Ordination & Registration in Cook County (IL)

Okay, gals...


I'm in need of some help. What do I need to do through Cook Cty in order to get someone registered so that they can legally perform the ceremony? What documentation do I need to present? What forms do I need to fill out?


Any and all help is more than appreciated!

Posted on January 15, 2013 at 3:14 am
Soon2BMrsLWilliams
1
10/11/2013
8
Followers
11
Following

(3) Comments

IdoAgain20years
3
02/20/2018
IdoAgain20years

IdoAgain20years

  • 3
  • 12
  • 1.81k
49
Followers
51
Following

IdoAgain20years

OK. . .


First of all you need to check with your State laws and verify they accept the church he became oradined through. NOT all states will accept the ULC and ones like it.


Second, he needs to get the letter that he is in good standing Again it may not be required in your state


Third you need to go to your town hall and make sure they know he is doing the ceremony.


Fourth because these wedding have been challenged in court YOU NEED A PRE NUP! A judge recently told a woman she was not really married to the guy and she got ZILCH! Even though she paid for house with the guy the house was not in her name. etc.


I preformed 3 marriage ceremonies as a ULC ordained marriage and all three are still together, but I made sure they had a legal contract in addition to the wedding just incase one or the pther went to court.


Blessings to you and your FI and I am glad you are having a family member preform this rite.


BTW you can google that info and these weddings. I cannot find that court case at this moment.

Posted on January 15, 2013 at 3:25 am
Soon2BMrsLWilliams
1
10/11/2013
8
Followers
11
Following

Soon2BMrsLWilliams

Okay, so I was able to reach out to the Cook Cty office. Hopefully this helps someone later on down the road. I was told that they do not police the officiants. There's no need to register them with the county. We just need to get our marriage license and the officiant needs to fill out their portion after the wedding takes place and return it to the Cook Cty office within 60 days of issuance. I'm so relieved that ONE thing turned out to be easier than I'd anticipated! :-D

Posted on January 15, 2013 at 6:15 am
IdoAgain20years
3
02/20/2018
IdoAgain20years

IdoAgain20years

  • 3
  • 12
  • 1.81k
49
Followers
51
Following

IdoAgain20years

That is the way New Hampshire is as well, but that is not true in states like New York and Maine.


Please be aware of the laws though regarding the Big D word. I would hate for there to be an issue down the road.

Posted on January 15, 2013 at 7:27 am

Have a question? Contact Support
Top Contributors this Week
LauraSweet
22 posts
Miss_M_to_Mrs_W
22 posts
Kuppy13
21 posts
Melo819
21 posts
NicholeB
20 posts
Canooknic
19 posts