130x130_sq_1295970870308-weddingphotos019

Wyndham

St Thomas , VI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

St Thomas, VI US 00802 (map)

PHONE

340-777-7100

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Welcome to the newly renovated Wyndham Sugar Bay Resort & Spa in St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands as the setting for your dream wedding experience!
We look forward to helping you to... Read more
Welcome to the newly renovated Wyndham Sugar Bay Resort & Spa in St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands as the setting for your dream wedding experience!
We look forward to helping you to plan your romantic dream wedding for just the two of you, or a grand event to include many guests. Here at the Wyndham Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, you may choose from one of our 2 breathtaking locations for your ceremony. The privacy of our St. John Terrace includes a lovely gazebo located above the turquoise waters, with a view of neighboring St. John and the British Virgin Islands. Or you may prefer a romantic ceremony on the beach with swaying palm trees and your feet in the sand. Which ever you choose, it will be an experience to cherish! For a view of these two locations Check out our Wedding Album on www.sugarbayweddings.com
Looking forward to planning your wedding of a lifetime. Read less

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1295974168464-weddingphotos063
130x130_sq_1295974187542-weddingphotos020
130x130_sq_1295974222324-weddingphotos019
130x130_sq_1295974247949-weddingphotos027
130x130_sq_1295974274933-weddingphotos031

INFO FOR WEDDING PLANNING

What types of weddings do you accommodate?
Civil, Destination
What wedding planning services do you offer?
Full Planning

REVIEWS

4.1
out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
3.8/5.0
4.1/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.3/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1285540544172-701972524119880314219111416053871897548n
Latoya
Wedding:
8/13/2011
4.3/5.0
The Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is definitely worth the price. We received a group discount, which made it an even greater value. It is an older hotel that could use some renovations, but I would still recommend it. The staff by the pool was awesome. Some of the friendliest people you will ever meet. Kish at the omelet bar and his mom that works by the turtle bar were the highlight of our stay. My wife and I really connected with them and even exchanged contact information before we left the island. Give this place a try before overspending at some of the other locations.
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
7/16/2011
2.9/5.0
We decided to have our wedding off property, but all of our guests stayed at the Wyndham. We worked with Brian Postle, the "Romance Director" to set up our guest room block. Brian was extremely hard to get a hold of. We reached out to him via e-mail on numerous occasions and went without a response for sometimes longer than a week. It got to the point where I would have to call the hotel and ask to speak to someone in Reservations, who would then tell Brian to get in touch with me. I'm not sure if the extremely delayed responses were because we ultimately decided not to have our wedding on property, but I was glad not to be getting married at Sugar Bay after the lack of communication.
The hotel itself is a nice property that could do with some updates and changes. Nearly every person in our group had to wait over 45 minutes to check in at the front desk. I'm still confused as to why this took so long, and why the front desk always seemed to be so understaffed.
The attitude of some of the staffers could stand to be improved, but I've experienced the same frosty attitude at another hotel on St. Thomas as well.
By far the best feature of the resort is the pool area, which is really great. Snorkeling off the beach is pretty good, and the new swim-up pool bar was a big hit with our party. Activities down near the pool at night were also a big hit with our group. We had a great time overall, but not without some grumblings from most of the people in our group staying at the resort.
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
7/1/2011
5.0/5.0
The Sugar Bay Resort & Spa made our destination wedding dreams a reality. The terrace where we had our ceremony on July 5,2011 was perfect! It was such a pleasure working with our wedding planner Monica Paul who far exceeded our expectations of what a wedding can be. I would highly recommend both the Sugar Bay Resort and our planner to anyone looking for a destination wedding. They took care of every detail so My husband and I could just enjoy our day. I can't wait to return on our first anniversary.
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1309245635220-fbavatar658620569
Ruiza Anne
Wedding:
6/13/2011
4.0/5.0
The St. John's Terrace was amazingly breathtaking! I saw it for the first time while I was walking down the aisle with my dad beside me & for a second there I forgot I was getting married because the view was amazing! Naomi is their current wedding contact and she was the fastest to respond to my inquiries compared to the other resorts/hotels I contacted. The only thing negative was that I was so busy with everything during the wedding that we completely forgot about our left over cake (there was A LOT left over) and the cake we upgraded was expensive. I wish they boxed it up for us automatically for us to take. Also, I emailed her the ceremony vows which she said she received but was just slipped in the officiant's folder right AFTER I walked down the aisle resulting on an irritated look on the officiant's face since he has never seen nor practiced saying the vows. =\

Other than that, they were prompt and the venue itself is amazing! It was a perfect sunny day & the colors were beautiful. I highly suggest this venue, but just make sure that you appoint someone to make sure everything is going great and taking care of instead of just relying on the resort staff.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1289360260946-earrickscamerapictures3277
Sharelle
Wedding:
5/29/2011
4.3/5.0
Wedding coordinator Naomi and Banquet manager Joseph did a wonderful job meeting our requests. The staff was friendly and professional. The food was delicious! And the place was clean and classy. I would not recommend booking the Garden Terrace ballroom for a nightime event because the view diminishes significantly at night but, the afternoon on the St John Terrace turned out to be a breathtaking day and we had a blast.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
3/6/2011
2.2/5.0
My wedding was absolutely gorgeous, and I'm happy with it overall. That being said, I don't feel it was handled very well, and it was made very clear we were NOT a priority. We only did our ceremony at the hotel, and I think that might have had something to do with it. Monica was so nice, but she didn't cue the procession, she didn't know anything about Jewish weddings and she left the second the wedding was over, leaving us high and dry when it came to trying to orchestrate the promised photos on the beach. She even forgot to place certain items on the table under the gazeebo and ran up int he middle of our ceremony to do it. And the video that was included in our package was HORRIBLE.

I do have to say that most of the staff was very nice to us and our guests. The resort is beautiful, and the all-inclusive package, while extremely pricey, was worth it.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1256951026536-fordesktop
Melissa
Wedding:
10/24/2010
4.9/5.0
Naomi did a great job in helping me plan my wedding. I just checked off a couple of boxes to indicate what I wanted and Naomi did the rest. It was beautiful and exactly what I asked for. I paid much less to get married at the Wyndham than I would have to get married in Houston, TX. I recommend St. John's Terrace as a location, it's beautiful and well worth the money. The cake was surprisingly delicious. The minister was very nice. My only complaint is that I didn't get to rehearse the ceremony ahead of time. Since I've never been in a wedding before (bride or otherwise), I felt a little lost at times. Otherwise it was an AMAZING ceremony and reception.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1231385040359-engagementpics
Matt&Gina09
Wedding:
11/14/2009
5.0/5.0
The entire staff at Wyndham made my wedding spectacular. Brian was great with working with my vision and setting up our event. Naomi took over to coordinate and everything was seamless. The ceremony & reception was perfect, everything I envisioned for my wedding day. The food was excellent and everyone raved that it was the best they'd ever had a wedding (we had the Sea Bass and Portabella Filet). They set up my decorations just as I had hoped and all of the flowers, cake and other little touches were perfect. It is really scary to do a destination wedding and leave the most important day of your lives in the hands of strangers, but they really pulled through and did a phenomenal job.

The DJ, bartender and servers were all great. Prompt with service and friendly.

My only complaint would have been that it was abnormally hot and humid during our stay with no breeze, so some fans would have been nice during the reception. Although I can't really call that a complaint as they usually never deal with that issue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JMerc
Wedding:
10/9/2008
5.0/5.0
Naomi the wedding coordinator at the Wyndham is WONDERFUL to work with. My wedding was spectacular!
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Wedding Cake, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
5/19/2007
4.7/5.0
My wedding was so great due to Wyndham. Planning a destination wedding can be a nightmare, but the Wyndham and it's staff help me pull of the day of my dreams, the food was great too! Wedding site gorgeous, and reception a blast!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JANINE
Wedding:
4/21/2007
5.0/5.0
WONDERFUL VENUE, ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT. EVERYONE HAD A GREAT TIME.
Services Used: Band, Beauty & Health, Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tonyia76
Wedding:
6/23/2006
4.7/5.0
After pricing and figuring out what would be involved in planning a traditional wedding in Austin, Texas, where we live, we decided to have a destination wedding in St. Thomas. If you've been dreaming of a very specific wedding since you were five years old, this probably isn't the choice for you, but for us, it was a great idea. Our budget went much further than it would have at home, and we had a gorgeous, low maintenance wedding.

The hotel's wedding planner, Lorna Richardson, was fantastic - helpful, attentive, nice and full of information. We went with an outside photographer rather than the one that came with the hotel's package, which was no problem for the hotel, but otherwise, we used all the hotel's wedding services. The cake and flowers were gorgeous, and they were very flexible about our choices. We had a Jewish wedding, so we threw them a few curve balls, and Lorna made sure we got everything we wanted.

The only problem we had was with a room reservation. I messed up and reserved one of our guest's room a night early. When he didn't show up (and unfortunately it was our rabbi) on the first night of the reservation, the hotel gave his room away. I understand that this is common hotel practice, but it would have been a nice courtesy to check with us before they gave it up since it was part of a wedding room block. Even though we didn't have anyone in the room that night, we still would have happily paid for it. As it turned out, they were full so after a 12-hour trip he had to trek back across the island to a crummy hotel near the airport. The Wyndham paid for all that, but still...

Overall, we were very happy with the Wyndham. The room incident is the only reason I didn't give them 5 stars on everything.
Services Used: Band, Beauty & Health, Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shelly
Wedding:
8/5/2005
3.2/5.0
I liked the way my hair turned out.. it was good for an island wedding. However, I felt a little rushed, as there were other appointments soon after mine. It seemed a little pricey for what I got and because it was a destination wedding, there was no time to "practice" my hair style and didn't get EXACTLY what I had hoped for.
Services Used: Beauty & Health

MAP

 
St Thomas, VI 00802 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Wyndham
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1295970870308-weddingphotos019