disappointed :(

I had a very disappointing cake tasting this weekend. 

A little bit of the back story is that: Our wedding venue supplies the wedding cakes for all of the receptions at no additional cost.  This is really nice because the wedding venue has contracted this agreement out with a famous bakery (TV show famous); and in order to set up your appointment for a tasting the wedding venue gives you a specific code that you need to give to the bake shop.

When we arrived we were greeted and asked if we reviewed their website.  We discussed the tasting information package that our wedding venue gave us and then immediately delved into what visions we had for our cake.  For approximately 30minutes we discussed, sketched out and planned our cake.  They then brought out some cakes and fillings that we tried  (not all options that was in our tasting package was offered to us (not a big deal).  At the end of the meeting the guy says to us it will be $$$$ for the cake.  I nearly fell off my chair, as well as my FMIL.  After another 10min he finally explained that with the cake we designed we would have to pay for it and if we wanted the cake that is "included" we had to pick from a certain number of cakes.  Why couldnt he have told us that in the beginning what a waste of time and I almost feel he did that to make us fall in love with something so we would pay for it and not go with the cake that was included.  So we ended up picking a cake and from the precdesigned list in a whole 2min.  We asked to change the color of the flowers from green to plum and they wanted to charge us 200 dollars to put 3 purple drops of food coloring in the flower fondant or whatever it is as opposed to green.  Then when my FMIL asked to order a giant canoli stuffed with little canolis they told her "No" she has to ask the wedding venue to order it via a 3rd party.  I felt that the meeting was very sneeky and I did not expect that from this place.

Posted on July 28, 2013 at 2:35 pm
sol8145
2
10/12/2013
sol8145

sol8145

  • 2
  • 7
  • 205
16
Followers
16
Following

(9) Comments

wolfmaure
4
09/25/2015
wolfmaure

wolfmaure

  • 4
  • 15
  • 2.92k
128
Followers
130
Following

wolfmaure

 Wow, that is really bad customer service. No wonder you are upset, I would be too.

Posted on July 28, 2013 at 6:06 pm
Uhlease
5
09/02/2012
Uhlease

Uhlease

  • 5
  • 18
  • 9.87k
334
Followers
316
Following

Uhlease

 Ugh!! That is so disappointing!! I'm sorry you had to deal with that, that does sound sneeky! 

Posted on July 28, 2013 at 6:12 pm
jmbuss9
5
07/22/2012
jmbuss9

jmbuss9

  • 5
  • 17
  • 8.15k
319
Followers
305
Following

jmbuss9

Awh, sorry thats what you had to experience.
Posted on July 29, 2013 at 9:35 am
NicoleJuliette
5
11/12/2011
NicoleJuliette

NicoleJuliette

  • 5
  • 18
  • 8.44k
292
Followers
295
Following

NicoleJuliette

 Oh wow, so sorry you had to deal with that. If I were you I would mention that to your venue. I'm sure they woulnd't be too happy to know their vendor of choice treated you like that.

Posted on July 29, 2013 at 10:34 am
Sammy_D
4
09/10/2011
Sammy_D

Sammy_D

  • 4
  • 16
  • 4k
192
Followers
207
Following

Sammy_D

Yikes, that does sound sneaky. I guess I'm not surprised, I've been hearing about and running into those kinds of tactics quite a bit lately...anything to make an extra buck. I would have fallen for it, and then been uber-disappointed too! I would most definitely mention it to your venue, and maybe point out that name-recognition isn't all it's cracked up to be if that's how they treat people!

Posted on July 30, 2013 at 8:31 am
JYoung28
1
11/02/2013
JYoung28

JYoung28

  • 1
  • 2
  • 25
2
Followers
7
Following

JYoung28

I would talk to the manager of both bakery and hall. If that doesn't help then write to the local paper. Its bad press and they won't like that. It may not fix your situation but at least it will. Hurt theirs. If it does help then at the very least they can do is is make the flowers purple for free.
Posted on August 4, 2013 at 7:15 pm
sol8145
2
10/12/2013
sol8145

sol8145

  • 2
  • 7
  • 205
16
Followers
16
Following

sol8145

thanks everyone for your advice.  I ended up speaking to the manager and she appologized for the way the meeting was conducted and she also appologized about the poor response time back to my FMIL in regards to her canolis.  She then called my FMIL immediately after to follow up with her.  Unfortunately she was not able to work with us on the 200 dollar color change and has referred me to someone who has authority to do that.  So... things are getting better but unfortunately that first impression has left a sour taste in my mouth.

Posted on August 4, 2013 at 7:31 pm
clarice07
1
01/23/2013

clarice07

Comment has been removed by Project Wedding due to a violation of our Terms of Use
Posted on August 16, 2013 at 7:52 am
Brittanyk32
1
05/31/2014
Brittanyk32

Brittanyk32

  • 1
  • 2
  • 5
0
Followers
4
Following

Brittanyk32

 That is super disappointing!!  I hate when people act all shady and will do absolutely nothing to help.  I hope it gets better!

Posted on August 16, 2013 at 8:07 am

Have a question? Contact Support
Top Contributors this Week
Kuppy13
19 posts
NicholeB
18 posts
MOBRIDE72
16 posts
Canooknic
15 posts
krosa
15 posts
MrsT2B
11 posts