130x130_sq_1355113227009-hadsell122

Your Personal Ceremony

Portland , OR

LOCATION

5707 NE 15 Ave
Portland, OR US 97211 (map)

PHONE

503-679-5933

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

We have gotten so many amazing responses from our friends and family about how beautifully you performed the ceremony. Everyone just cannot stop talking about how touching it was, and... Read more
“We have gotten so many amazing responses from our friends and family about how beautifully you performed the ceremony. Everyone just cannot stop talking about how touching it was, and how it was perfectly 'us.'" Erin & Shannon - - - We specialize in custom-created wedding ceremonies personalized for the bride and groom. We guide you, the couple, in creating your own unique ritual, providing you with inspiring material from which to choose, drawn from the great spiritual traditions, including Native American, Jewish, Celtic, Hindu, Christian, and Moslem. Together we create a ceremony that honors both you and your families. We help you find the words and rites that connect your souls! Read less
Officiant

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1317191626615-110730stern00331
130x130_sq_1355113557180-img0490
130x130_sq_1355113714904-of50320400copy
130x130_sq_1355113925968-img0478
130x130_sq_1355114236755-elysianballroomwedding

INFO FOR OFFICIANT

What officiant services do you provide?
Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious Ceremony, Single Religion Ceremony
What religious affiliations do you serve?
Baha'i Faith, Buddhist, Christian (no denomination), Christian - Presbyterian, Christian - Quaker, Hindu, Jewish, Muslim, Taoist
Can you accommodate the hearing impaired?
No
Are you willing to perform a ceremony at a non-religious site?
yes
Are you flexible in the wording used throughout the ceremony, including the vows?
yes
Do you allow the couple to write their own vows, if desired?
yes
Do you have a list of readings pre-selected, from which the couple must choose?
couple can bring their own readings or select from our selections
Do you require that premarital counseling be done?
no, but we offer premarital counseling if the couple is interested
Are you willing to perform pre-ceremony rehearsals?
yes

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
gera
Wedding:
3/15/2014
5.0/5.0
Joanie and Yehudah let us use their space for our ceremony. It was a beautiful day and we had our ceremony in their backyard. Before we got there, Joanie and Yehudah made sure everything was set up for us. We were able to use their home to get ready, we were able to play music. It was great to have met them and their home had the perfect energy for our ceremony. I highly recommend them.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Joanie provided us with a wonderful ceremony that was personal and beautiful. She was non judging and so helpful. She even helped us pick the perfect setting and offered tons of options and material to help us write our vows. She was organized and made everything flow. Her energy radiated love. I hope I can have that calm energy myself one day. Thank you Joanie for a perfect wedding. I felt sad to say goodbye. I hope to stay in touch.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We chose to have both Joanie and Yehudah officiate our wedding. They were great, and they both have such a loving energy; it was truly a pleasure to work with them in making our ceremony a beautiful moment. We started early, and promptly became very busy with other things, but Joanie kept us on track in getting our wedding ceremony written, and vows finalized. We were provided with a lot of material to help guide us (other wedding ceremonies, ring vows, how to write your own wedding vows, etc), which really gave us direction, and helped us plan the content of our ceremony.



We chose to use the framework that Joanie and Yehudah provided to create a truly personalized ceremony and blessing. The great thing is that they are open to whatever you choose to do, whether you leave it entirely up to them to craft with little input, or they will closely work alongside you if you wish to co-create something more complex and personalized. 



We chose not to have an official rehearsal, as our wedding was quite small (30 people), but on our wedding day, they took the stress away of instructing our wedding party in how they would proceed down the isle, etc, so I felt more relaxed! Overall, they helped make our ceremony exactly the way we wished it to be, and I appreciate both of their lovely spirits being present to officiate our special day.
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1370199534371-img0649
Brant
Wedding:
8/30/2013
5.0/5.0
We loved working with Joanine she was responsive and kept us on top of our deadlines. We had the most beautiful ceremony, that was unique and different. I highly recommend using personal ceremony.
We had many of our guests rave about her clear voice and having a short, sweet and extremely romantic ceremony.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
liz
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I got married recently 08/17/13 We contacted Joanie to be our officiant in our ceremony and we couldn't have be any happier! She was great! She had great ideas for our ceremony and she even worked with out budget! We highly recommend her!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
8/4/2013
5.0/5.0
We got married 8/04 on a farm, and Joanie was amazing. We are very free spirited, indecisive people and she guided us every step of the way. We had a beautiful, heart felt ceremony that couldn't have been more perfect for us. We laughed, we cried, and it was magical.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kyle
Wedding:
7/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Joanie was our wedding officiant on 7/27, and she was incredible. We happen to be non-religious, and she helped us to create a ceremony that was by all accounts spiritual, meaningful, and perfect for us. Joanie's knowledge, experience, flexibility, and demeanor made her an absolute joy to work with. I would recommend her to anyone.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Joanie was FANTASTIC! With only a couple of days notice, Joanie contacted us, met with us to discuss what kind of ceremony would best fit us, and married us. Her personality and kindness was exactly what we were looking for and we could not have been happier with her service.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.5/5.0
we just had our wedding last weekend with personal ceremony Joanie did a wonderful job she very responsiveness and she listen to what we wanted we had a outdoor wedding she has different vows you can choose from or you can do your own the ceremony we had was just perfect for our out door wedding she did a great job
thank you so much!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Both Joanie and Yehudah (Alan) were great to work with! We had an initial meeting with them and they really made an effort to get to know my husband and I and cater the ceremony to our personalities. Both were extremely responsive to emails and it was an easy process to get our ceremony nailed down. Yehudah performed the actual ceremony and was professional and everything went just as planned. We were extremely happy with their services and would recommend them to others!
Services Used: Officiant
Your Personal Ceremony responded with the following comments:

Thanks so much! Joanie and Yehudah
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were so happy we chose to work with Joanie. We were drawn to her services because her style is so flexible- we were going for a secular wedding with jewish traditions. She had wonderful ideas on how to include my husband's middle eastern background, and include my stepson in the ceremony in a very meaningful way. We also really appreciated the vast collection of readings and ceremony styles that she had for us to peruse, choose from or just derive inspiration from. Finally- she put a lot of time into our ceremony. I don't know how other officiants work, but we really appreciated the time and effort she put in to helping us bring everything together. We weren't the most diligent clients and so we appreciated her coaxing us through getting everything done on time:) We happily recommend her to brides and grooms looking for an officiant!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Steve
Wedding:
7/5/2013
4.3/5.0
Your Personal Ceremony was helpful in suggestion, efficient in operation.and an exceptional value. The staff are very attentive, receptive to the customer desires and very home-friendly. They also have a valuable sense of humor and can handle new direction with ease.. My wife and I would recommend them if you prefer a custom ceremony, a traditional event, or one just crazy enough to involve Dr. Seuss, of Cat in the Hat fame...A great little group with the Bride and Groom as their central focus. The only reason YPC doesn't get 5 Stars is because 1 man's ceiling is another man's floor, myself? They deserve 'em !!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lara
Wedding:
6/29/2013
4.6/5.0
Joanie was very helpful when it came to putting together a personal ceremony that would be a symbol of our relationship.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Barbara
Wedding:
5/3/2013
4.9/5.0
Joan Levine at your personal ceremony was amazing she was willing to work within our budget and made our wedding day exactly the way we wanted it. the day of the wedding was absolutely perfect and absolutely the way we wanted if we ever re-new our vows we will be calling her again.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.6/5.0
We had a wonderful experience here. They added a warmth to our quick little wedding that really helped make it very special for us. Recommend highly!
Services Used: Officiant
Your Personal Ceremony responded with the following comments:

Thanks so much! Did you mean all those 4.5s? I am convinced that people just don't click all of them completely. If you meant them, fine. If not, would you mind e-mailing Wedding Wire to change them? Thanks so much and all the best!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
She was very open minded and helpful on our big day!
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1319483966349-1409238264528388259991888239376836216766n
Samantha
Wedding:
9/23/2012
4.7/5.0
Joanie and Yehuda are a warm and perceptive couple. My husband and I liked them immediately. They suited our balance of being non-religious, but wanting to incorporate our histories and traditions in to our wedding. They helped us through the entire process to help create the ceremony. By providing their experience and structure to the ceremony, we collaborated to make a wedding that was perfect for my husband and me. Joanie led the rehearsal like a pro, who has had to wrangle big, raucous wedding parties like our before. And the ceremony was beautiful. Above all I wanted it to feel casual to set of the intensity of the moment, and it did. Joanie encouraged my husband and I to laugh and play through the ceremony and it was a joy!
Services Used: Officiant, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ian
Wedding:
8/11/2012
4.8/5.0
Due to having a destination wedding we had reservations using an officiant we didn’t know, but after our initial Skype video interview we signed on the dotted line.

With our daily full schedules we were able to easily correspond with Joanie via e-mail.

We knew we wanted to combine the elements of the Jewish religion with our personal beliefs.

Joanie provided several examples of interfaith ceremonial to choose from that adhered to our desires.

Wedding day went better than expected. Both tears and laughs were shared by all.

Thank you Joanie!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Britta
Wedding:
8/4/2012
4.7/5.0
Pros: Accommodating, Calm, Professional, Open-Minded, Sliding-Scale Fee

In February 2012, I contacted Your Personal Ceremony after finding their website online. I was looking for a non-religious officiant for my wedding who was still spiritual and familiar with ritual. Response was prompt from Joanie and soon we set up an appointment to meet with her at her home. The sliding scale fee made it possible for us to afford having the kind of wedding ceremony we wanted. When creating our ceremony she had a wealth of ideas but remained open to anything we wanted to do. She quickly responded to any email of questions or requests to make changes. She kept us organized and on track with deadlines and reminders. On the day of the wedding she came fully prepared and was a calming center for me. I was completely terrified of getting in front of people and right before the ceremony she came and held my hands and did a mini-meditation exercise with me and gave me great advice which really pulled me together and helped me keep it together during the whole ceremony. Overall, my experience with Your Personal Ceremony was positive. My only regret is that I wasn't able to get to know Joanie more- likely due to my own aloofness. We received so many compliments on the ceremony! Everyone said it was one of the best and most unique weddings they had ever been to. I will definitely use Your Personal Ceremony again for any ceremonial needs that I have in the future.
Services Used: Officiant
Your Personal Ceremony responded with the following comments:

Thanks so much, Britta, and good to know that our connection before the ceremony helped. You are certainly welcome to contact me at any time - to have tea, etc. I really enjoyed the intimacy of the occasion.
All the best, Joanie p.s. Did you mean not to click the 2 last stars on value? That's okay if it was intentional, but, if not, would you mind contacting Wedding Wire and letting them know? Not a big deal, but I keep seeing great reviews and then one of these stars isn't clicked and I think it is just an oversight.....
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrew
Wedding:
7/27/2012
4.9/5.0
Your Personal Ceremony was top notch providing the experience to craft the perfect peak moment of a monumental day.
Services Used: Officiant
Your Personal Ceremony responded with the following comments:

Hi Andy: Thanks for the review. This one is tricky because of all the stars you need to click. Did you mean to not click one of the stars on "Quality of Service"? Maybe yes, maybe no? I think several people have not clicked the whole star panel when they actually meant to.
You were just so great to work with day of - thanks so much!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ausa
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Joanie married us on July 7th 2012. She helped us organize our thoughts into a very personal and intimate ceremony. It was lovely and we were very happy with how she handled our wedding. Thanks so much! -Ausa
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.0/5.0
Personable. Loved all the different examples of past ceremonies and reading passages to choose from. Loved the personal consultation. Our officiant, Ana, was very nice. However, given that the ceremony was outside, she has a very quiet speaking voice. Should think about bringing a small microphone and amplifier in outside venues. She also seemed to read the ceremony rather than perform the ceremony, this combined with the outside venue, the impact of the ceremony was a little flat.
Services Used: Officiant
Your Personal Ceremony responded with the following comments:

Hi: Sorry to hear this happened for you and thanks for the review. Normally the wedding party provides amplification for their wedding and that we don't see that as our responsibility. I will let Ana know your feedback. One wedding we did under the St. Johns Bridge the amplification the wedding party brought failed and the traffic was just so loud - challenging. Be well!
130x130_sq_1306204975264-p1000689
Wendy
Wedding:
4/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Because of Joanie, our ceremony was absolutely beautiful and there wasn't a dry eye in the house. She smoothly and seamlessly intertwined our backgrounds and personalities into a meaningful and personal ceremony that was absolutely perfect. Several people commented to us that it was one of the most beautiful wedding ceremonies they had ever seen, and we have Joanie to thank for making it so wonderful for us.

When we hired Joanie Levine to be our officiant, we had some interesting requests in that I (the bride) has a Jewish background and the groom has a Scottish background and we wanted to find some way to work both into the ceremony without being too religious. From our first meeting, Joanie understood our needs right away and had lots of examples to show us. Most of our ceremony was inspired by what she already had on hand, and therefore made the writing process much easier on us. Joanie was very knowledgeable, insightful, and patient in guiding us through this. She was very thorough and made sure all details were taken care of, including having a chuppah for us to rent. At the rehearsal, Joanie took command and really made sure we went through everything so each person knew what they were doing.

This is not a wedding officiant who makes you feel like you are one of ten weddings they have that day. Joanie put a lot of time and thought into our wedding, and she made it really special for us. I am forever thankful to her!
Services Used: Officiant, Unique Services
Your Personal Ceremony responded with the following comments:

Thanks so much, Wendy. Your review brings tears to my eyes!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
clare_28
Wedding:
4/7/2012
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend Joanie! She made our wedding very special and unique! I got lots of compliments on our ceremony. She totally lowered my stress during the planning process and during the big day!
Services Used: Officiant
Your Personal Ceremony responded with the following comments:

Thanks, Clare! warmly, Joanie
130x130_sq_1332566735101-fbavatar2347786
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We had a great ceremony and I will recommend Your Personal Ceremony to all my friends .
Svetlana
Services Used: Officiant, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mle422
Wedding:
12/23/2011
5.0/5.0
I contacted Ana two weeks before our elope date. Not only was she available during the busy holidays, she gave us time and attention so that we were able to create a very special, unique and customized ceremony. We even used their home as the venue for our ceremony! All for a really great value that surpassed the other prices I saw online. The professionals at your personal ceremony made a last-minute decision into a wonderful, loving and beautiful experience that my husband and I will both cherish.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
pdxbride
Wedding:
10/8/2011
4.9/5.0
Joanie took our last minute wedding and made it calm and collected. She provided us with great options over the phone and was well prepared on our wedding day even though we were not, her calmness was much appreciated through the chaos of the day.
Services Used: Officiant
Your Personal Ceremony responded with the following comments:

Hi! Thanks so much for the review. Did you mean to click 4.5 for professionalism? If so, okay. If not, please let Wedding Wire know so they can change your overall to a 5. Blessings, Joanie
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elisa Cunningham
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
We loved working with Joanie!!! We are so pleased with how our ceremony turned out!!! My husband and I live in Arizona and we got married in Portland. We found Joanie through an online search and worked with her online, phone and email for a year before our wedding. It was difficult planning our wedding from out of state but Joanie made planning the ceremony seamless! Joanie helped us create a truly unique ceremony that included everything we wanted! We got to create our very own personal wedding ceremony and that was so special to us. Joanie helped us create and develop our ceremony from start to finish. We worked together on the phone and through countless emails. Joanie was always willing to meet with us, give feedback and give help where we needed! Joanie responded to our emails within the same day- which was great! Our ceremony turned out great, we really couldn't be happier! We are so happy that we found Joanie, she gave us the ceremony we truly wanted on our wedding day! Thank you Joanie!!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Joanie and Yehudah were so wonderful and personable throughout the entire process of meeting with us and creating our ceremony. They really helped us identify a framework that would speak to both of us, and gave us good ideas for what we wanted to include in our ceremony. Yehudah officiated on the actual day, and the ceremony will always be my favorite part of the day, so personal, warm and friendly.
Services Used: Officiant
Your Personal Ceremony responded with the following comments:

Thanks so much for posting this review!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
crazypdx
Wedding:
7/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Joanie and Yehudah performed a wonderful interfaith and inter-nationality ceremony for us during the summer of 2011. They were great to work with as we wove together Jewish, Christian, American, and Caribbean traditions into one coherent ceremony (all while keeping it short and sweet!). We were also able to put together a ceremony that pleased both our religious and non-religious friends and family.

We would highly recommend them to any couple looking for a highly customized, completely personal wedding ceremony. Their experience provides enough structure to ease the ceremony development process along, while retaining enough flexibility to let the personality of the couples to truly shine through. You won’t be disappointed!
Services Used: Officiant
Your Personal Ceremony responded with the following comments:

Thanks so much! Joanie and Yehudah
Default-vendor-profile-pic
EowynB
Wedding:
7/3/2011
5.0/5.0
We had a wonderful experience with Your Personal Ceremony. We met with Joanie and Ana early on to discuss what we wanted in a ceremony, what was important to us and what had drawn us together in the first place. Reminiscing about the early days of our relationship was a delightful highlight during the wedding planning! They were with us every step of the way helping to put together a ceremony that reflected us perfectly. We are not religious people and drew on imagery of the Earth and our community-- they helped us incorporate these things. On our wedding day, Ana conducted our ceremony with grace, humor, and spirituality that made us feel "really married". On the practical side, YPC was a pleasure to work with and they worked well with our other vendors to make the whole day a great success.
Services Used: Officiant
Your Personal Ceremony responded with the following comments:

Thanks so very much, Eowyn, for posting this review!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JET
Wedding:
3/5/2011
5.0/5.0
Being a couple of mixed nationality and religion, our challenge in planning our wedding ceremony was finding an officiate who could provide a non-denominational, yet spiritual, ceremony. The ceremony not only had to satisfy both of us, but also our (very religious) immediate family members. We interviewed a number of officiates, but as soon as we met Joanie and Yehudah we felt a connection. They were completely professional at our initial meeting and came prepared with sample ceremonies and were full of helpful ideas and inspirations. They immediately understood our situation, and took the time to get to know both of us individually and then how we fit as a couple. This helped them to guide the ceremony planning process, and over the course of a few months through email communication we put together the perfect plan. They truly want you to create “your personal ceremony” by using their expertise and combining it with your vision. They also conduct the Rehearsal, which was an extremely helpful event. My husband and I were able to practice everything that was involved with the ceremony, discuss timing, and it allowed us to be completely comfortable on our wedding day. We were lucky to have both Joanie and Yehudah as officiates for the wedding, and the dynamic of the two of them combined with their meaningful and perfectly timed delivery of the ceremony was amazing. The ceremony was everything we could have dreamed of, and Your Personal Ceremony is responsible for that. We will never forget this most cherished part of our wedding day.

Thank you so very much Joanie and Yehudah, we will never forget you!
Jayne & Armando Tirado
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
East Bay J
Wedding:
11/6/2010
5.0/5.0
Joanie was not just helpful in getting our vows together for our ceremony, she was instrumental. The consultation was great; Joanie interviewed us about our background, families, how we met and what we were looking for and gave us examples of vows and ceremonies she had done previously. With these tools in hand, we were able to craft vows that were meaningful and exactly right for us. Joanie was so confident, warm and welcoming as an officiant during the ceremony, a loving and welcoming presence for all. The ceremony was beautiful, memorable, perfect and we couldn't have done it without her.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
michaelj
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
My wife Dara and I are celebrating our 1 year wedding anniversary today. As we were reminiscing about the incredible wedding day we had, we decided we should take a moment to thank one of the people who was instrumental throughout the experience - Joanie Levine.

From our first meeting we knew Joanie was the right choice to officiate our service. She was very reassuring and it was obvious that she was deeply invested in working with us to create a wedding ceremony that was uniquely expressive of who we are as a couple.

Throughout the planning process, Joanie helped us navigate the confusing procedure of expressing our personal feelings and values in the form of a wedding ceremony. We were able to pull from seemingly disparate sources of personal inspiration and weave them together into a beautiful, seamless ceremony.

The wedding day ceremony itself could not have been smoother. Joanie officiated with the perfect balance of warmth and authority. We enjoyed working with her so much we had her stay on to celebrate at our reception!

Thank you Joanie, we are so grateful!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
vesanies
Wedding:
8/21/2010
5.0/5.0
Ana did a wonderful job. Thank you so much for helping us with our wedding ceremony. Everyone loved the sand ceremony :)
Services Used: Officiant, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
steviemontes
Wedding:
7/31/2010
4.9/5.0
Joanie officiated our Wedding on July 31st and did an amazing job. I especially liked her vast collection of beautiful readings, poems, and quotes that added a memorable touch. She was very skilled at taking our personalities and interests and incorpoating them into a lovely event. Guests were talking about how they had never seen such a personalized ceremony. Thank you Joanie for all your hard work!
Services Used: Officiant
Your Personal Ceremony responded with the following comments:

Hi Stevie: You wrote this review in 2010 - hope you and your family are well. Did you mean to click the 4.5 on value? I bet not - I am feeling that this happens occasionally with this system and people don't quite click the whole thing. If you didn't mean to give me a lower rating, would you mind checking in with Wedding Wire and let them know? thanks! Joanie
Default-vendor-profile-pic
scottinabuoy
Wedding:
7/1/2010
5.0/5.0
Wonderful Woman!!!! She was a lovely officiant for our wedding, very helpful, courteous and willing to perform ceremony at a correctional institute. Thanks so much and would recommend Joan for all my friends!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dkweddingdelight
Wedding:
6/27/2010
3.8/5.0
My husband & I got married on June 27th, 2010 by Joanie & Yehudah. There are two separate reviews to this, one for the planning process & one for the day of the wedding. We really enjoyed working with Joanie & Yehudah throughout the planning process. They gave us as much time as we needed for the initial interview process & were really responsive to any direction we wanted to go with the ceremony. They were very responsive with getting to us with emails & phone calls.
All went well & professional until the day of the ceremony. We had gone over the ceremony so many times so we didn't think anything could go wrong. Well it did. We had decided to include a paragraph honoring grandparents dead & alive that couldn't make it to the wedding. They didn't bother to check with us before hand for the correct pronunciation, so they butchered both our families last names. Also when Yehudah was reading his part, he accidentally made it sound like my alive grandparents were in fact dead.This sounded really bad because it was the first part of the ceremony, & one of the most important.
Our dads were also supposed to have a part in the ceremony, as agreed upon before hand & they blazed through it instead.
Joanie & Yehudah are really kind people, but they didn't deliver a ceremony that I would recommend for prospective couples.
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1278532735468-revisedwedding004
Labeeb & Ayanna
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
Joanie officiated our wedding last month in June. She was very helpful in helping us come up with a ceremony that was both sweet and romantic, and very unique to us. My husband and I are of different faiths and wanted to still have a meaningful ceremony without offending any of our friends or family who may believe differently. Joanie was great at providing ideas and showing us samples of other ceremonies she's done to help get our creative juices flowing. I received several compliments from our wedding guests about our ceremony.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jeremy
Wedding:
6/11/2010
5.0/5.0
WOW!!! I can't believe it's going on 3 years already and i am just now getting around to leaving a review. All i can say is that Joan and Yehudah were amazing. My wife and i had our innitial Minister come down with the flu and did not think that he was going to be able to make it with only a week until our wedding. After searching we found Yehudah and told him our situation, he was very compasionate and helpful, and he took his time to go through his many options for ceremony blessings and traditions so that we could put together the ceremony of our dreams.

I cannot thank them enough for all that they did for us.

Going on 3 years and still madly in love.

Jeremy and Jessica
Services Used: Officiant
Your Personal Ceremony responded with the following comments:

So sweet, Jeremy. Thanks so much and so good to hear from you.
Sounds like the two of you are doing well. fond regards, Joanie and Yehudah
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephan
Wedding:
5/9/2010
4.8/5.0
We had our intercultural, interfaith wedding in Portland, Oregon in September 2010. Joanie and Yehudah from Your Personal Ceremony were great at guiding us through the process, being helpful but giving us space to express our own thoughts and ideas, and generally being very nice and supportive. At the rehearsal, Joanie, our officiant, was both friendly and welcoming to everyone, and at the same time had all the authority needed to get a bunch of bridesmaids and groomsmen plus family members together on the same page -- literally. At the wedding ceremony, her presence made everyone calm and joyful. We are very happy to have chosen Your Personal Ceremony!
Services Used: Officiant
Your Personal Ceremony responded with the following comments:

Hi Stephan: This review was posted in 2010 - so hope you are both doing great! I am wondering if you meant to not click the last star on Responsiveness? It shows up as a 4 rather than a 5, which brings this rating down to 4.8 If this was intentional, fine. If not, would you mind letting Wedding Wire know? I just think this happens occasionally. The review is fabulous and then the last star isn't hit on one of the categories. Anyway, take care! Joanie
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CClark1
Wedding:
3/15/2010
5.0/5.0
We found a perfect fit for our wedding ceremony in Your Personal Ceremony. Not only did Joanie provide us with a warm, unique and very personal wedding ceremony that was truely 'us', she went above and beyond in helping us find our way around town as this was a destination wedding. Our families and friends loved the how personal and sweet the ceremony was and really enjoyed getting to know Joanie and Yehudah. I would reccomend to anyone!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jane
Wedding:
9/13/2008
5.0/5.0
Working with Joanie on our wedding was absolutely amazing! Joanie co-officiated with my husband's family's pastor and it could not have gone better. She also reviewed the language on our ketubah for us, which I very much appreciated as we have it displayed in our home. Joanie was diligent, extremely attentive, positive and incredibly helpful every step of the way. She helped us create a ceremony that was a perfect blend of Judaism and Christianity while not being too long or religious for us. After sitting through a number of weddings the year before ours that had long and cookie cutter ceremonies Joanie really helped us make the ceremony a unique and individualized experience. 3 years later my husband and I still get compliments from family and friends about our ceremony.
Services Used: Officiant
Your Personal Ceremony responded with the following comments:

Thanks so very much, Jane. Nice to hear that people still remember the day. It was a very special service and I just loved working with the pastor. He was an exceptionally nice man.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JW
Wedding:
9/13/2008
5.0/5.0
Joanie co-officiated my wedding just over a year ago and I am still getting compliments from friends and family about the ceremony! Joanie and Yehudah were great at listening to exactly what we wanted and equally great at helping us to fill in the gaps when we didn�t. They were open, insightful and very accomodating. Joanie was wonderful to work with while polishing up our ceremony; she was very attentive and helpful, providing insight into timing and suggestions on wording and order of both our ceremony and ketubah. Since my wedding 3 of my friends have become engaged and all have asked for copies of my ceremony they loved it so much, I would (and have) recommend Joanie and Yehudah to anyone!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
eg123
Wedding:
8/30/2008
4.8/5.0
What a dream come true. Joan Levine made our ceremony absolutely spectacular and incredibly memorable. We worked together with Joan to create a ceremony that reflected our values and feelings for one another. The ceremony felt so uniquely us. We feel a certain sense of pride about having had such a interesting officiant and such a creative ceremony. Joanie helped make our day so memorable and special. We could not be happier with our choice to use her for our wedding.
Services Used: Officiant
Your Personal Ceremony responded with the following comments:

Wow, thanks so much whoever took the time to post a review! It is very much appreciated However, did you mean to click a 4 on Value?
I bet it was an error....This was 2008, but, if you get this, would you mind letting Wedding Wire know you would like them to click the final star? Thanks! Joanie
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jlm090807
Wedding:
9/8/2007
5.0/5.0
We were so extremely happy with Joanie and Yehudah!!! If you're looking for a great couple to officiate your wedding, call them! My husband and I wrote our own vows and they offered some really ideas for the rest of the ceremony. They are so experienced. They were just absolutely wonderful to work with! They took the time to meet with us and really get to know us, so we felt a personal connection. They really brought a sense of peace to our wedding and really calmed my nerves once I got up in front of everyone.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon M
Wedding:
10/7/2006
5.0/5.0
Joanie and Yehudah were great to work with! From the first meeting at their home my husband and I felt like we had made a great choice. It was a very comfortable and relaxed experience. They both had great ideas and offered many tips and advice on writing and planning our ceremony. My husband and I were able to write the ceremony and Joanie and Yehudah put the finishing touches on it; making it memorable for everyone. My favorite part was having a sand ceremony. Everyone told us how much they loved that we did that! I would recommend Joanie and Yehudah to anyone looking for a beautiful and meaningful ceremony!
Services Used: Officiant

DEALS

Free No-Obligation Interviews
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
We offer free, no-obligation interviews in our Portland home so that we can all see if we are a match and to lay the groundwork for your ceremony!
Deal #WWe60b82dbeb0f777b
220x220_1355113227009-hadsell122

MAP

 
5707 NE 15 Ave, Portland, OR 97211 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Your Personal Ceremony
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo