Nophoto-130
(8)

Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Virginia Beach , VA

LOCATION

Virginia Beach, VA US

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Venue

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Delynn
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
We were married on the patio and had our reception in their ballroom. Jane Wrenn was great and wonderful to work with. She made sure we had everything we needed and advised when necessary. We appreciated her taking her time to make sure everything was taken care of when we had a clich with the billing. The accounting department was very pro active, as well.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adri Rhinehart
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I had our Repeption here at the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront. It was amazing, I have no complaints. The staff was friendly and very Proffesional. Jane was full of smiles and made sure that we were comfortable. The Venue was perfectly set up and the food was simply incredible. Our day was amazing thanks to all there hard work.;)

Adri Rhinehart
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
meg5han
Wedding:
10/9/2010
4.8/5.0
My husband and I are not from Virginia Beach, but have been living here for the past 2 years. We wanted a wedding where our friends and family could come stay in the area without any travel hassle. Our ceremony and reception were both at the Wyndham and we could not have been happier! Jane, the coordinator, took care of all our needs. When we wanted detail, we got detail. When we didn't want to be bothered, everything was taken care of. The chef accommodated our request for a family-style meal even though it was not part of the regular menu and the value for our rooms, the ballroom, the food, the drinks... it could not be beat! Our guests had the feeling of a destination wedding, with the convenience of being close to home and we have never had a better day in our lives!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
9/4/2010
3.4/5.0
We had our reception here at the Wyndham Virgina Beach Oceanfront. The rating I've given doesn't accurately reflect my feelings, because there are important categories not listed here.

In terms of hotel upkeep - the lobby and outside are very nicely kept. The rooms, however, are pretty gross. They're not very clean or updated, and there was an issue with the plumbing when I was there, at least. My guests complained about various water issues - some had scorching hot water that acted like a sand blaster on their skin, others had hot water that came out as a drip. I was fortunate enough to have scorching hot water (only) that came out as a drip. We all complained, but to no avail.

Additionally, the front desk staff is horrible. They are not polite, helpful, or courteous. All of my guests complained about them. The day before the wedding, I was trying to bring in carts full of things for the reception. They don't have electric doors, so I was clearly struggling to get the cart in the door. The front desk staff sat there and watched as things fell off the cart, and I struggled for a good 15 minutes. Nobody offered to help.

Also, my guest complained that his card was charged for a down payment without his consent. They didn't tell him they would charge the card, and he was expecting to actually pay with a different card. The front desk did nothing to fix the situation, even though they overdrew his bank account and left him with no spending money.

Lastly, my Mother-In-Law told the front desk there was no cold water for drinking. They blankly stared at her, as she said "all I want is a drink of water". She finally asked for a bottle of water, which they gave, but don't you think they should have offered her a free bottle of water in the first place?

One more thing - I spent HOURS working on these bags for my guests who were staying at the hotel. I told my guests to look out for them. The front desk didn't give them to my guests unless they asked. They clearly had everyone's names on the bags, and I told them to match them up with the reservations. Some of my guests would say, "I think one of those bags is for me" and the front desk would say "Nope". They wouldn't get the bag until they fought back and forth with them.

On a good note, the food was AMAZING. All of my guests loved it and won't stop talking about the food. Additionally, they had a woman there to help us the day of, named Michelle. She was great - such a help and so nice. The bartenders were great as well. All of our guests really enjoyed them, and some even hung around the bartenders to chat!

I wouldn't necessarily recommend this hotel. We had a lot of issues at the reception because the hotel and the vendors never chatted about where they would drop off their items. I continually got the, "oh, i work with them all the time, we've got this down," yet once the reception started, there were no flowers and no cake, because they were dropped off in odd locations. Also, the front desk issue and hotel maintenance would alone both steer me away from using this hotel again.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1224389887250-heathernjustin3
Heather
Wedding:
6/25/2010
4.0/5.0
Jane at the Wyndham VB Oceanfront was a delight to work with. We were pleased with the upgrade of the room that occurred last minute and the food was delicious. They set up chairs for our ceremony on the back patio and it was a picture perfect view of the beach. Jane stayed in constant communication with us and would recommend other beach brides and grooms to consider this location. They were able to accommodate us the evening of our wedding in a nice room and even set up a next morning brunch for our guests. Almost all of our guests stayed at this hotel and we heard no complaints at all about the hotel and amenities.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
5/8/2010
5.0/5.0
The hotel staff was extremely accomodating, especially the Sales Manager Jane Wrenn that we worked with directly. She made sure that everything we wanted was set up as desired and even allowed us to come in Friday the day before our wedding and get our room set up. The staff was amazing the entire weekend. We hosted a cocktail hour Friday night for our out of town guest and they knew all of our guests by name. The food was wonderful, but we were so caught up in the reception we really did not eat very much. They fixed us plates that were in the room waiting for us when we finally left the party. We had an amazing experience with the Wyndham and would recommend anyone that is looking for a beach wedding to use it.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tinichick
Wedding:
9/13/2008
5.0/5.0
I worked with Jane Wrenn, the catering sales manager, and she is absolutely delightful. She worked with my budget to make the best wedding possible for my husband and I. Everything went off as planned and everyone really enjoyed the food (NY Strip Steak and Chicken Oscar with Crab Meat). They even left a tray with some of our fruit tray, two meals and some of our cake upstairs in our room. Would definitely recommend getting married on the patio that overlooks the ocean. It makes for breathtaking wedding photos!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jennifer
Wedding:
10/7/2006
4.6/5.0
I found this venue to be everything we had hoped it would be. The staff was extremely professional, the food was excellent, and overall I was very please with the hotel. The only complaint I have it that they were not as flexible as I had hoped they would be. I wanted the reception hall to be setup a certain way and I had to put my foot down in order to get it setup the way I wanted it. However, I still feel overall this venue was the right place to hold our ceremony and reception.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220