5.0/5.0
We went with Wuollet for our wedding cake after they did the cake and cupcakes for our friend's wedding in September 2009. We could not have been more pleased with everything! We did a small two-tier cake, and then the rest were cupcakes. We had 6 flavors, and they were all delicious. What I loved about Wuollet, and Sarah and Rachel, the two bakers we worked with, is that they do not have a minimum for flavors for cupcakes and they typically do not charge for the design on the cake (which came out beautifully)! Our count ended up being lower than expected, and I was able to call two weeks before and reduce the number of cupcakes we ordered with no problem. They are hands-down the best value in the Twin Cities for cupcakes. Everyone loved the cake and cupcakes, we had only a few leftovers. We will be loyal customers for years to come!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
a&aturn
Wedding:
10/2/2010
1.1/5.0
*Since my initial review I have heard back from Wuollet's and they are rectifying the situation. Although my cakes were unusable I feel better that they are trying to make the situation better.

We called the morning of our rehearsal dinner to make sure our groom's cakes were ready. After being on hold for 20 minutes, we were told that our order had been lost, but they'd make them right away. My dad went to pick them up and found that the images were not the quality we'd been told to expect, but also that Chicago was spelled Chicogo even though they'd been provided with a picture. When he asked if they could repair the image on one of them he was told they didn't have time to do so. When I saw the Chicago cake I called to see if there was the possibility of getting a new cake based on the original design that I'd provided them with pictures of. I was told that if the cake was there by 2 the decorator could try to fix it, but that I could not get a new cake. As my dad had already driven from the northern suburbs to pick up the cake, he simply didn't have time to drive and wait for the cake while we were completing other wedding tasks. We ended up going with a local bakery that made us a cake for half the price and looked exactly as the pictures I'd brought in to Wuollet's although the other bakery didn't even have the images.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Freda
Wedding:
9/25/2010
4.6/5.0
We order our wedding cake from Woullet just less than 3 weeks before the wedding, it's two-tier cake and two sheetcakes. We have 4 different flavors altogether, and each of them so unique in both taste and design. We went for our second appointment to confirm our order, instead of just taking down the flavor and design sketchs, Sarah (consultant) has taken it up a notch by taking details of the cake design, color code, flowers, wordings and taste to ensure that they deliver exactly what we want. They deliver our cake on time, the decor was absoultely beautiful, everyone loves and enjoy the cakes! It exceed our expectation indeed.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
live2ski
Wedding:
11/27/2009
4.2/5.0
The cake tasted great, but it was delivered to our house. Luckliy during our ceremony our Host & Hostesses called to find out where the cake was. It had been left on our steps at our house and our reception was on the other side of the Metro! Fortunately they did pick up the cake and deliver it to the correct spot. However, we were a little perplexed on how the mistake occurred.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Larissa
Wedding:
6/13/2009
4.8/5.0
My wedding cake was delicious and beautiful. The person I worked with on my order was extremely nice and let us try so many different kinds of cake and was very helpful. Overall, I had a great experience with Wuollet's in Edina.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
K17NC
Wedding:
5/24/2009
5.0/5.0
We ordered cupcakes from Wuoellet's and they turned out great! We received a lot of compliments on them. The only problem was that they charge so much for delivery on a Sunday, but we picked them up on Saturday and they still tasted delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg21
Bride4Ohio
Wedding:
3/6/2009
5.0/5.0
From the beginning, I had considered Wuollet for our wedding cake, and when I spoke to the reception venue and asked who they worked with/recommended, they said Wuollet and that sealed the deal for me. They were great to work with and very clear on pricing, which does not always seem to be the case. We were clear on what we wanted and that we were keeping things simple. The tasting/booking went well and she didn't try to talk us into anything. We already had the cake topper and they used it with no problems.

The cake was waiting at the reception when I arrived and if there were any problems with delivery, I never heard about them. It looked very nice and was what I expected. We opted for the buttercream frosting, which doesn't have the look of fondant and which I accounted for in final presentation. We were more interested in the taste, and it tasted great!!

Overall, a very good experience and I would recommend them to anyone else.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KLK
Wedding:
10/11/2008
4.8/5.0
Excellent cake, many compliments throughout the evening. Will definitely continue to use for special occasions.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TheSueb
Wedding:
9/20/2008
4.5/5.0
We did two tastings here, the first was with all possible combinations, the second was to verify our final choice.

Both tastings were fabulous. The employees helping us were knowledgeable and willing to pull out flavors that we didn't originally ask for.

The final result was fabulous!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rosemary
Wedding:
8/9/2008
4.6/5.0
Our cake was delicious and reasonably priced. The staff person that helped us with our order was friendly and everything went smoothly.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
7/19/2008
5.0/5.0
Best cake I ever had. I received tons of compliments on it too. I ordered a lady baltimore white cake with almond buttercream frosting. Very professional. I gave them pink and black ribbon to put around each layer of the cake and it came out perfect. I will definately get cake from them again!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sunster
Wedding:
6/8/2008
5.0/5.0
The cake was absolutely BEAUTIFUL and DELICIOUS! It was a strawberry souffle cake. Let's just say it was "durable"! We had to transport it in a little cooler up to Duluth, MN which is about a 3 hour drive from the Twin Cities, and it never melted or tasted any different! Absolutely YUMMY!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ruth
Wedding:
5/16/2008
4.9/5.0
I loved the cake that Wuollet's created for me! I worked with the Uptown location, which provided me wonderful customer service. I would recommend Wuollet's for wedding, birthday, and any day that needs a special treat.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kari
Wedding:
10/6/2007
2.8/5.0
Overall, my experience with Wuolette was not very good. The price was pretty low (compared to other bakerys), which is why we choose to go with the Wuolette; we had a small tiered cake from here, and bought additional cakes from Sams Club for the bulk of the guests.

The customer service at the bakery on Grand which I visited to place my order was very poor; I understand that it was only one person, but this gentleman was unable to answer any questions (besides the basics I got from their website)related to either the cake itself, or their services. I had seen several designs that were on the companies own website but not in their picture book onsite, and he said he wasn't sure how/if they could do them, and had no idea if it would increase the price or not. He also offered NO suggestions as to how the cake would be decorated/displayed when I asked for some help. He just said it was "up to me". I did ask if there was anyone else in the store who could help me, or if someone else may be working later in the day, but he said he was in charge of wedding orders.

The cake did arrive on time and looking very nice at the reception hall, so it all did work out. I didn't have an opportunity to taste the cake, but heard that it was pretty good.

Recommend the bakery/cake, but not the customer service! It is very important in the wedding industry when there are so many places to choose from.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/7/2006
5.0/5.0
Wuollet was amazing! They took such great care of us. I came in with several books full of wedding cakes and they spent so much time reviewing the different kinds of frosting, cake, styles, etc. They didn't bat an eye when I came up with crazy ideas of waterfalls and a fountain in my cake, and weird color schemes.

I kept changing my mind and coming in to re-taste the samples and changing the style of my cake. Then a few weeks before the actual day, there was a new beautiful fall cake on display at their store. That was what mine looked like in the end. Their patience was amazing. And, please, try not to be like me, but even if you are, they will take care of you.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
princesst27
Wedding:
7/15/2006
5.0/5.0
I loved this bakery! I got this from Uptown area. Would recommend this one for sure to anyone getting married.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Wuollet is a classic choice, but also probably one of the best values in the Twin Cities. Executed my design perfectly, tasted amazing, and extremely east to work with. Skip Buttercream and go with Wuollet instead.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.6/5.0
We went through the Edina branch. Our initial meeting was great. The cake was made fresh while we were there. Every other place we visited had stale tasting cake. We were happy with the price. Communication was difficult though. I sent two emails, one three weeks before our wedding and one a week before, that were never answered. Also, our wedding cake tasted good, but the design didn't look quite as I had envisioned, and I was frustrated I never got to check in and see what they were planning to do.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg6
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I do not like cake.
Especially not wedding cake.

I was having a dessert reception, and it therefore seemed silly not to have cake. So, I sampled cakes all around town and was about to give up when my mother suggested Wuollet Bakery. I immediately fell in love with their princess torte!! I got rave reviews from all my guests, and I'm pretty sure the bakery gained a lot of new customers after the wedding! The bakery was even willing to make my cake in different colors free of charge. I still go back for another slice every time I'm in the area.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg17
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.9/5.0
We chose Wuollet's because I love their cakes and torts. I was excited to get my cake from them. Don't get me wrong the flavor was great! Tasting was awesome!

Most of the people were great to work with outside of some people who really did not want to work with brides and one person in particular made that clear many times. She actually groaned when we said we were looking for a wedding cake, weird. Thank goodness Tony was there to help whenever we came in!! He is the best and if I rated the professionalism just on him it would be 5 starts!

Overall, I was slightly disappointed with how it turned out. I gave them a photo of the design and I gave them a backup photo just in case the first one didn't work. It did not look like any of the photos, it was so blah. The $50 groom's cake I bought from my co-worker was stunning and in comparison the cake from Wuollet's looked sad next to it.

So recommendation, if you have a specific style you want better get a test run done. Otherwise, still tasted great just slightly disappointed with the look.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
theshullcrew
Wedding:
5/21/2004
2.4/5.0
The cake was hideous to say the least. Our wedding was black and white and the cake was supposed to resemble my dress which had black beading in flowers and scrolls. All of the black parts were like swirled gray, it was so ugly, I almost didn't put it out!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
3608 West 50th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55410 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Wuollet Bakery
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220